How much does it cost to divorce?

sad_s

any recommendations of lawyers or approximate guide of how much it cost to divorce?

My husband wanted a divorce but he also wanted to wait for the house to mature so that he could profit. I am not willing to do so and decide to proceed ahead to file. Which he most probably would contest.
Can anyone give me an approximate cost guide?

Hi Sad S,

I asked my hb how much is the divorce going to cost him, he said it is close to S$3k. But I am not sure whether this is the standard. Others may know better...

Do you have any kids? If yes, it will drag.

My frd's case is quite similar to yours, but much more complicated. So far, he has used up several annual leave, over 4K, and the case still on-going. Their flat can only be sold off in about a year later.

isit true that the divorce have to be finalize then can sell the house even though the mature date not yet up ? so during separation, the couple can still live in the flat ?

I think in this case, i.e when the house is not mature yet, you can only sell the house back to HDB when the divorce is finalise.

During separation, the couple can still live in the flat lor. But usually, only one of the two stays.

Happy New Year!

Thanks all for the advices. I have found a lawyer and is proceeding the divorce..he had initially quoted me 2.5-3k if everything goes smoothly. However, due to some change of conditions, resulting in an additional 2 conversations etc,the fees is going up to around 4k. Just to share the approx cost if others are interested.

Sad S,
you can write an appeal letter to hdb to "allow" you to sell the flat b4 the 5yrs period. My fren did that (her flat was 4yrs then) and was approved. Oni then did she approached lawyer to handle the divorce case. The fee then (in Nov 2006) was $2.5k, might have increase now due to inflation and GST.

emoh,

is that really possible? If so, that would be really a win-win situation for both him and me.

I had actually went to hdb before, enquiring about the maturity of the flat and ability to sell to open market etc but was not offered such advice. They told me if I divorce before flat mature date, I would need to surrender the flat to hdb at a loss. My lawyer also did not propose such advice. In fact he keep advice me to disregard the loss and just file for divorce and let him contest.

Sad S,
wat emoh mentioned, actually i ve heard from 1 of my frens who did the same thing too. 1st they wrote to HDB to appeal, it was turned down, then they went seek assistance from the MP, and with his letter, HDB gave way for earlier selling of flat

Oh Great thanks lonely and emoh! I will try to appeal to hdb...povided my lawyer can wait without further charges to me. He had already send enquiry about the flat status to hdb and pending reply from them...

but u have to write to HDB 1st k, only when they reject, then go to MP... apparently tts the chain of command lah..

hope it helps

Sorry got to clarify again...

The last time when I talked to my lawyer, I wanted a divorce and he in turn had already send the standard enquiries to HDB and still pending reply from HDB. So would it be alright if I write in to appeal to HDB now? Any legal complications?

Just to check if anyone knows before i approach my lawyer as they charge per conversation...

Sad S,
Think u shld wait for reply from HDB now.

Ms Gerberas,
I thought ur flat is more than 5 yrs old. hence how come u still need to write in to appeal?

sigh.....quess I am too impatient..
I had emailed hdb tis mrng and they asked for my address etc which i have provided. They are helping to look into it..

Dun dare to tell my lawyer now...

i checked with a lawyer, she said cost about 2.5k. cos my case we dunt have any property. child was under my custody.going to finalise divorce in coming sept. my baby is 2yrs and 3mnth.

Did anybody know if i had already getting the court order to deal with the flat and last min i change my mind on the court order, what will happened? Can my ex-spouse sue me for not promise my words?

hi, my friend foreign wife has walked out on him for more than a year. She has expressed no intention to return back to singapore but they did not sign any deed of separation. Can my friend file a divorce on his part base on 2 years of continuous desertion? is it difficult to resolve this type of divorce case? please give him the advice. thanks

Its 1 yr ago -_-""
But anyway for cpl who just got R.O.M, if they wanna divorce is it the same? Divorcing need about 3k and above?

Hi martha lee

Please advise on how to seek annulment.

we did not stay together after ROM .
We do not have any assets or other dispute ..

We just ROM about 6 months ago .
He is seeing another gal since two months ago.
Recently i just found out.

any lawyer with reasonable fee for divorce case , pls let me know.

Just to ask, I got my flat for almost 2 years, if I'm filing for a divorce, (heard it from my ex neighbour) that getting another flat is tough now as we will have to had 60k in CPF and the rest we can the pay for the flat, is that so?

have the settle all mortgages in cpf and cash from the first flat even before you're allowed another one.

since you say 2 years, i guess hdb will repossess back at a cheaper rate.

HDB matters MUST check with HDB, not ask here.

HDB matters even HDB staffs themselves may be confused, ask here is like blind shooting.