HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

Hi hi all *waves*

Hunny ~ So that means the plastering is not done by the painters ah? too bad i never take leave...cannot ogle at the cute looking plaster guy. hahaha!!

My wall is also not smooth. Reminded Patrick a couple of times already and he says will plaster again before the actual painting.

Gosh, that was really bad of the electricians!
Luckily you discovered it, i hope you did feedback to Patrick so at least he is aware of what his workers are up to. I heard that he has employed a new girl (marketing?) and she's helping to meet potential clients. Hopefully, it can lessen his workload a little so he can do more supervision. Things are really going out of control.

Which color do you intend to repaint? The purple feature wall?

It's another slow week at my place. :*( Only painting is done. Supposed to complete my parquet polishing but it has been delayed. *sighz*

Hey Bluz ~ I have also painted my house in darker shades. Will take a look at the paint work and let u know how it goes ok?

As for franke sink, we will be doing a topmount.

I'm sure your FH won't blame you lar cos it's not within your control too. Take one step at a time yah? Like what Hunny says, everything is about giving and taking.

Hey Aprilgal ~ Any updates on your side? I hope they will be able to redo your tiles for you and hopefully, get something similiar to your current tiles.

Yo Och ~ Will you have problems with the tiles that need to be replaced? U kept extra tiles?

Hi few days nv come into this thread and it's moving so fast...

Guess Patrick must have been very nice that he has so many die hard supporters. Met with Patrick and Hennie a week ago for quotation... feel quite comfortable with them except that Patrick is really quite stern looking( I guess that is the 1st impression he gave to every customers of his).must say he really provide free and valuable renovating informations . now still waiting for his quotation so that I can compare it with Impress21...

By the way, if U all know any specific painter, tiler and etc that is good must really recommend in this thread leh... haha so that ppl like us know who to request for ... hahaha.. but it will be so funny if we ask for specific ppl for every diff job...

hi hunny,
have you used the Wcs yet? The reason I asked is cos Im also using American Std(frm Ho Kee) n the dual flush button(common Bathrm Wc) got jammed this morning.Called the Ho Kee pple n they were kind enuff to send someone to check.There was a problem with "something not put upright" when the Wc was installed. The fault was easily rectified by Ho Kee's plumber.He also adjusted my MBrm's Wc. I have another WC not installed yet(downstairs toilet) n if P's plumber dont do it properly this time,all my social etiquette going to be thrown out of window.
Is a good thing that Patrick is a responsible guy but rectifying faults is so time consuming n cost ineffective.

hi Ssmilezz,
is a slow week for u but it is even slower for me! Just a bi fold door put up since Mon . I dont want to harrass P cos I think he is up to his neck already. Next week will see more action......hopefully

Hi VL, Me also using American Std from Ho Kee. No jam so far, I mean I have been flushing a couple of times but no jam. Oh dear, you mean the one that is in the Master Bedroom is also not install peoperly. MMMmm, then I wonder if mine's properly done... no jam now does not mean no jam later.

Yeah. Lots of rectifications ... even painting. Workers are terrible!!

Did you give P a deadline? Told him by hook or by crook I have to shift in by 1st April. Cos of feng shui lah. That's why lots of rush job.

hi hunny,
I didnt give P a deadline cos I dont want a rushed job.
ya, Ho Kee staff adjusted the 2 installed Wcs upstairs. BTW I see P's plumber didnt use all the parts which came with the WC. All thrown 1 side but I kept them just in case.Ditto for the bath mixer/raindance sets.Not talking abt the 2 round thingy which are for inside wall water pipes.Other bits n pieces,not sure what they are for.

HI VL,
We were also concerned when we realised that the plumber did not use the original parts .. and he threw them all away. Claimed that the original not as good as what he supplied. But no idea whether true or not.
To sum it all up, think his workers ... not very good leh, in terms of workmanship and attitude.
They need to be monitored all the time! Don't monitor only, sure got problem!
Mmm..seemed that we are the only batch of customers that have so much problems because all these while, this thread is very positiove one ..

Hi Hunny
so i presume that pastering work not supposed to be done by the painter ya.
Cos someone told me that the painter will do the job but i met the painter the other day, not cute looking leh, somemore unfriendly one leh...

Ssmilezz,
Patrick did manage to find some identical tiles and he will find some other same-dimension-tiles to fill up the rest.

So far progressing quite well. quite satisfied though nothing has been done yet. will only start hacking on next mon.

shall updated again.

wah, one day din check the board n there r so many messages!

hi aprilgal,
glad to hear that there r some similar tiles. do take a look at the replacement tiles b4 tiling starts. at the end of the day, u hv to be able to live with the tiles, so it's never good to assume the contractor's word is law.

if the replacement tiles r still dissatisfactory, u can consider going for vastly different tiles with strong patterns n turn that patch of wall into a pattern. when side by side tiles r of different patterns n different colour, it doesn't matter as much if the tiles don't align.

if u suspect alignment is still going to be an issue, ask the tilers to align the tiles at eye level, cos that's the part of every wall that pple's eyes r drawn to first. tilers usually align wall tiles fr the ceiling.

