HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

hunny, i also feel heart ache for u!
$800 x 3 bedrooms = $2400!

saw ur updated blog. wow, looks like there's been lots of progress. if u r building cabinets, then end-to-end cabinets will look much better.

how come there r patches in ur living room? is that plastering or false wall?

thanks gals!
i appreciate your advice alot!
I have bought a resale flat, and not intending to make too much.
however, design and quality is still important to me :P
will consider
thanks heaps!!

i am new here.. Just went to the modern living fair in Expo and was stuck there for a long long time listening to all the ID firms intro their product... listen till my head big big...
I will be getting my keys next week... so looking for a contractor. my FH and i find that the ID design are more or less the same. So we are thinking of doing our own design then getting a contractor to do. I see that many of u recommend Patrick..
Is the price he qoute reasonable? My is EA standard so basically i have to do all like tilings and so on... i have a low budget. anyone who has similar unit like mine and have got patrick to do for you? since i also veri new to all these, just checking with you all if anyone bought the tiles urself and get the contractors to do the tiling for u?(cos my sis work in the construction line she can get the tiles for me at cheaper price. she din recommend me any contractor from she side cos she say the workmanship may not be veri good). also what is the diff between HDB doing cement screen and the contractor doing it?
realli apprecipate if anyone can help...
need to get the house done by end of the year cos have the intention of having ROM at the new house and also don wan to reno the house during the 7th month. this year got 2 7th months somemore....

Hi Och ~
I heard that Nippon has a close color match. Yeah, thinking about what color to paint. They have finally done the white wash for me so the place looks slightly cleaner.

Not that grey grouting hard to buy lar, but he says when it dries it looks like black? And it won't look nice with my tiles. Something along that lines. They have done up the rectifications for me too. Like you said, although the grouting was re-done, it's very uneven and i can see the lighter color (old baby blue?) beneath. Half-hearted job. hehe... It's too dark to see so will examine during the day and see how it goes.

Hi Dav,

Like what the rest says, at least Patrick doesn't shrink from his responsibilities and sides his workers. But since he's so busy, you really need to remind him constantly to do this and do that so as home-owners, we really need to be on the ball. It's not like you hand the job to a ID and sit back, wait for them to report to you.

Hi Hunny,

I saw your latest updates! The whole place looks much cleaner now too. Guess you'll be confirming your paint colors soon too?

You also did a lot of re-partitioning. I'm trying to imagine how your current place looks prior to the re-partitioning.

Hi Bluz,

I also bought the package Franke sink from Ray.
But i don't think it's the same model as Hunny. Mine is around $380 or something with a tap if i recall correctly.

Hi VL,

I also did a fair amount of hacking and i think the major costs would go to the hacking of tiles and re-construction of walls. hehe..oh yah, carpentry too.

Ah...only use a few tiles..as a pattern? What other colors are your toilet tiles?

Hi Fun,

Welcome to the thread. Firstly, usually ID firms are very pushy during these expo fairs. So don't let them pressurise you into making a deposit immediately.

I understand that you need to start work soon so has not to clash with the 7th months but since Qing Ming is just round the corner, it'd be a good chance for you to check out quotations and do your research. So hopefully, can start work end April or May! I think a lot of ppl intend to do that cos they want to avoid starting work during 7th months so I'm not too sure what's Patrick or Malcom's schedule like.

If HDB does the cement screed, it's FOC. But if contractor does it, you need to pay. You only require cement screeding if you are doing parquet or laminates for your rooms/house. If not, most contractors will tile and cement the area as they move along. I did HDB cement screeding for my rooms. They took a loooong time to come down man...think abt a month from the time i submitted my request!

Hi Fun
I agree with ssmilezz that ID firms are very pushy and promise you the sky. Prior to Ho Bee, I went to see 2-3 ID firms. I am quite happy with ARANUS (look for Darren). Almost comfirm with him. Can you believe it - his price is even cheaper than Patrick's! 2 reasons why we did not sign up. 1)I already have quite a firm idea of how I want my place to look. 2) I need sound and practicle advices. Like how to run the piping, how to prevent leak, how to build cabinets .. so if leak can salvage ... and Patrick offers these invaluable insights. As mentioned, want my home to last for at least 10 years. Flip thg some design books - think Patrick also offer 3D drawings (not sure) but u need to tell him what u want. The drawings just ti help u visualize.

