In LOVE with a married man

carrie,

sometimes forgiving others is an act of forgiving ourselves... - when we forgive others, we are forgiving ourselves for the decision we made.

u're likely to be stuck in this bitterness for awhile... if u want peace, i'm pretty sure hatred doesn't bring it.

Lol...when a person wanna stray, he/she will come out with lots excuses!!! This's human nature i guess... to come out with a reason to justify for his/her wrong-doings.

I once felt like a terrible failure with the marriage breaking down. Along the way I figured that I had to extend complete forgiveness to ex-hb for putting me through hardships and on the one road that I was so reluctant to tread. In forgiving him I found forgiveness for myself for various decisions I had made in life in respect to the marriage. Today, in my heart I find not the slightest hatred for him and most importantly, no regrets for myself.

SHould I join the Legally SIngle Club also?

doLL,
How to forgive him? I wanted to, but I just can't do it. I went to the website he specially created for me. I thought I'd feel touched, or better, but I felt even worst.

Ethel

Starting forgiving by letting go of the pent-up hatred in you. Show him kindness as well as to yourself even if you choose divorce. Get to know yourself again and accept some parts of you that have changed with what you have been through. Understand your strengths and weaknesses. Love yourself. Give yourself plenty of time and space to heal.

My perspective on relationship now is rather unconventional. While I know there is no perfect partner or relationship, and I certainly don't expect my partner to make me happy in every way, but at the least he shouldn't be the source of my unhappiness, or vice versa. If things get tough I won't stay; I'd rather be on my own.

It's not that I am a fair weather person. I have gone through hardships with the ex-hb for six solid years. I no longer need to prove to anyone that I can be a caring and longsuffering partner.

I realised that relationship IS NOT ALL about suffering alongside your partner or constantly worrying about him; one should be generally happy when in a relationship. That was something I did not and could not experience in the marriage and two subsequent relationships that saw me chose out.

Today, I have a fairly good idea what kind of men I am compatible with. Both of us being strong and independent individuals when come together, will create a lot of synergy. We grow and expand our horizons through this relationship, learning and experiencing new things together. I might just meet such a man and the anticipation makes me feel excited haha

Haha, doll... thanks. Indeed, it calls for a celebration to a new beginning.

Ethel, each one of us has our own way of dealing with life situations and I hope you find what works best for you.

I played by simple rules to get out of the rut. I focused on being kind and loving myself first. The more I start to love myself, the lesser there is room in my heart for hatred. Forgiveness came naturally when there is no more hatred.

"The more I start to love myself, the lesser there is room in my heart for hatred. Forgiveness came naturally when there is no more hatred."

Be in love with yourself and with life. Happiness will feel your heart.

Maybe I am different but I find forgiving is easy and it is actually for ourselves. Once we let go, it is possible and easier for us to find happiness.

And if you have children with our ex, then all the more you should forgive. If you don't forgive, how do you expect your children to feel in the future? They will grow up with resentment and hatred in them.. or they feel stuck in between all the time.

doll,

"Today, I have a fairly good idea what kind of men I am compatible with. Both of us being strong and independent individuals when come together, will create a lot of synergy."

It is good that you know what you want. I am not too sure though. I thought life would continue to throw surprises at us.

Like my girl friend, I never expect to meet such a woman who would love me the way she did. Never in my wildest dream would I even imagine this is possible. But she came, and she swept me off my feet. All my preconceived notions about the type of women I would desire and want were thrown out of the window.

SM

Basically, I just want to be with a man who is as smart if not smarter than me, and tougher than I am - mentally and emotionally - so that I can feel feminine. Career wise and financially, he should have achieved something, so that I don't feel paiseh when he pays for dating expenses.

He should minimally not feel threatened by who and what I am, so that I can be totally myself when with him. In the immediate past three relationships, I felt like I was the man instead having to take care of my partner one way or another. I felt totally drained and had to head for the exit.