also if the unevenness of ur new wall is at the edges, that's most likely a plastering problem. tell patrick u suspect it's plastering n he can just call the workers to come over to rectify. if he has to personally check what's the problem b4 he calls in the right pple to rectify, that can ... er.... take quite some time.
plastering must be done b4 painting starts.

is the newly built wall a hollow block wall or a false wall? if it's a hollow block wall, do check if the "paint" u see is actually sealant. it's for ur long term sanity sake. sealants r somewhat sticky n they smell terrible. new cement walls (n some false walls, depending on material) must hv sealant to make paint stick to the wall. once paint goes on, u won't know that the process is wrong until 1-2 yrs later when paint flakes fall on u. that's what happened at my place after my previous contractor's painters skimped on the sealant.

hi hunny,
i also got my current home soon after graduation.
we did very little renovations then as well since the house was in a good condition. nope rectifications not done yet. working until 5am every day for the past week, so couldn't arrange a time for rectifications yet.

sorry to hear abt ur broken lights. patrick will always pay if his workers break something. his workers broke my mirror, my porcelain soap dispenser etc, n he has offered to pay me back for all of it.

the electrician that did my place was ok. followed the floorplan i gave him. i also had some things i wanted to change but i'm not sure if it's doable since i'm not overhauling my home like u guys. the electrician was v. patient n went around checking if my wishlist can be achieved. took him a good hr of tearing out electrical casing n climbing all over the place. but one guy from the same subcontractor came to help him n that guy is quite dishonest. overheard him telling my electrician in hokkien to cut some corners so they can knock off earlier. i told both of them in hokkien n in front of their boss that they should stop dreaming abt doing that.

my sense is that patrick only drops by occasionally, not everyday, to supervise. i dun think the quality of work done during my renovations was that different fr the flat i visited - avg to abv avg, not the best i've seen, but then again, the prices reflect that. the rectification team recently has been bad though.

hi bluzcorner,
like hunny said, there's no point in attributing blame. i'm also married for 5+ yrs. the thing i learn over these yrs is to refrain from pointing fingers within the marriage. the home is impt to both of us. if we agree to go along with a decision, regardless of who brought up the original idea, then it means that we agree the decision is the best that we could do in the circumstances. nobody feels good when things don't go well, n the natural inclination might be to point fingers when one has the wisdom of hindsight, but the fact is that the decision was made jointly n we r in it together n we want to stay together. if there's a problem to be solved, then solve the problem.

also, hdb-provided walls hv rough texture. if u want the silky smooth look, u need to do either whole-wall plastering (by a good plaster guy) or build a false wall. there's tradeoff. whole wall plastering is cheaper, but plaster might crack after some yrs (though it's easy to fix). false walls r more expensive, but they don't suffer fr cracking problems.

if u r going with whole-wall plastering, do remember that whole-wall plastering is a lot more work for the workers, so never assume it's going to be done voluntarily. if there r particular walls whose texture u worry abt, let patrick know b4hand, then he can schedule plastering (make sure he remembers!) n ur renovations won't be delayed.

also, glossy paints show up uneven surfaces more, so if u r choosing glossy paints, u will need to evaluate if the walls r even enough.

hi ssmilezz,
yup, i hv extra tiles. made patrick give me half a pack per tile chosen at least. i even hv spare 600x600 homogenous tiles.

hi stressed,
u hv limited leave days right? no point not giving a deadline when u actually hv a deadline. i think u should let patrick know the constraints u face. if u give him plenty of advance notice n the deadline is reasonable, then u r not rushing him. but if u keep quiet now n ur leave runs out, then he will really be scrambling to complete ur renovations. that will truly be a rush job.

Hi Hunny~thank u for your advise. Ehmm.... i guess my FH will be understanding lor but it will be me who will feel bad. Anyway, i am still hopeful.

Hi ssmilezz~what color u choosing for your bedrms? I would like to have blue or grey for my masterbdrm, olive green for my studyrm then perhaps brown for my 2nd bedrm. Do update me on the progress ya....thank u

Hi ,

Is patrick the owner of Ho Bee? Today did a checked with HDB web,in fact ,HDB licence belong to a lady call Ms Tho. Anyone has any idea ? Thank u

Hi all, I've read thru quite a good portion of this thread, I think I'm keen to talk to patrick about my upcoming renovation, can some kind soul let me have his number? Thanks!

Had take over my flat from patrick on thursday and will move in tomorrow. He and Ah Keong had rushed the job for me as I needed to move on saturday.

2 rectfications needed to do are 2 downlights and painting works. Called up Patrick and he immediately responded, knowing my situation.

imo, he is responsible and sincere (minus abit forgetfulness), though i had already paid up
btw, Ah Keong also

VL, thank you sooo much!

Actually, the thing is that we oredi have our own independent ID and we can choose to use his or our own contractor. Originally we thought we'll go with his since they've worked together many times and hence the communication between them shd go smoother, but we just got the quote from his contractor and I think he is trying to rip us off! So I've decided to look for my own contractor. We originally planned to move out on 1st april, really hope we can settle everything by then

Does Patrick offer any worksmanship garantee of at least a year or more?

Hi Hankhuu ~

Good to know P has handled over your flat to you.
Now, it's your turn to start cleaning and get busy.

