Hilton Hotel

hi pinkroise ans stars,

i also in WL thread too..hehehe...me and pinkroise have many in common.. :P

I will not moved in until after my wedding day coz my mum very conservative, ready but cannot stay yet...my things i think i will move in slowly after AD.

think i better choose by cards by this week....same as you, think by then i give my colleagues first...sigh, a bit regret that i havent settle my cards yet..hope still in time...

where u planning for your honeymoon?..went natas fair that day, will be going Korea this dec. :P

so many things to plan...you choose your songs already?..that is another headache...

Hi princess79,

Ya hor...i also forgot i saw u in WL thread..hee hee..when is yr AD huh? Ya it is better to slowly shift yr stuffs in. For us, we also slowly bring our stuffs over n on sun the actual moving day, i only have a small box containing my documents n papers...Have u chosen the flowers arrangements yet? Have u decided wich cards to choose? Well we r considering between australi, melb n cold coast or USA..prefer US but maybe not this time coz we prefer to go free n easy n tink US need alot of planning n i dun think i have the time...so most prob aussie lor..
Have more or less chosen the songs alr..Went to my hubby friend home on sat n chosen the songs..glad that most songs r not common ones n more jazzy ones..how abt u?

Hi stars,
yup we are in the same 2 threads....
nice coincidence with you and princess79...
hee, all similar good tastes????he he

Princess79..
me ROMed last year already....so can stay together ...hee. cos my house bought last Jan in the walk-in selection, so its a waste to pay and pay and no stay....I left it vacant for some time already...

Ha, you know what, I am going Korea too!!!! really same taste leh...hee
I booked with Dynasty during their in-house fair before the natas fair....

HAHAHAHA...pinkroise, wah, 2 of us last life are sisters is it???

I ALSO BOOKED WITH DYNASTY !!! Mine is the 8days romancing winter and jeju tour package, leaving on the 18th dec, will spend christmas eve there... :P you???

i also ROM last year in Sept, bought my house last year May liao...but my mum dun allow us to stay together yet though we are legally married...pay since last year june liao..now all renovated but still cannot stay..
...very very conservative right...never been to tour with my hubby too..so really looking forward to my honeymoon...

which songs you choose...i still searching for it..any recommendations???

princess79,
hee, yah same taste..
I am taking the same 8 day korea winter ski and jeju package as you...same again!!!!! ha funny....imagine if we are going on the same date , it would be too 'qiao'!
I am leaving on the 3rd, I booked before Natas cos I wanted that departure date to be open for others...scared no one wants to go on that date....
How much did you pay?
yah..looking forward to honeymoon...

Hubby in charge of choosing songs....he haven start work yet...will share when he has decided.....

you collected your pictures already?
I think i will collect my album sometime in oct....

stars,
we wanted to go US too, but too ex for now...we are worried that we would have to pay alot for the wedding dinner....so go korea first..next year then we plan free and easy US....

hilton gave us 12 cards to choose...I took some time to decide...all quite nice....so you must decide,...

okie...actually i did think of going on the 3rd dec as i check out on the 2nd..but after that wanna go there near christmas to feel the mood...
i paid about 1.8k per person plus all the taxes..as the date is late dec..mine include the spa package and a night stay at the hahnah country resort which provide the spa package...guess yours will be the same..

fix to choose this thurs liao...hope everything is smooth...
will collect my albums in early oct too if i'm not wrong...

Princess79, yup I also paid around $1.8 with taxes and includes the spa package too....I think it is exactly the same package..quite a comprehensive package....

