Hotel Jen Tanglin, Singapore by Shangri-La

• Thread starter Thread starter tube
  • Start date Start date
Hi Soupie

You seen the wedding cards ah? sigh..she supposed to ask me to go down and see the cards but she haven call..any idea if the card is too plain, can we do something abt it? or we can source for own card maker?

Btw, congrats on ur ROM!

cutiechar, thanks!
yeah seen the cards.. i think most of us here who signed recently would have seen the cards... both cards have the concept of opening like a two-leaf door.. one is traditional red with a cute couple in traditional costume at the front in gold outlines, i like this one, it's traditional yet contemporary... the other one is a cream colour card with a red rose diagonally laid at the front.

I won a facial in the lucky draw. I like the red cards too. I think the couple looks real cute.

Actually my friend promised to draw a portrait of us for the wedding cards. If she actually gets around to do it I'll use hers, otherwise I'll go for the cute red ones from the hotel.

All brides,
Can anyone tell me if how i can contact the banquet sales of Traders hotel?
Do you all have the email or contact number of the sales? Please let me know. Thanks.

cutiechar, yah have already confirm with traders.. deposit paid.. but my wedding only end of next yr leh hehe

that day u came into the chatroom, got d/c and never came back! ur wedding end of this yr rite? wanted to ask u how u find traders so far...

Hi Soupie,

paiseh paiseh, I got dc..pc got some probs..den decided to off it..hee..

yar lor, my wedding end of this yr..but nuthin has been done yet. what is ur package like?how much per table?weekends or weekdays?..I think traders now offering quite good price..last year when I booked, my price is 699 per table..tat day I saw in magaine only 600+..

SO far, have not liaise with them..but Rosalind so far quite ok..as mine is in Dec, I will only get busy during Oct-Nov according to her..food testing in Sept..haven see the invitation cards yet..

hmm if urs in end of next year, den you still have a long time to play ard with.
How abt ur bridal? which one caught ur eyes?

btw, you look like a princess in your ROM pics! the dress is so sweet..I wore purple colour for my ROM oso..but my ROM is not as glamorous as urs..mine is buffet at home..keke...

cutiechar, u still remember my ROM pics ah? hehehe thanks thanks

ur price is weekend price isit? mine is the $668 per table for weekday.. got 30 bucks off each table due to the bridal show.. the rest ah.. hmm.. think quite standard.. 1 barrel 20L beer and 1st hour reception free flow beer.. subsquent beer barrels at 50% off..

just got a call from rosalind yesterday.. she just called to say hi and ask how's my prep.. but my wedding still quite some time away so nothing to do yet...

already sign up with jazreel low for bridal.. wat abt u?? should be having ur photoshoot soon rite?

hey drop by the chatroom when u're free okie? then we can chat chat

Hi soupie

Me already married last year. Mine was at Orchard Hotel. Kriss was previously from the hotel.

My cousin will be having his wedding this oct at Traders and Kriss happened to be their coordinator.

hello everyone in traders forum,

im a new bride-to-be in 2004, im also interested with traders but yet to confirm with rosalind... jus wana to ask everyone here, is traders good? i mean in terms of food and ambience... i have only 12 tables in mind... wonder if they can accomodate us in which room? (btw which room is the best) is rosalind negotiable with the perks? What perks do u all normally ask for?
please give advice....

hi blurblurblur28, hehehe so many blur

if i'm not wrong, the min. no. of tables for weekday is 13 and 15 for weekday and weekend respectively. and this will be held in the smaller function which i find is nice as compared to other hotels with small function hall.. cos this one at traders have full length windows lining one side of the wall. and the room is quite elegantly furnished for a cosy banquet. i guess u have to see it for yourself whether u'll like it or not

frankly speaking, it's quite difficult to get anything else outside the package... i've tried the food at ah hoi's kitchen which is supposed to prepare the banquet dishes also.. i would say it's quite good but dun take the mango pudding.. can't make it :P

Hi Soupie!

Rosalind still can call u and say "hi"! gosh! she has not get back to me yet abt my wedding invitation cards! I told her a month ago to email me the soft copy but nuthing has been done yet! arghhhhhh!
I sign up wif them last year Dec and I did not even receive a phonecall from her! yet she claims she be calling me lar, sending me details lar..blah blah..

sigh..tomorrow must call her again..

Thanks soupie...

glad that someone reply to me... have u made surveys... is traders ur ideal choice or 'forced to take' choice?

is rosalind easy to handle?
Ar u able to send me ur package to take a look?

hi blur, if u're talking abt IDEAL choice then it wouldn't be somewhere in singapore hahaha.. i would say it's an ideal choice within my budget.

i can't send u my pkg details since i dun have it in soft copy.. but it should be the same as the pkg details that rosalind has sent to u.. but i signed up during their bridal show so i had some other perks like $30 off each table, 1st hr free flow beer, 50% off subsequent barrels of beer, anniversary nite stay and dinner.

she's easy to talk to but she's quite firm in the pkg.. like i said before they are not very negotiable on additional perks.