Hi Och
The patches ... well, actually those are gypsum boards used to cover the cavities in the living room and for partitioning living room and the balcony.

Hi ssmilezz
The ink! ahh... the story goes like that ... during our 1st appt at HBD (sale of our current 4room) - the STUPID officer told us that we can cash our 61K!!!!!!!!!!! Can u believe our joy. Actually we kind of knew somethg was amiss bc we've been told by hs agent that we don't have any cash at all.. not even when we sold the place $10+K above valuation. But then again - HBD where got make mistake one!!?? GOVT OK!!?? so we felt so rich ... we went to buy the Rinnai hob and hood (the ceramic one) and the Frake Aquario!!! Lucky we did not went on a shopping spree over the weekend bc comes MONDAY, the officer called and said she made a mistake!!!!!! Wah ... I was M*A*D boy!! So thus my ex sink, hob and hood - 'compliments' from HDB's mistake! Sighhh ...

Next time tell me i kena TOTO - will not celebrate and be happy until i see, touch and feel the $$

hi fun,
normally, contractors can get better prices fr tile suppliers. but if ur sis is in the construction line, she will hv access to the same discounts. all contractors r able to quote u the manpower just for laying tiles. u can ask that the quotation state 2 kinds of pricing: manpower only and manpower + supply of tiles. u can also ask the contractors to state the price range of tiles that r including in the pricing. that way, u hv a basis for comparison.

hey ssmilezz,
if u r looking for whites, off-whites n more neutral shades, nippon n ici r honestly quite similar. similar range, similar offerings.
i checked both their catalogues b4 i bought the paints. personal opinion is that nippon has a better collection of pastel colours while ici has a better collection of darker n vibrant colours. so which paint u choose really depends on the colour scheme u desire.

btw, i bought 4 pails of different colours to test on my mbr wall, one of which was slate grey. n i find that colour quite appealing. it's soothing n cool, but not dull in any way. it didn't go that well with my colour scheme though, but since ur floor is grey, it might just work as an accent colour in ur place.

i called patrick again abt the grouting. he sounded v. frustrated with the tilers. he said he's coming over to fixed the grouting himself.

hey hunny,
i'm thinking of doing the same thing in my living room, fill up cavities. can let me know how much it costs to fill in cavities for living room? thanks, thanks.

Hi ssmilezz,hunnybunz,och,
thanks for the valuable input. realli apprecipate it. will check with my FH to see if he wans to use Patrick. Let him read this thread and decide.
would like to ask also for EA roughly how much for the reno? anyone have any idea?

hey och,
cavities...sound so dental like.Haha. Is the one under the window in the living room? I have total of 3 ,2 in bedrooms n 1 in hall. If it is abt $480 for 3,then is not too expensive I guess.

abt the grouting,the tiler wanted to use a non matching one but patrick was around to stop him. He bought a more matching one ,did a bit of grouting n asked me if it is ok. (no wonder the tiler said patrick always treat his clients extremely well)
But somehow,some of the grouting is still not good.The color is not even.

hi hunny,
I saw your reno blog too.Wow...the progress is real fast. Things going really really slowww over my side with zilch work done today. Sigh, a day of annual leave wasted.

hi ssmilezz,
ya,sort of pattern only.This is for the common bathroom only which is white for walls n black for floor.

hi hunny,
thanks, thanks. i wonder if these r calculated based on pfr.

hey vl,
nope, not thinking of the under-the-window area. that area is better for shelves, they r 20cm deep.

the cavities i want to fill r in the living room area. u know where the pillar jots out in ur living room, i hv that protrusion n a pillar jotting out on the opposite wall too. thinking of leveling that wall.

Hi Hunny ~

Wow, this HDB quite blur leh..$61k is a lot of *money*. No wonder you went ahead with those purchases. I saw the Rinnai cooker and hob, not sure how or why it is so much more costly than other brands! *scratch head*

Yah lar, next must make sure the $$ is sitting in yr bank a/c before spending ok?
hehe..but i'm sure you'll enjoy all your new purchases!