I check out on the 3rd in the afternoon...then leave spore at night...no choice cos hubby has to take block leave so we are going straightaway.....
Lucky my dinner is one day after the customary so I can pace out and settle things before I go on my honeymoon....

did Vincent take your photos too? He took mine...
Don't worry, I am sure your cards will turn out fine....

i see..then i guess you will have topack your luggage earlier, then so rush itll that day..plus all the winter clothings.. ;)

alex took my pictures, not vincent...will call WL to ask about my album next week...coz i need the soft copy to do my photo montage..

guess we 2 will be very busy soon.exam period coming liao...

yup...we will be busy soon....
now already feeling the stress..

yup I will have to pack early.. winter clothing cost me another bomb...

i already very stress with sch., no mood, if only we can take leave to settle our stuffs, too bad we cant, so kinda feel packed sometimes...

true, very ex, esp the jackets...and if we go skiing, it will be very cold, you can try to go the korea forum here...some of them know korea very well..i also went in sometimes to know more...

i will borrow some of the winter clothings from my colleagues..save some cost...except for thermal wear...hmmm...maybe can ask you how's the trip when u back by then..since same tour and food...get some xin li zhun bei ..

which theme u choose for hilton ballroom deco? i choosing the fountain one, coz my hubby like the water more, esp with the fountain on the stage..hehe...

yup, we bought a jacket each and it was so ex....and I bought v
must wear more times then it is worth it..

I choose the red roses theme...
we prefer the red roses.....stronger colours....and we like the display at the reception table....fountain also nice....wanted to choose that at first too.....

you have free wine too right? last year's promo...

ya, mine is the promo one, booked before dec last year.. :P

i also like the reception for the red roses theme...too bad when i ask if can combine, she said cannot, then u will not feel the theme liao...will you be doing the deco for all the chairs or just the 2 VIP table' chairs...think maybe i will keep cost not to add deco...but scared will be plain...how?

what u mean by u bought v ?

Hi, am new at this thread.

Seriously considering Hilton for my banquet.
Wonder does anyone has Vista room photos to share?
Can't take the other rooms as I only has 20tables.
Thank you in advance!

princess79,
sorrie I did not end off my sentence...he
I bought cardigans and socks and gloves too...so I am very poor...

Yah, the florist did not allow me to combine too.....
last year's deal much better than now...next year a very popular year to get married......

I did not add decor for the rest of the table...I thought no point wasting the money cos no one would remember.....
can save on this loh....

dear ladies,

Congrats to all brides-to-be. :D

tot of sharing wif ya all as i called up hilton to chk and realised that the inn of happiness got pillar and grand ballroom
if got fewer tables in the grand ballroom, they can arrange it in such a way the tables will not be blocked. so no worries

my only concern now is that is the aisle..is it only a short one ah for those N the ceiling (heard that it's not very hi) who have gone there to take a lok oreadi.. pls advise. thanks so much :D

hi pinkroise n ladies,

i will be choosing the cards later...but shirley on MC, so david will serve me...how's he?..easy to talk to?..anything i need to bear in mind when choosing the cards/..can bargain anot?.. :P thanks

I did not bargain for the cards...it is the standard rate...

enjoy the selection process. I think they are a husband and wife team...

simple, choose cards first. then you must confirm the wording of the card..takes a few days, they will do draft for you....you confirm then they print....

ladies,
the pillars are fine...ceiling seems ok..I attended 2 weddings there before that is why I chose hilton too.... both times were good...

oh thanks pinkrosie.. i went there once too for D&D before, not sure if that's the same ballrm anot hehe... food was good, rates oso pretty ok. thus considering hilton. :D

Hi Blur gal,

for GBR, can take a L shape walk in, so should be okay, as for Vista, I would think unless u put the stage at far end, u can opt for a long walk in as well.

I personally prefer the GBR lah, coz higher ceiling, bigger and plus there are 3 screens to show live on stage.

thanks pinkroise

i personally think its ok with the ballroom, service also good, they will have 'live' video showing the couple when they are marching in..i find that very good, as you know, some guests may be blocked by others...but of coz that provided that u will be using their projector.

wow ! sounds nice. :D will be chkin the ballrm soon. Seems like hard to bargain for an additional nite. Have tried but they say cant cfm too. perhaps tinkin of payin a little for one more nite stay since on the wedding nite will be too tired to enjoy the beautiful rm..

