HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

just to clarify, the cabinet with holes is not my vanity cabinet.
it's another piece of carpentry that i installed recently.

Hi Och and smilezz

Me want to finish my reno b4 hungry ghost start... becoz dec AD lah... by that time will be too busy to bother abt reno things.....

Me went to so many company for quotation... until sianz already... very tiring one... and IDs are always on the high side... Maybe I will go to impress 21 for quotation before getting from patrick....

Hi Och and smilezz

Me want to finish my reno b4 hungry ghost start... becoz dec AD lah... by that time will be too busy to bother abt reno things.....

Me went to so many company for quotation... until sianz already... very tiring one... and IDs are always on the high side... Maybe I will go to impress 21 for quotation before getting from patrick....

hi can any1 share their package? or quoteS?lokg at 5rm premium

any1 reno below 15k? n is pleased wif their service?

cos i was wonderg reno cmpy attiude will it b pay more means more gd servic, pay less mean lousier service?

Hi Och ~ Not really just the grouting but the tiling (for toilet) was overall not very well done. Could be due to overlay or maybe even quality of tiles. But Patrick commented that due more to kongfu of the tilers. haha...

Hi Summerala ~ I see...if you want to do reno before 7th month, it should be between May to July. Cos next month is Qing Ming right? if not, then your reno will need to start after 7th month which is sometime after Sept ba...

Sometimes obtaining too many quotations will be quite confusing cos each time, you tend to ask/change your ideas etc and so it's never a fair comparison i feel.

Hi iceblue ~ I don't think it's fair to say that more $$ = better service. It really all boils down to the individual who's dealing with you. Even a blacklisted ID firm, would prob one ID who is quite ok ba...if not, they would have closed shop long ago. :P haha..

Why don't you contact Patrick or Malcom for a quote? They can email you once you let them know what you want/need.

Hi bluzcorner ~ Ah Keong (the carpenter) is a friendly and merticulous chap. He can sit down and talk for hours to make sure he covers everything. Patrick leaves all the carpentry matters to him

Usually when Patrick doesn't have any projects going on with carpentry ready, he will let you know. It's quite normal lar....

hi ssmilezz,

hee i jus asking only, cos i wry mine budget vry low, jus v simple reno. no 1 really interested to entertain me haha

u mean i can jus email them tel them wat i 1?cos tis mth i really no time go meet IDs so hp can get a rough quotatio then wen free then meet them

btw do u mean qing ming cant reno/

Hey everyone, I am also doing my reno with Patrick. Yeap. I thought their tiling is good ...but no leh ... crooked and not even. So ask him to rectify. I must say I am impress with Patrick's service ... when we ask him to rectify stuff...he never shrink responsibilities - so no such comments like "It's like that one!!! We keep a blog. can view at ourrenoblog.blogsome.com
Will update on the 'defects' later.

hi hunny bunz,
Ho Bee doing reno for me too. I viewed your blog (from renotalk).Should have viewed earlier cos I bought my Hansgrohe raindance package etc from Bretz.I only know they are avail in Bretz, Mohd Sultan n Balestier. Would have bought frm Homeplus....

I also bought a Franke sink combo from Asia Excel tho is not the Acquario.
Co-incidently Im using glass mosaic for a section of the common bathroom too but mine is 30 by 30(same size as the white homo tiles) After getting valuable tips from Och(forumer here) I made sure the tiles align.

Agree with you that Patrick's service is excellent...so far anyway. He seems to have solutions for everything.But am worried abit abt the tiling now.2nd day of tiling today and is not the same person who did 1 wall of the MBR bathrm yesterday.

Hi och,

mine place is a new 5rm premium at punggol. i actually intend to start reno by end of tis month or Apr. Actually i am not in a rush but my FH wanted to get it done soon as he got lotsa off n leaves to clear by May.

