Hilton Hotel

hi all, we met up with the florist.. finally.

have a better idea now on what can be changed, what can be added to the standard decor..however, all these come with additional charges. so, now gotta work out our budget.

my EG is red color.. so we decided to have seraphic charm as our theme. but will reqeust to change the flower color.. probably a mixture of champagne, pink and cream color huh..

Hi All, I have intention to hold my reception in Dec 08 but it looks like a lot of hotels already have weekends taken up!

Hilton is one of my top choices, for the attractive pricing for an Orchard Hotel. It would perfect, if not for the 3 columns...

Anyone can share the photos of the themes there?

Lay Ling, what 3 columns are U talking abt? Which ballroom is dat?

Just to let U know, June Wee will be keeping Seraphic Charm theme only for year 2008. The other 2 themes are to be changed.

Hi Blureth, the Grand ballroom has 3 columns! Me and my SO "sneaked" in last Sunday on a wedding to view the setup.

Initial impression is like what some others have said so far, seems a bit plain but I was hoping we can do something about that, add red roses or something.

Will be interested to view the new themes!
Am meeting Rachel this Sun to discuss a bit more.

Hi Lay Ling, SO means wat ar? :P

I only visited Vista & Panorama, so didn't know abt the 3 columns in Grand Ballroom.

I'll be holding my wedding @ Panorama next June.

haha, sorry. SO = Significant Other.

we're looking at possibly around 40 tables, hence can only look at Grand Ballroom.

How are your themes like?

Wow, dat's a lot of tables! My minimum would be 18, but by then, it might increase but hope won't exceed 24, if not, we're gonna have a prob. :P

Any idea when they say max no. of tables for a ballroom, are the reserved tables included?

Themes ar...no idea wor...haven't given it any thoughts. What abt U?

Btw to go take a peek at wedding setup b4 they start, did U make an appt wiv Rachel or U juz pop by urself?

Hi Blureth,
I have a big family and my SO have a lot of friends, so in combination we need around 40. Kind of headache as there are a number of hotels we couldn't consider coz they couldsn't accomodate our numbers.

No idea abou the reserved tables, will ask when I meet up with them this weekend! Who's your coordinator? I'm meeting with Rachel this Sun.

I just popped in. But I did check whether they had a wedding on that day before going down. Didn't dare to take photos though.

lladro,
Thanks for sharing. haha, I'm still not in the multiply community but will definitely go take a look.

Lay Ling:

Wow, you have headache looking for big space, I'm the direct opposite, had to skip lotsa hotels cos I'm looking for small space! Haha...

My coordinator is June. Rachel actually works on Sun??

I'll be dropping by next Sat to chk out the Seraphic Charm theme in Panorama. June says no need to make appt with her, juz drop by myself.
Hmm, think I might not dare to take photos too, see how then. My hubby prefers to snap pics more than me! :P

blureth:
The Panorama looks great! I would take that if I had less tables. Esp. love the pool reception.

Heard from Rachel that they are changing the themes for 2008 and the only one they are keeping is the Seraphic Charm. When we went earlier, the grand ballroom was decked out in the black and red theme which they are rolling out next year. Quite drama! Black table clothes and chair covers. The VIP tables had gold bows, whic I thought was very nice.

Considering that, but well... i have time to think.

How about your perks? I'll be using the UOB card promo...

Hi Lay Ling

We were there in the evening too. Quite like the black and red theme. It's quite special. And their VIP tables with the gold ribbon look fabulous. Matches my EG, which is champange colour.

Now have to convince my parents on the colour cos they are kinda traditional.

Elmo : Me too. The problem is not so much with my SO's side. It's my parents, don't know whether my parents can be persuaded that black is ok.

When's your AD?

I'm trying to see whether Hilton can spare me a venue for the solemnization on the same day. Hoping for the poolside venue.

Lay Ling:
My hubby was pretty excited abt Panorama cos of the poolside reception area too. Another thing is cos of little no. of tables, thus 1 table on each side are lined along the aisle, no one's view will be blocked (not too much anyway i hope) during our march-in. :P

I shortlisted 3 hotels (after I went down to view the venues & speak wiv coordinators wiv my mom 1st), hubby insisted on viewing Hilton first & we signed on the spot wiv June. I was kinda surprised dat my hubby so ON lor. Haha...

We still hv time for the themes, wonder wat new themes they gonna come up wiv, June said shld be out ard March or so next yr? Can't quite remember liao. Might nt hv actual weddings for me to view their setup since my AD in June 08.

I dun mind black, but my parents more traditional type, doubt they can really accept black lor. Haiz...

Yes, I'm using the UOB promo too.

Hi Lay Ling

Mine AD is in March 08, i'm taking the Grand Ballroom. How's about you?

Yesterday, showed my dad about the black and red theme, he don't really fancy. He prefer seraphic theme. Haha..same goes for my bro...both men are so traditional.

