Hilton Hotel

hi blessings,

great to see u are online

realise it shd be spelt as Panorama, I mispelt Paranoma

So did u get a good deal from the hotel beside the normal perks?

blureth : sounds good that you had fun! show us the photos when they're up! I rem you're with TC right?

blessings, Ocean Claudia : My AD's in Nov too. But mine's in the grand ballroom, one week after blessings. The Panorama rooms looks great! Esp. the pool setting!

hi Lay Ling

so we have all the Nov's couples here.

Honestly i find the pool too small , given it is a 5 star hotel..

regds

Ocean,

Haha...think I didn't spell it correctly also :-p

Hmm...mine's under the UOB perks. 1 extra night of suite stay, 12 bottles of red wine, free projector lor. It's very hard to have them throw in anything else. But then, think we neg on the parking stuffs, more invitation cards, alternate table red wine waiver cockage extra. Think thats about it. Did feedback to Rachel that last year, the flowers looked half dead to me when I go site inspection on some real life wedding. It's pretty yucky for me cos both wedding @ grand ballroom and panorama flowers really look like they are a few days old. Even petals on reception tables looked the same - half dead. But seeing the nice reviews they have for the weddings nowadays, seems like the florist improved :-)

Haven't been to any of the new themes lately. Anybody has the pics of their new themes? It sounds pretty nice to me :-)

hi blessings

when was this UOB promo held? recently?

Did u like the swimming pool?

my planner said quite tough when couple arrive from main gate, guests got to turn around, as usually guests face the pool while having cocktail

regds

Hi ocean,

Hmm...I think I booked mine last year, but yap, UOB is still having this promo thingy. Didn't June or Rachel told you about that when you booked? But 1 hitch though, think gotta pay thru-out for the whole banquet using UOB card. But usually not a problem for banquet.

Pool ma...keke...its small considering for a 5 star hotel but then consider it on the top roof, small mid sized building, ok ba. But then, consider it as a small issue. Cos poolside is in the middle of toilet and panorama.

Big issue to me is NO WASHROOM!!!! Thats the real deal. To date, I dare not even tell my inlaws abt it. Cos they sure to make a big fuss out of it.

Wonder those who use Panorama, did any of the guests make "noise"?

hi blessings,

thanks for sharing. U mean I must pay the full amount now...,meaning $868 x no. of tables = $x now in order to get the promo? or u mean i can pay deposite now and then balance still use UOB card to pay?

Did Rachel not tell u in Apr the swimming pool will have toilet by the side? they will renovate the right side when u enter there is like a big "tepayaki" style cooking area?

so no worry abt that ok

when did u pay the deposit? she didnt tell me

regds

Hi Ocean,

No...I mean, pay the $4k deposit, then balance all by UOB cards to pay. Can be of different card holder though.

No leh...she didn't tell me the swimming pool wil have toilets by the side. LOL...no wonder the toilets no issues with BTBs here haha. Thanks for telling. Now can rave abt Hilton to my inlaws le.

I just checked the invoice. Booked in Sept. I still see the UOB promo still on a few months ago leh from the credit card flyers fr UOB. Now, even DBS (or some other banks) have it too.

Your package standard? No free red and projector etc? I can't remember how she started to tell me. But then I think I somehow vaguely recalled that my future father in law asked her what promo etc...and there it goes. Think so ba...cos all I can remembered is my future father inlaw asking it every hotel haha...

You already paid the deposit ma? If you paid, then probably its hard for them to give u the promo. But worth a try. Go check out the banks's credit card rewards column. Different banks have different promos. Think DBS and UOB have the Hilton promo.

Ocean,

Just did a quick check for u:

Hilton Singapore

1 complimentary carton (12 bottles) of Red wine (min. booking of 18 tables)
2 complimentary carton (24 bottles) of Red wine (min. booking of 30 tables)
Free wine corkage for 1 bottle for every 2 tables
Free use of LCD projector at the wedding dinner

Only valid for weddings held on weekdays (Mon - Thur).

Valid for new bookings made from 1 Mar - 31 Aug 08, for weddings by 31 Dec 08.