I can say i actually had a fair bit of capentry to do, e.g. full height shoe cabinet with 8ft seatte, 6ft tv console and full height tv feature wall, abt 9 ft feature wall to cover my bomb shelter, 23ft kitchen cabinet, 6 ft Mbrm wardrobe with additional small cabinet (size to be confirm).

Hi nihpcac,

so Ho Bee give 5 yrs warranty! i always wanted to ask Patrick but slip my mind everytime. That really sounds assuring.....

Hi iceblue27,

How you wanna reno your place? My budget is actually around 15k too. Now it actually comes up to about 16k plus, still i am happy wif it. I even intend to hack one of my bedrm wall n changed it to full planel glass with glass door. So if your reno is a simple one then i believe 15k should do the trick.

Hi Summerala,

Wat i tink is dun go to too many id n contractor, although is not wrong to compare quote but i find it too confusing getting too many to compare. Impress21 quote is fairly low i shld say n Henry is very gd at following up once he furnish the quote. But still, Patrick left a better impression, so i am set to get Ho Bee to be the one!

hi summerala, oic. there r 2 7th months this yr right? it's probably a good idea to start early if u want to avoid 7th month. it will be oct if u wait until after 7th mth. coordinating a reno and wedding at a same time is v. stressful.

hi iceblue,
my reno was way below $15k n i'm pleased so far. i know what u mean by no one wants to entertain u. i experienced the same thing when i was sourcing for reno too.

if u r clear abt what u want, u can ask for quotes over the phone or via email first n hv the site visit later. that's what i did.

hi bluzcorner,
that's quite a lot of carpentry!
u hv an 8ft settee?!?!! does $15k cater to only carpentry or r there other stuff?

hee! my rectifications r almost complete. one last item left.

Plumbing.
anyone has their plumbing work done already? Sigh! Today went to see the blumping work - almost faint! The pipes criss-cross here and there and there is a really BIG hole in the kitchen wall where the pipes enter the bathroom from. It appears that the plumber did not give ANY thought to the work before constructing the pipes! Will meet Patrick tomorrow and see what he says!

Window.
The window supplied also very bad quality. Very thin. Maybe just 2mm according to my Father-in-law. And the rubber were not properly cut!

Will take photo and share.

Wah Patrick really has lots to rectify. Don't know whether we all very 'ngiau' or his workers are not up to mark!

Sighhh

Hi och,

yup, i hv a 8 ft sette. Actually wanted to hv a storage compartment with it but then quite costly, so drop the idea. The whole 16k plus inclusive of the carpentry work and full glass planel wall with glass door, changing of 2 bedrm doors, but electrical work still not in yet.

Ya i strongly agree that getting too much quote is quite a headache. and confusing coz i try to compare.... oso think it is impoosible to really compare them...... One or two as a reference is still okiee

Smilezz
So are they going to overhaul ur toilet and redo again??

Och

thanks for the reminder.. din no there's 2 7th mth this yr.... Muz really check carefully le...

Bluzcorner..
Hey ur quote seems to be reasonable hor with so many carpentary... did u do your tiles and falsecellin or L box

Btw... is false celling or L box cheaper??

hi hunny,
i thot ur kitchen tiles were already half up? why is the hole from bathroom to kitchen tiles made only now? the plumbers need an electric drill to puncture the wall between kitchen n bathroom, it's not possible to hv a small hole. what usually happens is that the hole must be made b4 tiling starts, then a connecting pipe is inserted n the hole filled b4 tiling continues. if this wasn't done, patrick will definitely rectify for u. as for where the pipes run, that can be changed v. easily n v. fast. no need to worry. it's also easy to change the tiles that hv been damaged by drilling in the pipe holders. so dun be too agitated ok.

2mm windows?! first time i heard of such things.

hi summerala,
usually, l box is cheaper, bcos false ceiling designs usually cover more area.

Hi Summerala,

No, since it's overlay, not very advisable. So he has rectified the specific areas for us.

Yes, there are 2 7th months. Must plan your reno properly ok?

