Hotel Jen Tanglin, Singapore by Shangri-La

ed_jes

bem: I checked with them, they are only giving the offer of $1188 nett off to those who booked the Gallery room min 22 tables. Temasek room have lesser discount. Anyway, I signed up too. So should see you there then =)

bigmelon

thanks felicia!!

so the rest of you actually signed up before the wedding show? does that mean that other than the discount they offered at the wedding show, there is not much difference signing up at the wedding show or not?

ed_jes

bem: Cool! Thinking 28th Jan! Are we too kiasu? haha Which BS did you choose?

bigmelon: They may have other perks, will only know when we go down for the wedding show. See below for the perks. HTH...

1) For the 1188NETT off total bill promotion, it will only be for the Weekday package at a number of 22 guaranteed table.
2) For the 888NETT off total bill promotion, it will only be for Weekend package at a number of 22 guaranteed table.
3) For the 1088NETT off total bill promotion, it will only be for Premium package at a number of 22 guaranteed table.
3) If you sign up Sattine Bridal TOGETHER with Traders Hotel, there will be free flow of beer, waiver of corkage up to 1 bottle per guaranteed table and $500.00 discount off Sattine Bridal Packages.

bem

ed_jes: u think we are too kiasu?
i was in the thread 2012BTB. pple are alr booking for March 2012 onwards!
i'm thinking if we are too slow .. hahaha...
i'm going to settle venue first den BS ba.. cant multitask :p u? anw i'm thinking of taking JB package..

ed_jes

haha as I say in the 2012 thread.. so fast! anyway I book my BS liao. haha talk about kiasu! JB quite cheap but should be fine if you have ur own transport and you r ok with travelling. But it depends too, as some of the JB package don't include the MUA so the cost may add up to almost the same.

bem

Edjes: haha u r oso in the 2012 thread? i nv see u there. ya i oso commented on how fast they are. hopefully we can catch up soon :p
nice to know there are still people like me who haven book!

I asked someone. she say go to JB 7 times to finish all the stuff. quite ok ar.. o i'm thinking of pre wedding shoots in JB. AD package shd be taking up Spore's one.. see how..

ed_jes

bem: yah just started going there haha. Wah they even booked their PG & VG lor! I should go and book liao. Actually good in the sense that you can lock the cheaper price coz the price sure goes up rather than down.

But if you took up 2 package wun be more ex? My friend took the bs in Jb the photos quite nice.

bem

hmm cos i onli intend to ROM + lunch. i dun really wanna do 2 march in. so i'm thinking, actually 1 dress is enuff for me for the whole day.. not sure. i scared to take up JB AD package cos later causeway jam and the photographer etc late how?? haha..
seriously i haven consider anything abt BS or PG. i'm thinking of venue only!! one thing at a time!

ed_jes

haha okok.. relax man.. anyway we still have one whole year to plan right? PG can take from SG but the dress will be provided by the JB BS mah.. so if you intend to just wear one gown then even easier liao..

bem

i tot usually if take package, den it comes with MUA and PG?
anw how many tables u considering? me onli like 15.

jarlslee

My name is Jarls Lee from Singapore and I am an undergraduate at a Hospitality Management school in Switzerland. For my undergraduate dissertation, I am looking at the negotiation behaviour of prospective wedding couples looking to hold their wedding banquet at 5-star hotels in Singapore.

Your response is kindly appreciated and will aid in the completion of my paper.

This survey will take up 15-20 minutes of your time.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/negotiated_decision_making_weddings_in_Singapore

ed_jes

bem: mine maybe about 19 the most? So going to eliminate those not close ones. haha 15 tales is the min for temasek room, so just nice for you. Don't you find it hard to find venue for our no. of tables?

kenzodream

I just had my wedding dinner at Traders, Gallery Ballroom on 3 Oct 2010.

Unfortunately, there were some unhappiness stuffs happened with them.