Tel: 6730 3211 / 3206

The latest promo by DBS. The earlier one is from UOB. Package the same. But mine dun have the weekday clause (mine is on a Sat)

im confused..

u mean u get these perks for uob even for weekend? cos 22nov is weekend

the perks u email is dbs or uob?

blessings, when did you book the banquet? when i mentioned the UOB perks, june said its not valid anymore.. so sad..

hi blessings

u are so blessed to have yr FIL to do for u.
I just paid my deposit. I did receive the flyer also. But saw it is for weekday only. I got some of it but not 1 carton of wine.

the one night stay extra is not from UOB?

yours is DBS or UOB? got weekend clause?

u can safely tell yr in laws they are building the toilets there. Have confirmed twice with Rachel. So one worry off for u ok

regds

Lay Ling: If the photos turn out good, I'll share wiv U gals. :P Yup, I'm wiv TC. Tmr going for 2nd PS... Hope all turns out well!

Ocean Claudia: My AD is 14 June, Sat. U can chk under my profile. I signed up wiv Hilton in Sept last yr, took the UOB package too. Same wiv blessings, both deposit & banquet expenses gotta pay wiv UOB card, dun hv to be the same cardholder.

Rachel told me that by my wedding, the alfresco kitchen would have been renovated into toilet for our convenience. So no worries...

Blessings: Hubby & I did the booking all by ourselves. So nice of ur FIL to get himself involved.
And juz curious, wat's the "his" and "hers" plate for angbao stuff U're asking lladro abt?

lladro: Oh ya hor, during ur AD, when do guests go relieve themselves if they really need to use the toilet? Totally din cross my mind till blessings mentioned it. LOL.

Hi Blureth,

:-) Oh yes, the poor old folks are walking ard the island for me 3 full days before we booked Hilton. It's hard on them.

All the extra perks are all from UOB. There ain't any wk end clause leh. Except there's one list of dates that says under all these dates, have to be charge the premium for all tables; have to take the most exp menu cos they are "auspicious dates"

Ocean: Just checked my contract; has 1 carton of red wine, free cockage charge waiver of 1 bottle for every 2 tables, free LCD projector for live feed, 1 extra stay in executive suite.

lladro: Whops...wrong msg. Sorry! Yr ID very similiar to another bride who got married @ Hilton too.

Jami, I booked it last year in Sept. Very early considered my AD is in Nov this year. Hmm...yours wk day or wk end? Perhaps you would like to check it out different banks' website for their credit cards promo?

blessings, before i sign up, i actually check on the credit card. I saw the promo you had, stating bookings from Sept last year, but when i show it to June, she mentioned that the promo already expired. But there was no expiry date on the terms and conditions.
The recent promo they had are only for weekdays.. Mine is on a weekend, and is one of those auspicious dates, so i'm paying quite a lot for my banquet but still not getting those perks.. sadz..

Hmm...u started booking since last year in Sept also? Gee...if yours falls on the auspicious dates, which means yours is $9XX? Wow...but the menu are pretty good. Which means, you most probably don't need to pay any menu upgrades. Perks wise, ok la. We saved a carton of red, cockage waiver for alternate tables and extra nite. But then the extra suite for 1 nite has to be utilized within 3 or 6 months within AD. Do you have to pay for live feeds LCD projector then?

blessings

may i know what is call live feeds LCD?

I pay last week but i dun get the perks
u mean last Sep u book for this year;s nov?

Ocean, at the front and back of Panorama, there's this LCD TV, it's supposing to show the live feeds for guests who are blocked by the semi pillar at the room or too far to view whats up on stage.

Yap, I booked in Sept 07 for Nov 08. Sounds kiasu huh? But then, during that time, my preferred choices are all booked out for my date. Those remaining ones, either high quote but location and reputation ain't that comparable against their quote or simply too expensive. Am very taken aback with ALL my preferred venues got booked out despite me booking more than 1 year in advance.

Hilton's good. @ that time, only carparking, toilet, withering flowers are my only concern. But can cancel out the washrooms concern hehe

i think car parking maybe a problem, but u have to tell yr guests in advance.

for flowers just let them know.,

other than that all shd be ok.

i guess there is no perfect wedding ...just try to be near perfect...

actually i only book last month, kinda started planning late. we are lucky that hilton is still available.

