Hilton Hotel

Hi Ling, most probably i will hv 30 - 40 tables depending on whether i held on sat or sun.. im still sourcing out the venue.. Is the atmosphere nice in grand ballroom? I rather sad to hear tt there r pillars in the grand ballroom. Cos i wish my guests to enjoy themselves tt day..

Lay Ling: Congrate ya.. be a beautiful bride ya.. Do keep us up-date abt ur preparation ya..

Hi joant, when's your big day?
I think the atmosphere is quite alright.
I like it that there are projectors for live feed. The pillars are somewhat of a problem but to us, the projector is a work-around.

Plus, the price for an orchard area hotel is quite attractive.

Have you viewed the place?

Lay Ling: Welcome back!! Haha...Time flies hor...so far not much done. Juz waiting for my 1st gown fitting as my PS is this 28th Mar. Now juz need to decide for April when to hv food tasting, theme & wedding favours selection and when to collect invitation cards either in Apr or May.

I oredi received carpark vouchers from Hilton and the rough guide of when-to-do-what in Jan.

So U decided on ur BS oredi?

Joant: Agree wiv Lay Ling, if U had gone down to view Grand Ballroom urself, the atmosphere is not bad. I like it for its spacious feeling.

Blureth : I only had the dry ice effect for my 2nd march in... Aey.. I din explore other options leh.. I din ask too.. Haha.. Pai sei... Hey! Go ask Don for ideas on the march ins.. He very good at planning all these one.. Haha..

Joant : Not really sure what you mean by atmosphere in the ballroom... I guess atmosphere/mood is something you can create with good floral decor, interesting programmes, good emcees, great food & service.. Hee.. Everything will look & feel diff when the decors are up.. lights dimmed to set the mood and your guests dressed to the nines to share your joy & happiness... =)

Actually if were to follow this thread.. Hilton recently went through a face lift for their Grand Ballroom last year.. Almost everything was changed.. Like the carpets, curtains, lightings etc... So ballroom looks new.. =)

If you are concerned that your guests will be blocked by the pillars during your march-ins.. Like what Lay Ling had mentioned.. there will be live feed on the projector screens.. So your guests can still see you lah.. =P

Erm.. most of the older & more established hotels have pillars in their ballrooms.. cos they were constructed years back & architects then were only interested in the stablitly of the structure & not be concerned with 'appearance'.. hee... Moreover, hotels with pillarless ballrooms usually charge more premiums prices and dates get filled up pretty fast... So you got to act fast.. When is your AD?

Lay Ling : Welcome back!! How's your planning so far?

Hi blureth and Ling, signed with Rianne Bridal Workz via the Blissful Bride roadshow early this year. Haven't done a thing otherwise, will probably arrange to see them end of this month to start work on my MTM gown. Not sure what else to do!!!

Heh... Lay Ling, I suppose U signed up a package with Rianne Bridal Workz? I would think they shld be dishing out advise, when to do what and such. Ur package did include photography(album/AD), flowers, car rite? Mebbe U can do some homework & let them know the kind of gown designs U like, since U did mention MTM. If they didn't say anything, do call them and find out. At least U can have a peace of mind...

Ling: Heh...went down to TC this afternoon! :P However, Don only came back from dinner break I think, thus only juz said "Hi" to him as we were oredi done wiv my 1st fitting & were making our way out. Will bug him on march-in ideas at my next fitting! Heh...

As for effects, guess I will ask June again.

Lay Ling : I kind of forgot when is your AD.. Hee.. Care to share again? As for your MTM gown, you may wish to confirm with your BS that if your chosen design hv elaborate designs like french lace, beadings, crystal etc.. would you need to top up? Mine was asked to top up even though my package stated MTM. Hiaz.. Spent a big bomb there.. =(

Blureth : You done with your AD schedule & guest list already? Must plan early k? Dun be like me, till the eve of my wedding, I am still amending my AD schedule & re-working my guest list!! So stressful & tiring!! Btw, let me know if you need any help/advice... I will be glad to help k?

Lay Ling: i not yet confirm my AD but most likely in Sept'09.. so now sourcing out for hotel. Hilton is my top list at the moment..

Never know sourcing a hotel is so troublesome. may b is our own wedding, so everything is v particular bah.. hearing tt there is a live feed, at least not tt bad... kinda feel relieved.

