Hotel Jen Tanglin, Singapore by Shangri-La

• Thread starter Thread starter tube
  • Start date Start date
Hi machi

Thanks for ur concern.. Me already started to slp early these few nites.. Dare not to eat too oily food wait got pimples not very nice... So i drink more water to avoid falling sick...

Hi Jesteress, the Gallery looks better in terms of the space for the aisle march-in. Personally I have not view the actual function rooms yet, I will be meeting with Charlotte this coming weekend. Anyway, I do not have many tables to meet the min requirement of the Gallery, can only consider Temasek

Hi buttercupz

Thanks for the photo. I agreed with you. The aisle looks narrow for the march-in. I think I'll confirm with my co-ordinator about the table size that they will be using for my wedding.

Hi Machi

Mine is the bliss package. Should be the standard one. The extra perks that I get are:
- extra 1 nite for bridal suite
- 2 rooms (1 nite stay) for family
- flow free of beer
These perks are given to me if I used the DBS credit card to pay for the package. This is part of DBS credit card promotion.

HI alicia

Although is not narrow.. But is pretty short march in... I think i prefer long wan.. hahahahah.... But i think temasek room is nicer...

Hi buttercupz,

Thanks for the pics! You're a Star! Btw, do you know for the picture of the suite you took, was it the smaller bridal suite or the bigger ones??

Hi Rachel,

Thanks for sharing your package! Wow, such a good perks offered by using DBS card! What a shame that we did not have such perks offered by the bank credit cards when we booked with them last year. So envious of you!

Hi Jesteress,

Yup, drink more water... btw, where will you be going for your outdoor shoots?? Decided??

Hi Machi & Jesteress,

Same here, I didn't get the DBS perks when signing up early this year. The food tasting, we supposed to be given free for 10 people, we negotiate to 6 or 7 only. And I think that time the previous manager, wanted to give free wine for a few tables, but we let go and request for a waiver instead. In return, we got free LCD and free flow of beer. And we nego one of dish from the menu too.. kek kek kek...

About the bridal suite, didn't know there's a bigger or smaller one lei, because during the show last week, they only showing us one b ridal suite and one superior room.

Hmm... *tapping finger*.. I think bigger suite is an upgrade one lah.. but most likely given to couples who book more mah (Gallery).. so I may not get it lor.. *sigh*.. makes me think back about M Hotel's suite jacuzzi.. ...

Oh, Jesteress, actually I kinda like Gallery, gives me the classic european style, even with the pillars there, you can play around with the table arrangement so that they can still see you march in.. but *sigh* again.. I do not have enough table for it.. now I start to worry about the narrow march in.. :"(

and hey.. all they best for the photoshoot okie.. dun forget to share them with us
for outdoor, I went to a friend's wedding last month, they went to Botanic garden for outdoor, there's a mini waterfall which could look quite nice if the photographer can get it right..

I'm still headache looking for PG and VG for AD now.. tight budget.. if anyone can recommend someone good and not so expsv, lemme know hor.. many many thanks...

I'm thinking of having a real wedding cake - didn't like the dummy ones at Hotel. any ideas on where to get them, when to cut it and how to distribute it?
tks.

hI GALS

Anyone went for food tasting already?? How was it?? me planning my food tasting next tuesday 11 Dec. Hope is not too early.. Times really flies.. still have 3 mths to my AD.. Abit worried.. Not sure wat to do next...

Hi Tulips,
Real wedding cake, rather tricky, if you're on a budget, you can go to neighbourhood's bakery, and ask them, sometimes you can even ask for the design you like, they usually count by layers and weigh.

Hi Rei,
They actually let us see the bridal suite during the wedding show, orelse, you can see the picture here, it's exactly the same.. http://www.singaporebrides.com/hotels/traders/index.htm

Jesteress,
I'm planning for the food tasting in January, nearer to the date (so the chef will unlikely forget our feedback.. heh heh..)
But I heard from some of the event sales (during the wedding show), the food they provided on that day are kind of a glimpse of the food for the real banquet (e.g. the ee fu mee, etc)..

we just had our wedding banquet at Traders. So many guests commented that food was exceptionally good. Even my families remarked that food was much better than during the food tasting (it was already good at that time). People were really pleased. We were delighted with the service and attentiveness of the staff, esp Charlotte & the Banquet Manager. If we were to choose all over again, Traders will still be our top choice!