Out of the UOB perks, I did not get the extra night and the carton of wine.

yes yes.. very lucky.. due to some reasons, we couldn't start early. i didn't take up the rest mainly because most of too high priced, or not worth the high price, like what you have mentioned. FH and myself are happy that hilton is still available. after seeing the menu, we were more determined to sign with them, felt that its worth the price. at least that auspicious thing sort of help us to fix our menu choice, coz we will have another headache whether to upgrade the menu if ours fall on normal weekend date. hee .. :p

hi blessings

the perks u got is from last year. so this year is slightly different

as for the outdoor kitchen at the pool, i just recalled the renovation to do toilets may not be in apr, not confirmed yet, but im sure toilets will be made by Nov

Hmm...think the one fr DBS is the same except for the wk end clause.

Glad the toilets be ready. But even if its not, guess me and FH have to grin thru with the complaints esp with in laws :-p

hi blessings

actually they can just take the lift to 23rd floor and go to the toilet, quite accessible and easy for old folks also even they dun want to take the stairs from swimming pool

from lift to toilet not that far

Ocean, ya but then, Hilton lifts have a problem. They take ages. And then, it make it difficult for ppl to go to the washrooms. Though my FIL already spotted it and reflected to Rachel, lucky he doesn't know they don't have toilets on 24th. Now pray hard that the washrooms will be ready by Nov @.@

blessings, i'm considered early too then. I booked mine in Oct for Nov 08! I tried Merchant Court and Novotel Clarke Quay, already all booked for my date! so we're not that early!

I'm on the UOB promotion too. It's true Hilton's not that flexible on certain ctuff but for the price and location, I feel I'm getting a good deal. The only problem is the parking!

Juz pre-empt ur guests on the parking issue... I chose Hilton cos it's quite accessible by MRT & bus as well. So to drive down anot, their own choice liao. At least to me, the distance to walk from bus stop and Orchard MRT station ain't dat far.

so long din log in liao.. so many discussion made..

well, a bit of update of myself..keke.. I hv arrange to meet Rachel next sat for more details. I wish to hv the date 20.09.09 but seem like the date hv been tentatively booked by another couple. so sad.. hopefully to hear some good news when i meet up wif her..

By the way, do anyone noe tt wat if i hv alr bk wif hilton w/o any perks wif the credit cards but subsquently if there is any perks, am i able to enjoy the perks?

Hi Joant

It is better u check with Rachel on yr question, as still it is Hilton to decide whether they want to give the perks.

If u can pay the deposit, im sure rachel will ask the couple who book tentatively if they are still keen cos u are ready t pay deposit. If they are not, then Im sure u stand a high chance of getting the date.

Seems singaporeans are really kiasu over this. I only prepare my wedding less than one year...

i went to visit Hilton liao. Their suite room is realli big & nice.. It's true tt certain things Hilton is not tt flexible but stil ok de. Considering the location, the price is realli reasonable.

20/09/09 is the date i wan but tt date would cost even more. $1088 nett. In the end i choose other date, 27/9/09. Basically everything is gd.. High chances to hv my dinner in hilton. Though other hotels offers better perks, juz the cost of each table alr make a big diff liao if more tables confirmed.

Hi Joant

i think date is not important, important thing is what is after wedding. Wedding is just a night, marriage is forever.

I am hestitating whether to take or not. mu HTB seems not keen on both their rooms cos to him they are not ballrooms at all . ( we are not taking ballrooms due to the min,)

also im v v worried of parking space , becos myself drives and i can understand how frustrated it can be when 3 weddings holding together

yes their suite room is nice.

I am planning to hold my wedding dinner at Hilton. Rachel is my coordinator, cos our tables are limited so the hotel only can provide Panorama or Vista room? Please advise which room is better. Thanks

Hi Ocean,

Hilton just renovated their bridal suite room... so it does look very impressive & beautiful. Should check out their bathroom.. hee... Got 'overhead' shower leh... My HB said it felt as if it was 'raining' from the ceiling.. Haha... But I thought it was fun & unique... I absolutely love the toiletries... Branded stuff... From Crabtree & Evelyn.. the La-Source range... =P