Ling: AD schedule & guest list ar...haven't started yet wor. Now I'm more in a rush to buy hubby's shirts, shoes...
Alamak, I was taking things easy b4, but rite after my 1st fitting yday, things seem to be in a fast fwd mode as it's so close to our PS date liao! *pulls hair*

Joant: It's good to start ur venue selection early...at least once dat is settled, U can concentrate on ur BS liao.

lladro: U there?? Heh... din hear from U for sometime liao.
Anyway, Panorama got live feed mar?

Ling : my AD is Nov 08. Still a while to go... I think they mentioned simple beading is not chargeable but well, I won't know what they'll tell me when I go for my fitting!

If my AD is Nov, is PS in Jul too early? I'm trying to avoid the lunar 7th month.

Lay Ling: Are all the gowns for ur AD to be worn for ur PS or U'll be getting diff gowns? However, they shld be giving U a rough estimate if U do need to top up more based on ur MTM design during ur gown discussion.

Think it all depends on how ur BS works. My cousin oredi had her album shots all done a few mths b4 her AD and dat was early.

blureth : I was orinigally thinking of 3 months earlier to give BS time to do a nice album, but Aug happen to be lunar 7th month. My parents a bit superstitious so trying to avoid. That leaves me with 4 months to lose weight!!!

hi guys.. My account has been suspended for no reasons. Have drop an email to moderator but no answer from them. Don't thk i can wait any longer, so decided to create another account so to share my experience on our wedding nite.

Firstly, really happy to see the thread has became lively again, to hear from Ling, blureth and Lay Ling again…

Blureth.. we opted for shower petals instead of dry-ice for our march-in. reason was that I ever heard some feedback that the Hilton’s dry-ice is not quite nicely done up. Also, we prefer the idea of getting the guests involve during the march-in, else all eyes would be on us while walking down the “red-carpetâ€. Well, the result turned out to be very nice. Yes, the projector is live feed. But thk the camera is installed somewhere near the stage because I remember the projector only showing things happened on stage and around the stage. Suggest you chk with June on this.

Things would fall in one after another. jus do one at a time else you would feel so stress. Your PS is jus ard the corner, so, you may wanna go for facial and spa so to look nice during PS. It is going to be a tired day and am sure you will enjoy the process.

Meanwhile you can start to work out your guest list. To me, it is the most stressful one. Getting ppl to confirm their attendance… and finalising the headcount.. do let me know if you need a sample of the AD schedule.

Hey.. I got my photos posted here.. http://lladro.multiply.com/ - do chk out on my wedding photos..

Hi Ling.. how’s the marriage life after the customary? have you gone for your honeymoon? we just signed a package during NATAS fair to US. It’s going to be a shopping trip for us.. ha. But, it’s still pending confirmed date from travel agent.

Hi peeps...
have been 'floating' in this thread for quite some time, seeing different responses from all ..

dropped in on 24th Feb at the grand ballroom to see the setup. the crystal setup with red roses turned out real nice! It turned out better than I thought

ya, guess there's too many things to be worried about, so don't fret too much!

my AD is in Nov08 with Hilton. Can't wait! have started fitting for wedding gowns etc.. having a heck of a time.

hope all BTBs are enjoying too! Cheers!

lladro: Nice to hear from U again too!
It's weird dat ur acct got suspended, could it be dat U din login for quite a period of time? Juz a guess.

Did Hilton provide the petals for ur flower girls & all tables? Btw, ard which dish did U change into ur 3rd gown? And there's one dish dat is 'smoking'...wat's dat?

Btw saw dat U went to Thian Hock Keng temple for ur PS, I wanted to go there too but there's a notice saying it's only open on lunar mth 1st & 15th, OMG! Trying to find nice chinese architecture for my cheongsum.

Really like how U done ur guestbook...very interesting...

not sure the reasons why..

yes, Hilton provided the petals for our flower girls and tables. i couldn't remember exactly which dish i prepared for my 3rd gown. gotta chk the schedule. the "smoking" dish is our last dish - dessert. we opted to do away the typical chinese desert. in placed was a western dessert, snicker something (sorrie, couldn't rem the complete name). the smoke is actually the dry-ice. we top up to get this dessert, but thk it's worth spending the money cos' all our guests like this dessert very much.

ya, we went to Thian Hock Keng. If i remember correctly, our PS was done in sept last year. we decided to go there on the PS day itself. no prior arrangement, and there wasn't such restriction as what u mentioned. prob. the plc is getting popular so somehow it's to control the crowd..

yes, our guests also commented tat the great idea we had for the guestbook. thk those who're having panorama as their venue can afford to have this DIY idea b'cos of smaller no. of guests. the idea on guestbook, and shower petals, all turned out real nice. it gives a closer interaction and more intimate btw the couple and the guests. btw, i'm renting out the photo-printer which i bought.. so, do PM me if you're interested in doing the similar idea on the guestbook. am willing to share more... cheerss..