I also filled up the cavities (below window) for my rooms. But I did that for a practical reason. Cos my aircon trunking was running along the floor and I didn't want it to have too many bends, hence, i decided to fill up the gap. I didn't use MDF boards but those erm..cement blocks thingy? So it was more costly.

Hey Och ~

Really ah..Patrick so pek chek till he needs to do it hands on? I wonder if he has recently changed his batch of tilers? Hmm..anyway, I have a feeling that when i finally see the rectified grouting, I'll prob be grumbling abt the uneven color next. *sighz* But what to do? This is like the 3rd time they did the grouting, I'm not even sure if it's advisable to do it over and over without damaging my tiles. So frustrating..i feel like doing it myself. hahaha! :P

What do you mean as an accent color?
Just one wall with that shade?

Hi Fun,

The quotation will really depend on what u want to do. So assuming you want to do lots of carpentry, hacking, retiling, it's definately gonna cost more.

Enjoy your weekend ladies!

hi pple> wow.. thread gtg too fast..
anyway, if u got questions abt reno, can ask.. i believe our friends here are very nice to share experience BUT NOT quotations.. coz is dependable of indivdual needs.. but hor.. personally prefer questions to be in pt form.. easier to read.. one big "essay" hard to find questions esp when thread is moving fast..
dun worry abt any company or so.. coz ssmilez, och and i have been "complaining and sharing" reno stuff instead of company..
good luck pple..

Yo Nihpcac ~

haha..quite true, I don't mind questions but the only thing is if ppl don't read bother to read thru all the previous posts and just come in here to post a one liner type of question, hmmm, seems like not making much of an effort right?

How are things? All settled and cleaned up?? When is your AD???

hi fun,
it's difficult to define an average for renovations. like what ssmilezz says, quotations can vary wildly depending on what u want done n the quality of materials used. it's more prudent to set a realistic budget based on ur finances instead of a "norm".

hey ssmilezz,
yeah, he sounded v. pek chek over the phone. kept going "those pple har....troublesome...".

yup, by accent colour, i mean that the colour is the "contrast" colour, so it can be one wall with that shade, or the colour of the wall at the end of a passageway, the colour of a "cavity" (if u hv them). but of course, that's just a suggestion only lah.

ssmilezz> sigh.. becoz that time need to move in fast due to new year.. major rectifications all done.. but minor ones not yet.. also got no time to ask malcolm to do.. busy with AD.. can still live with minor ones at the moment.. see how first..

hi hunny,

mayb i wan something Zen or baliness...have u seen any of his work of his previous customers hse?...also normally how long a reno will take?

Hi dreamer

Ours theme is Balinese/Zen ..
We did a platform for the studyroom and we use wenge for the latform the timber stripes(colour) and Mocha for the living room. Our master bedroom toilet - theme is resort -- towards the balinese type. We have pebble wash with tiles that look like planks for the wet area. we will be putting up a stone mirrow with wooden frame. Don know if our definition of zen/balinese is the same ..
Reno takes about 1 month.

YiPEEEEeeee! Patrick will LIKELY to hand over end of the week! But stress man. Lots of stuff going on. Platform fr the study is up. Kitchen cabinets will be up Monday. Chemical wash done already. Lights will be in on Monday. Paiting will be Tue/Wed. airon will be on on Thurs. Grilles in Thurs ...Looking forward to life going back to 'normal' soon.

Will try to uplaod my photos ..

Hi Nihpcac ~ You sound really stressed now! When is your AD? Just round the corner?

Hi Hunny ~ Good to know the handover date will be right on time!!
*yay* Looks like this week a lot of things to be done up for you. Keep us posted yah?

Hey Och ~ Just as expected, he shook his head when he saw the rectified grouting. He says proceed on with the rest of the works first, later then get them in to rectified once again. Still not up to standard! Unbelievable. :P

Ahh..i understand what u mean abt the accent color now. Just confirmed my painting colors today. Erm...and at the same time, ask how much if we need to pay if we want to repaint (worse case scenario if we hate the color we choose).