Other than the above, like you have said, I was just waiting for life to throw surprises at me. Just as I had least expected it, this guy came into my life. He has what I have stated above and more. I find him attractive, mind and body. I feel at ease with his company because he draws out the lighthearted (naughty too) side of me while the deep thinker in me is not lost in our exchange.

I like the pace that he sets for us. He shows an appropriate amount of interest that's building up steadily, while not coming too strong on me. We are not an item at this point and I don't know where we would end up at. What I do know is that we are enjoying each other's company and getting to know each other better.

doll, can u not describe me in your post? i will feel paisei wan u know...?

hehe, sounds like a nice mature relationship... the best thing abt a relationship is not one that results in marriage, but one that develops and bonds into a longterm companionship and life-partnership... i see yours seem to be started in that mutual-respectful manner...

doll,

"Basically, I just want to be with a man who is as smart if not smarter than me, and tougher than I am - mentally and emotionally - so that I can feel feminine. Career wise and financially, he should have achieved something, so that I don't feel paiseh when he pays for dating expenses"

That man sounds like me? Just joking.

For me I am the experiencing the total opposite. I was have pre-conceived notion of probably meeting someone that "matches me" but when it came it was totally out of the ordinary - but I feel very much alive and I became like a little lost boy instead of the matured man I am.

maybe, but this kind of things u should email me with the subject title "i am dating", then at least i'm in the loop mah... how can i not know? erm, u didn't steal chiling from tat joker rite?

"For me I am the experiencing the total opposite. I was have pre-conceived notion of probably meeting someone that "matches me" but when it came it was totally out of the ordinary - but I feel very much alive and I became like a little lost boy instead of the matured man I am."

SM, you are in love mah. I am not (yet).

Powder, it's the journey that matters, not the destination. So, status is not important. Don't even need to "chope" each other as bf or gf. Just hanging out and getting to know each other better because we enjoy doing so. No pressure. Only pleasure hehe

sm, it's good tat she's finally getting married... i can then tear her pictures & posters out of my wall in a dramatic fashion... like in the serials...

doll, funnny how some pple enjoy the courtship so much and miss the courtship so much without realising that That's actually the journey... the best part...

Ya, courtship as in the journey is the part that we should enjoy the because it is nor forever..

every part of our love life is a journey .. just different stages.

It is the sweetest at the courtship level - and that is why I am enjoying so much now..

doll,

I havent met many woman who has no "hidden agenda". Most of them I met has the end in mind and that is why I ran away from most.

I am not thinking that far. I rather like the dating game.. even before this gf.. I dated casually - going out for movies, dinner, drinks etc etc.. the moment those girls know that I am not interested in marriage (yet, no plan), they would beat a retreat.. except for this gf.. she is so special and different..

ya i dun like it when u're dating a girl who seems more keen in reaching marriage Than to share n build on a bond. actually u will know one la... can sense it.

powder, sm, doll n lynn had past the painful stage. At the moment for those still haven't legally single, or still in pain, forgive or not doesn't matter yet. But need a way to divert such feeling away inorder to think straight and plan for the future.
As time pass, maybe will just skip this part like Lynn and everything will be ok. The whole process is long and painful, there are plenty of time to reflected, understand and think. Maybe its just another stage again. Even this painful experience is also just a jouney.
As for child, main think is the best for the child. If the father comes and cause more harm to the child, I rather bring up alone. As long as the parent educate the child any hate like scold the father infront of him, they will understand and accept too.
Its the same for a perfect couple, it the wife scold the husband infront of the child and keep educating the child how bad the father is, what the diff between married and divorce?

Sorry I put the wrong words again, As long as any parent don't educate the child hate..... the child is perfectly ok.

Oops..sorry..I don't mean all men. Just happen to be very upset and freakingly pissed with a guy fren of mine. Once more, my trust level in men drop drastically. Damm wretched life I have, to meet a person like him. Just venting.