Hi Lay Ling: U muz go for facial 2mths in advance b4 ur AD ya. I read the magazine the skin need at least 2 mths to show effect on wat u hv done. Is best tt ur hubby can go wif u also..

Blureth: i stil thought im kiasu in early sourcing the hotel.keke.. I also tink early preparation so tt when time come nearer, i wun b so stress out..

Which bridial studio did u gers all to? I decided to take my PS in Malaysia. The shop is called Venus. Both of my best friends took their PS over there & it turn out well..

Joant: I'm with Ted Collection. Now busy with gown fittings & will be taking my PS this 28th Mar.

lladro: I haven't given it much thgts abt guestbook and such yet... My mind is full of stuff for my upcoming photoshoot. Haha... Kinda excited and worried abt how it will turn out. No idea what to expect. Anyway, am planning to have my food tasting session ard late Apr.

Lay Ling : I think PS in July is a good time... It leaves enough room for minor changes if required.. Like bad weather etc..

Lladro : Life pretty much the same for me leh.. heehee.. Now staying with my in-laws first... Can't get a HDB unit.. Hiaz... Every release by the gov is always over-applied! How to find my ideal home... =( Oh! I went for my honeymoon straight after my AD.. Went to Korea/Jeju... Super nice lor.. Got to see snow for the first time! Really enjoyed the food.. but shopping was terrible! Cos mostly winter stuff... =( Wa! You going States ar! Nice leh... Now exchange rate super good... hee hee.. Which part you going? Btw, pls buy travel insurance hor...

Blureth : How was your fitting huh? Like what you see so far? Yap is a great guy hor? I simiply adore him... hahahaha... My mum planning to do another gown with him for an upcoming function in May.. So looking forward to it! Haha.. Btw, who is your MUA? Did you engage Melvin or Jessalin?

Oh Lladro! Your guest book very nice!! We wanted to do something like that for the wedding too.. But we was so stressed out (due to super alot of last minute planning) that we forgot about it! So sad leh... Such a regret... We bought everything liao.. Now its sitting in the drawers... haiz... Hope I can use it quickly.. heehee.. Probably for my brother's wedding.. Hahaha...

Ling.. thanks! ya, the idea on guestbook turns out to be very nice.. we like it very much. in addition to the photos taken, we also paste all the cards we received in Hilton's guestbook. The guestbook from Hilton complements real well to the whole idea.

we are going to west coast, covering L.A, las veags, san franciso and some small towns. The agent is not able to confirm the date yet. so, still gotta wait...

at the moment, we are filling a "case" against our AD PG over the contract terms. So, for those who are engaging freelance PG (one man show), pls be extra careful with the agreement and additional "hidden" charges.

Ling: Juz went for 2nd fitting last Fri... Minimal 'bling' added onto my gowns, not final product yet.
So far so gd but dunno if my body type belongs to those dat get fat easily lor... Cos my WG cannot fit this time round when it's loose till it's gonna fall off during my 1st fitting! OMG! Yes, Yap is a great guy...dishes out great advice.

My MUA is Jesslin, liked her style, liked the fact she using M.A.C cosmetics & oso most imptly, she works well with Matthew, our PS PG. The florist I'm engaging, Justin, oso works well with both of them. :P Will be seeing him for the 1st time this coming Thurs.

Wow, Jeju eh...are there any locations famous for the Kdramas?

lladro: Wat happened? Hidden chrgs like wat, if U dun mind me asking?

Btw gals, I'll be doing my PS in Hilton bridal suite and might go ard Hilton premises to shoot pics. Keeping fingers crossed on how it'll turn out. Will be taking my PG to view Hilton and we'll see how from there.

Juz went for facial today, face pain sia...hehe... Starting tmr, gotta do daily proper maintenance liao for my upcoming PS. :P

I am back.. Its great that u gals are so active in this Hilton tread.. hee hee.. its like the most active thread in this forum..