Hi dreamer

You can view at ourrenoblog.blogsome.com

But not much to show at the moment bc no pianting yet. Furnitre not in yet alo. Maybe weekend when the colours are up. But u can view the pic of the master bathroom

with the pebble wash

Hi ssmilezz
My grouting is also very very bad. Uneven colours. Got holes. ! after chemical wash ...more obvious! Don know how! sigh!

Will upload pics tonight

Hi Ssmilezz,

I bought the Franke sink package with accessories at $378 (Original package price is $338 + $58 accessories)and Turbo Hood and Hob at $588. How much you bought your Franke? My FH lazy to go IMM so we went Jalan Besar and found this shop and thinks the deal not too bad.

Just like to check, you under mount your sink? The sales staff said i could under or top mounted Franke sink.

Anybody here can recommend any shop where they sell downlights at reasonable price?

Hi Hunny ~

Yah, I know what u mean. A lot of empty lobangs here and there right? Some places can't even see any grouting. He also gave up trying to rectify, says proceed on first, later then do.

Will check on your blog later.

Hi Bluz ~

The price of the sink is quite standard cos it's their normal package. I didn't buy the accessories and paid S$330. Should be the same package ba.

Let me check with FH if we are going to undermount or top mount the sink. I can't recall cos it's been quite some time since we discussed that.
Keep you posted ok?

I'm not using any downlights so can't help you with that. See if the rest of the ladies can help!

Hi Bluzcorner,
For downlights,check out this shop called Crown lightings tel:67463287 add:600 Geylang Rd
We jus bought all our downlights from them,find tat they offer the best price after alot of research.

i got a difficulty here... may i know any of you having bad experience on wall tiles not in line done by Ho Bee?

May i know how you will respond to it when ones says that it's due to HDB's fault as originally it's already like that.

But what i can see is that all the rest of the walls (done by HDB) are nicely done up except for the new ones (done by Ho Bee) leh...

Cos mine is really terrible and i was feedbacked that nothing can be done...

Really vexed and dunno what to do.
Pls kindly share your experience and advise.

Hi Aprilgal,

I'm a little confused cos since u say HDB already provided the wall tiles, how come there are certain areas which are done by Ho Bee instead? Did you hack only a portion of your wall tiles?

Basically, if they can redo the tiles already provided and done by HDB, then i see no reason why they cannot rehack the tiles and redo it for you.

Esp if u see that the alightment of the wall tiles (joining points) are not even straight. It's definately not acceptable. I have gotten them to rectify for me and sometimes, more than once cos even the rectification was not properly done.

Don't be vexed, perhaps if u can share a bit more abt your problems, i'm sure we'll be able to have a better picture.

Hi Ssmilezz,
sorry for not making myself clearer...

we'd sealed up the existing kitchen entrance and create a new entrance. therefore wall tiles are needed to fill up the new wall.

however, the wall tiles for the new wall(done by Ho bee) aren't in line with the existing wall tiles (done by HDB) and it's claimed that it's due to HDB which had resulted it to be "one side up and one side down".

And the worse thing is that i was told nothing can be done. even re-do also will be the same, ugly.

Oh my, i can't believe my eyes and nv expect to hear such remarks.

Hi aprilgal

Mine wall tiles in the bathroom are also not done properly! Sigh! Not aligned .. with some croocked. Told Patrick and he rectified for me. Think Patrick is not the kind that shrink resp and says that "not our fault, HBD's fault!" So do check with him (not his workers) again.

But I agree that his tilers are really not up to std lah. My mom also says ...very 'rough' the work. Sigh.

Rectification is frustrating andf also tiring.

Just gald that Patrick will hand over this weekend.

Hi slgerman,

Thank you for your info, i will check out the downlights.

Hi aprilgal,

sorry to learn abt that. but i am sure Patrick will find a way to rectify the problems. Or is there any pic you can show us?

Hi Hunny & bluzcorner,

Ya, i've got no choice but to approach Patrick for help and true enough he's willing to check and retify for me though i'm not under him.

finally saw some lights after calling Patrick up.
initially still pondering whether to call him cos it seems like not very nice to approach patrick since i'm not under him, but 'heng ah' that i've called.

very grateful to him though still in the midst of solving. His good atitude is good enough to cure my sadness for the time being.