"The moment those girls know that I am not interested in marriage (yet, no plan), they would beat a retreat.. except for this gf.. she is so special and different."

SM, your gf is cool, pretty much similar to me haha.

All I want and care now is that he and I are happy with the way we are. He has a young daughter whom he spends his weekends with and sometimes some weekday evenings too. Unlike other women (so he's said), I have no problem that his daughter is his top priority, and his job too. I so enjoy hearing how he interacts with his daughter and about those interesting incidents at his work. Without a doubt, he having his priorities right has earned him brownie points. For me, my time is well spent on work, family, pets and friends. He knows my life does not around a man.

Like you have said, every part of our love life is a journey, just different stages.

But last year I did want to get married because I wanted to have a baby, and thought the guy I was seeing was a "good husband material" type whom I should get married to like my mom had advised. Fortunately, I discovered the incompatibilities early and decided against compromising. Had I compromised I would have lost myself completely.

Pinkie, why are you so pissed with your guy friend? Is it because he is another married man interested in you?

This year alone, I had four married male friends who have expressed interest in me. I am not upset with them or feel they are disgusting, but I do feel quite amazed and amused at how they have courted or are courting me. I just made it clear that married men are outside my radar. When they persist, they get silent treatment from me.

If I get upset with them I think I will be such a emotionally unstable person by now. I can't control their behaviour but I can definitely control my behaviour.

doll,

"He has a young daughter whom he spends his weekends with and sometimes some weekday evenings too. Unlike other women (so he's said), I have no problem that his daughter is his top priority, and his job too."

Naturally if you are seeing some who has children, you will need to know that the children will be top priority.

On the second date with my gf, I told her this. And she understood perfectly. Although over time as the children get older, the priority may shift. I would like someone to share with me rather than demand to be "No 1 Priority" - just like I don't demand myself to be her "No 1 Priority" as she has parents to take are too - her parents could be her "No 1 priority" now.

SM, agree with you. I not only know that his daughter is his top priority, I understand and agree with it. I don't demand his attention; perhaps that got his attention and he makes time for me willingly. I am just glad that he appreciates my understanding and consideration.

Hmm, I kinda see things from a different light and probably kanna ban by u guys conversation liao after I said this, so better keep my mouth shut for now.

I agreed that courtship is the happiest moment, no commitment and not knowing wat comes after. But perhaps it was due to my personal experiences tt changes my thinking, or mayb the way I was brought up. My parents like to challenge me if the man I am seeing is the husband material. Perhaps, thats was e added stress.

Doll,
I'm very inspired by u at wat kinda man u are looking for and knowing wat u want. So inspired by your happiness in finding wat u want in life and being happy about it.

I sorta have my answers now. Silly as it may seems, I am heading back to the marriage but this time knowing wat I want. I'm giving myself deadlines. Meanwhile will do my applications for Aussie skills migration should things nv turned out the way I wanted it, I can leave anytime.

I kinda found e root to my problems after reading this book Why men lie and why women cry. I was under so much emotional blackmail from MIL and Hubby and now I need to break away frm it. Wish me luck.

Ethel, not that I know what kind of men I am looking for but rather, I do know how I want to live my own life regardless of whether there is a man or not, and if there is a man, I know how I want to be treated.

I will only take a second look at a guy who has the things I deem important such as career, family, friends (collectively), activities, etc going in the right direction, and is generally happy about his life. Some people said I have very high expectations of a partner, but aren't these the basics that one has to take care of in life whether you are man or woman? If he doesn't have these things I have mentioned more or less taken care of as an individual who is in his 30s, then he should spend more time pulling up his socks rather than to date me. If he is not a happy individual, how would he be able to make me happy, and vice versa?

I find an individual who can play multiple roles in life well (being "multi-dimensional" in my words and "diversified" in my friend's word) has a very colourful life. He/she won't go unnoticed wherever he/she is, and even being magnetic.

My happiness lies in my own hands. Having someone special to share with is a bonus.