1. Post dinner (PD) WAS NOT COMPULSORY for them to actually send to us after the whole event as said by their F&B Manager (). Reason being they are concern about the food safety (not advisable to consume 4 hrs after the event) in view of US as their TOP PRIORITY in case we kana any food poisoning. Unless before hand YOU had requested/CHECK with them. HE said they held 12 wedding till date, and there was NO post dinner served. But after that I double checked with lady Y, she said there was/were actually POST DINNER SERVED. since i cant exactly remembered what time i reached back to my room after the whole event, I cant argue much. I vividly remembered by the time i had my bathe it was 1.15am, and prior to that i did called them up to check (was tld no post dinner meal at all) and before that i had taken some time to pack my stuffs. I regretted not checking properly and requested to ask for their policy on this matter since this was what he said to me - in compliance to the HACCP rules...

Though no PD, but he said they actually send up PRE DINNER MEAL for us - (what, trying to act like they do take care of our stomach, not letting us go hungry). YA they do send predinner, but that was like 4.30pm..who the hell wont feel hungry after the whole event not touching any single food frm course 3 onwards....if nt why am i paying so much of my money for their service...

SUCKS MAX...attitude sucks too esp for this fellow....out of good will..he will offer (NOT COMPENSATE ME HOR, this was what he said) me a complimentary dinner at Cafebiz/Hoi's kitchen...but what the point...

im paying so much to be given this service by them...

anyway we hit the bed with empty stomach (with a few slices of bread left behind by our family)....

to override their bad service, they checked with us on the food quality. I agreed the quality is acceptable as I received positive feedbacks from my sisters and guests. But they are two different things, i can always hit a posh restaurant for their exquiste and fine dinning service and not care abt the food quality...if not why there are a 10% service charge imposed in every restaurant and hotels dining.

2. spillages of plates etc in front of my guests during photo taking.... no action taken. verbally said will investigate...but how would i know ya????

3. sisters telling me dish 3 and dish 4 are served quite close together...yet on the other hand when they served the dessert (to only half of ballroom), my coordinator checked with Bquet Mgr and was told the other half of the ballroom, my guests had not yet finished their course... YOU, bquet Mgr actually checked all the tables on the other half, and NO EVEN ONE SINGLE table finished their Noodle??? to make it worst, the half part area not served were all close friends and relatives...i tink small details like this they dont really take note (i sent my list to them, indicating who who seated where accordingly to different category (relatives, friends, colleagues). As a whole, this is something they should tke care of, not only just focusing on the VIP tables

what tis fellow say (not F&B Mgr), dessert are usually served only when all the main courses ARE SERVED FINISHED....so if the guests took 1hr to finish eating, that mean one hr later te dessert will be served?? and the time aint too early, it is 10plus, and most guests are rushing home... i think their coordination was quite bad..

3. Speaking of the VIP tables, \drinks not topped up for quite sometimes...service was slow, supposed to cue my parents to get ready to send off guests - noting done, my coordinator had to do the job (bquet mgr no nowhere to be found),

alll these small little things actually can see that their service not up to standard.

and they said they value our feedbacks and strive to be better..so if in any case, u come across it...shall see and decide urself....

no point me arguing further with them, it just wasting my time and saliva which i said in front of them...and i told lady Y, can forget about the complimentary meal....

Kindly do take note, brides-to-be...afterall, the lady Y is quite a nice lady...

so gauge urself..service or food quality u looking for.....

anyway, i aint allowing myself to be deeply affected by them. Afterall is my wedding. And i did enjoyed \myself on this day

bem

ed_jes: ya v hard indeed.!! mine is actually 13 - 17 tables. but since most places is min 15 tables, so we are opting for 15 tables.

u can try Mandarin Orchard (Meritus). I went to see their Court Ballroom (15 - 22 tables). its not bad.. can hav solemnization plus tea ceremony at the recep area.
I'm also looking at Oriental.. or maybe restaurants too..

ellentg

I attended a wedding at the smaller ballroom (sorry i forgot the name of the ballroom) few months back. To summarize:

1) Food was good. At least most of our friends (about 3 tables for us) found it delicious.

