Hilton Hotel

Elmo : Just realised I asked you this question before!! sorry.... A bit short-term memory loss.

How much's your package? How many photos?

Hi Lay Ling

We took the 4988 package with one MTM gown. Their package consist of only 26 pics, but after bargaining, they managed to throw in a few more. Their OTR gowns are lovely, so i end up didn't MTM. keke

Elmo : Wow, that's quite expensive. I'm thinking of Di Gio, My Bridal Room, or contemplating going to Malaysia even but am a bit worried about the quality & design of the gowns there.

adelinne : I would think it's quite low coz even the grand ballroom stage is pretty low. But I think the panaroma room is very nice! The pool is an especially nice touch and plus the view! I would go for that if I had less tables.

Lay Ling: Euphoric Romance @ Panorama this Sat 27/10. I'll be going down. Fiery Passion @ Grand Ballroom on 11/11 (Sun) is up next, not sure if I'll be there too.

adelinne: I took some pics of Panorama when I went down to view Seraphic Charm theme last Sat. A bit dark & unclear as we didn't use flash. Hope it gives U a rough idea. Really kinda low, come to think of it. :P
553822.jpg
553823.jpg

blureth : Thanks. June was mentioning there's a wedding this sun as well (i'm seeing her then). Will see what theme it'll be then.

The stage does look low but it'll work in my case coz I think that reduces stage fright! haha. My worst fear is tripping on my gown and falling flat on my face during my march in!

Lay Ling: This Sunday got wedding too? Where? Grand Ballroom? LOL, juz make sure ur gown designer do ur gowns properly so dat u can walk wiv ease. Wat I've heard fr ppl is to have ur wedding shoes ready by final fitting, so dat the gowns can be altered accordingly if necessary. Nt too sure lar, haven't even been @ dat stage yet. See wat my designer advise there & then lor. Hehe...

Btw, which BS are U considering currently?

I'm considering a number : Di Gio (highly recommended by my friend), My bridal Room, D'sire, Dang, Bridal Concept, Bridal Zone. A lot??? Haha... Haven't made appointments to go down yet coz think it's a bit early.

Will probably do that next month! And yourself, which BS are you with?

I'm with Ted Collection.
It's never too early to start sourcing for BS. Juz take ur time & make appts wiv them. See who U're more comfortable wiv, in terms of service, product & price.

Funny leh, when I got Hilton's reply, they din mention this Sunday got wedding.

yup,I've been looking through the forums for comments on BS and have shortlisted a few. Will probably make appointments, need to steer clear of those who hard-sell coz I'm bad at rejecting people!

Not sure why, but I was told there's a wedding but no matter, if there is one I can take photos and share with you!

piggypig : Saw the layout but don't recall where 17 & 18 is? Are you at max capacity? If not can those be the reserved tables?

adelinne: mebbe u can ask the coordinator if there's a way to increase the stage height.

Lay Ling: Haha...i did intensive online research too on the forums b4 deciding on which BS to visit. In the end, out of a list of 10 BS, chose top 3 I really wanna visit, then made my choice liao. :P

Btw the wedding U mentioned this Sunday is in which ballroom??

Hi Lay Ling,
You have to enquire with the BS carefully as they usually have alot of hidden cost... Actually you can consider going ala carte.. Which I regretted not doing initially when I was planning for my wedding. Check out Ted Collection. They have a thread in this forum... =)
Btw, have you confirmed with Hilton? When is your AD?

hi Ling.. have you selected ur invitation fr AWT? met up with Shirley this afternoon to chk out the cards.. have shortlisted 2 designs, still need to consider which one to select..

554876.jpg
554877.jpg

blureth : I think June was referring to the Grand Ballroom for the wedding today, as I can only take this.

piggypig : Shall ask where table 17 & 18 are later to see how the layout is like. My SO is for the shorter march in!

Ling : Thanks for the advise! Problem with me is I'm a little lazy, haha. That's why odds on are I'll take a one-stop shop where I don't have to worry. Actually I was thinking of just getting my gowns here and going to JB for the photo album but think that may be too much of a hassle?
My AD is likely to be late Nov 08. Going to see June later to sign the contract and pay my deposit!

Hi All, BTW when should I be looking out for BS if my AD is late Nov 08? My SO think it's too early to sign on but I'm worried if I want my gown MTM, it may be too late to start next year??!!