May i know trader's hotel has how many ballrooms and can u tell me what is the min and max requirements of e tables? thanks

Hi christmas,

how is gallery ballroom? long aisle n high ceiling cos i m looking something like tat for 25 to 30tables on wkend. thanks.

hi kite,

go to http://www.shangri-la.com, select singapore, then select traders hotel. there's a photo of the gallery with wedding banquet setup there.

ceiling ht so-so, not exceptional. but glass windows overlooking the waterfall from tanglin mall i think. aisle is from the side, not in the center.

if you want high ceiling go 4 seasons hotel to take a look i think their ballroom is very nice (different price tag of course). i like this ballroom better but unfortunately i don't have the crowd.

my wedding this year Dec. I was looking at 20 tables but Rosalind insisted that I have to open at least 2 tables for the gallery ballroom!

Hi Kite

The ballroom has pillars. I find tat quite unsightly but they are able to cover up the pillar until its transparent, so hoping for the best! The room is not veri big but my hubby find it cosy. btw, Rosalind is not difficult to handle but she is quite firm on certain perks!

Hi soupie!

so which invitation card u using? I m taking the one with the rose...the cards not nice leh. If design our own veri expensive leh.

hi cutiechar! my wedding still long way... one yr after urs.. wat u mean open at least 2 tables for gallery ballroom? meaning 22 tables instead of 20? i was actually considering changing to the smaller ballroom leh.. but that can accomodate abt 18 tables only.. i'm afraid that my guest list might balloon up at the last min.

btw, how come u're not taking the red card with cute chinese couple in front one? i like that one..

hi rihini, i think not transparent lah.. but just the setting of the tables so that the pillar won't block any guest's view

hi cutiechar,

uh u dun like the cards? i like the cards. took half in rose and the other half of the red ones. i think the red ones more popular... she was running short of supply.

i printed on the envelops too :p looks pretty good.

Hi All-Traders Hotel brides,

Did ur check wth ur coordinator abt the wine list since the corkage charge for wine is not waived? May I know what is the price range for the wine charged by Traders?

hi, i think if ur number of tables not more than 30, they will arrange in such a way that no tables will be blocked by the pillar.. but if more than 30, no guarantees lor...

and cutiechar, i think the red cards are cute leh.. i took the red ones.. the white ones are not bad but doubt the old ones will like it.. so i nv take...

christmas.. wat do u mean by u printed on the envelopes??

hi babyG, u can get the list of wine prices from ur coordinator.. i was given one complete list of red and white... but i don have the list with me now... if i remember correctly, the cheapest is more than $20.. (tat is if i remember correctly la.. ahha) and i think is open 8, get 1 free or something like tat...

ya....me also wondering what's their corkage charege like. Anyone knows?

Crayonshinchan, you mean buy wine from them then they don't charge corkage issit?

Then $20 plus (+++) is quite reasonable.

I have just confirmed my banquet with Traders yesterday. Rosalind was the one who attended to us. Any comments on their food, service and the things that i should look out for?

I know that the mango pudding is not good, can we change the dessert to something else besides the yam paste?

And is the air con really that bad? Anyone who just had your wedding in Traders recently care to share your experience?

Hi there!

I'm having mixed comments about the food in Traders Hotel. Is there any recent brides out there who can provide me with their feedback?

Thanks,
ish

hi rihini,

not so sure abt the corkage charge though.. but remembered when i heard the price, i had a huge shock... so din bother to remember.. ahahahaa.. 20+ is ok la.. but can get cheaper ones at 10 over bucks only...

Hi Crayonshinchan

Thanks for the prompt reply. Can I check a few more things:

- Are all chairs provided with seat covers?
- Do we have to pay extra for the "scented air"?
- I presume the flowers and centrepiece are all in the package?
- how was the food? reasonable?
- When is your wedding?

heehee....a bit "gan jeong"...swarmed you with so many qns...

hi jeddie..
i oso don remember much.. try to tell u watever i know...

usually the chairs are provided with seat covers. they will say actually must pay but will give u free..

and the centrepieces and flowers are all in the standard package.. unless u want extra or hard to find flowers then will depend lor..

not so sure abt the scented air though.. shd be free rite? air is not x in spore.. ahahhahaa..

the food tasting was good.. quite up to standard.. but again, it was prepared for 10 pple la.. for 200 over guests, i hope the standard will be the same lor...

my wedding is 29th nov..

Hi Crayonshinchan and Lin,

I went yesterday.
They have change the number. from table of 10 to table of 12. So you must be careful when telling them numbers of tables you want. Better to quote them the number of guests.
Chairs covers are part of the package.
I think the scent air, you got to pay for it.
Decors are provided.

Hi Soupie!

hmm..no choice coz she says minimum 22 tables den can use the gallery ballroom!
oh yuo took the cute couple! I quite like it but then my hubby find it too red! indivdual taste I would say!

Hi Rihini
paiseh! I mean rosalind is able to arrange the tables until the pillar does not obstruct the view..keeping my fingers crossed!

Hi crayon!

yeah, never took the red ones..oli the white ones..hehe..intend to put ribbon on the cards!
when is your wedding?; )
mango pudding no good ar? I be going for my food tasting next mth..oops!..must change to others.!

