HO BEE RENOVATION WORKS

ssmilezz> aircon guys came down and put silicon outside the window.. just like that... sigh..
hunny> who did u heard from that M left to open new company? if so, can help me ask P if for those done by M, who will be responsible for the maintainence during the 5 yr contract?

ssmilezz, I will be shifting on 26th friday. I will be very rush since carpentry will only be up on monday and tues. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Hi Nihpcac,
For my case, i got to know it from my fren whom i intro to M few mths back. He told me that he's still under M but it's M's new company.

For my case, since P has aleady took over from M before M leaves Ho Bee, P will be incharge. I clarified with P and he confirmed to me that M has left and set-up his own co.

As for those complimentary items agreed by M earlier on, P said that he will clarified with M again and will discuss the details with us.

Hi nihpcac, I am not incontact with P anymore since we had finished the jobs at my home. I heard the news from renoblog forum. Think you can clarify with P reg the warantee.

By I assume, if the final bill is issueed by Ho Bee, then the gurantee must come from Ho Bee. Logical right? Let's say we buy a Plasma from salesman Simon who works for Harvey Norma, then the gurantee must be from HV cos 5 years down the rd, Simon might have left the co.

Oh Aprilgal, glad that u settled your issues before the 'break-up'. Otherwise, you might have some problems.
Have u completly shifted in yet?

Hi ssmilezz
Show us some pics ya. Take your time to settle in. Will be quite messy with the unpacking. We all went thg that.

Hi Hunny,
i've yet to shift in completely cos still got rectification going on. Hopefully by next week can complete and we can start shifting in...

Yup, i do agree with you.
Nihpcac, if your quotation is under Ho Bee then warranty should still come from Ho Bee.

Whereas for my fren's case, he's under M's new company's quotation and no longer under Ho Bee.

dear gals,
have any of your items went missing durin the reno?

We discovered our following items missing:
- 2 detergents (one from LOC and the other just bought specially for parquet)
- a white pail
- a broom (which we noticed that it'd been destroyed into 2 pieces)
- Two stick-on hooks (complimentary by bellari)
- A table runner (bought from wahijah)

Two stick-on hooks were in the plastic together with the hood & hob and basin. Now gone missing, wondering did they throw them away by accident.

then how abt the table runner? not possible that they throw it away by accident as well right?

lotsa of question marks in my head.
Initially we only noticed that 2 detergents missing, we jus close one eye and who knows later we found out more things missing.

And all these things were missing before we change our pad-lock noticed by my hubby.Now only keong holds the key.

Gals, pls advise wat shall i do? feeling
&
kao_cry.gif

hi aprilgal, sorry to hear of your unhappy discovery. I think if you explain to Thomas at Bellari, he will give you a replacement. Last time my plumber accidentally dropped my bellari shower head, Thomas obliged me with a new one even though it was not Bellari's fault. So nice of them.

Hi aprilgal, I am so sorry to hear about your exp.

As for me, the workers "lost" some of our items too
1. Bedside table lamp
2. parts for toilet bowl
3. part of Franke sink cover

For item 1 - We found the lamps in its original box where the workers thought were meant for rubbish. So they dumped stuff in and the lamp broke. But we absorbed the cost as they were not too costly. (and P was so thankful, he gave us a Nyatoh door that was damaged inthe process of us wahing the floor which cost much more than the lamps!)

For item 2: Guess its inevitable to lose the small loose parts. We got them FOC from Ho Kee. So yes, try calling Bellari. Shd not have much problem getting replacement parts

For item 3 : P went ard looking for the cover. I happened to call Ray (Asia Excel) and learned that the sink does not come with a cover! So pai seh.

Mmm, what I am saying is this - if your claim is the workers are careless and thus lost of misplaced your stuff - then talk to P and see if he will foot the bill for the lost items.

But if your implication is theft, you might want to be really sure before any confrontation. This can be very sensitive as it invloves their pride, trust and integrity.