Hi Hunny & bluzcorner,

Ya, i've got no choice but to approach Patrick for help and true enough he's willing to check and retify for me though i'm not under him.

finally saw some lights after calling Patrick up.
initially still pondering whether to call him cos it seems like not very nice to approach patrick since i'm not under him, but 'heng ah' that i've called.

very grateful to him though still in the midst of solving. His good atitude is good enough to calm me down for the time being.

i'll try to upload the pics tonight.

hi ssmilezz, hunny,
oh my, that sounds like my grouting! uneven colours, holes in some places n ultra thick grouting in others! n this only in the areas around the retiled spots! i think the std of tiling has really gone down.

what's worse, i found out that the glass shower screen pple cracked more tiles while reinstalling the shower screen. i need more retiling! as if that's not a nightmare in itself, the glass shower screen pple hv managed to break 3 piper holders so my water pipes r now dangling in midair.
every time those guys come to my place, they cause some damage! they crack tiles during installation, crack tiles during uninstallation n now they crack more tiles during their 2nd installation.

hi bluzcorner,
i got my downlights fr lights arcade, together with the rest of the lights. i'm not sure if the prices r the cheapest around though.

hi aprilgal,
i just called patrick n he said he was heading to ur place. i hope ur rectifications r done soon n well.

Hi och,

Ya, i tinking of gg lights arcade as i see quite alot of positive feedback in this forum. But can i just check roughly how much does the down lights holder cost? I went to one of the shop at Jalan Besar and they quote me a double holder at $22 and single one at $19. Reasonable?

Hi aprilgal,

Dun worry too much at the time being since Patrick had assured u he will look into it. Do keep us update on the progress k.

BTW, wat's your love nest?

bluzcorner> depending on the design of down light holder too.. mine is $22 for single but coz mine, there's a separation btw the holder and the ceiling type.. that's why is more exp.
ssmilz> AD in Jun.. lots of stuff not bought yet..
just imagine the house got the most minimum stuff for survival.. ahahaha.. instant noodles is a must.. ehhehe

Hi nihpcac,

d one dat i was quoted was round in design, whether chrome or not chrome still same price. i actually wanted a square one but it is more exp. oh ya, i understand that i still need to know how thick my false ceiling will be before i buy d downlights right?

yup.. normally downlights can fit in all false ceiling now.. dun forget still got the ballast and the color of the downlights to decide..
i wanna warm feeling so most of them buy warm light but not sort of regretted coz when i bring work home, i sit in front of TV to do and watch at the same time and warm light is not good for eyes..
so do take note if u are a workaholic like me.. still in office rushing work now..

hi bluzcorner,
like nihpcac said, there r a few different types of down lights holder n prices sometimes vary according to type. besides size, shape n colour, there's also the maximum wattage, horizontal (4 inch thick) vs vertical mounts for bulbs (abt 6 inch thick), cast iron (?) vs non cast iron, glass cover vs exposed, ballast or no ballast etc. i'm quite confused abt the differences.
think mine is $23 for double tube, $18 for single tube, n i got a discount for the entire purchase. if i just bought downlights, i doubt i can get a discount. at least no one else was willing to offer a discount. let me try to find the receipt tonight to give u a more accurate price. one caveat though, i'm not sure how relevant my prices r, since i bought in dec, just b4 christmas, when everybody is changing their lights during that period. for reference, my downlights r round, horizontal mount with glass cover n cast iron (supposedly rust-resistant). bulb is osram. ballast is.... cannot remember.

hi bluzcorner,
false ceiling r by default 6 inch drop from ceiling. if u want less drop, u need to let the false ceiling guys know beforehand.

here's the photo, taken yesterday.
356347.jpg

Thanks Bluzcorner, feeling much better now. Not so much of lost feeling but looking forward to how Patrick going to solve this.

According to Patrick's experience, it's due to the tile dimensions and also the wall issue. but still can be done. it's not till the extend that "nothing can be done, redo also the same"

But my question is how come wrong dimension tiles were used and have to make me accept the ugly finishing?

Hi aprilgal
Yeah, from the pics look like the tiles are of different sizes. Just like my problem in my common toilet. (Pics on my blog ... sori don know how to upload pic here). But lucky, the tiles of 2 diff sizes are seperated by the shower screen. But was our fault, cause we did not take the size of the 2 tiles into consideration when we purchase.