Hopefully, June can come up with some new theme before my AD.

Hi blureth, Elmo,

Both your ADs coming up quite soon! PS coming up? Which BS are you guys with?

I thought the black and red theme was quite stylish, but rather unconventional and may be a bit difficult for the older generation to accept, I guess.

Think Rachel said something about the themes only be used for weddings for 2nd quarter but I saw the black and red being used already. My SO doesn't fancy the seraphic charm even though I though it's quite sweet, though a bit plain. But think can jazz up with flowers of stronger colours.

Hi Lay Ling

Yah, still got 5 months to go. Got the letter from Hilton last week, informing us about the food tasting, wedding card, favour etc.

My ps is next mon and the following tue. Kinda excited and looking forward to it. I'm with Sophia Weddings.

Elmo : Sounds good. So Hilton gets in touch with the BTBs around 5 months before the AD.

Guess the PS is one of the most exciting parts of the entire process huh? How was your experience with Sophia Weddings so far?

Odds-on are that we may sign up with Hilton too. So far quite happy with the perks except for the not-so-ideal free bottles of wine. But I guess for the price of a orchard hotel, I have nothing to complain about. I would be so much happier if the 3 big columns are not there.

Hi Lay Ling

Yup, they are quite responsive. They given send us the URA parking coupons already...:-)

So far, the service from Sophia is great. I'm gg for my final fitting on this friday. Have u sign up w any BS?

Guess, the rate for Hilton is reasonable for a 5 star hotel in orchard. :-)

Hi...anyone had your wedding at the vista room or the panorama room? how is it?

does it look grand? i saw the grand ballroom..like it a lot...but i do not have so many guests...so i do not think i am able to have it in the ballroom.

appreciate your feedback.
thank you.

Elmo : That's good to hear. I've seen comments in forums on hotels not being responsive after the contract is signed. Good to hear that Hilton takes the lead in contacting the BTBs.

Haven't signed up with any BS yet. I'm of the impression that since my AD is going to be end of next year, I still have time to decide. Am inclined towards Di Gio at the moment, due to recommendations from my friend.

Lay Ling:

Only juz went to view 1st photographer tied-in wiv my BS (Ted Collection) yday. Hubby & I liked him quite a lot. Might most likely be getting him for PS. :P AD shoot might be getting another photographer though who oso works wiv my BS.

I think Seraphic Charm theme quite plain to me, esp stage setup. Anyway, gonna take a look this Sat for ourselves. I'm hoping that the new themes would be more of a bang.

Hope that U join us in being a Hilton BTB soon!

Elmo:

Parking coupons sent to U so early? Wow! Same coordinator wiv me too. Given June's 13 yrs of experience in Hilton, think we shld be in safe hands.

Destineez & Gleniyn:

How many tables are you looking at? Think it's best U call up Hilton & get the packages straight from them. Who knows wat other promos they might be running now?
If it helps, the price range is $800+ to $900+ per table, depending on the menu U select.

i have called up hilton liao... they say its $868 nett for wkends non-aspicious date, but aupiscious date is $968 nett. any 1 got photos of the ballrm? is it nice...? can any1 email me the pix os can post here?

txs

blureth :

I do think it's important to like your photographer's style coz all that's left after the wedding will be the photos and videos!!! That will most probably be the thing we're happy to splurge on.

I do like the black and red theme we saw last Sunday. Unfortunately, my parents seems quite against that. Now gotta be middle man and convince my other half to tone down... =(

So far, we're quite happy with Hilton. Was considering Novotel Clarke Quay tand Merchant Court but both are fully booked for weekends in Nov and Dec 08 already.

gLeNlYn :
How many tables are you looking at? Which ballroom you can consider is dependent on the no. of tables. If you have less than 24, go for the Panaroma, it's really quite nice. If you're looking at more than 30 (40 for Sat), you can only consider the grand ballroom.

Lay Ling:

Haha, I think U can't escape Hilton liao. But even if U like the black & red theme, won't that be pulled out next yr? So if U really like it, they might be able to arrg it for U even in 2008?

blureth : the black and red theme is new for 2008. They are just allowing a couple to use that first for their wedding on Sunday. So it will be in use for 2008. The seraphic charm will be retained so left one more theme to be confirmed by Hilton in 2nd quarter next year.

Now wondering whether I can get my SO to compromise by using other colour table cloths.

gLeNlYn : If so, you may be looking at the grand ballroom. But they want a min of 40 tables for Sat weddings and 30 for Fri and Sun. I don't have photos but if you look further up this thread, there is another Hilton BTB who have uploaded photos to multiply. But I would suggest visiting the site to see for yourself. There are 3 pillars smack in the middle though.