HTH

Hi Nancy ~ Not to worry. Things will eventually work out.
Hope to hear your updates soon.

Hi Aprilgal ~ Sometimes the items could really be misplaced or they just brought it back by mistake. Cos I noticed that even though I had already shifted my stuffs into the bomb shelter and was there to open the door for the workers to do their works (towards the end of our reno), they totally bo chup and kept opening and closing our bomb shelter to dig for things such as broom etc etc. We didn't like it at all man. But no missing item at my end other than the fact that they spoilt one of my lights and stool which i brought from home to use during the reno.

U mean Ah Keong is still holding on to the keys? How's the rectifications coming along so far?

Hi Nihpcac ~ Not to worry, i'm sure P will be able to handle the warranty. He's not so irresponsible. So does the silicon help??

Hi Hunny ~ We already unpacked everything but right now, a bit messy cos FH's family doggie came over to stay for the weekend. :P Need to clean the place up a bit.

Ooohh..i tried the RainX thingy on my shower screen.
Very pleased with the results..wonder how long it will last!

Errr..
So is Ho Bee Renovation works Good?
Will you recommend them?
If so, can i have their contact number?

Roughly what amt is quoted for a resale 4 room flat?

amt depends on what you want to do for reno ...
good or not depends on who is your coordinator and your tolerance level ...

If you really really want them to do your reno, die die must insist that Patrick manages your entire project.

Hi Hunny,

Yup, like what Cha Alex says, i think can get at petrol station, DIY shops (Home Fix) and even at Giant (I saw it there before).

Hi Ignnyl ~ Quite true, it really depends on how involved u wanna get for your reno. If u expect to sit back and relax, it's not going to happen lar. Cos Patrick is really busy at times and u need to constantly remind him if u want to get things moving faster.

Do contact him for a quote.

When it comes to collection of payment, H is certainly very prompt & efficient & calculative.

When it comes to problem resolution and service delivery, H simply does not monitor her workers work, give all sorts of excuses and play delay/dumb tatics

We did not lose our pails, brooms and mops. They just conveniently use them to mix the cement, throw their rubbish and probably expect us to clear for them.

We even had to buy expensive paper and lay ourselves just to protect our existing living area when they did not even bother to protect our flooring before they start doing their work

The list goes on.... too much

Our kitchen is not even installed and H already asking for payment. It has been delayed for over 3 weeks.

We signed up their service cos of the faith and trust we placed in P.

We must say that We are utterly disappointed. We have been prompt in our payment but taken for granted

Sloppy work + bo chup attitude = prompt collection of payment ?

All,

Sorry for not posting for so long.. been quite busy..

I have a cover for the bomb shelter and i stayed in SengKang. =)

astrOb33,

Maybe you can talk to Patrick..

IMO, Patrick is not calculative at all.. it is actually the opposite.. we asked him when to pay..and when he din say.. we pay in parts.. all by our initiative.

Renovation, sure to have hipcupps.. but we must communicate with him and tell him honestly wat we like and wat we don't like. I don't think there are perfect workmanship, but must be reasonable.. if there is any thing u are not pleased about, I think Patrick will be willing to listen.. and do his part..

As for the workers', partick will have to tell them wat to do.. but becos workers don't deal directly with us.. they are not sure and might missed out on the details..

Hi ladies~reali bz wif work n some reno stuffs. My carpentry had completed yesterday. The whole process was quite a pleasent one. Tomolo they will do final coat painting then will be done! I shld b able to load some pics soon.

Hi Aprilgal~sorry to learn abt ur experience. So far, nothing gone missing for me. Maybe u can check wif P if his worker had found what u had lost?

Hi astr0b33~i agree wif paper, it was always us to ask him when need to pay him n he say nv mind wait first.