Hi Hunny,

Welcome to SB.
I have also been following your thread/renoblog. Haven't been updating lately eh? hehe..must be very busy.

My plumbing only partially done cos the workers can't continue unless my tiling is rectified. Hmm, the two workers we had were fine. Everything looked pretty neat. Did you get those two Indian chaps? They did damage one of my kitchen wall tiles while drilling but that has been replaced.

Hi Bluz ~ WOW! That's a lot of carpentry.
Have you decided what type of designs you like?

Hi Iceblue ~ yes..u can email or call him. Not a problem lar..if he's busy, his wife (Mikki) will help to take down the information.
He treats everyone fairly..be it a $15k reno or more!

Hi VL ~ I got my Franke sink from Ray too. Just got it delivered recently and the delivery was very prompt.

May i know where you got your glass mosaics from?
I saw some new ones at Soon Bee Huat! So pwetty...so glossy....

Hi iceblue ~ no no, u really confused. Ho Bee is not at IMM. That's HO KEE..the shop selling toilet fittings, etc!

Ho Bee is located at Ang Mo Kio side and Sunggei Kadut. But he's free to meet anywhere else..don't need to go down to his factory. Nothing much there actually. hehe

hee thks ssmilezz!haha i shld b cal icebluR , R not E liao

btw can u pm me abt the brand of ur kitchen top ?if not convenien here

hi ssmilezz,
I got from SBH,Tg Katong branch. Saw bathrm tiles designs using mosaics frm the net.
Ya, delivery for sink(Asia Excel) was on schedule but they forgot to bring the warranty card for the Turbo hood.
Nice nick u have...must be a very cheerful gal.

hi och,
I have some hitches with my tiling so I have to change my design.Sigh....this is despite of taking leave n around when they do the tiling.Arghh.

hi iceblue,
Im only doing 3 bathrooms n kitchen reno so I dont think my Ho Bee package quote is useful for you. Do fax your floor plan n wat u need to be done to them. Compare n then decide.

hi hunny,
Im sure Patrick will rectify for you. He has loads of experience n full of ideas too.

Hi Summerala,

My quote includes false ceiling for false ceiling for living, dinng and foyer area. Oh ya, it includes Mbrm toilet vanity w/ wall to wall mirror. I don't need tiling work as mine place is a premium flat.

Hi ssmilezz,

i wanted my place to be more of a modern comtemporary design. I had some designs in mind but hope after meeting ah keong, he will give me more ideas. But the confirm thing is my living, dinng area colors will be blue, white and black theme, with silver beads curtain as a divider at dinning area and a colorful chandelier. Hope this will turn out nice......

I am quite excited now but seems alot of things not done yet. I have not look for air-con, hood n hob, sink..... a bit stress now....

bluzcorner>relax.. ask them wat they are intending to reno first.. normally, aircon, then hood and hob and sink together..then etc..
dun worry..

Hi Bluz ~ Wow, I like the idea of silver beads curtain.
and also the colorful chandelier! Have you started sourcing around for one?

I just did my aircon with H**g Ta* at IMM. No complaints about their work. You can try checking them out. I bought a Mitsubishi invertor. The prices of aircon went up by another $200 cos the aircon gas is more expensive now according to the person.

One step as a time....you can check out Jalan Besar side for the other stuffs.
Or else go As** Exc** like what some of us did. They have all sort of stuffs. Just ask them for the pricing!

Hey VL ~ Oh i love those glass mosaics! Those are new designs cos the last time we went (in early Jan) we asked them for it and they don't have it yet. Not cheap hor...about $8 psf issit? Which color did you chose in the end?

Hmm..cheery? Ok lar...now not very cheery..things not going very well. You mean despite watching over the tilers, still got problems ah? We were told that the grouting was rectified so we made a trip down specially to check it out. Guess what? Nothing done at all. Dunno why Patrick told us that. :*( That means basically this week, they didn't do anything. Supposed to clear the mess in the house...also not done. Jia lat. *sighz*

Hi Hunny ~ Saw your updated blog...looks like your tiling woes are as bad as mine. We can really shake hands. I haven't had the time to really knock to check the hollow tiles.