"My happiness lies in my own hands. Having someone special to share with is a bonus"

So true..wish I can attained that "level" of self contentment.

hi all, i'm new here..

thought of sharing something that may get one to understand the way one life is destined for..

like whether he/she is destined to have lead a life of "tao hua yuen"

or whether she is destined to be someone mistress or he will has mistress outside marriage..

or he/she will have affairs outside marriage etc..

or whether both she/he date of birth showed that the marriage are made in heaven

or whether the guy is a wife beater or really "scare" of wife..

or will the couple will eventually divorce..

i have attended this course regarding the power of numbers and i find its accuracy more than 80%

so anyone out there would like to know if his bf/gf or husband/wife or whether how compatible the two of u are..just send me your date of birth...no obligation no charge..

some of u may have already heard of this but for those who hvae not..its an eye opener

Pinkie, what I can tell you is that everyone has the capacity to feel happy. What makes me happy is not so much what's happened to me or around me, but how and what I make sense of a situation, an experience or an event. So, each of us must find our own version of happiness. My version is mine. Perhaps when others do the same they may not feel happy.

It boils down to taking time to understand ourselves.

What makes us happy can be just staring at us in the face, but how will we know that is it if we dont know what we want?

Only when we know what we want in life, will we be able to identify, hold onto them and be contented.

I understand.. I wanna be happy too (who doesn't anyway). But, it is so difficult. I can learn to put down whatever baggages of mine, but just can help feeling lost, empty and aimless many times. I seek to know the true meaning of life, but have yet to be enlighten. No doubt I have my loving parents and kids around me, but just can't help feeling negative at times.

Let me paraphrase something I read from a book sometime ago.

Liken your mind to that of a garden at your backyard. You are the gardener who controls what goes into that garden.

Negative thoughts you plant in your mind are weeds. Positive thoughts are your favorite flowers. Do you want a beautiful garden? Or one that makes you cringe just looking at it?

The choice is yours to make. "No doubt I have my loving parents and kids around me, but just can't help feeling negative at times." Can't help what you feel is a convenient excuse.

i am still with my married/doing to divorce bf now despite so many objections from friends/parents.

now i am facing another set of problems. what weird theory he has, he says that i should not interfere with what he does, including msn flirt with other girls or going out with his friends etc. as long as he never cheat on me or do anything unfaithful behind my back, and come home sleep with me everyday, i dont have to care what he is doing outside.

is this normal?

congrats - he's treating you now the way he's probably treating his wife in order to go out with you. face it girl, your days with him are numbered lor!

sad_gal.

it's not a weird theory... there are girls who can accept this, girls who are blind enough or weak enough or low-esteemed enough to accept it.

the reason why he is Telling u this is becos there's a very High chance u'd accept it at this point. if he said this a year ago, u'd condemn him, but his timing in telling u now is a perfect execution and he definitely knows wat he is doing.

any decent player worth his salt is able to pick on the right timings to derive sex, subordination, and a resigned acceptance. he's pretty good in this sense... but dun fret, most girls he go for are likely to fall for the same ploy so dun feel bad abt it. u're just one of many who will fall for this.

the world is full of women... what makes u think he'll stop at u When he didn't stop at his wife? it's Ok to be one of the partners, at least u can get some love from him and u know who u're sharing with.

he's a cool dude. as easy as it is to get women, i think it's admirable that this fella actually has the time to prioritise it this way... the rest of us guys kinda keep to 1 lady so that we can also concentrate on career.

thanks powder you are very right.

but i am not weak, low esteemed or ugly. i can have many other choices if i want. but sometimes, i can say love is blind. its true. i enjoy being together with him but i really cant stand that kind of f. attitude of his.

i am in quite a confused stage again. hope to get some advise.

that's the advantage that men have over woman. Once u've managed to win over her heart, she'll remain your toy. When the love from her starts fading, u just refill back abit of concern, appreciation she'll remain yours until the day u get sick of her.