Understand dat P is very bz as he got alot of projects on hand. But he did make an effort to come to my place to check what r d things dat need to be amended. For e.g. my downlights r not in line, i did not notice actually (cos not obvious), but he shaked his head n said cannot, muz redo. N ah keong is gd too, altho he is worried abt his mum who is sick in KL, he still put in all effort to make sure everything is okie.

I guess communication plays a big part. Tell P wat r d things u need. As Ho Bee is a contractor, we will need to supervise alot. Unlike ID, they will do d supervision for u.

So at which stage u r now at? Doing carpentry?

Carpentry just started

We've absolute faith in P & AK dats why we engage their services.

Originally, P's supposed to handle our project end up he's too bz so delegated to H.

I handle my company's projects too .. So my expecations was tuned to commercial standard ..

Its a rude awakening when I see things did not go the way they were "supposed" to be.

There are greater things to worry .. shouldnt be wasting cells on little things

Anyway, looking forward to completion.. so can move on with our lives

astr0b33,

Now i understand wat H stands for.... At first, I tot its Ho Bee..i understand now..

Sorry to hear about ur experience.. Wish u all the best.. =)

I think u can still talk to Patrick... cos its his company.. so i am sure he is very concern about any comments.. good or bad.. And it is better to pace the renovations.. rather than delaying and in the end, rush out everything.

As for H.. will have to learn how to handle the projects and communications with the owner and the workers.

Hi astr0b33~oic, so ur was handle by Hennie. So was mine! Yup, i feel she is very new. So when i encounter problem my FH had called Hennie but if we feel dat there is no action taken, we will call P for help.

Try calling P if there is a need, let him understand ur situation. I believe he will try his best to resolve ur issue.

Hi iqnnyl~if u r not in a hurry to move in n hv the time to supervise ur reno, u may try Ho Bee. U may contact P for a quote.

Both P & AK have been helpful.

bluzcorner, yours completed ?

Each time ask H, she either no action or tell me I can do it myself. Or thatis charge-able. Then why do we engage contractor in the first place .. to do it ourselves ?

Sigh...

iqnnyl, good luck!

Hi Bluz ~ Good to hear that your carpentries all done.
The end should be near. How's AK mom? Has she recovered yet?

Hi Astro ~ Actually, what u say it's quite true to a certain extent, the workers do take our new stuffs to use cos sometimes they forget to bring your tools along.

I think H is prob more kiasi cos she's not the boss and dare not make any decisions. So she rather go by the book.

Similiarly like the rest, P never chased for any payments and we had to keep asking him/reminding him in order to pay him.

if you really find it very tough to deal with H, then just talk to P directly lar..i am sure he understands afterall, you are also a paying customer.

Keep us posted how it goes ok?

Hi gals, Thanks. ill tryto spot for RianX in petrol station.

I agree with the rest. P never chase us for payment - in fact we paiseh bc so much work done already and when he still din't ask, we ask him how much we shd pay him.

He is one few pp who starts work and then collect $ later. Imagine, our home was hacked and tiled before we paid a single cent! Most IDs/contractors required us to pay a certain % before start work.

Come the last payment, there was still some work not done. Nitty Gritty stuff + the big stuff like timber stripe. But we paid in full. And even so, P still give us tip top service. When we called, no delays. He tried his best to rush thgs out for us. And do rectifications.

I agree with ssmilezz, think Hernie is new and since this is not her co, she had t do her job and go by the books.

So Astro, talking to P is not a bad idea

Agree. We've talked to P, no issues with him.

H go by book, I'm fine. But dun ask for payment when things have not even started or half done or not done properly.

Simple principle, contractor do nice nice, payment-wise we will reciprocate in kind.

Her job is not just being a payment collector but also need to proactively update on progress, ensure work is done properly and followup promptly when there're any issues.

That's service delivery and professionalism.

Hi Hunny Bunz,
You have a never nice design house. Can I check with you, where did your hubby got the closure to put in the sword?

Hi astr0b33,

My reno gg to complete soon! Now they r doing some touch up, shld b done by tomolo! Yes!!!