Hi Tangrace ~

I think this license issue has been brought up before in the earlier pages of this looooong thread. hehe..I can't quite recall why offhand. *paisei*

Hi Bluz ~

I was also considering Olive greenish shades but didn't chose that in the end. I'm going for a greyish-blue color for my rooms. The study room is a orange-yellow cheery shade. Now considering if I should paint an accent color as what Och suggested earlier for my bedroom. hmm...

Hi Aprilgal ~

Good to know at least some similiar tiles have been found.
Hope it is to your liking?

Hi VL ~

yeah..very slow week man. Think P's busy with Hunny's house cos of her handover dateline. kekeke...

My toilets' have been left without doors and WC since the beginning of my reno. The best part is up to now, my old WC (from HDB) is still sitting in my bomb shelter. P told Ah Keong to bring it back to the factory for their own future usage. Ah Keong was saying.."Huh? bring back again ah? We have so many extra WCs sitting around in the factory leh.." Was telling them the carpenters can have their own individual WCs at this rate they are "collecting" them. LOL!

Very ma fan..cos I can't erm..use my toilet so need to look for public toilet.

Hey Hunny ~

Nah, i think prior to the batch of us, there may be ppl who have their own problems under Ho Bee too, just that no one made any noise online. Can't be we are so "lucky" right?

Did your fengshui shifu give u the precise hour to move in?

Hi Tangrace. I read from the earlier threads. Patrick bought over the co from Mrs Tho and due to some legal obligations, he cant change the name and Mrs Tho has to remain as a partner for 2-3 years. Somethg along this line. But what i understand, yes - Patrick is the boss

Hi ssmilezz
No lah ... we don't really follow fengshui to that extent. Actually, I am a Catholic (but my hubby is not). And the fengshui thingy is really just for the peace of mind. To assure us (at a good $688) that our home is a safeplace for our boys to grow up in. And yeah .. paiseh ... think all workers were concentrated at our place ! LOL

Hi berrywife
Patrick give 5 years warantee!!!! (or was it 3!!!??) But definately more than 2 years!Wah 1st April is next Sat - how to complete reno? Our reno took us almost a month

Hi aprilgal
Aiyah. Not cute one - then not the plaster guy lah. The plaster guy - cute 'baby-face' one. Look very intelligent. Humble and hardworking. His partner - more 'beng' looking but also very good with his work. AiYoh, the painter, unfriendly somemore don do good job! But they all very big size and gor 'dragons' one, so we all don dare to make too much noise LOL! Just ask Patrick to tell them to sand the doors before painting. LOL LOL!

Hi summerala
Yeah. I really appreciate Patrick. He has made our reno a beautiful experience (not withour headaches and problems though). But his honesty and sincerity really touched us. In return, we try our best to minimise changes and offer to pay fr cost incured due to changes from our own fickle mindedness. i.e Change colour fr our masterbedroom and change the lenght of the false wall at the entrance after it has been done up. But he would just shake his head and say "necr mind". That's why we did not charge him for the lamp that his workers broke and we went down on our own to Ho KEE to get the parts of the toilet bowl that his workers misplaced. Yeah ... he very stern looking. Seldome smile one. That's why when he jokes ... we find it exceptionally amusing. !!

And I have agree that his carpenter - Ah Keong, also very responsible, accomodating - a nice chap. Chatty.

Will be goinbg over to my place in a while. Cos they will finish washing up the place by 4pm and some furniture will arrive - the kids bedset and our sofa from Luxur.

I really looking forward to move and settle in. It's been a stressful month - in fact months, starting from the day we stepped into the home, looked out of the window, captivated by the reservoir and bought the place (purely on impulse) within the week! On top of this reno madness, I still have 2 boys, my thesis (yeah-study partime!!!
. In fact I just had mjy wisdom tooth removed ... but gung ho ... still will go down to new place latter!

But I am so glad I joined this thread - cos I felt I knew all of u like friends that I've known for ages ...(funny huh!?) and I am gald I can share my journey with you all, while hearing your woes, problems, excitement and happiness.

hunnybunz, hehe wat I meant was to move out from my place on 1st apr (I am renovating my current home) so that reno can take place few days after. BTW, I read your blog regularly and often look forward to new entries about your two little ones, I think you are a superb mummy! I'm also a mom, sahm to my 18 mth girl.

(Oh, and I'm also keenly looking out for news on Hi-5 cause my girl loves them, if I see you at the event, I'll be sure to say hi!)

Hi Hunny ~

It's ok lar...your house must have been so crowded! No place to stand. hehe.. I went to check out my painting, am quite happy with the colors. Was actually quite worried that i may need to repaint so had asked P before hand for a quote. Kia su right? keke...

In any case, the plastering was not done properly for the hollow block wall so the wall look rather uneven. Happy to see that our window grilles are in. Toilet door for the kitchen also in. We discovered that our switches are in quite bad shape. Not properly aligned (not even at all) so we decided to change all our switches in the end.

Oh yah, one more thing, the painters (not sure if it's those dragon chaps) cos the painter we met when we confirmed our colors was quite a cleancut looking young fellow. In any case lar, they didn't use tape to cover the switches or the door frame, so can see very crooked lines. *yikes*

Wow, you are a super mummy!! I really *salute* you being able to handle so many things at the same time. Hope your wisdom tooth is healing well. Drink more cooling stuffs yeah? Cos i think running around up and down to your place and all that additional stress, you may neglect your own health.