Any idea why the plumbing was done like that? The hole in the wall tile as you mentioned was really big!

Hi iceblue ~ I have yet to confirmed my kitchen top yet. hehe...so can't update you. No lar, not blur, the names are really very similar.

Hi ssmilezz
Yeah. The plumber ...'jia lat' lah. My hubs meeting Patrick this morning. Will update

Hi VL We got our air con from HongTarr too. Have some problems initially bc the lady assitant there 'everything also dont know' one. But still got from them. Intsalling today. We got Mistsubishi but not inverter.

And hob/hood/sink got from Ray Asia Excel cos his price is really the best.

Good Luck

hi ssmilezz,
I chose the black n greenish white n transparent ones. This is to match the black floor tiles n white wall tiles. Think is abt that price. Now I know why he took me to that branch.Was supposed to go Defu Lane at first.

hi huny,
ya...good luck cos dats wat I need. To be lucky so that allocated the better workers for me.Patrick,are you hearing ? :P

Ray was bz wif other customers so Alan attended to me.Bought the Franke sink combo n Turbo hood.Shop is not big so not many things on display but he has catalogues of many brands.Very good prices for consumers.

I bought a Toshiba inverter System 3 from Gaincity.No regrets cos the PUB bill went south by at least $100/month,same usage as previously with LG brand(installed by previous hse owner). And the aircon is extremely quiet.

hi och,
are u using 1 or 2 aircon for the lower floor? I really dislike the trunking all over the place. Am thinking of dismantling the aircon in the dining room n just fix one with a higher BTU for the whole of the lower floor.Less trunking then.

Hi Nihpcac,

Thank u, will check with Patrick. But recently a bit stress so lose a bit of weight.....

Hi ssmilezz,

Yup, i intend to get the silver beads curtain from molecule and last wk i had bought a chandelier at Marina Sq.

Huh? price of aircon went up? Bad timing.....

Will c if my FH wanna go Asia Excel, but once he knows it is located at IMM i guess he will faint....... But just like to check if Asia Excel got a lot of brands of hob & hood to choose from?

hi vl,

i did not aircon the lower floor. the living room definitely needs a high BTU aircon. is ur compressor above the service balcony? if it is, think u can minimize trunking by going thru the service balcony n hiding inside kitchen cabinets.

Hi bluzcorner

AsiaExcel carries quite a wide range for hood and hob. They have Cuizino, Rinnai, Turbo ... Just give them a call to check if they have the one u want b4 going down. Yeah IMM is abit out of the way ... but we have been there at leat 5 time in 2 months liao! One consolation - food not bad. Try the Hong Kong Wan Chai food or the downstairs kopitiam kind - the chicken rice not bad. Curry chicken also good

Hi Hunny ~ So how did it go? Poor Patrick must be so bombed by us. I feel sorry for him but no choice la. Plus his tiling prices are already on the high side, so he has to deliver somehow.

How did your aircon installation go? I agree that Grace (from Ho** T**) was quite blur blur, we preferred to speak to her male colleague. :P

I have also been going to IMM so often..until sian. Cos it's so out of the way! I live in the East.

Hi Bluzcorner ~ Did the chandelier cost a lot? I guess it's those that look very modern? I didn't know Marina Square sells lights! To think i work around the area and go there almost daily. hahaha..

Yup, Ray sells all sort of stuffs. Hmm..I always thought he looks a bit Malay...but he's chinese. :P

Hi VL ~ yup yup, those tiles were new arrivals.
Do you need to top up cos you are using those tiles?

haha..quite true..think his more experienced tilers will be very busy..cos got to do tons of rectifications. My entire progress of reno is stalled becos no rectification is done. hmmm....