beary stressed thou mine is end of nez yr. so many wedding prep to do .. fiance too busy, gotta settle most of things myself.
thou tired, gettin abit excited too! heheee *Grin*

btw, what u guys gotten in addition to the perks? I managed to get two favours :D care to share ladies ? :D

My wedding dinner will be held in Hilton in Oct this year. Just went to see the theme (Garden of love) and deco setup a few days ago for another couple's wedding there. Everything's ok except for 2 things:

1. Dummy wedding cake looks terrible. (Note: this has nothing to do with the theme, part of Hilton's package.) I expected the wedding cake to be done up pretty and decorated but it's really plain and looks like stacked up Mochis. Upon closer inspection, the layers were not glued together properly and black gaps could be see between layers. Really didn't expect such quality to be from Hilton.

2. The garden of love theme stand at the stage doesn't look very nice, in my opinion. There are these green leaf balls with big butterflies that looks strange as a whole.

For those who have not seen the actual themes and deco in an actual dinner at Hilton, I'd strongly advise you to take a look. For those who have similar opinions like me, please contact me so we can all group together to do something about it. The Hilton florist claimed that all her themes were very well received by couples. I am skeptical and wish to verify her statement here.

Other than the above, from the food tasting, it'd seem that Hilton's food and dinner service is pretty good.

As for the wedding coordinators, I feel that they're doing just ok. They're very inflexible and unaccommodating if we don't top up with $$$. Compared to places like Hyatt, I think they're way behind in service levels.

As for the above issues, Hilton's saying that they'll doing something about the cake (I dunno if it'll turn out well). But for the stage, the florist's just giving standard answers like "What do u want?", "We'll substitute the stand with a fountain", "We'll substitute the stand with 2 flower stands", "Perhaps you'd like to pay more for us to do something more customised to your needs". Frankly, if this were the case, aren't we all capable of becoming Hilton florists?

Future Hilton couples, please provide your comments and contact me if necessary so we all can do something about this.

hi pinkroise,

i feel soooo sad..the card that we wan has no stock, need to wait for at least a month....then in the end i only left 4 choices...most no stock liao..so among the 4, only 1 is not bad lor..so took that...sigh..
should have chosen earlier...what is the card no you choose?

Hi Stephen

I visited Hilton with my sister some time back. We thought their deco is really good! I'm not sure about you guys, but my sister and I found it really beautiful! We did not get to meet the florist though, but i guess she asked u things like like "wat you wan" so that they can deco something to your preferences? anyway we saw the dummy cake too. Not too bad I tot. Maybe cos we go for the simple and elegant look, not too complicated. i mean, not as if we geting a fruit cake or something, rite? haha =p anyway i think if you want to make any changes to wat they already ve, usually you will ve to pay abit more lor. i think this happens in the other hotels too, cos when we went "hotels shoping", most of them said this also.
u mentioned Hyatt. anyone u recommend? if they can do wat we wan without having to pay extra, i think that's really a good deal!

Well, I don't know if stacked Mochis is the norm for wedding cakes nowadays. I'm expecting some decorations around the sides of the cakes but there are none. I think elegance can come in other forms than having nothing around the sides of the cake. Simplicity? It's definitely a simple cake.

With regard to the florist, I did tell her what I don't like about the stage stand. I believe a good florist should be able to recommend modifications that the couple cannot think of. That's their value-add. If all they do is to follow instructions given by us, then where's the professionalism and value-add? This is Hilton that we're talking about, not 3-star YMCA. And I'm not asking to change a lot of things, it's just the stage stand. I believe my request is reasonable. Again, if the florist insists on counting peanuts by charging extra, it just shows their professionalism and the way they do business, isn't it?

I can't remember the lady's name at Hyatt. She's a petite lady. Excellent service levels and very accommodating. If not for my parents' worry about the food there, we would have signed up with them. And yes, they don't charge extra for bending backwards for the customer for a number of basic things. This is what I call exceptional service.

