How to make ur bf ask for your hands from your parents?

tsyvonne

I wonder anyone out here got anyway of making ur bf open up his mouth and tell your parents that you are getting married with him. Coz my bf just wont one to open up his mouth, he want me to tell my parents myself. Sighzzz...

Dunno leh... is it necessary? I din make my bf do dat. My bf oso very shy... but for me, quite simple lah. I just told my mom dat we're getting a flat. No need for my bf to tell my mom.

hahahha... When I read your thread title, I was wondering how come still need to do that in these day! Now I understand what you mean - u just want your bf to tell ur parents instead of urself.

Hmm... I just told him that he was the one who proposed to me. So it should be him who should tell my parents that we are getting married! Hehehehe.... or u can make him tell ur parents together with you loh. At least he's ard rite?

Hi, This is Xiaopei, ist time making a post. . .
My bf just proposed to me and i will not put on the ring until he has sought my family blessings because it's important to me. Initially he's quite embarrassed and freak out about it. But I told him that we're respecting the elders and that I'll be there when he announce it too giving him my support!
Immediately he sent me home and seek the blessing from my family who supported him!

I made my hubby talk to my dad.

That nite my hubby was literallt breaking out in cold sweat for 4hrs, from 9pm to ard 1am in the morning before he ask the Q to my daddy.

I told him I wanted him to ask so that he will always rem this moment and treat me well.

I was really touched when he ask, the feeling is something I wont forget.

Of course, not forgetting his cold sweat and trembling hands
haha

mine's a bit different. it was important to me for my then boyfriend, now hubby, to ask my parents officially. we already had their blessings but on our wedding day, i drafted a contract and my jie-meis made my hubby sign, and then my parents to counter sign as witnesses. there were things like 'i promise to take care of your daughter' and 'my manly urges take second place if your daughter has a headache / backache / neckache' etc. my hubby just shook his head in disbelief and laughed and signed, and my parents also had a good time laughing. it may have been a fun thing but it was significant at the same time. i hope this helps!

my FH asked my parents over a dimsum breakfast after our usual sunday morning walk...ehehhe

mum made it quite embaressing but FH pulled through !

i also got my hb to tell my parents, but of coure we did it together lah... his parents also the same, i'm around.

for us cos we did not apply for flat so cannot use it as excuse anyway...

When my fh first proposed, the first thing i said was "You have to ask my parents first." =)

then few days later he came over to my place to just tell my parents that he wants to ask for their permission and blessings to marry me. quite easy.. haha.. easy for me to say lah but dont know easy for him or not/

me too.. i oso got my FH to open his mouth..

he proposed when we were on a trip to HK, so aft i agreed, of coz i wore the ring..

but back in sg my mum din notice e ring and i had to hint to her abt e new ring n prompt her tat he'll speak to them some day..

so 1 fine day, FH dabao some seafood over to treat my parents and since we happened to sign for our flat tat day, we juz told them that we were getting married and hope to have their blessings..

initially, i was also stumped at what he were to say.. if he were to ask "Unle, auntie, can i marry ur daughter?" sounds a bit weird..

so in e end i figured for him to say "We're intending to get married and we hope to seek ur blessings"

at least it's nt so "paisei" for e guy.. mummy n daddy were pleased in e end! =)

my parents noes i gg rom wif my bf does he still nid ask formally ?

By the way any suggestion for parents get together meal b4 rom ?

Then gathering at bf's home. Good Friday is coming up. Your bf a christian? Or what about your family? Can use Good Friday as a reason. But I feel your bf should initiate such meet ups.

haha.. for me, we just announced that we are applying for the flat when it was on ch8 news... bf's bro knew 1st though... my side my dad ont know yet but i think he can sense it... haha

Just sharing..

When my bf and I talked about marriage, we agreed that we should get my parents' blessings before I will say yes to him. So before proposing, he flew down to Singapore to ask my parents for my hand. He was very nervous, but he did it after treating them to a very expensive meal so I guess my folks were in high spirits. haha. Traditions aside, what he did for me certainly made me feel very loved and it is a memory I will treasure forever.