Are you also staying in a masionette like Och?

Ssmilezz >> Shd be ok lah...cos Patrick say will rectify. Will update this weekend. Cos these 4 days will be plastering and false ceiling work.

Meet up with Patrick this morning .. cos we want to cover ALL ugly air con piping with gypsn board! And make shelves under the windows ... means $$$$!

Sigh..

Updated by blog liao. Can see pics there .. hope i will have nice photo to show this weekend!

hunny> be careful if u wan to hide the piping..
if aircon leaks, the whole false ceiling needs to be hacked.. didn't Patrick tell u this?
my sis's house done by other contractors covered up the piping.. in the end.. saw a few stains on the ceiling which is caused by leaking..

Hi Hunny ~

I read your blog over the weekend. You want to build a cupboard over the aircon piping? Actually, if you paint over the piping, it may not look that bad actually. It's actually more practical. Unless u really cannot tahan the way it looks, then bo bian lar...

hi hunny,

my wardrobe is "open concept", like what u plan for the cabinets below windows. my sliding doors run on both top n bottom tracks. the bottom tracks are glued to the floor instead of nailed to the floor, so my floor isn't damaged. there is another option for "open-concept" cabinets n that will require top-hung doors.

r u planning to build false walls with gypsum boards? if u r, then u will need to find tiles that can act as skirtings.

>>cha_alex. I totally agree. Fibrous plaster is stronger. Just found out this morning when I went back to check the place out. Think they use fibrous plaster for the false ceiling but gypsum board for the false wall. Guess too late to change. Finishing wise, about the same thg.. cos the workers did a very good job with their plastering.

>>ssmilezz
Gypsum board ... look like cardboards but much thicker.

AiYOH! really cannot tahan the piping. Anyway, we plan the wardrobe in such a way that if there is any leakage...most of the thgs are salvagable. LOL

Thus our sliding cupboards...when open ...can see all the pipings, brackets, etc ...

>>och. Patrick found matching marbles for the skirting cos my floor is all marble. So no probs.
Your cabinet ... somthg like ALUMIX? We got Alumix doors and get Patrick to construct the frame. Cheaper! Then we bought the cabinets from IKEA .. cos I dont like the pole system. We even put a TV console into the warbdrobe!

TOOk some pics ... will upload later ...the place look nicer and neater with all the plastering. And also like the partition wall that was built at the entrance. But a bit snall. So ask Patrick to lengthen it... luckily he is very accomadating and was willing to change for us....BUT on our side .. this is the first time we ask him to change somethg which has already been done. Cannot take adntg of his good nature lah ..

hi hunny,
oh that's good. the advantage of marble flooring is that it's usually easier to find similar marble tiles many yrs down the road. i hv ceramic tiles in my mbr n patrick had a lot of trouble finding similar flooring to form the skirting of a new false wall.

i'm a bit confused. did u mean that ur wardrobes uses doors fr aluminix n frame fr patrick n the under-the-window cabinets r from ikea?

my wardrobe is from cupboards. aluminix hasn't entered the mass mkt when i bought those wardrobes 5 yrs ago.
my wardrobe is not like aluminix. instead of poles, i hv vertical wooden planks. it looks like a regular wardrobe except that u can see the back wall, the ceiling n the floor. another diff is that the vertical planks dun reach the ceilings, only the top shelf, so abov the top shelf is one huge space that i can store a lot of barang barang in.

hi there
how is HO BE? i have spoken to Patrick, he is a nice chap, but how is the work of the carpenter? painters? Workers?
Can anyone kindly feedback me or show me some picture

please help me out

>>Och
I've seen cupboards so I have a brief idea how your wardrobe looks like.