Hi Och
Yeah...I can understand. Now I kind of scared to go to new place .. cos everytime new work done, sure got problem! sigh

Work's real fast .. this week
- platform up (not complete)
- paiting done (but again workmanship not good)
- Window rubber changed (thought changed already but today workers were there again to take out the whole window and re-do the rubber)
- Down lights up
- Kitchen cabinets up
- Cabinets under the windows - frame up

Tomorrow
- air con in
- finish up all the lighthing job

Wah...soon ..soon

aprilgal,
u didnt chose the tiles yourself? och gave me many tips on tiles so I made sure the tiles are of exactly same size when I did selection. Another thing, even if same tiles design but different batch, the measurement can be slightly different.

hi aprilgal,
i cannot tell clearly fr the pics, but it looks like the new tiles r a different design from existing tiles? so u r not using hdb's tiles? my experience, n vl faced it too, is that even if the specifications say two types of tiles r the same, the chances of them aligning exactly is quite low.

hi hunny,
saw ur blog. wah, work is progressing fast! i like the blue in ur boys room. nicely matched. the colours r quite different from those of ur current home.

no pics of ur kitchen?

i find i'm a bit more zen abt rectifications when the house is still undergoing renovations. it's less of a hassle to do rectifications. now that my renovations r officially over, i'm very impatient if the rectifications cannot complete. it's like i go thru so much trouble to arrange for rectifications, n find out that the workers do such a bad job that there r more rectifications. it's like a neverending domino wall. i gave patrick one list, almost everything was done except for the grouting n the shower screen. then the shower screen pple came n now my list expands again! at least the grouting pple just mess up the grouting only. the shower screen pple mess up so much that other groups hv to be called in to repair the damage they did.

The painters did not sand the oors before they paint - so painting uneven!! Xian already. But frankly, think Patrick has too many projects on hand to do a good supervision work. !We had to go down to our new place almost everyday to make sure that there is no hiccups! I am quite tired leh ...

Hi VL,
the problem is i nv choose the tiles at all and i was told that they will try to get similiar tiles to match with old tiles but i was not told that the result will be that terrible. I trusted them cos they are experienced and yet i receive such result.

Och,
ya indeed, there are of different design at all.

If i were to know it earlier, i would have seek for better options before anything has been done rather than siting down here waiting for them to rectify again.

It had delayed my moving-in schedule since Qing Ming is just round the corner.

so far, the rest of the cabinets were not up yet so yet to list down any defects.

Hi Hunny,
Ya, it's true, i'd been going down almost everyday since sat.

anther issue.
my newly-built wall surface was not smooth at all, is it true that it's painter's job to smoothen it?
I saw that first layer of painting was already done but the surface still not smooth leh.

Hi nipcac & och,

thank you for your advise on the downlights. I will go check it our again this sunday.

I am meeting Patrick this sunnday see if he can give some advise.

Hi Aprilgal,

Indeed, it is badly done. Who is d one comments that not able to be done? I tink he simply just want u to accept it as it is. Dun give way ya, see if Patrick can give a better solution.

Hi Hunny,

The paint works are badly done? I intend to paint all my bedrms in dark color, if paint work is bad then will become very ugly.

Hmm.... i now start to worry liao cos i am d one who convince my FH to take up Ho Bee rather than Impress. He will definitely "scream" at me if a alot of problem surface.

Hi bluzcorner,

You see the workers are generally more slack. EG - painters - never sand the doors/doorframe/pipes before they paint - so very uneven. But when Patrick got to know about it, he says he will handle it. And I trust him. Cos he has done many recficications that he has promised.

MMm...should not blame each other lah, when thgs don't turn out well. Actually, I've been married for 6 years, with 2 boys age 5 and 2
The rule of thumb, one person makes the decision, both shares the responsibilities. So no finger pointing. It's always so convenient to say "You decide" and when things don't turn out well, "See! You are the one who made the decision". Hubby and I have gone through this stage - trust me. But as we got older, wiser and after the zillionth quarrel, we got smarter and devise some ground rules to lead a sustainable marriage life.