Lay Ling: OMG!! It's a new theme?!? June din say it'll be out so soon! Oh boy, in dat case, black might be out for me too. Seraphic Charm better appeal to hubby & me this Sat. LOL. Lazy to bug June abt the themes now lar, phaps start of 2008.

gLeNIYn: Heh, phaps U can juz run thru the thread's archive for the pictures. I remembered there are a number being posted for reference of themes. Might be able to get an idea online but agree wiv Lay Ling dat it's best to go for a site visit urself. *wink*

blureth : that was what Rachel told me. Don't think they will be able to say much now on the new themes, coz I asked but they have not settled on the new themes yet. She was saying something about the new theme being out 2nd qtr 2008.

blureth : Just an update, have just received clarification from Hilton that the black and red theme we saw last Sunday is NOT a new theme for 2008. It was apparently just a request from the couple for the set-up to be that way as they have the black table cloths and seat covers available.

Hi, blureth

txs for the info. wil check it out from the previous thread..... but seems like hilton dates for 4th quarter nxt yr 2008 have been almost fully taken up.. dunno wat to do nw....

gLeNlYn : Have you checked with them? When I last checked there are still a few dates open. You may want to call Hilton to check on the dates?

Lay Ling: 2nd qtr? But I somewhat remembered June saying by the time of my wedding, shld be able to use the new themes. Phaps cos mine's near 2nd qtr bah. Hehe... LOL, thks for the update on the black & red theme. Hv U signed up wiv Hilton yet btw? Hehe...

gLeNIYn: Well, sometimes hot dates are booked fast. When I was calling up hotels to enquire early this yr, some hotels had their Dec 08 booked for wedding liao. Super fast sia... Juz call them up and ask to be sure. How did U get the idea Hilton dates almost fully taken up anyway?
U gotten a few dates fr shifu?

Wow, U actually learned fengshui & bazi? Outta interest or juz for ur wedding? ;)

I went to the shifu at Sultan Plaza, haven't went bk to him for the times & such. Last time only got the dates for venue booking as tongshu wasn't out yet.

blureth : I think it should be ready by your AD bah... but think they have not confirmed on anything yet. so we'll wait and see what new themes there are!
My SO seems pretty OK with them, just pending a final discussion with him to see if it's alright then I'll call June to confirm!

gLeNlYn:
Wow!! you can actually calculate your own dates! That's quite interesting!

hi, Lay Ling & blureth

i learn fengshui and bazi for my job la... so nw getting married so can put into gd use... its been years when i learnt liao.. been interviewed by Channel U too... if u do c me... haha

nw during my own free time, i wil do some readings for my client and also their hse.. let me knw if u need my help ya.. SIngaporebrides can get at a special rate..

:-)

hi glenlyn_lyn,
you may check out my multiply for the look of grand ballroom.

multiply ID: lladro

hey, great to hear that you know feng shui. did some own study, but not really put into practice..

Lay Ling: Hopefully new themes would be ready by my AD. Today went down & took a look @ Seraphic Charm in Panorama, boy was it plain. My hubby thinks likewise & there's too many angels for his liking. Think we might wanna view other current themes as well to get an idea 1st. If new themes next yr not quite to our liking, phaps we can customise for our AD lor. Haha...

Btw popped by Grand Ballroom today as it was open. Saw the 3 big pillars U mentioned. LOL. But the Ops guy said there's live feed on projector screens for guests who are blocked from viewing march-in & onstage, so I guess still nt dat bad bah.

gLeNIYn: Paiseh, seldom watch TV. LOL. Nt bad leh, to get interviewed. :D

I was quite interested in feng shui a few years back, but the interest got "over-ridden" by my hectic work schedule, haha.

blureth : I think the coordinators should be well-experienced enough to help us in arrangement of the tables so that a min. no. of people gets blocked. Yup, the live feed helps and the fact that there are 2 screens are also appreciated! My only other quibble is that the stage doesn't look as grand as some other hotels.

Will probably check with June when there are weddings with the other themes so that I can go take a look and take some photos to show my mum!

Yes, Lay Ling, I agree wiv U & some ladies who had commented way earlier abt the dull stage setup. Saw June yday showing a couple to Panorama ballroom for viewing as well. Anyone in forum ar? LOL.

blureth : It does seem like there's only a few of us in here! haha. The black and red I saw was OK, except that I would probably prefer more flowers... We will most probably be taking up Hilton as our reception venue. Need to call June later to fix up something...

Lay Ling: Haha...mebbe the rest too busy bah.

Well, I've juz emailed June, to ask for wedding dates so we can view actual setup of the lilac (Euphoric something) and red (Fiery Passion) themes.

blureth : When you get the dates can share? I wanna go down take some photos to show my family.

Elmo : which BS are you with? Where did you go for your outdoor shoot?

Hi Lay Ling

I'm with Sophia Wedding Collections. I went to botanic gardens and lallang field for outdoor shoot. Time is limited on Mon. Will continue my outdoor shoot in msia next tue..:-)