Actually, P is a very funny guy. He just takes a while to warm up. We also felt that he was very stern (seldom smile) at times but after knowing him for a few months (yes! our reno and preliminary discussions took so long!!), we know he's not as quiet as he seems. hahaha.....i enjoy teasing him cos u never know what sort of response he comes back with. LOL!

He commented that he's very busy training his new staff and taking over one case (i presume it's prob Aprilgal's case.) :P

i agree with ssmilezz.. maybe coz during our reno, not as many customers.. by my time of reno, Patrick is already up to the neck that he sort of stopped taking in customers.. but again, i liaised with malcolm, so not as much..
anyway, pple.. these are the groups of pple i think do a better job.. if if u don't get these groups, is ok too.. dun forget when workers do more, they get more experience.. of coz everyone dun wan to be guinea pigs.. BUT 1 gd thing is that if u think the work is not up to standard, Patrick/malcolm will recitfy them..

these are the groups whom i think of better workmanship
1) electric-- dun think the grp with 50 plus uncle and auntie did a good job.. sort of anyhow charge the elect and the elect points are in weird positions..
2) flooring-- the team of uncle and auntie better.. good tiling
3) carpentry -- ah keong and the fat uncle and one more apprentice(dunno his name but always with fat uncle).. really aligned caprentry nicely.. AND NOT do things blindly(ie do exactly from the picture). Coz my experience, macolm gave them old sketch(too many version) but didnt update them the sketch but the caprentry came and didnt fit in, luckily i'm ard and fat uncle ask b4 doing anything and suggested which should be the way for beauty and easy maintainance and at the same time, utilised all caprentry which have been done in the factory.. output is slightly different from sketch but more logical and rational to us.
4) plumber> no comments coz when they are doing, both of us not ard.
5) painters -- lousy.. not very serious.. but again, not easy job to paint.. so dunno lar.. feedback b4 to pat and mal liao..
6) windows -- they have this booklet.. forgot company.. quite solid window though a bit weird, maybe coz my size is not standard type.
7) grilles -- from same book too.. so far so good.. (pls note..from CLEANING EXPeriece, dun choose too complicated type.. else torture when cleaning..mine is those 3 in a horizontal line, 3 vertical type, supposed to be safe for kids purposes but cleaning.. siao!)

hmm.. should be abt these...
btw, anyone got soln to homo tiles.. that time me got uneven and changed.. but seemed that those new ones are still unpolished type.. so 2 different tones and not as shiny.. any remedy? my tiles should be reflective type but not all..
SUGGESTIONS??

Hi all, is Monday again.....

I had met Patrick's new staff yesterday, called Hennie. But P did not mentioning her taking over my project, just told me she is the designer. Actually, i tink Ah Keong did a gd freehand drawing already. Although Hennie did some embellishment but still looks the same what ah keong had shown us 1 week ago.

I guess shld able to start reno work in another 2 wks time. Had bought 21 downlights, 2 kitchen lights, 3 bedrms, 1 storerm, 2 kitchen n 1 standing lights, total cost me abt $920. Finally, bought almost all d impt stuff.

Hi Aprilgal~Glad to know things r turning well for you. Actually, och offers a very gd suggestion, that is to give your wall some design. To make it more of an artistic piece. I will be hacking one of my bedrm and also need P to look for tiles, but later i tot of replacing a small portion with contrasting colors like blue or black.

Hi och~My FH is actually quite accommodating, he let me be the designer n he is the financial controller. He makes sure what we buy is according to our budget. Thumbs up for that.

I hv not choose the actual colors for painting yet. Still comtemplating blue or grey for my Masterbdrm, but i still hv time to decide. I hv not actually go round my new place to look at the walls, some time to naked eyes the wall looks even leh, any gds tips to do the checking? I am actually choosing laminates for my shoe cabinet, seette, tv feature wall, console, tv console feature wall, kitchen cabinets, wardrode...... headache over this.....

Hi Berry~P offers 5 yrs warranty. Feel quite secure with this. Just go ahead and talk to P.

Oh so Hennie is the new staff.... No wonder nv heard of her name in this thread....

Finally got my quotation from Patrick... must say it's really not cheap....

Hi Summerala,

Yes, Hennie is the new girl.
P says he's busy training her now..bringing her out for appointments prob to get customers used to her. So have u been checking out other quotations so far?

Hi Bluz ~ Seems like she's more like a ID doing perspective drawings. And I definately agree with you, Ah Keong does very good freehand drawing. Best part is, he can squat for a very long time and not get tired. Very pei fu..cos after awhile, I give up and have to stand up. :P

Are you doing any tiling work? If yours consists mainly of carpentry, then the painting will be done quite soon. Before the carpentry comes in.

Hey Nihpcac ~

True true, there are so many different group of workers and most of the time, we are working so I don't really have an idea who's working on my place. Hmm...looks like u may need to get them to come down to polish that particular area. Cos most homo tiles have this layer of wax to protect it and it will look very dull until the polishing is completed.