Hi Dodo

My wedding is in Mar08 too.. I am planning my food tasting next week 12 Dec. becoz our parents meet up to discuss also.. I think jan is too near.. Not much time.. I am going to see the sample of the card then decide whether i am choosing that or i will go JB to do the card....

Hi Jesteress,

Our parents have met last month to discuss, hmmm most prob do my food tasting in Jan08.

Are you having lunch or dinner? My coordinator is Charlotte. Who is your coordinator?

Hi dodo

Oh tat fast.. Me having dinner. Becoz parents all working.. So have to make it weekday dinner. Becoz no weekend.. My coordinator is Charlotte..

Hey all, I'll be holding my AD at Traders too
it'll be on 22 Nov 2008 (The Gallery Room)

Just went down earlier to place the deposit n my coordinator is William....

Hiya fashionista diva,

William is the Senior Events Sales Manager. Yeah, I do agree that he may sound a bit impatient at times. But i guess he's just really swarmed with alot of appts.

I'll need to contact him again to finalise the contract. So when's ur AD?

I have went for my food tasting today. I think the food is really yummy.. Hope they keep it up... The portion is quite big too.... I am quite happy with my coordinator too..

Hiya fashionista diva,

I've confirmed to hold my AD at Traders. Now waiting for the contract. So have you seen the place?

Yes, but the ballroom looks quite old leh, and the walk in is quite strange (direction). Did U see the smaller room? Its brand new, tucked in a private corner with nice sofa for the predinner cocktails.

The temasek room is just renovated only. It is really very nice.. But only max 19 tables..The cocktail recept area is quite cosy too...

Rachel - I feel that he's the kind, u ask then you get what u want... don't ask he won't say anything. Not so proactive I feel.

Kodomo,
I think he is pretty new in handling wedding request. Heard that he only started to handle wedding recently after one of his colleagues left.

hi there!
I am thinking of having my wedding dinner at Traders. Seems from the comments the food is good.
I haven't seen the ballroom yet. Will be going down.
Guess so far..the service has been good for you all. That's encouraging :P

hi de-luxe!

I've book mine with trader last month.
Will be holding my wedding in the temasek room.
The service from charoltte is gooood.. Fast...
^^

Glad to hear quite a number of good reviews so far. I'm planning my dinner at Traders. Spoken to Charlotte and she's very good so far. Hope to neg for more perks!

I will be holding my wedding dinner at Traders (The Gallery Room). Waiting for the contract now. Any tips on what are the things to look out for? =)

Hmm, i have no idea where to start too.
Yeap, French bridal, got it 2 year ago.
I will be gg down for gown selection nx Tuesday...

Hi Lynn

Wat a coincidence! my BS is French Bridal as well, got it in Jan 07! Finally found someone same BS and dinner venue as me

When are u doing ur PS? Actually i tot i can go and choose gown in late Nov or early Dec but seems like very very late and rush...

lol.. ^^

I got mine is Year 2005, I hope it will be good >.< care to share the package? If you dont mind add me in yr msn! [email protected] ^^

PS to be advice next week after selecting my gown. Yes, if you plan it in late nov or early dec it'll be very rush. Try to do the booking earlier=)

Hi brides &amp; brides-to-bes,

Anyone has done an outdoor solemnisation reception at Traders before? Care to share?

I am trying to decide between a few hotels now.

Pls help!Thank you!

I just spoke to william from Traders. Very professional and friendly guy, he is the senior manager. The perks they gonna offer for the coming Traders wedding show looks v attractive

Anybody interested shd go for their wedding show or call up their coordinators.

Anybody had their wedding @ Temasek Room ? Me considering Temasek Room, can someone feedback if the march-in is too narrow?

I am deciding btwn a few hotels now...headache...only 15 tables not much choice for hotels, and not much room for negotiation.

but so far, traders coordinators been very nice to me, not like other hotels...

Carol - Have u spoken w the coordinator or go down to look at the actual location yet?

Totoro gal - are u going to the wedding show? I have seen both the Temasek room and the Gallery room. Dun find the march-in too narrow but u may want to go down to see.

One thing i find is that their coordinators are very helpful and friendly.