For the big wardrobes in my masterbedroom and guestroom, I have Patrick construct the frame and get Alumix to supply the door. It's cheaper bc ALUMIX charges $300 to construct 1 frame. That would have cost me a good $600 for 2 frames. Instead of using the poles from ALUMIX, I bought WARDROBE without the DOORS from IKEA - so when u open the ALUMIX sliding door, you will actually see the IKEA wardrobe inside instead of poles. Will take some pics this Sat to show

As for the cabinets below the windows, Ah Keong (Patrick's carpenter) will be doing them for me.

>>Davi
Looking through these threads will give you an idea the kind of service Patrick offers. I would say his price is not cheap, workmanship is so-so and renovation is not without hiccups but what I really like about him is his sincerity and honesty. That makes the whole renovation process a whole lot smoother. I keep a record of our reno process at
http://ourrenoblog.blogsome.com/

hi hunny,
oh u meant the sliding door frame. i thot u meant the internal frame.
think i know what u mean liao. so when u say most of the things r salvageable, u mean parts of the wardrobe can be dismantled n thrown away without affecting others issit? sorry, really confused.

hi davi,
i only had 2 bathrooms done by patrick. my sentiments:
tilers - abv avg
cement countertop guy - cannot make it
plumbers - i had something like 4 different teams of plumbers. some good, some avg, some er...
electricity guy - abv avg n obliging. stayed until 7pm for 2 days just to finish my job.

Hey Hunny ~

So how much will those cabinets below the windows cost?

Hi Davi,

Guess by reading the thread, you'll more or less get some idea abt Ho Bee. Perhaps I had expected better workmanship ba...for me, I feel that tilers are so so (average to below average) depending on which tiler. My plumber has been fine for now. Erm..rest of the plumbing work not completed so if I get another team of workers, then hard to say. haha...

Hey Och ~

Guess what? My grouting still not rectified. hehe..they cannot find the grey grouting. :P He says if we use grey ones, it will turn out like black, won't look nice.

Oh yes, been wanting to ask you, which brand of paint did you use when you painted your place?

hi ssmilezz,

i used ici dulux. r u deciding on paint colours now? show some pictures of ur house leh. :P

hm... quite surprised to hear that grey grouting is so difficult to get, grey is a popular colour afterall. the tilers told u they cannot find grey grouting?

my grouting was "rectified" half-heartedly. instead of removing the old grouting n putting on new ones, whoever it was just slap on some new grouting where the yellow colour is more obvious. so now, i hv uneven grouting, on top of yellowish grouting.
i've asked patrick to get someone in to do a proper job.

hi gals!
Thanks!!!!
Ya i know I got the feeling the price is not cheap! but price versus quality and service how like that?
He is a honest sincere man, that is what I like
but price can't match up with quality how?
what you gals think?
Thanks heaps!!!

>>Davi
As mentioned quality of work depends on which batch of wrokers. Every ID and contractor have a few batches of workers. When problems started comming in, we have kind of expected Patrick to say "Its like that one ...", "Can lah ...its like that one..." But instead, he sincerely agreed to make rectifications.

I also like his carpenter ... when I told him my concern about water from upstairs balcony leaking into my platform and suggested that he should built a removable door to access the drainage pipe ... he did more than that. He said he would apply silicon all over the edge to prevent water seepage.

Really, it depends on your comfort level. But one caution though ... Patrick not much ideas when come to design. But he gives very sound and practical advice on what can and cannot be done. Which is the main reason why I choose him over and ID.

I want my home to last for 10 years .. not just for a year. IDs ... everythg say can ... when they hand over the house ...sure nice nice one. But can the home last is another question.

