Hotel Fort Canning

Ya, prefer Ben and Jerry cos it's a dating place. Share your photos when they are ready.
And tell me your experience. My close friend did hers in JB too 2 years ago. The photos are fanciful and nice.

Hi to all the happy brides out there!!
i m sourcing for a wedding banquet venue..would like to get some feedback on 'the legends at fort canning'
how is the food, location, ambience, services??
the place seems romantic, like a different setup.

i have just attended the wedding banquet at the legends @ fort canning.

I am sorry to say that this is quite a ulu place to find, and the stage setup is poorly done. The stage is in the center of a rectangle ballroom. Couples only march in from the right side of the ballroom. Meaning that the left side of the ballroom will be totally neglected.

The food is so so only, fish is quite hard. Some waiter/waitress helped to cut and serve the fish for some tables, neglected some other tables. Didnt put any small plates for the fish, we have to request for it. How can they put the big plate of fish and walk away without any small plates? sigh

For the stage setup in the ballroom, I think you can choose to have the stage in the centre or at the end. Having the stage in the centre will allow more guests to see the bride and groom on stage whereas having the stage at the end will be too far for the guests sitting near the entrance.

Anyway, thanks for bringing up. Will take note too.

hi guys... anyone contacts your coordinator lately? Wondering how is the renovation progress of the boutique hotel. Anyone has the latest update?

Just went to the website to check on reno updates. Seems like it will really be delayed till end of 2009. I've contacted my coordinator and asked her to book a room at Conrad for us if the reno is delayed.

Confirm we are staying at Conrad. Haix...troublesome. Most probably we will only stay the day after the wedding. Kuaile, at least there's some hope for you that it might be completed by then.

I've just selected the items on the menu. Want to ask if anyone tried the deep fried spare ribs in grape sauce and double boiled chicken. Thinking of not having shark's fin so replace with chicken and for the meat, spare ribs instead of another chicken dish.

like so bo hua leh like tt... change sharke fin for chicken...

abalone will be a better choice wor~

i haven go for food tasting. mine in aug only...

so excited... looking forward... =)

Kuaile, your wedding in dec right? Still some time away. Your food tasting can be ard Oct or Nov. The chicken is double boiled with hashima and herbs... Abalone already included in one of the dishes. Too many sharks killed will upset the ecosystem so that's why. Asked my coordinator for advice. She said getting popular nowadsys with couples changing shark's fin to other dishes. Most likely will stick to this menu. Unless the spare ribs really taste horrible.

i wanted to try out the chicken one too. but i think pple who come esp the older generation will feel "cheated" cos they will be looking forward to the shark's fin soup. i am gg to the food tasting on this coming mon.

I am gg to upgrade the conrad room to a suite... my ah lao say stay in classic rm very sianz and not like wedding day...actually quite sian tht the building project cannot be finished on time

Let me know how your food tasting goes. Mine's on 13 Apr. Ya quite sian also when I first learned about the reno project. Won't be upgrading cos I want my suite to be at Maldives Conrad.
Intend to go in Sept after our honeymoon trip in June.

Legends package include one day stay at Conrad. If their rooms are ready, then it will be at their suite. Maldives is one of my dream destination.

J & J.... i also thinking either to maldives or japan for haoney moon. best two destination... haha... ops...

Japan is nice. You can go to different parts of Japan. If you are going Tokyo, I can recommend some places.

Will go Paris and Switzerland for honeymoon. Then go Maldives in Sept cos I told my htb that he owe me a suite. Haha!

just had my food tasting. the food is good.... but the braised chicken with chestnut not nice so dun choose tht...the meat abit erm in hokkein they say "hu hu". the rest very good. oatmeal prawn though the appearance not very appealing cos it's abit too "fair",it's rather tasty...

Angel on the 20th May 2009

J&J on the 7 june 2009

ad3lin3 on the 26 Sept 2009

Pinky on the 27 sept 2009

Nigel on the 6 dec 2009

Kuaile on the 11 dec 2009

nope didnt try... cos out of the 3, the braised chix cannot make it, and roasted chix is too normal... so spare ribs lo... u taste liao lemme know nice or not
what else did u choose?