Actually, I just held my wedding this year at the Grand Ballroom. And guess what, there were 3 wedding that evening.. Haha.. Heard it was a super hot day for weddings... =) Though its true that parking is a serious problem in Hilton.. But I am sure if you were to pre-empt your guests accordingly and provide them with the list of other places they could park & their charges.. then it should turn out well. Encourage your guests to take public transport if possible cos the hotel is only about 5-10 mins walk from Orchard station... =) In any case, parking in Orchard has never been a easy task.. So don't worry yourself too much.. =) All will turn out fine.. Erm, I don't remember getting alot of complaints about the parking problem.. Guess our 'warnings' to the guests had helped.. =)

Hi Felicia,

Have you seen both the ballrooms? I would recommend you to take the Panorama Room cos the area would be exclusive to you & your guest.. Furthermore you can hold your reception by the poolside... Heard its really beautiful & special.. =) Thinking back, how I wished for the Grand Ballroom would have been on the 24th floor with its own exclusive area... My wedding would have been 'perfect'! Hahaha

Hey Blureth,

How's your wedding planning coming along? Settle your guest list already? Remember hor.. that is the most impt things to do for the wedding... Don't leave it to the last min... It can get very crazy & stressful.. =)

Hi Ling

Glad to hear from u. Yes am worried abt parking lot for my guest., Is the food and service good so far?

The overhead shower is common in most hotels, im sure even standard room also have. But dun like the color of toilet v dull black.

24th floor is nice but the swimming pool is not impressive at all. My hubby also dun like 3rd floor...

Thanks for your view, we did saw both the ballrooms and my FH prefers Panorama Room alto the poolside look abit old but there will be a major renovation on Aug. Pray hard for the new look. For my personal view, i find both rooms ceiling abit low but its not a very serious problem and wont affect us much. We intend to sign up w them next week for their service and food.

Hi Ocean,

I understand your worry abt the parking lot but if you inform your guest beforehand or advice them for alternative places to park, i tink can be solved easily, dun worry too much
FYI, hilton wedding package is quite reasonable compare to other hotels, of course there will be cons and pros for every hotel, you cannot please everyone. If u are not comfortable with Hilton but y at the first place you choose Hilton. Hope u can get over it soon. Be a happy bride.

hi baby

i have not chosen Hilton yet, am still considering...

right now I am also shortlisting Marina Mandarin and M Hotel and their prices are also v reasonable...

i drove as well, certainly i do not want my guest to come and first thing they said is abt the car park...

Kinda of demoralise if hear that that we serve inconvenience to them...

the swimming pool is really not impressive at all...

Hi Ocean

M Hotel's service and food are not as good as Hilton and MM. But if M hotel can comfort your worry and their price is reasonable and the dates that M hotel can provide u, u should consider them cos different ppl different expectation.

MM is quite competitive, if you want good food and services, i will suggest you to consider MM rather than M hotel.

dear baby

thanks for advice. However one of my fren told me hilton is famous for catering but then the thread for hilton here most feedback said it is no good , or they do not get favourable remarks in food and service

My sis went to M hotel and she said it is v good. also my other colleaggue

the only concern is not many people know where M hotel is

Hi Ocean,

As i said earlier on, different ppl have different view, we can only treat it as a guideline, final decision will be made by you in the end.

Most of my friends held their wedding dinner at Hilton, Panorama room and the feedbacks given by them are good because the most important point is that Panorama had its own kitchen at 24 floor by itself, the food will therefore be served hot and nice.

M hotel is more towards Harbour side, only working class people will be more familiar with this hotel especially at Shenton Way and Tanjong Pagar. If those without transport, will be quite a distance for those ppl taking MRT. This is not the main concern, as u said earlier on, most of your guests are driving.

Last but not least try to go with your heart.

Well, I had attended a wedding in Dec last yr at M Hotel and I must say, both hubby and I were kinda disgusted with the food. We even left the fish totally untouched cos it tasted quite raw.

As for Hilton's food, tot lladro & Ling said their food quality improved liao? Or did I remember wrongly? :P

Ocean Claudia: It's really all up to U, if U dun find the pool impressive or dat the parking is a big issue to U, find one hotel dat has one dat impresses U or with a big parking space.
Gd luck with finding one dat suits ur needs.

Btw, ur AD is in Nov, Ocean Claudia? Now oredi end Apr, U better make ur decision fast b4 others grabbed the date, whichever hotel U choose eventually.