When i first noe dat P is passing my project to H, i was quite unhappy. So i But i feel shld give her a chance as P assure me dat if there is any problem, we can give him a ring.

So when we know H cannot make decision fro certain issues, but we still ask her first out of courtesy. But if the answer is No or uncertain, we will call P. N P is always happy to answer or solve our problems. So far, we r quite happy abt his service!

Hi ssmilez,

Yup, reno almost done, so excited abt it!!!

I had asked Ah Keong abt his mum and he said she had stroke n had a big fall. Now can only walk slowly, luckily his sister-in-law is taking care of her now. His younger bro is in KL wif his mum too.

Hi rugrat, accroding to my hubby, the casing came with the sword. He got the sword when he graduated from Officer Cadet School.
Sorry, know that this info is not much of help

Yeah, my hubs talked to Ak Keong too. He really poor thg ... cos so much work and could not go ack to see his mom. Sigh.

Bluz

Congrats on your completion. Must be excited.

Hopefully ours will be completed soon. Been informed the carpentry will finish today and the cresto worktop should be ready next week.

Gotto remind her to instruct the workers to return us all the accessories when they mount the hood/hob/sink.

Afraid they just "bring back" to their office or throw away. They have no right to do that but they've done it before.

Its our property, we paid for it, we owned it.

ssmilezz>raining today.. no rain coming in.. so assuming the silicon should be working well.

honestly, if anyone wants to find HO BEE to do work, must find Patrick and no one else.. since Malcolm has left.

Francisca,
ya, indeed, after hearing my sad story, Thomas really make effort to bring me the replacement while he came to solve the problem of leakage thru the basin's bin.

Hunny, bluzcorner,
spoke to P and k abt the lost items and k mentioned things like it's not so right or unfair to pin-point anyone cos it had been quite some time and meaningless. K asked me to buy again and later claim them back from P.
Seems like it's impossible to get back what i'd lost, so i agreed.

Last weekend, we happened to pass by our flat and noticed that our unit's lights were on. My hubby quickly asked me to call k whether anyone else at our house doing work cos it's already 7plus 8pm.

Guess what? The lights were on since the day before and could you image if we nv passed by that day. What will happen to the electrical bills? OH my god!

Both P and K couldn't give me any satisfactory answer why such things could happened. It's due to their worker's carelessness.

Their workers used to forgot to shut my windows whereby my parquet platform was wet and damaged.
I have no choice but to demand them to repolish again cos it's due to their wrong-doings.

Bluzcorner,
so your house ready? Rquires any rectification?
Our house almost done as well, this sat will finish up some undone job and will be completed.
Hopefully...

Sometimes can close 1 eye but close both eyes and pretend nothing happened is impossible.

When things go wrong, why cant they just admit it and resolve it instead of giving excuses or pretend.

Its clearly their mistake yet they are always in the state of denial.

One example:
There are floor traps for them to pour away the dirty water or cement water yet the workers just choose to pour it onto the WC seat or basin or put the dirty pail on the WC cover, scratched them and dirtied them.
When owner confront them, they just say wash for you lor.
The sanitary wares and basins were brand new and hardly used by the owners now permanently stained and scarred and she can say they are made of poor material. What a blood pressure boilerrr !!!

No sense of remorse/shame on their part. Paiseh/Zidon these 2 word is definitely NOT in their dictionary or vocabulary.

We have been understanding and forgiving but that does not mean that we should be taken for granted or a ride.

Hi Aprilgal, astr0b33,

My place is done. As my FH is not working, he got alot of free time to be at our new hse during the reno process. Everything is ok n Ah Keong even come to our place a few times to check wif us what r d things that he need to touchup. No complain abt his services.