Hi Summerala~actually i had compared P's quote with 3 other id and contractors (including Impress)and find P's quite reasonable. And i chose P mainly b'cos his reputation is gd in this thread n when i met him for several times i really find him giving practical advise. He even help me to fix my Masterbd rm toilet as it was flushing none stop. Thumbs up for his service.

You got ur quote from Impress already? I muz say he gave pretty gd discount..... my FH was soooo attracted to that.....He always say P very stingy, haha....

Hi Ssmilezz~my place was a premium flat so no need to do any tiling work other than a little to cover the wall area where i am gg to hack and replace it with glass.

I have yet to look at the color booklet for painting, i tink i am a little short of time for choosing wall colors liao ..... N do you know if they hv a lot of colors to choose for solid surface?

Hi Nihpcac~u do powder coated for your grilles? i am still contemplating whether to do window grilles as i will be staying at 4th floor.....

Hi got my quote from both company le....

after asking for more discount.still almost a thousand more than impress. so now stil in a dilemma on which one to choose.... Must say both are equally good.... Ho Bee is best known for good and prompt services... But Impress also got very good reputation and Henry is really efficent and nice... Heard before that actually workmanship by Impress is not bad either too....

So now... guess I must go and think hard hard... And Ho bee seems to be busy... so scare they will have a lot of rectification in the end...Dun really wish to go up everyday to supervise their work.....

Were u all in a dilemma too in the beginning??

Hi berrywife
Looka like there is no annonymity on the cyberspace afterall! LOL. Just curious - you found my family blog then my renoblog or vice versa. As I always say, every mom is great.

Hi bluzcorner,
Just to cf notes.
Electrician - Indian group - quite good with their work. Neat. But not honest. Few incidences with them. The most recent bring, the connect wires wrongly as a result transformer burnt but they said the transformer was spoilt in the 1st place.
Tiling - heard uncle/aunty is good but we did not get them. Got an uncle - skinny and lanky in his 40s/50s. Workmanship so-so.
Carpeneter : Ah Keong does excellent freehand drawings. And he's very willing to help - like ask him to cut additional planks for us ... no problems, he will do for us. But I've never seen the fat uncle. His apprentice - izit the young chap with the messy hairdo? Cos he's the one who does the platform for us. Very helpful - helped us install planks and drill holes for mirrors and stuff. BUT not align/staright leh - so in the end we decided to do on our own.
Platering/False Ceiling/False wall - One Cute looking guy and his partner (a bit Beng looking) but both really good, neat and fast with their work. Very friendly too.

Hi Summerala
P's quote is high. Higher by at least 1K when we cf with design firm. But we choose him bc of his good reputation from this thread.

EG: Y'day, we went back and realised that our storeroom door was damaged by water. We tot of chaging in when we shift in. To our utmost surprise, someone came down and took measurement of the door. Tht guy said that P told him to change a door fr us FOC. Our current door is just a ply wood one. P gave us a SOLID WOOD one. And even told the guy to rush it out for us. And even told him to follow the pattern of our other doors! So,u can see, P is a very sincere and honest chap. No regrets getting him.

Hope these helps

Hi Bluz ~

Thank goodness you don't have much tiling to do. I think tiling has been a major pain for me. The painting can be done within 2 days. They'll do a white wash (white paint first) and then your desired color. Not to worry. But it is really quite hard to chose a color from that tiny square in the paint brochure. LOL!

Oh yes, depending on which brand of solid surface u intend to use, they do have quite a few shades. Did you get them from Patrick or Ah Keong? Cos they passed us two different brands and it's been with us for erm....more than a few weeks now. :P They'll allow you to bring it back to chose.

Hi Summerala ~

Think no matter which company you chose, there will be things that needs to be rectified. It's very time consuming frankly and sometimes, frustrating.
I find that lately whenever i go to my place, I'm always looking out for mistakes or things to be rectified. Not too sure if it's because i'm very particular or just not very sure what to expect from the workers now.

The plumbers just installed my new WC and it's crooked. The WC slants to one side quite obviously in fact. *sighz* Need to rectify again. FH commented that HDB's original WC was installed much straighter than our new one. Have no idea if it was done by the same two Indian workers.

I try to go down a couple of times in a week but sometimes, i don't see much progress at all. It's like the electrican do their work halfway and then leave the things all over the place.

Sorry to rant, it has been a long day. :P

Hi ssmilezz

Think our reno started about the same time rite -after the CNY? So when will P hand over the falt to u? Did you give him a dead line?

Think its a real rush for my place. Actually suppose to hand over last Fri ... lucky we had 1 week buffer. Even so, think after this Fri - sure still got rectification work.

Oh dear WC crooked? But think quite easy to rectify ... not like tiles - once crooked that's it.

Yeah. If u are not getting an ID - gtg and check as often as u can offaord. For us, fortunately, our new place its just 5 mins walk from my work place and 10mins drive from our present home. Thus the luxury of going there almost everyday

Hi Summerala~

Yes, i am in a dilemma at first. But in the first place did you compare apple to apple? When i met P, i had already made some adjustment to my design so the price different is about $1k overall compared to Impresss. And my FH found Impress quote not detailed and scared will hv hidden cost also.