Need some advice from u..
1. I am contrmplatin to have my dinner and AD on two sepearte days... Is it ok? Anyone knows if there are any supersticions that disallow this?
2. Is it ok to get my fren who has just given birth two months ago to come and an chuan? Will it chong xi? TYpically, do we get pple who are older to an chuan?

Appreciate your response and advice. Thanks gals..

lladro: Thanks for sharing your photos! you look great! And the guest book is such a great idea! Did you have to engage another photographer to do the polaroids?

me and HTB is also planning to go US West Coast for our honeymoon! Was contemplating the east coast, particularly Orlando (I'm a sucker for theme parks) but the expenses involved is quite daunting.

Am quite hearterned that Hilton appears to have improved on their themes! Particularly liked the chair covers for the oriental theme!

Ling : Yup,think August is also the rainy season. Hopefully can avoid rain. Thinking of good locations for the PS. Anyone did theirs at Raffles marina? Was thinking of that and Botanic Gardens or Sentosa...

Blureth : Good luck for the photoshoot! Let us know hw it goes!

Ling: I hv been to Raffles marina.. The plc is nice.. i tink the pic wil turn out v nice special during sun set..

Blureth: let us noe how ur PS goes ya.. enjoy ur PS ...

Bride2008: It all depends on U, whether will superstitions apply to certain aspects of ur wedding.
For me, I don't think there's anything wrong separating ur wedding dinner and tea ceremony. My fren even having his dinner first, then tea ceremony 2 days later. O_O Consult ur elders on this, in case of conflicts.
As for an chuang, I plan to do away with it, juz change new pillows, bedsheet covers.

Lay Ling: I went to an Oriental themed wedding at Vista Ballroom recently for viewing. The VIP chair decorations aren't what June had emailed me. They were using red sash to tie horizontally across the back of the chair & 2 red roses were pinned right at the knot.

Now is oso rainy season, due to Qing Ming I suppose. :P Gotta pray hard hard dat it won't rain on my PS date. As for shoot locations, sry can't help U liao, cos I haven't been to those places (either for donkey yrs or nv been there b4).

Heh, will keep u gals updated on my PS & thks for the well wishes!! *wink*

blureth: long story.. hidden cost like additional charges for the changes requested on album design. will keep you guys updated after we have the outcome from SCT. for all brides out there, do thk twice if you're considering this PG -- T*mmy Le**G.

hilton suite is great! we were so impressed the moment we step into the room till we forgot to snap few photos of it to keep as memory. we ever consider to have our PS at Hilton lobby, the ares where all the boutiques are. very nice and class. next, you may consider to go to wheelock plc, expecially the staircase going up the ZARA and dbs bank. Ever saw some photos appeared on bridal managize using the plc as background.. very nice.

Lay Ling: Thanks! we got a friend to help out with the guestbook phototaking. this is in addition to the so-called "professional" PG that we engaged.

lladro, How many tables did you have in the panorama room? I realised that some of the
guests (blocked by the pillar) will not be able to see the stage as well as the lcd screen.
How is your table layout like? thanks!

lladro : saw your video express highlights too. Nice! What's the costs for Mirage like?

blureth : Hmm... need to take note of that when i choose my themes later! Which theme did you pick?

hi jami, we got 20 confirmed tables. The layout was nicely fit into the room. There is no pillar standing middle of the room, so not to worry.

as you noe, Panaroma can cater for smaller functions like seminars or small private functions, therefore there are structures by the side so that partitions can be closed whenever there is a need. But, there are just small structure protruding out from the side. don't thk these would block the view. Furthermore, 2 projector screens are provided at front (on stage) and back of the room respectively. so, those guests sitting at the back will still be able to see what's happending in front.

these are jus my view, suggest you find out some wedding dates so to chk out the actual set-up personnaly.

hi blureth, what June showed you are the standard decor for respective themes. however, couples can still request to make some changes to the standard set-up. so, i suspect what you'd seen was the reqeust from couple to chg the chair decor..