Hi Jeddie

yes, the chair cover are free but my centrepiece and flowers are not stated in the package..but rosalind has assure us that she will be doing it nicely..so I leave it to her.
when is your wedding btw?

Hi Christmas!

is your wedding in christmas this year? I haven print the cards..hehe..lazy to do so.

Hi Cutiechar,

Nice "seeing" you here

Hi Jeddie,
You were fast to confirm with them.
My hubby and I could not find any avaliable consultants. But managed to talk to Chin Chin. The people there sound nice and profession. I hope they hold to their promises.
Will you be taking the Gallery? When is your big day?

Hi crayonshinchan,

ya, can get wine at around $15 outside but plus corkage $25+++, then add up will be around $44.
If buy wine from them and they FOC corkage at lessthan $30. Worthwhile what.

Hi cutiechar,
You doing a slide show during your dinner? Did you ask whether they have projector FOC or we need to pay separatrely or source ourselves? The screen they provide will be the portable-stand type or from the ceiling?

Hi Cutiechar, kk

I did not actually sign-up for the bridal show. I happen to pay a visit to Traders, wanting to take a look at their balloroom. It was until we reach there did we realise that there is a show.

So we just went in and was attended by Rosalind. When we checked the date with her, we were surprised that 6 June 04 is still available and since Rosalind seems quite professional, we immediately sign up on the spot, even before the show starts and left soon after.

And yes, I will be taking the gallery.

Anyway, Rosalind mentioned that she will be on course from Mon to Wed, thus, will oni be able to speak to her on Thurs.

Hi KK!

nice to "c" u here as well!

Hi rihini!

yes, will be doing a slide show. have checked with Rosalind, traders do not provide projector but oli projection slide. if you were to rent from them, I think its abt $250(if remember correctly). The projection screen shld be from the ceiling if not wrong. Pls double confirm with her more safe.
I knew that they dont provide emcee and projector..sighzz..
anyone here has problems finding emcee??

HI Jeddie!

wow you are fast! Rosalind is professional in a way! are you worried abt the pillars thingy?I am!..hehe I don dare to hit 25 tables coz i tot tat the pillars might block some view.
so which bridal shop u sign up?

muacks!

Hi Cutiechar

heehee..my tables are kept to the minimum, so the pillars should not pose any problems....6 June 04 is a very hot date, haven't been able to get it for MM and some other hotels. Thus when Traders is still available, better grab..haahaa

I actually signed up with Thomson Wedding D'sign....my sis-in-law actually engaged them for her wedding last month..so..i just use them lor...hee..lazy to look around...my hubby not free also...so i chop chop...one day settle all the things...

: )

cutiechar, ehh...thot it's stated inside the contract.. my contract says confirmed attendance is 200 pax (20 tables) and expected guests is 210 (21 tables)... so i would maybe take 20 + 2 reserved.. so at least if the 2 reserve tables are not filled up then i can adjust the seating and not pay for the 2 reserves

rihini/cutiechar, from wat i know they have the drop down screen but due to the deco on the stage they'll have to use the portable one... maybe have to check with rosalind to confirm.

btw, do u gals know whether traders serve halal and vegetarian food?

hey cutiechar,
if i remember correctly,my coordinator told me that if the tables hit 30 then no choice some will have to be blocked by pillar... so i think still safe to hit 30 lor.. ahhaa.. cos i confirmed minimum 23 tables with them and now i might hit 30...

and regd the wine.. 20++ for wine is actually quite x.. cos outside now selling only 10 over dollars... but since they charge so high so bo bian lor...

yah cutiechar,
i also need the projector.. ehhh.. i tot i remember my coordinator telling me tat he will arrange for me.. but i don remember him telling me must pay leh... aiyo.. i better go and confirm...

Hi Jeddie!

wow you veri fast and efficient. When I was selecting my hotel and bridal last year,I was so picky and choosy until no choice then I anyhow liaoz.
yeah, June is a very hot month I heard! glad you got wat u want! when you going to design your gown?

Hi soupie!

My contract stated confirmed attendance is 22 tables and expected guest is 23 tables. Actualli we did negotiate with Rosalind on 20 tables to use the gallery ballroom but she insisted that we have to open minimum 22 tables or else she wld charge us the usage of the ballroom.However I think I need 24 tables..so heng lor!
I think the package this year and last year quite different considerin that I booked mine last nov. So its near to abt one year & I guess perks are different.
btw, rosalind says she dont serve halal food coz they serve wine so not consider halal and their kitchen oso not "prayed".

Hi crayon!
yeah, my guest list now abt 24 tables..so mayb wont hit..keke
I just spoke to Rosalind last month leh. she says must pay coz she can rent for us the projector. You check with her again safer.

cheers! :p

Hi Cutiechar

No halal means no muslim table??? Oh no..i forgot to check on this aspect. I have Malay friends to invite...

How abt vegetarian food? I have colleagues who are vegetarians.

As for my gowns, i might take a look at what they have first. Unless I really can't find anything suitable, if not, I will just take the OTR ones. I'm now trying to flip through magazines..to get some ideas....