Lay Ling: So U officially a Hilton bride yet? How was the wedding today @ Grand Ballroom? Wat's the theme?
I seriously dun think it's too early to start sourcing or even signing up with BS. It's only a year left if u're planning ur AD in Nov 08. Some BS might even chrg higher for a shorter time frame to ur AD, esp if U do plan on getting MTM gowns.

Ling: Sorry, juz outta curiousity, which BS did U sign up with? I'm a Ted Collection bride myself.

blureth : I am officially a Hilton bride now. AD : 29 Nov 2008.

Then I better start asking around for prices and package contents. A bit worried with my work schedule, how I'm going to handle the planning!!

Oh ya, I took a number of photos yesterday. When I have the time, will do some uploading. Yesterday, the Grand Ballroom was in Seraphic Charm, with some customizations - using red roses.

I believe there was a wedding at Panaroma as well. Did you pop by?

No, didn't go down Hilton at all the past weekend. Had to visit a relative in hospital, too tired to go elsewhere liao. Would sure like to see the red roses used in Seraphic Charm. The last time I went, they used pink roses. The petals were oredi losing their colour.

hmmm, I thought the red roses were quite a nice touch, but the roses does seems to be on the verge of dying... Need to check with the florist to provide fresher blooms!

Maybe when my turn comes, I'll ask June abt it on the flowers & petals part. Need to view other theme setups 1st I think lor. If all the themes have flowers & petals looking half-dead, dat's a big No-no for me!

Lladro : Sorry for the late reply.. You confirmed your card already? I chose 2 designs for my invites.. The one on the right & one with a over-lay. Btw, how you find the services by AWT?

LayLing : Have you visited the thread under Ted Collections? Anyway, I also dun know where to start...There is just too much things to look out for when selecting BS. But I think couples usually end up having to top up quite a lot for MTM gowns and additional photos.. You must be careful if you want your gowns MTM. Cos MTM to BS is just a simple gown.. if you want to add details like lace, beading, crystals etc.. its $$$. Worst thing is that after top up so much for the gowns.. its not for you to keep. But things that TC is different. You don't pay alot to keep all 3 gowns.. somemore all MTM to your likings. Go check them out lah.. Actually they are also like a one stop shop.. Cos they also 'tie-up' with photographers, MUA etc...

Blureth : You also a TC bride? Wow! Lucky gal you... Wen your AD huh? Your gowns done yet? Aey, not nice for me to post the name of my BS lah.. Your activate your Private Message... Then i tell you separately..

lladro: Hey...i chose the 2nd one. Coz printed 1 side with english + one side for chinese. I printed mine 350 pcs @$80 only, normal gold printing...

Nobody here be having their wedding at Vista room? This sunday there will be one seraphic charm set up at vista room ya...

Ling: LOL, aren't U a TC bride urself too? So U oso lucky gal ar!
My AD is in June 08. Activated my PM liao, hope it works, not too familiar, paiseh. :P How many gowns U have in total to wear? Hehe...

I only juz went to discuss gown designs last Sat, as I've posted in TC thread. *wink* Didn't know U were a Hilton bride too! Who did U use for AD PG/VG? Recommended by TC?

Anyway, I'm going down later to view Euphoric Romance @ Panorama alone. Heh.

Blureth: Hee... Ya lor.. So qiao.. You are a both a Hilton & TC BTB too! Who's your coordinator from Hilton? You taking the Grand Ballroom?
Aey, I half TC bride lah.. Cos I'll still be taking my WG, TD & EG from my BS. If include the ones I'm making fm TC, i'll have 1 WG, 2 TD, 3 EG... That's alot hor? I wonder how I am going to wear them all... *scratch head* But I glad that I know TC before my AD.. At least I still got the chance to wear their gowns... Haha...
Oh.. as for my AD PG & VG I source for them myself.. Actually before going to TC, I already confirmed alot of things... Infact I even had my photos taken & selected liao.. Haha..
Anyway, my PG is Yu Hsin fm Tinydot Photography & my VG is Dino fm Brilliant Pic. Very nice guys... So you confirmed yours already? Can check out their works too leh.. Cos they have threads in this forum..

hi Ling, Geraldine.. so both you chosed the one on right huh.. was considering the same, but tot may have to spend extra on ribbons, so we decided to have one on the left with 4 folds.