Hilton is pretty flexible in that sense, provided the change is within the cost.. so, always bring up the concerns you have for discussion and am sure June is more than happy to discuss.

actually i went down to take a look at one of the wedding layout, i tried sitting at the seats situated at the inner side of small protruding structure, and i can't see the stage as well as the lcd (lcd situated at the same side of the protruding portion). i'm not sure whether your guests sitting there did comment about this, maybe not.

hi jami, it will be hard to please everyone. to me, so long there is no big pillar standing at the middle of the room then it is good enough.

probably, you can chk out Intercontinental. They have very nice ballroom, but.. nothing is perfect. went there for a colleague's wedding. the food is so-so. service is not up to the stdn.. so, it is really depends on what you are looking for when deciding the venue..

at first, the previous thread did really scares me. due to the number of tables we are having, we do not have much choices too as our shortlisted venues are already taken up when we started looking for a place. i guess hilton's price list is not easily accessible, that is why our date is still available. my emails to them got no response, it was only at the last minute when we decided to call each and every hotel that we did not shortlist, then i managed to get hold of them. heard intercontinental is nice, but we can't hit the minimum, so thats out for us.

nevertheless, we have just sign with hilton last week.
although we didn't get a lot of bargains, we like the place/menu very much. we're glad that its within our budget too, given that hilton is a five-star hotel.

really thanks for your feedback! and your photos are very nice.
just wondering if i can take a look at your photoshoots?

hi jami.. agreed that it can be hard to negotiate on Hilton's package. well, thk the price is rather reasonable with the fact that Hilton is a 5-star hotel.

photoshoots? are you referring to my pre-wedding photos from bridal shop? you're welcome to chk out my multiply site..

anyone holds wedding at Hilton recently at Panaroma room?

How is it like? I am alomost going to pay and need to have some comment on food, service, atmosphere

thks for precious time for feedback

regds

Hi Hilton brides
The ampoule & eye lashes, do you buy from MUA ?

I heard MUA charges $50 for it. Is that true?

If don't buy from her, do she still charge us ?

If buy on how own, where to buy and how many bottles needed

By the way, the bridal car, which model did you take ?

I was told on AD, the car will not park outside the hotel.

The car service end once they send you to hotel, is that true?

hi IIadro

thank you for yr link. I would also like to comment abt my coordinator - Ms Rachel Pan, she is a wonderful lady and though she is young, I can see her professionalism in handling my request and always promptly return my calls. I am in the service industry for 15 years and can tell she has handled most of my requests well...
Keep it up , Rachel !

lladro: Oh my, hope ur dispute wiv the PG gets settled soon.

Lay Ling: I think most likely I'll be using Crystal theme as the main one, but I could be making changes here and there. Will be confirming on dat when I go down for food tasting. Now waiting for MIL to see when she's free lor.

nt259: It depends on who U're using for makeup. Usually I hear dat for bridal packages, they'll ask U to pay extra for things like ampoules & eyelashes. My MUA say ampoules are not necessary & she din charge me for the eye lashes. However, my MUA charges a higher fee. Thus hard to compare cos I'm going ala-carte & not bridal package. Bridal car, we'll be using hubby's family car. As for car not parked outside hotel, who told U dat? Ur BS?

I agree wiv U, Ocean Claudia, Rachel is sweet. She helped me when my coordinator June's not in office, like booking the exec suite for my PS, showing my PG ard Hilton for locations to shoot when I brought my PG down to recce. When I arrived @ Hilton last Fri for my PS, Rachel had arranged for someone to be waiting for us at the hotel lobby to show us up to the suite. Nice!

Anyway, here's my update for my PS last Fri...
We had fun the whole day wiv my PG, his asst & my MUA. However, we kinda ran out of time & din manage to go to all the places we had planned earlier, which was kind of a pity. It was very humid in the afternoon & was drizzling in the early evening. Poor hubby especially was sweating a lot, his black shirt definitely not helping too as it absorbs more heat. :P I sweat quite easily too. On our way to the next location, my PG bought us McDonald's burgers to munch on. Mebbe cos din eat much & sweated quite a bit, I think I am slightly slimmer aft PS! Haha...

Really felt like a celebrity... stares from strangers, ppl beaming @ us, tourists coming up to ask i'm a model & saying dat I look pretty in my gowns... they were even snapping pictures of us. LOL.
Anyway, we are planning to have more shots of me in my CS, together wiv our casual shots sometime soon. Now juz need hubby to cfm if he can take leave.

Blessings: I juz called up June/Rachel to chk for availability lor.
Can't remember when I called them, mebbe at most a mth b4 my PS date. Cos they need to see how's the room occupancy like. Oh, my wedding will be at Panorama too.

Wow...same venue :-) Hmm...they said they can only revert back to me 2 - 3 weeks before my PS :-( So can't confirm anything now.

Did they mention anything when using the bridal suite? No touching and messings up the bedsheets etc :-p