Hi nihpcac~

hehe actually i also dunno the what is powdered coated. Is just dat when i mentioned to P that i might need window grilles he told me powdered coated is nicer. Ehmm...... still cannot decide whether to install first.

Hi Hunny~

Thank you for your notes. But i guess it is not up to us to choose who will be coming to do what isn't it? But i am just curious, how you know the indian workers lied about the transfomer thing?

Gd for you, can go there and supervise as and when you like.

Hi Ssmilezz~

I hv not got the booklet for painting and solid surface yet lei....... so now the colors dat i chose for laminate dunno can match or not. Guess i will call P and get the booklet first.

Hi all~ like to check anyone of u all use city gas heater? i would like to know if i use dat will i still need storage heater? If no, dat be great cos can save some $$$......

Hi bluzcorner

There were 3 incidences in all.
1. we gave them a drawing detailing where we want the double tubes for the false celing. The install wrongly then change our drwaing and said that it was our initial instruction. Well, we were sure that was not our initial instruction bc the place we want the double tube is actually for our piano area. The area has been designated long before reno started.
2. The dining lights not align in the middle even thg we told them to do so. Reason, if it was right in the middle, the bar would hit one of the down lights. Weeks ago, we surface the possibility of the bar hiting the down lights and ask them to shift the down light. They kept assuring us that it would not hit.
3. When we went back to Arcade Lights, the girl told us that if the wires are connected wrongly, the transformer would burnt. Then she open for us to see - and true enough there were black burnt marks. So the girl change another transformer for us for free.

Having said that, I could understand lah. Cos if everythg they admit they soil - wah .. like that it really hurts their pocket man! And also the Indians, they are very swift and neat with their work.

Ya i did compare items to items... most of the items.. Ho Bee seems more expensive... initially I also find Impress 's quote not detailed.. but later when i check with Henry again... realise most of the items he is not calculative...

Haha anyway I will let my Hubby decide lah... really headache... Im more concern about thinks like daydreaming abt my house design... colour theme.. buying things like sinks, basins..hood and etc...so excited...

Hi Summerala ~

It is really quite exciting thinking about all the new stuffs you can buy for your home. Really feel the heart pain each time we buy some items cos we can see the bank account decreasing at a very fast rate. hehe... Actually, I went ahead to buy some of the stuffs I know i need for sure way before it was required cos I didn't want to end up rushing here and there buying those items so at least when the actual reno started, I could spend more of my time going down to supervise. And I'm really glad I did so.

So perhaps once you decide who you are signing up with, you can decide on your basic fittings first. A lot of nitty gritty to remember so would be great if you have a list.

Hi Hunny ~

Actually, my hacking and wet works started before CNY! Then there was a delay as HDB took more than a month to come down to do the cement screeding for my bedrooms. So one delay led to another and plus with all the rectifications going on, for every two steps taken forward, I seem to go backwards (rectifications)like one step.

So how's everything coming along? How do you intend to pack your barang barang to move on? Using big boxes?

Yeah, the WC is slanted. Erm..P says if we erm...use the toilet by standing slightly slanted, the WC won't look crooked anymore. *duh* FH says if we do that, our tiles would look crooked, so ask P if he prefer to rectify our tiles or shift the WC instead. haha ~

Unfortunately, we do not live nearby so need to travel up and down. Very tiring cos we do not drive too.

Hey Bluz ~

You can get the painting brochure (2006) from any paint shops or even some DIY shops may have it too if they have a paint corner. Do take both brochures (ICI/Nippon) and decide which colors you prefer cos it's ok to chose from both brands.

As for the solid surface, it's not really a booklet but small square samples that come in a box! Quite heavy leh... I found them very useful to mix and match with my laminates samples. YOu can call up the laminates company to request for a bigger copy of the laminates (some up to A4 in size) so you can have a better idea of how it looks like. They will send the samples to Ho Bee so Ah Keong or P can pass it to you. Not a problem. I requested for quite a number of samples (more than 15 i think).

I'm not using the citygas heater. Mine is the normal instant heater. So can't help you on that.

hi ssmilezz,
WC should be quite easy to remove n replace. I think you got the same plumbers who did my place.They will have to rectify some shoody work done in my 2 bathrooms. Will list after they finish the plumbing for kitchen and kitchen toilet.

What color have you chosen for the laminates? I cant decide at all.Too dark,worried the kitchen will be dark. Too light ,difficult to maintain,also hard to match solid top.A K have not give me the solid top samples to view. Said "all given out"

Hi Hunny~

oic.... come to things like reno really need to take note of little little details.....

Hi Summerala~

For me i personally want everything to be stated in black and white then i will feel more secure. But since u had already checked with Henry and feel comfortable then take some time to tink it through if you are not in a hurry to hv ur hm ready.

Like u, i am very excited with the entire thing. Feel so happy that finally will hv my very own place called home. Maybe can start looking for any sales advertisment and visit some place to compare prices, but muz remember not all sales are cheap. Cos two weeks ago i actually went all the way to loyang to visit Turbo Warehouse sales, but then my FH realised that in fact their current package for hood & hob is cheaper than the so called Sale itself. When we check with the sales auntie there, she could not explained.... waste trip.