Ling, abt AWT's service.. so-so lar. they have their own printer but don't thk it's offering at competative price. they said will get back to me for the card collection.. however, called them 3x before they can confirm the card collection date. don't thk they're pro-active enough in doing biz.

Geraldine, thk i shld be able to print 1 side with english and another side with chinese with the card design that i decided right? was quoted $80 for 100 - 200 normal printing with insert from Hi Tech. so, yours was at very good price. normal gold printing? does it mean hot stamping or normal printing (without mould)? mind to tell who's the printer?

lladro: I tied with gold strings. actually very cheap only...one packet around $8 and i still got half left. i have 190 cards. I find the fold one quite small...then if fold already, dont u need stickers to stick on the centre part? no, i dont want to waste extra $ on hot stamping, coz eventually the cards will ended up in ppl's dustbin. Just normal printing in gold cream 80gm paper with gold wording.

Printer details: Speed Technology
Look for catherine. email: Catherine Peh ([email protected]), Tel: 6741 0083

But have to self collect ok....at Ubi

Lladro : I gg for my food tasting only next week on 14th, which happens to be my birthday too! Haha... So what are the dishes you had selected? Btw, which ballroom you taking?

Geraldine : Catherine's price is really competitive. Very nice lady too... Maybe going to her.. Just a quick question, how is their printing?

Ling: I'm taking the Panorama. Coordinator is June Wee. How much is ur AD PG & VG package btw? I haven't cfm for AD yet. PS will be using Matthew from Portrait Gallery (TC recommendation). Btw, got ur PM liao. Heh... Oh, hv U chosen ur wedding theme yet?

U ladies talking abt this AWT, erm, issit Hilton's card printer?

Oh, have fun at the food tasting session, Ling and lladro!

Oh, btw I was kinda shocked dat Hilton seemed to be using the same color cloth on VIP tables & reception table for both Seraphic Charm & Euphoric Romance theme.

Again, the petals strewn across the reception table were half dead.

Geraldine.. thanks for the contact for printer. will call to check out more. decided on the 4-folds with double happiness infrount is becuase to save cost. thought of getting the insert with 2 side folded for english + chinese. don't thk need to use sticker to hold the 4-sides together le.. have seem the similar card design from a friend's wedding, it was ok to me without any sticker.

Ling.. an advance Happy Birthday to you lar!! we selected the menu from Eternal Happiness. getting Panaroma with max upto 24 tables. thought it will be just a cosy set-up, with pool side for reception..

blureth.. yupe, AWT is hilton's contractor for invitation card. they do have their own printer, but don't thk the price is competative enough. so, wil just get the cards from them and do our own printing..

lladro: Nice! U're using Panorama too. U noe it's funny, I viewed Seraphic Charm wiv 20 tables and Euphoric Romance with max 24 tables but somehow I get the impression like the max layout looks more comfy compared to the prev setup wiv less tables!
May I ask if ur 24 tables includes the 2 reserve tables? What theme are U using btw? Got any customisation?

Btw, how long does ur printer take to print ur wedding invitation inserts?

Any Hilton brides had more than one session of food tasting?

blureth..when is your AD? i'm in the midst of finalising the guest list.. a big big headache. so, can't really tell the confirmed tables.

fiery passion is out of our consideration because my EG is red color.. lilac is also out because of the "poor" stage decor.. so, left only seraphic charm. no other choice.. to have a decor to our liking, definitely have to top-up a sum to have the effect that we want.. ya, talked to the florist. now, have a better idea on the areas which can be further "improved". this then come with additional price lar.. no choice again..

was thinking to get Hi Tech to print the insert until i got Geraldine's printer contact - Speed Technology. the price looks really attractive. so, will go down to check out their printing coming saturday. generally, the printer will need about 3-4 to work out the artwork. upon confirmation of the artwork, they need about 1 week to get the printing done..

to my knowledge, only one session of food tasting. after food tasting, we can reqeust to change the menu but there won't be anymore tasting.

hi Geraldine, rememeber i mentioned that i received an invitation card with same design from a fren's wedding? took a photo to show with proper folding, we can do without a sticker.. just to share..
560337.jpg

Ling: Their printing is ok...normal gold printing. Just that the choice of paper for printing is standard 80gm, pink or cream colour. I am satisfied...actually i only have 200 cards, but speed technology let me print 350 copies @ $80 flat. Have to self collect though...at ubi, abit difficult to find the place. confirmation is by email/fax.