Actually not much touchup needed at my end although i had quite a lot of carpentry. Quite pls wif d whole thing. Oh...one thing to add, i actually ask ah keong to put a beads curtain two days b4 d handover, n guess wat? B'cos d false ceiling can't reali take d weight, P ask d worker to saw a portion of the false ceiling n find ways to put d beads curtain, i really appreciate dat.

Hope both ur new place will b ready soon!

erm... all of you who engaged malcom...also used his electriian ah? can share with me ur quotes? esp the electrical costing... thanks

Hi everyone! *waves*

Been out of action lately. very busy @ work ~

Hi Bluz ~ Good to know your house is all done. when do u intend to move in?

Hi Wee ~ Why don't u call up Patrick directly? Cos Malcom has already left.

Hey Aprilgal ~ Talking abt the parquet, i was also worried the last time i did mine. So I'd try my best to be around so i can shut the windows and clear things up. Kinda figured out the workers usually very anxious to finish up and go home, so tend to forget things...*sighz*

Hi Astro ~ My toilet bowls were very dirty and stained too..everything was black/greyish with cement at the sides too. And if u read my earlier posts, my toilet bowl was installed slanted to one side quite obviously but the worker didn't bother to make adjustments at all. grr...

ssmilezz,

They just chemical washed my place.

H tell me dun expect the place to be very clean cos they dun engage professional cleaners. say such "suan siao" words.

We will have to go directly to AK or P if we need rectifications or address some issues cos when i channel thru her out of courtesy.. on many occasions, the facts got distorted or truncated and everybody just got $o worked up.

Poor communications often lead to misunderstandings, project failure/delay and $o much unhappiness.

Hi ssmilezz,

I won't b moving in so soon, but will stay there only for wkends. I decide to hold my wedding either end of d yr or next yr.

Er...i wanted to attached some pics but it seems dat d dimension had exceeded the norm, let me try figure out n i will upload soon.

Bluzcorner,

Thanks for sharing your photos.. =) i like ur mbr light.. got a very dreamy and romantic feel. =)

My reno also completed.. except for a few small things.. I took some photos last night... using my mobile.. please view below.

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/paperkaren/album?.dir=9ac1scd

It is very empty now .. and I will take more shots and update u all again. keke

I think Patrick and Ah Keong had done a very good job and makes the reno process very bearable. =)

I am glad that the reno is finally going to be over.. =)
its been 3.5mths.. keke..

Hi och,

Yup, i luv bright colors! Hehe, i even get one of d bed rm painted with bright green with olive green, but too bad the photo of dat rm dun turn out gd lei, so nv put in.

Even Hennie commented my hse overall very bright. I like my MBR curtain too!

Hi Paper,

Thanks for your compliment. I got dat light for $199, i think quite ex, but d effect is really romantic, juz wat i had in mind!

hi bluzcorner,

Thank you for your compliments. =)

The dining table.. i been searching for either something black stone or black marble and i found it(stone) in Accents of Accents in Furniture Mall.. =)

I told my fh.. i must have it.. keke.. I will take more photos.. and show u all.. u too, okie?.. show us more.. =)

keke.. i also like bright colours.. but for my mbr i choose purple..

Hi paper,

ur dinning table is reali cool! Guess it muz b very ex lor..i hv not buy my dinning table yet. I wanted a black glass table!But can't reali find one dat fits what i wan. Many many mths back i saw one at OM but now is gone....

Ok, will try to upload more photos soon!

thanks.. och.. the green is kiwi fun.. =)

hey ppl.. if you want to view my photos, please pm me for the link.. =)

i had received the dragon door knob, from hidden treasures.. and I got to know that there is another person after me.. who order three! =) keke.. guess i helped hidden treasure get some business. =)keke..

Hunny Bunz..

You do not allow pm. Please pm me and I will send you the link. =)

I discussed with my fh and think it is better we send the link to ppl we know in the forum.. =)

Sorry about the inconvenience. =)

hi paper,
can i hv ur link? was trying to show my hubby the colours in ur house n i realise it's no longer public accessible.