Hilton Hotel

littlewoman> we only ate the pre dinner before my MUA comes at 6pm
... then the post dinner...no energy to eat coz after counting angpaos and washing up and packing... time to zzz at 3.30am

saggiegirl: I was too hungry at the end of the dinner... Ate them with Macdonalds, cheesecake with my friends before doing the rest of the necessary...

sumon: it depends on your budget, nos of tables u are looking at, the various theme, etc...

littlewoman: i'm looking at 20 tables. budget is somewhere around these two hotel's rate. have checked them both out. GWP looks really grand but 300 more ex per table. hilton is really reasonable but not much of that "grand" effect. not sure to go for the grand appearance or the better deal without that much "look" and "feel".

sumon: I see... 20 tables? Hence, probably you are looking at level 24 of Hilton? Hmm... It depends on your definition of being grand? I had chosen black and red theme for my wedding and the overall effects looks rather unique and classic. Hmm.. what is the theme u might be looking for?

Hi Sumon, I had the same comparison but decided on Hilton in the end. Hmm.. I would find Hilton still carries the "grand" look with a resonable pricing. Well, it's really up to individual preference.

Some thoughts for sharing here?

1) 20 tables x $300 = $6000 additional(are u willing to pay the extra for the desired theme)

2) Not sure if the ballroom for 20 tables is at windsor ballroom? coz when I went there, the reception area is very small.

3) I only attended a dinner at GWP. Not at Hilton yet. I must agree GWP ballroom gives ppl a very romantic feel. Other factors to consider such as hotel suite, environment, perks etc. By any chance if it concerns u, I felt GWP carpark area is very dark and can get scary after dinner. Plus it was raining heavily that day and we noticed some guests drenched when they reached reception.

4) plus point for GWP is pillarless (am I right?) I'm taking the Grand Ballroom @ Hilton so can't comment much for level 24.

I had my wedding banquet at Level 24. Not too sure if there are changes to the rules for the hotel but during my time (i.e. 3 months back), the hotel closed off the pool for me and the whole level belong to us. I had my cocktail reception at the pool side and this gives ppl a rather romantic feeling. Though the function room is slightly small, but I guess it looks jus nice for 24 tables?
I receive very good remarks and comments for the food and ambience.

Hello everyone, as I'm having my food tasting soon, can anyone recommend what are the more memorable food that you all tried? Thinking of switching between menus.....(e.g. deep fried duck for signature herbal chicken, mushrooms vege for abalone vege, cantonese cod for soy sauce cod?)

Tin: We choose the bird nests soups as 2nd dish, pork ribs, 雪鱼, braised sliced abalone and shitake mushrooms with spinach.

Cool tks!...but it seems you all chose the 'birds nest' menu? Anyone chose the menu with the shark's fin (which has the deep fried duck, shitake vege and soy sauce cod)?

Also, when does the AV testing usually take place? Does your own VG have to be there with the already done up montage/prewedding vid?

Tin: I think I have interlink quite a few dishes...

I did my AV testing 2 weeks prior to my AD. My VG wasn't present and I don't think it is necessary too...

Tin> my AV testing is 3 days before AD.

your VG will pass u the montage (morning express) to your helper/groom during the pre-dinner briefing
just ask him/her to come at about 6.45pm so that hilton can do a testing as well

Okie...btw regarding food, which ones have you all tried/know of which isn't that good?

Cos I'm cant decide which to swap with which (e.g deep fried duck for signature herbal chicken, mushrooms vege for abalone vege, cantonese cod for soy sauce cod?)

Hi Tin, I'm gg for my food tasting tmr! I've chosen "Weekend Devotion Menu A2". ie the one with shark fins, fried duck and soy sauce cod. I only swopped mushroom vege to abalone vege. I chose them by gut feel only.
When's ur food tasting? we can share share review after food tasting too.