2) Service was slow. It's not like they were bad or rude... in fact the staff were quite courteous, but they were simply TOO SLOW. The dinner didn't start late (like around 8:15pm) but we only have our last course like around 10:45pm. you can imagine how slow they were...........

and drinks not filled promptly, not very attentive even when we called and waved...etc.

My friend (in hotel line) said that they are quite "famous" for slow service, and can see that most staff are part-timer with little experience. In fact, the gal serving our table was 1st day at work :p

And if you choose to have bubbles effect for your march in, do take note!!! cos when they were blowing the bubbles, the soap bubbles were swamping towards our tables (nearest to the entrance), and all of us were scrambling to find the nearest napkins/cloths to cover the plates and food.... but still kenna :p this action created quite a scene during the march-in...............

Generally as guests, we found it ok... but for the BTBs who are holding banquet at this hotel, you may wanna feedback to the hotel on the slow service part. it just doesn't reflect very well on them.

Hope this help

ed_jes

Bem: Yah Mandarin Orchard can accomodate my tables but the price is over my budget already. Trying to keep under 1k per table. So have you decided which hotel to hold your wedding?

Are you worried about the comment kenzodream wrote?

bem

Ed_Jes: No. So far I onli viewed Meritus. haha. coming traders will be my 2nd visit. how about u? any other places that u shortlisted? I'm thinking of having lunch, so Oriental can still fit in the budget :p Thinking of Humble House too.

not really worried about what kenzodream wrote. I'm not really fussy about service unless its really BAD and RUDE service. more impt is the quality of food.
i guess the worse thing that can happen on my wedding is probably aircon break down? haa.. if not, i shd be fine with anything.

Kenzodream: cheer up okie? i'm sure ur guests enjoyed themselves at ur wedding..

ed_jes

bem: erm coz I'm having dinner so most of the hotel budget all over le. Yah I tot so too, as long as not too bad should be ok. with my number of tables cannot be too picky haha..

Kenzodream: As you already said, what matters the most is you enjoyed that night!

kenzodream

to ed_jes:

i had 24 tables that night.....

i dont wish to implicate lady Y into this picture, afterall she provided me with good service and she is in no position to fight more for us too..anyway, u will know who she is if you enquiry details from this hotel

i just find that they are good at finding excuses to cover their own faults.....

ed_jes

Kenzodream: Ah! I know who she is liao. Yah she's quite a nice lady.

Just checking, on your AD the banquet manager is a guy? Coz all the while it was a lady A.Banquet Manager who's liasing with me.

kenzodream

hmm maybe u can try to ask? the daay i check out, i met with another banquet manager for that day, i aink liking him too...attitude sucks person...hahaha

i think u really hav to emphasize ther service they provide and oso the quality of the food.

I got another feedback from my guest that one of the tables got served with not fresh fish
. got fishy smell. I would prefer u clear all the comments/feedbacks on that night when ur own appointed coordinator (brother/sister) is around.

another friend told me at 1045pm, they were not served with dessert. what the hell? service was really slow...and partially of the guests were already getting ready to leave...
really upset with their service.....

they still can tell me food wise quality was food, all of the above were short-form mistakes....what kind of excuses they can come up with???

better ensure everything stated in the contract....

i too dont like indian, not all, but seem like most of them i came across were kinda LAZY.....

is ok if they give u that fellow, but make sure u state what u request and if they fail, go make noise and demand. afterall, WE ARE PAYING THEM 10% service charge...

they said to me, they value my feedback and will improve...use mine as an example...if they dont, they are jolly well entertaining us by saying that...

ed jes: haveu sign contract with them? when are u holding ur wedding dinner?

ed_jes

Kenzodream: I having mine on 28 Jan 2012. Not yet signed the contract but will attend their wedding show tmr. Hopefully have more perks. Who coordinate with you before you sign the contract? Is it the same person?

bigmelon

alamak! indian coordinator?!!!!! omg!!

i too prefer chinese! hopefully they allow us to state our preference of having chinese coordinator!

kenzodream

to ed jes: ya, is the same person.

thought this person is nice, but ultimately is the F&B side that screw up everything...cos their service really bad, esp this F&B manager.