If I were to choose all over again, I would still choose Patrick - for his honesty and sincerity.

So no worries lah ...

Hi aprilgal
Our wall surface also not smooth - think can apply some plaster to make smooth. Can ask Patrick ... His plater guy not bad ... One by the name Ah Ping/Bing - cute looking somemore! LOL

Dear Och
How's everythg coming along? rectifications yet??
Our current home, the theme was 'balinese' - but due to very tight budget, because we got married staright after graduation - it looks quite 'rojak'. With a better budget, we are able to do more this time round for our new home ... thus the difference. And our current place, sigh.. I just painted the place on my own last year .. Since the curtains are orange .. the walls have to match. Our new home, I fell in love with Earth tones

OH! BTW, the electricians not very truthful .. make mistakes, then change our drawings and claimed that we were the ones who wants it this/that way! XIAN! But we gave in, look on the bright side and avoid disputes because the issue not major lor

And the workers broke one of our lamps. They thought that the box that contains the lamps (wrapped in newspaper) are rubbish, so they threw heavy stuff inside. Luckily, they have not dump the 'rubbish'! SMS Patrick and he immediately say to invoice him. Sigh ... not his fault also lah ... since its not a significant amount, we got a new piece and bear the cost. There should be give and take lah. Cos when I told Patrick, I wanted to change colours for the walls, he agreed. And when I told him that I will bear additional cost because we were the ones who were fickle minded, he said its OK... So the lamp issue we decided to 'close case'. His workers also lost out toilet bowl parts ... and he will need to get from Ho KEE this weekend.

Not able to hand over tomorrow ..

Anyway, lots of stuff done today. Hubs and I took half day to go monitor the work. Will upload pics 2morrow. *yawm*

Hi bluzcorner,

You see the workers are generally more slack. EG - painters - never sand the doors/doorframe/pipes before they paint - so very uneven. But when Patrick got to know about it, he says he will handle it. And I trust him. Cos he has done many recficications that he has promised.

MMm...should not blame each other lah, when thgs don't turn out well. Actually, I've been married for 6 years, with 2 boys age 5 and 2
The rule of thumb, one person makes the decision, both shares the responsibilities. So no finger pointing. It's always so convenient to say "You decide" and when things don't turn out well, "See! You are the one who made the decision". Hubby and I have gone through this stage - trust me. But as we got older, wiser and after the zillionth quarrel, we got smarter and devise some ground rules to lead a sustainable marriage life.

If I were to choose all over again, I would still choose Patrick - for his honesty and sincerity.

So no worries lah ...

Hi aprilgal
Our wall surface also not smooth - think can apply some plaster to make smooth. Can ask Patrick ... His plater guy not bad ... One by the name Ah Ping/Bing - cute looking somemore! LOL

Dear Och
How's everythg coming along? rectifications yet??
Our current home, the theme was 'balinese' - but due to very tight budget, because we got married staright after graduation - it looks quite 'rojak'. With a better budget, we are able to do more this time round for our new home ... thus the difference. And our current place, sigh.. I just painted the place on my own last year .. Since the curtains are orange .. the walls have to match. Our new home, I fell in love with Earth tones

OH! BTW, the electricians not very truthful .. make mistakes, then change our drawings and claimed that we were the ones who wants it this/that way! XIAN! But we gave in, look on the bright side and avoid disputes because the issue not major lor

And the workers broke one of our lamps. They thought that the box that contains the lamps (wrapped in newspaper) are rubbish, so they threw heavy stuff inside. Luckily, they have not dump the 'rubbish'! SMS Patrick and he immediately say to invoice him. Sigh ... not his fault also lah ... since its not a significant amount, we got a new piece and bear the cost. There should be give and take lah. Cos when I told Patrick, I wanted to change colours for the walls, he agreed. And when I told him that I will bear additional cost because we were the ones who were fickle minded, he said its OK... So the lamp issue we decided to 'close case'. His workers also lost out toilet bowl parts ... and he will need to get from Ho KEE this weekend.

Not able to hand over tomorrow ..

Anyway, lots of stuff done today. Hubs and I took half day to go monitor the work. Will upload pics 2morrow. *yawm*