I just met one of the sales last week at Hilton, the 24th floor is more private but the lights looks a bit not nice and the function room looks old. N I was also told that the pool will be open at all time which I really don't like. I dun have many choices coz the date i chosed is really a v good date. Very headache to choose between Hilton 24the floor or Trader's hotel (The gallery room). Anyone can give me some advise?

Agree with Saggiegirl... I think the food are rather nice...
Tin: I think you are able to.. check with your coordinator on it...

Retrodotie: Hmm..perhaps they change the rules... pool shall be open throughout your banquet?

Hi missysee, mine's the week after. I'm also looking into that menu, and thinking of swopping some dishes. Ever thought of swopping the fried duck for herbal chicken, or even the fish with fish and pork with pork?

Yeap, lets share our review after food tasting

Hi Tin, hmm.. my thoughts or rather gut feel as follows:

>Chicken - If u opt for bird's nest with shredded chicken, maybe can avoid herbal chix for next dish. Too chicky liao...
>Fried Duck - Never had that before in other wedding. so something unique to have?
>Cod fish in Superior Soya Sauce - The word "superior" spells it all..
>Ribs in yellow cream feels heavy esp it's served towards the end, so I opted for ZhenJiang.

hee.. I sound lame yah?
It's so hard to visualise... so guess guess only. My dad asked if we could have both menus during food tasting.. haa..

Your analysis is pretty good i should say...yea its really hard to visualise, esp when a food doesnt taste good, we cant try another dish that we will like to swap to...but the same problem prolly applies to all other hotels

Hi Missysee and Tin..

My food-tasting is next week too! Hee.. I also chose by gut feel.. Mine is an almost 50-50 mix.. Hee..

We chose the herbal chicky since it is their signature dish.. Deep fried wasabi prawn cos bf said girls are usually very reluctant to peel prawns.. Cod fish we chose the cantonese style one since we are both cantonese.. Haha.. Oh.. i chose the zhenjiang ribs too cos the yellow cream sounds a bit heavy.. =)

Hi Lingz, yours seems like a good choice too! Are u girls wedding date in May like me?

Perhaps we should have known each other earlier, then attend each other's food tasting to see the diff.. haa... Anyway I hope to get the chance to post some pics taken during food tasting in FB. share with u girls later before ur food tasting

hee.. i guess all the dishes sounded quite nice.. so watever combi will seem like a good choice anyhow.. =)

my wedding is one mth after urs.. hee.. yeah yeah.. pls take more pics and share!! =)

sorrie, tin.. i meant no need.. but u may have to check wif ur coordinator

though the creamy pork ribs sounds abit heavy, but its nice
heehee

Hi Lingz, my food tasting is the week after~ and im going for A2 too. Hope to see ur comments here after ur food tasting soon!

Right now I might be changing the duck to chicken and the mushroom vege to abalone vege. Still deciding on the fish though

Btw, the live drunken prawns are not peeled?

Tin> i chose the live drunken prawns for my wedding on 6 dec 09

very nice big prawns... not peeled... served in a big dim sum basket

the prawns do have a strong wine smell... my mother thought they put martell inside..but it was huadiao wine

Hello.. back from my food tasting le.
Uploaded the pics of food in my FB.. everything is nice except the lotus rice and the fried beancurd in 1st dish. Anyone tried the noodles before? Am deciding to switch..
Lingz & Tin, can add me in FB if u want? can PM me your email address?

missysee> good that u like the food tasting

we had the lotus rice but without the liver sausage so that it is more palatable

for our 1st dish, we choose baby spicy octupus, baked salmon skin, unagi(eel), monkey head mushroom, prawns with pineapple salsa sauce

not sure about the noodles...

missyee> think the noodles is the black squid ink noodles?

i'm going for food tasting next wk. What wedding flavours did u gals choose?