Hi Ssmilezz~

Oh, so the solid surface colors come in a box.... gosh, muz be damn heavy. Okie, i will then need to ask ask ah keong for it if not i cannot decide on the colors for my kitchen cabinet's laminate, but then VL mentioned all given out lei..... tink will hv to wait liao....

Em.... this wkend will visit paint shop to get the painting brochures as well.

Hi VL~

sigh.....no wonder they did not give me the solid surface colors last wk. What color is your kitchen wall tiles? Mine is an ugly orangie one. So i guess i choose off white for laminate (can remember what is the color name)then my ideal solid surface color is orangie/yellow to match my tiles.

Sigh..... in fact my initial plan is do all black, will look cool man.... but black kitchen cabinet with orange tiles, so werid isn't it.....

So wat's your ideal?

hi Smilezz and bluzcorner

so where did u all buy ur lights and sinks, oven all that.. heard that lights arcade , royal franco...hong liang and asia excel quite cheap... but im those type who dunno how to bargain one... and will feel bad when i feel like im squeezing others dry dry ...hahaha

Hunnyhunz

so u bought ur sofa in Luxur...how was the quality???how big is ur sofa? what is it made of??

Hi Summerala ~

I got a Franke sink + tap from Asia Excel like Hunny. I'm not really good at bargaining but no choice lar, to save money need to be thick skin. Doesn't hurt to ask politely lar..after awhile, you'll get "seasoned" and automatically ask for discount. haha...

I bought most of my lights from a shop beside Chan Huat at Balestier. Cannot remember the name, got a good bargain cos they delayed our lights, so we gave them a good scolding and squeeze them as much as we can. :P My dining lights were from Lumiere - great service...but expensive stuffs. And yes, you can still bargain with them.

I went to Luxur too. They have many diff sofas and fabrics. Not too bad, prices are a steal too.

Hey Bluz ~

Oops..looks like u and VL waiting for the solid surface samples. I'll probably be returning it to them very soon.

Yah, go get the brochures!
So many choices i tell u.

Hey VL ~

I took a pretty dark shade. Basically, i only have white lighting in my home, so after hacking my previous kitchen tiles (orange - thanks to HDB), I did white/blueish wall tiles to brighten up the place.

What colors have you shortlisted so far?

Hi bluzcorner
Black with orange will be very outstanding. Ive seen one kitchen in that combi...in a mag. If u wanna take a look, I can search for it and scan it in for u.

Hi ssmilezz
We are shifting 2morrow and have engaged a moving co to help us. They provided the boxes too.

Hi summerala
I bought my lights from Lights Arcade. Look for Andrew. And my Franke sink from Asia Excel. Look for Ray. Tell them u got their contacts from FORUM and they will not overcharge u. Cos they will know that u've done your homework.

The sofa is 'fake leather' for the body and cloth for the cushions (cannot rem te exact type). Not bad leh. Find the sofa very good and sturdy and no hiccups. But as mentioned, think if u could do a sketch for them of what u wan .. even better

Wave everyone.
P suppose to hand the home to me last Fri! Alamak! The kitchen top still not up. But he knew i am shifting 2morrow...so y'day saw him at my place doing grouting himself! Wah! really a hands on person man
Really no regrets getting him!

Anyway today
1. Kitchen top will be up
2. Roller blind will be in
3. Alumix will be in
4. Study room table laminates will be complete

ENDLESS packing!!

Tomorrow SHIFT.

YIPEEE

Hi Summerala~

I got a Franke sink as well... heheee b'cos i like their accessories. I got it at Jalan Besar a shop called Chuan Heng i tink. The package for the sink and tap is actually $338 and can buy acc at $58. But i ask for discount so i got my sink, tap and acc at $378. I consider the price pretty ok cos i lazy to drag myself n FH to IMM.

I got my lights at Eunos warehouse, actually found it quite cheap but to me they seems to hv sales everyday, qualtiy wise, not sure yet.....

Just a tip: even things in package price can oso ask for further discount.....no matter wat, the shop still makes $$ one. Then when they total up the price, ask for further discount again, let's say $388, then tell them $380 lah.... haha... i feel like auntie in market....

Then also check if they charge GST, delivery charges.....

If you feel paiseh then ask your FH to be the bad guy lor.... dun belittle guys, they make gd bargain as well.....

Ssmilezz~

i actually not too urgent in getting the solid surface sample as i am still waiting for HDB permit approval. Maybe VL needs it more urgently... so wat color did u choose for your solid surface?

U hack your kitchen orange tiles? Me too also tink the color is ugly. But to avoid incurr cost, i just live with it lah....just had headache dunno wat color to choose for my kitchen cabinet.

Hi Hunny~

Congrats! your luvnest is finally done up!