>>Hi ssmilezz
The cabinets caost about $800 for each room!! *FAINT* - Patrick says that the price is very standard one ... based on per foot run. But in my case might be cheaper cos, my cabinets don't have backing.

hi hunnybunz,
I also thot of covering the space under the window recess. But $800?? I also want to pengz. The area is so small.Sigh I have to reconsider...
Electrician doing some work in bathroom now.Gawd,he just dropped his tools on the new floor tiles from top of ladder.Sigh....all these young workers. Gotta to check any broken tiles after he leave.

hi ssmileszz,
Im only using 8-9 glass mosaic tiles so it didnt cost that much.
Yes, mine is a masionette like och's. When I told my fren how much I spent on 1 kitchen n 3 bathrooms, she said I siow cos can do simple reno for whole hse for that amount.She doesnt know that hacking is expensive! And Ho Bee's fees for removal of kitchen cabinets and making new cabinets are the highest of all the IDs/contractors quotes I got.
But Patrick is mr niceguy (to his clients) according to his workers but strict to the workers.Yes, I believe this is true........so far.

Wa.... me juz one day nv log in only now c so much discussion gg on.

Hi ssmilezz,

i bought the chandelier at Marina Sq "Homebody", it is those plastic type so cheaper. I just like it at first sight but took quite some time to get my FH to agree to buy....

Hi Dav,

Ya, Patrick is Mr nice guy. Actually i got four quotes and Patrick's price is actually consider quite reasonable. That is why after so much consideration i decided to let him do my reno too! Just this sat, i had met Ah Keong the carpenter and he is really easygoing too.

Hi Hunny,

I guess i will drag my FH to IMM this wkend, but hor, he gave me only $800 for hob and hood. I know if i dun choose the chimmey type will then be cheaper but still like chimmey design.

Anybody bought Franke's sink? I saw a package which is double sink (one big, one small)with chopping board and two other accessories and with tap cost about $338. Cheap? But my FH say all sink is about the same why buy Frank, so he aim at a cheaper one. sigh......

hi davi,
good service means different things to different pple. my personal opinion, if u r expecting someone who is going to design the whole house for u with the nice drawings in home-makeovers, then patrick is definitely the wrong person. he's a contractor, not an id. if u expect a no-mistakes renovations, then patrick is not the right person for u too. he has many teams of workers on each renovation item: tilers, plumbers, windows etc n these teams come up with very different qualities of work.
patrick doesn't monitor them 24x7. as the owner, u will need to be firm abt the standards of work u expect n i'm quite sure patrick will rectify any substandard work.

like many others hv said, patrick is honest n doesn't shirk responsibility. i also find him willing to go that extra mile to help his clients. during my renovations, the carpenter i engaged independently messed up my switches n patrick would always come over to fix the mistakes. the carpenters were not his workers, but the final bill still had no mention of all the trips he made to get the switches fixed. i asked him to get a worker to help me change the locks in my home n he did it himself. took him a few hours, since he couldn't figure out how to change the front door lock. i offered to pay him "transport fees", he refused, n even changed my door stopper, which was rusting, on his own initiative.

so all in all, i think it's a fair package for the price lah.

wah hunny, $800 per room?!! how many ft is that? how many rooms? btw, has ur piping works been rectified?

hi vl,
unless ur fren is staying in an em, think her ideas of how much reno costs will be unrealistic. i know i was shocked when i start looking for quotations after buying my em. think it's a combination of the need to hack extensively, since almost all em r >7 yrs, a larger floor area, the additional bathroom + plumbing needs n dishonest ids/contractors who quote higher prices once they find out the house is an em, hence spoiling the market.

for the under-the-windows area, hv u considered open shelves fr ikea? if u want the area covered, can use curtains or sliding doors to cover. these options will be cheaper than building cabinets.

Hi bluzcorner
Bought the FRANKE Acquario. Teka has a similar design for a fraction of the price. If you are going for the China made ones, maybe you can consider top-mount the sink so that if it rust, can still change. Yeah..go down IMM ASIA EXCEL - Ray will be able to advise u.

Hi Och
Aiyoh ... heart ache oke ..keeping my fingers cross that it will be less than that. But because I want the cabinets to run from end to end - have to pay that price lor. Somemore want laminated top in wood finish.

Hi VL ...
maybe your area under the window not as big as mine .. mmm .. not come to think of it, maybe Patrick miscalculate...will aks him about the price and update