Yup I was referring to the black squid ink.
They just launched a new wedding favours range this mth.. No more luggage tags liao. so I opted for Coasters.

missysee> ...somebody mentioned that the lotus rice was good instead. Care to share more abt the lotus rice and beancurd? Anyway what are the dishes u will be choosing now?

well, I think it's up to individual pref bah.. Also depends on the cook! U may find it nice for yours.. our parents find the lotus rice too dry, and have a burnt smell. The beancurd for 1st dish is tasteless.. and beancurd with that abalone dish feels weird. So these are what we swopped.

Missysee.. I have pm-ed you.. Hee.. =)

Oh.. no more luggage tags? So sad!

Aniway.. Initially i wanted to choose the squid ink noodles oso.. But my mum said the noodles will look kinda black, so maybe wun look appetising.. That's why i chose lotus rice.. Oh dear.. =(

lingz> the squid noodles ...not many ppl can accept the concept
...... coz we invited a lot of elders so we choose the lotus rice

for us it tasted good .... some ppl (my FIL frens) want to ask the chef to prepare extra to tapao for next morning bfast...:P....

Saggiegirl.. thanks for the comments! I think i will still go ahead with lotus rice.. will decide whether or not to change after the food-tasting next week.. hee.. =)

hi girls.. need some advice..

apart from the march-in songs, are u girls intending to play ur own songs throughout the banquet or are u all just going to use Hilton's selection? my coordinator mentioned that the songs we use must be original CDs.. but if the songs i like are not from just one CD, does it mean i have to bring dozens of them? wouldnt it be very confusing, as in wat songs to play and wat not to?

anybody can advise? Thanks! =)

Hey Lingz, no worries for the lotus rice, really individual pref and I'm just sharing what happened. hmmz.. same concern for the songs.

hi.. i had the squid ink noodles.. not bad to me, my guests like it too
but its still up to individual preferences

yes, songs u are going to played has to be in org cd..
i brought my own cd in too.. then the av guys will mixed and matched between theirs and mine

Thanks Cher.. just curious, are the noodles really black in colour?

I am also wondering if for specific songs such as 2 March-ins, is it a must to pass them the original CD? I was planning to burn one song in one disc in case they play the wrong track...

the noodles are really black in colour, but its served with all the other colourful ingredients on top, so u cant really see much of the black noodles..
my hubby's great grand aunt loved it so much durin food tasting that she reserved some stomach space just for it during the wedding dinner..
up to individual pref really

ooh.. am glad to hear that. Thanks Amras! Ya surely can't satisfy 100% of the guests but at least I'm hearing 2 positive feedbacks and relieved.

Anyone who hold the wedding at the 24th level before can tell me can each table hold up to 12 persons? Also I saw about some negative review on the air-con not cold is it true or is it a lot of cases ? Need some advise.. Thank you

missysee: Yes, the noodles is realli black in color... I think it is not bad, a little unique from the usual "yi fu" noddles ..

Retrodotie: How many tables are u looking at? It might not be possible if it is at the max 24 tables... Will get realli cramp...

I just rec'd the floor plan for planning. Check with brides who held their wedding at Grand Ballroom, is it true there's no red carpet? the march-in is a bit short hor?
and gosh.. I just saw 3 pillars.. Didn't realise they are in the middle..

missysee> i had my wedding in grand ballroom...

the pillars are OK... no guest complain of the pillars leh...

i dun have a red carpet due to safety reasons
my floral stands are grand enuff to pave the way

the march in is about 2 minutes if u walk super slow with ppl throwing petals at u

may I chk how long in advance will Hilton ask u all to go for food tasting,confirm theme and choose wedding favours?

My wedding is in Nov..

Loewe79> hi

food tasting, confirm theme, favours can be done on the same day

food tasting is at 7pm (weekday evenings)

u can meet up with ur coordinator about 2 hours ahead to settle the theme, deco, favours etc

for ur wedding in Nov, u can plan for these ard late Aug or early Sep
try to avoid F1 week ba... coz i tink a lot of hotels will be busy