Hi angie, do you have any idea what was the wedding theme when you visited hilton?
Me and my bf are really interested in holding our our dinner at hilton, so need to find out more from you guys, thanks in advance!

Hi all, last nite i went hilton, thinking of having my wedding (lunch reception) there (grand balllroom) as the nites are booked already for 9th Dec 2006. the deco (shadow of love) is not really very nice and the coordinator who served us sucks in service. a lot of other hotels are also fully booked for that nite. any other suggestions as to where i can go for lunch or dinner? budget is $900 nett per table. btw, any idea if the attendance is good for lunch compared to dinner?

summerrain...

With a 900nett per table, you can get a really nice place for lunch. How about 4 seasons?

Stephen...
With regards to the cake, if you've informed your coordinator, then it's to allow them time to check it out (if that's what they've told you). Maybe you can check out another couple's cake to just see if it's sub-standard for everyone.

As for the florist, I think the price we're paying between Hilton and Hyatt is a significant difference. Thereby the difference in accommodation?

Hi all, went Hilton to have a look at the ballrooms last night. Got to see the themes Garden and Fountains of love. What I can say is that they are simple and nice. If people are going for something elaborate, maybe you have to liase with the florist for more set up.

hi any ex-hilton brides around?...did u all use the lcd outside the ballroom? can it be connect to laptop we brought on our own and show our own 'creation' of "mtv" ??....love to hear any advice thanks yo~~~

hi, am a ex-hilton bride during dec04. did use the lcd cos it will provide entertainment when your guests are loitering around the lobby. we did our own presentation using powerpoint and pass the cd to the hotel staff. have to use their pc to connect. our laptop is used for the projection tv in the grand ballroom. but you have to make sure that you run numerous tests on the presentation cos when we tried during the trials, there were several hiccups. Actual day is fine though...hope this helps!

hi timminbuzz,
dun think i be taking up the hilton lunch package. be postphoning my wedding till jan 07, hopefully then be able to get a hotel which i n my dar dar like by then, so i am currently keeping my fingers crossed now...but bit disappointed that i acn't get maried in dec next yr.

princess79,

why no stock? I think they should order more.....
which card did you choose in the end? I chose the long red card with ribbon, the same as stars in the WL thread...didn't know we chose the same until she posted hers on the net.

Is it a square card for you? I wanted a square card with a translucent cover and a tiny ribbon on top..but decided on the red one later.

ya, exactly, i wan that square card (a bit purplish one) too..but no stock..so sad...now i choose another square card, also with translucent cover with the word 'my wedding' in the centre, i added in our name on the translucent cover too to make it dun look so plain . still it will need another 2 weeks to finish printing. already got another 4 teachers telling me that they cannot come..sigh..what about you? you need to pay extra for the ribbons rite?..about $1 per card...i cant bear to spend it on the ribbon.

ya, the one with small purple flowers is nice... she told us no stock too, must wait for a few weeks so we did not want it.....

You chosen card is nice too...adding your names with hotstamping right? more ex right?

I gave out my invitation cards, so far still alright, many of them leaving on the 3rd for hols so they can attend. Only a few confirmed with me that they cannot make it... too early to tell, 2 more months to go....
hopefully most will come then go on holiday...

tying the ribbon for my cards took so long...but it was fun!

Hi folks

Would like to ask if u folks are interested to take up the hilton package which i have signed up earlier for the Grand Ballroom on 25 Mar 06 for 35 tables (under the old rates). My fiance and I are now contemplating of not having the wedding banquet as we would like to spend more effort (and money) on planning for our honeymoon instead. As such, wondering if anyone interested to take up our package. If u are interested in taking up the package (only those seriously interested), do revert by 2 Oct. U may wish to email my fiance at [email protected] for more information (as i would be away on biz trip). If no one is interested then i guess i would be one of the Hilton brides to be then ;p. Thanks!

yah i have the application form. u need me to email you ?

i might be going down to check out what new themes they have for 2006 and what perks hilton is offering in addition. but i dunno if im entitled cos i already signed teh contract and paid the deposit.