F*** up attitude...pui.

and the only chinese coordinator (banquet manager) which i got to know, aint that friendly too....got the yaya look...very snobbish..

ultimately their service are really really very bad...filling up emoty glasses can take ages, which i dont understand why? if short-handed, jolly well hire a few more staffs...even Bridal & VIP tables, their service aint good

cos service to these two red tables, are one-to-one service, so i really dont see why they cant provide the service and doing things damn slowly....my sister-in-law had to wait very long for her glass to be filled

haiz...

hope u gals get more perks from them at the road show

check with them on the post dinner meal..dont assume they wil provide, in case they come up with all sort of excuses...haha

bigmelon

so disappointed with the hotel show..

kenzodream (kenzodream): are you referring to a lady?

Was attended by a lady, not from the events management but she said from her experience holding wedding in Traders etc..etc.. regarding banquet she could answer firmly but regarding the package she could not.. so i supposed she is from the banquet side.

i did not feel like talking to her due to the way she carried herself and the style of talking. maybe it was towards the end of the show, she seem impatience.. I really cant help to feel that she wanted to get her job done and go home early..

Spoken to a few of them during the event and they are quite friendly! So l let my fiance did all the talking..

In the end, we left traders hotel empty handed and disappointed becasue we were physically standing in the queue for 45 mins till this lady took us away for the meetup!!! What a disappointment...

tingting1000

Hi BTBs,

I held my wedding dinner at Traders Hotel Gallery last year oct. Was wondering how this tread is now and decided to take a peep here.

Hope i can help BTBs who are keen to hold their wedding at Traders.

If couples who do not like pillars, i guess u might need to find another hotel.
For my case, i booked the min 22+1 hence i got space to play around.

And during my selection of hotel, i do not have much choice already cos my wedding date is a hot date. 3rd oct 2010. Mid Autumn Festival. :p

kenzodream

hi tingting...

i am wondering if u held wedding on 3 oct 2010 or 3 oct 2009?

please clarify and not confuse the brides here

in case u did not read the previous thread post...i held my wedding dinner with TRADERS on 3 oct 2010 at Gallery Ballroom, and Temasek ballroom WAS NOT even booked by any others which was explained why I was able to use Temasek Foyer to hold my cocktail reception...

tingting1000

Hahaha sorry. There was a typo. last yr 3 oct 2009 is mid autumn festival this yr 3 oct 2010 is not mid autumn festival. That explains my typo.

I held my wedding on 3rd oct 2009. Gallery ballroom.

Hi kenzodream,
so we held our wedding on the same date and month.

tingting1000

I can even name u my co-ordinator if u want. haha

but i guess the co-ordinator already changed cos tht time i dint see any indian co-ordinator.

katekate

I am interested in Traders Hotel and would appreciate if fellow BTB (who have signed during the wedding show) share with me the additional perks beside the $ discount. Thank You.

katekate

Is pre-dinner & post-dinner automatically included in the package already or like kenzodream, must request for it? Thank You.

happylittlegal

Hi BTB,

I have attended their wedding fair last friday. Have viewed 3 of their banquet rooms. I think the price is quite affordable for weekend dinner since its around 900 plus nett. But I find that their ballroom is not very grand. In fact, it looks quite crampy. There are also 2 huge pillars in the biggest room which can accomodate 25 max i think.

tingting1000

hi Sandy (sanby),

Sorry for the late reply.
i held my reception at the gallery. Its a little cramp there. so guests automatic will walk in to take a seat in the gallery.