Iladro: oh...i saw tat. i just tot its kindof plain...i chose the 2nd design with envelopes one. very nice & presentable and i bought small red XI stickers to stick on the envelope, very nice, at least not so boring la. personal view. my stickers cost $1.50 for 25 pcs. ya, the AWT service kindof sucks la, so gotto chase them yrself ok...some cards are out of stock, and their printing really ex, so can source outside la. speed technology also have hotstamping but think cost $170...just for those who interested

Blureth: Hee... My PG & VG is about $2K each.. Aey, me haven't decide on the themes.. Waiting to see if they have new ones coming up... =)

Lladro: Thank you... Your food tasting today right? Let me know your comments k?

Geraldine: Hey! Thanks for the information... I kind of share the same sentiments with you on AWT. Hiaz...

Ling, Geraldine.. yupe, agreed with you guys always. thk we are pretty poor in following up. gotta be pro-active instead.

lladro: So how was ur food tasting yday? Cos I heard some brides really want the food to be "perfect", so they paid extra to go food tasting more than once & compare tastes. If there's actually difference, they'd feedback and in the end, on their AD, really good food! My gown designer was saying he had went to the same hotel for 2 weddings. Both had abt the same range of food but taste-wise, "one sky one heaven" (yi ge tian, yi ge di)..very big difference! Apparently, the one wiv better food, was the bride who went for extra food tasting sessions. LOL.

When do U hv to give June/Rachel ur no. of cfm tables? Issit really dat troublesome to finalise the no. of tables? Oh my, I'm starting to fear when my turn comes.

I do agree the themes avail at Hilton isn't impressive. So ur "top-up" was to Hilton's florist? Wat are U adding to ur decor & how much did U pay?

Erm, printer need 3-4 days or weeks to work out the artwork? Heh...U missed out a word. I kinda like the way the envelope folds, simple & can I say hassle-free?

Ling: Ooh, ur PG allows U to take bk most or all of the photos? If their new themes are out in time for ur wedding, if I remember, in Jan 08 rite, lemme noe! Thks!

Geraldine: Where did U purchase ur gold strings & "Xi" stickers? From those shops dat sell traditional wedding stuff?

Ladies, so from wat I gather here, even if U chose not to have printing done by this AWT, still gotta collect invitation cards from them ar? Where they located ar?

blureth.. yupe, went for food tasting yesterday. wasn't quite satisfied with some dishes. first is the shark fin, thk the fin is too fine till can't really taste like eating the fin. aunt said there were lots of crab shells. personaly, i don't eat shark fin.. so, may choose to change this dish to other dish..

next, it was the steamed garoupa. thk it was overcooked. the meat was rather tough. but the chef who attended to us after the dinner has assured us the fish will turn out to be good during the actual dinner. they received the same feedback previously.. the reason for the tough meat is because the fish was prepared live for the trial dinner. however, the meat will taste different during the actual wedding as they will prepare the fish much earlier and cook later. somehow, the meat will get soften with this process. any comments from you guys??

another dissapointed dish is the mushroom with siao phye chye. the mushroom tasted too strong, and with bit of sour taste.. a big big no-no for this dish.. definitely have to change!

those were the negative sides..well, there were dishes which tasted nice like herb empress chicken, sliced abalone with HK kai lan and the glutinous rice with 8 treasures. just hope the kitchen will maintain the same standard..

blureth, when is your AD?

printer will need 3-4 days to work out the artwork.. my posting previously was refering to the invitation card, not the envelope. hope it is not creating any confusion.

blureth: the gold strings can be buy anywhere. i bought mine at chinatown for $8. can tie alot of cards lor...i tied 200 cards, still got balance more than half. the xi stickers even easier to find. the price almost the same everywhere. but stickers alone i already spend almost $40 bucks! for sticker on own house, mil house, my mum house la...

Iladro: my mum worked in food industry. she told me those fish the taste is like that one. bo bian one...for my food tasting, the shark fin was ok leh, i find it quite thick also. hmmm..dunno what happened.

Blureth: Are you referring to my AD PG? Yap, will get back all the pics taken on that day with standard editing.

Lladro: Erm.. think I better take note during food tasting... =) Me gg next week! =P