Angel, I chose the sliced abalone with veg, double boiled chicken, prawn with wasabi mayo etc. The rest are the usual dishes. WIll let you know after my food-tasting.

wow... i have to wait for another 7 more mths den due for food tasting... lolx...

tt time dunno the food all will change taste not..

Hi, I just came back from food tasting...

The roasted chicken is ok, quite normal. We tried the shark's fins with enoki mushroom, which wasn't very nice. So I think you guys might want to change to something else.

hi gals, updating to the list.

Angel on the 20th May 2009

J&J on the 7 june 2009

ad3lin3 on the 26 Sept 2009

Pinky on the 27 sept 2009

Claudia on the 3 Oct 2009

Nigel on the 6 dec 2009

Kuaile on the 11 dec 2009

Btw, all of you contacted only through your coordinator? Care to share who are they? Pretty upset on the responses about this and their "promises" previously about the renovation to be completed by their "supposedly" schedule.

Just back from food tasting. Very heavy meal. Maybe it's becos of the choice of food. The double boiled chicken is quite bland. Not v nice. But don't really want to switch to shark's fin, esp since momo said it's not nice. Most prob get them to improve on the double boiled chicken. What's good are the prawns with wasabi mayo, spare ribs and promfret. Feel that the abalone can be of better quality but think not much choice in that too.

The service is v good and personalised with the banquet manager and another assistant serving us. Private room for us unlike some hotels where they have quite a few tables doing food tasting tog.

From what I've gathered re the renovation, the club faces some opposition from their own members. That's why it's delayed. You can find the letter on the website. I think they have to consider their members' stand too.

J&J, we had another 2 couples under the same coordinator having food tasting on the same day, when we go last week leh. You are luckier to have personalised service.

I think I'll go for shark's fins with crabmeat then. By the way, what dessert will you be having? We had the cannot make it honeydew sago, and we plan to change to something else.

The dish that all of us liked best is the prawns with oats.

Hehe. Guess I was luckier.

Considering the shark's fin cos of pressure from parents. If I don't choose that, my parents and future in-laws won't be too happy on that day. So....

Dessert is sago with mango and pomelo. Quite nice. Not too sweet. What other choices do you have momo? Did you choose the colour of your tablecloth during food tasting?

J&J, we haven't choose the table cloth or the wedding favours yet. Our coordinator told us to arrange a separate day to tie up all these... and just enjoy the food tasting. I guess he is right bah. It will be hard to discuss with our parents around.

Mine is the weekday menu.. the other choices are red bean paste and mango pudding.

momo> just curious, when is your AD?
My coordinator had informed us that the florist & deco changes will be finalized in May.

Momo, red bean paste sounds good. Mango pudding a bit common. Our coordinator told us the same thing too. Just enjoy the dinner and dicuss another time. I think the banquet manager is keen to serve us.
So ask if we want to see the table cloth.

Claudia, my AD is in late May. Don't know whether we can get to see the sample when we see the coordinator on sunday leh.

J&J, yes, I will probably be changing to red bean paste.

momo > hopes they will finalized asap, then you can view the sample

hopefully the colour theme is not too diff for your day&night gown

Claudia, saw your post in FB thread.. My BS is also FB. You know why you seldom find FB forum? Cos the thread for FB is always being deleted when a complain is lodged on their thread. And everyone is so tired of posting anything now.

Claudia, our coordinator showed us the tentative floral arrangement from their new florist. It looks slightly more modern than their existing one. So we are KIVing until the arrangement is fixed (the target confirmation date is endApril). If Legends cannot confirm the new florist by then, we can still use their existing florist for our wedding. So there should not be any surprises...theoretically. Haha

J&J, have you picked the table cloth colour? We are taking dark maroon for VIP tables, and bronze for guest tables

Kuaile, sorry I don't have the soft copy nor do I have the florist name leh.. Paiseh.

We were just shown photos of the backdrop and the flora arrangements when we met up with the coordinator

Momo, do they have different themes for the floral arrangement? I love the birdcage theme. I've selected blue for table cloth. Most prob meeting my coordinator end of Apr.