Orange with black is nice? I will really appreciate if you can scan the pic for me! thank u thank u.

my rectifications r done!

hi vl,
which brand of solid surface r u looking for? if it's corian, the colours r online: http://www.corian.com/corian/c/en/h/Colors/index.html
lg: http://www.lghi-macs.com/colors_selection.html
cresto doesn't hv its full selection online, but here is a sample http://www.cotopdesign.com/blank.html.

hi hunny,
glad to hear u r finally moving in! hv fun tomorrow! looking forward to seeing more pictures of your home.

hi bluz,
powder coated windows r windows whose frame looks a bit like it's been painted. the most common powder coated windows r those that r white framed, but a lot of condos r starting to use dark brown frames (with greenish panes) n green frames. dunno if u get what i mean.

i agree with hunny that u can go ahead with black laminates in ur kitchen. saw similar designs in magazines n the combination look great. hv a couple of orange drawers to add contrast, a bright orange solid surface top n u get a v. trendy kitchen. u will need more lights to make sure the kitchen is bright enough at night though. or go totally bold n choose a brightly orange or red kitchen. hehe. if u want a more conservative kitchen, it might be better to go with wood laminates (choose light woods that will match ur orange tiles) rather than white.

Hi Och~
happy for u that your rectifications r done!N it means no more headache... haha...

U oso tink black laminate for kitchen is nice? Glad to noe that as give me a little confident to play ard with colors. I had went into the link that you provide to VL, Em.... not quite what i had in mind. I actually dun intend to choose solid color for my solid surface as i tink if there is any scratches it will be obivious isn't it? Wat colors did u choose for urs?

I won't b choosing any wood colors as i am not into woody thing. i like my place to b modern contemporary look, bold colors used, looks sharp....*daydreaming*****

Oic, i tink i get what u mean for powder coated windows liao. i am still contemplating whether to do window grilles.....

hi bluz,
thanks, thanks, i'm v. happy too.

er... if u click on the corian n lg small samples, a bigger sample will be shown. most pple choose solid surface tops with speckled surfaces. my mum has an off-white speckled solid surface top n u cannot see the scratches. but the bright n bold colours, like corian's mandarin, usually come in solid colours. scratches shows up quite obviously on solid colours unfortunately.

besides solid surface, hv u considered using black granite? indian black granite has less sparkles. but the granite sample is even heavier than the solid surface sample.

there is actually another option which fits a contemporary theme v. well. i saw it in the classic kitchen showroom. the kitchen top is actually a normal laminated table top with straight edges, no bull-noses. a thick piece of coloured glass is placed on top of the table top to give a v. contemporary look. for ur home, u can choose black glass. then hv a black glass backsplash to cover the area between the top n bottom cabinets. hehe. er... that's assuming u r hving both top n bottom cabinets.

in my house, i din use solid surface. my dry kitchen uses laminated tops (straight edges) n the wet kitchen uses a cement worktop.

I wonder how u all know the standard price of the ideal sink, Hood hob or oven u wan?? Do u really go and memerise or jot down the model u wan by hunting around?? I cannot memerise leh... also very lazy to wrie down..so confusing

Hi Summerala ~

Well, besides doing your research online, u gotta take down all your other quotes lar. Cannot be lazy lar..your house mah..so need to put in effort! Jia you! Best to keep a spreadsheet for easy comparison.

Hi Hunny ~

Congrats on your big move!!
I'm so glad everything is almost settled for you. Do update with more pics if you are free - hehe..guess it'd be after you settled in your new, lovely home.

Hey Och ~

Long time no hear. How how? Everything done up pwetty pwetty looking?
I like the fact you use a cement worktop for your work area. It's practical and more hardy.

Hi Bluz ~

I haven't chosen the solid surface yet. hee...still deciding though. What HDB permit are u applying for?

I'm having some problems with my electrical sockets. We told P to change them to Clipsal cos the original HDB MK switches were either damaged, or in bad shape after the reno/painting. We saw that the switches were done but guess what? FH suspected that it wasn't Clipsal brand cos there wasn't any brand logo. So he opened up one of the switches - true enuff, it was some other brand!
Unbelievable man...I really dunno what went wrong now. Was it the electrican? Or lack of communication from P?

The best part was, when we called him this week, he kept saying, yah, this and that has been rectified etc. But, it was not done. ARGH. I'm so frustrated..if it's not done, then tell us, why say it has been done?

In any case, my grouting still not resolved yet too. Hmm..hopefully he remembers.

Hi och~

cement surface? so it will be a raw look? Ya, i oso think it is better to choose solid surface with speckled surface too.

Ehm..... nv mind, i don't worry that first c the samples then decide. Sorry, i suaku, what is bull nose? Wa.... ur suggestion of black glass top is sooooo nice, wanted to hv that immediately!!!!

Hi Summerala~

Like what ssmilezz said, it is your house, n i believe you will want the best out of it without burning your pocket.

First, go look around and be spolit with choices, then decide which is the design n model that you will like. N better still if the shop offers you brochures, bring it home n decide if the design suits your style. So when you go around "shopping", look for the design or model that you so called deide then start asking for price. Like me, i put all info in a file, including reno quotes, designs from mag that i like, hood n hob designs, colors n so much more...... trust me,i was nv so organise in other areas.....haha

So when your place is ready, you will definitely feel a sense of satisfaction.

Hi ssmilezz~

I am hacking one of my bedrm wall so need the permit, i just heard from P that it had already approved! But dunno how much is the PE charges yet lei......

Oh i tot you decide on your colors liao, so wat you hv in mind?

So you changing your switches to Clipsal, any additional charges? I saw some of their switches in the website, the silver one, look so cool but i guess it will cost a great deal....

I guess P muz be up to his neck liao.... dun worry, i think P will remember. Anyway, how often do you go to the site n check?