Hilton Hotel

By the way is it too early to go to hilton and take a look on the panorama room?

I m thinking of my wedding in 11/09/11

So its lik still long long from now n i believe their prices not out yet right?

Cause previously i got make contact with june but she didn't reply me.

I intend to go n take a look when my friend is holding their wedding on dec... But i think she is not at panorama room....

By the way, did anyone renov their love nest? Could share me some opinion n what to look into on hidden cost wise?

Aiai: I am holding my dinner reception on 5 Dec this yr at Panorama room. IF you are keen, perhaps you can take a look at my pics when i upload them after my wedding..

Dear littlewoman,

Thank you so much... By the way ur nick look familiar to me hahaha... hmmm u are from BDC?

Or other BS?

Hmm actually i m considering between Hilton n Orchard Hotel... But i prefer Hilton is becos i can get to have a poolside reception.. But hor hmmm i have nvr see Panorama room before (previously its a chinese restaurant)sp they revamp n i dunno how it looks like now.. But my mom D&D is there she say its good the ambiance... haha so i thot go see see... haha...

Hi Bubbles> I saw ur EG in multiply and its very nice leh! am so looking forward to see your actual photos. May I know where is your BS?

Hi aiai> what kind of renov are you expecting? Maybe I can try to answer ur queries? I just had renov for my love nest.. it was supposedly budget around $10k for the minor touchups and we ended hitting $20k.. quite a lot of unexpectedly expenses in btw, esp if u took resale flat like me. For instance, clean the aircon, piping leakage or some small cracks which you didnt notice and only found out during renov.

And there are certain compulsory costs which come unexpectedly, eg. SP Svc to "on the gas", contractors hidden costs for "clearing the debris" around $300 etc.

hi missysee > my BS is Iwedding .
hi aiai > i suggest you wait until next year for hilton wedding show to get the perks , mayber you can come and see my AD banquet in Vista Room this month , 22 nov. We are using the crimson passion theme which is the black and red theme.

OH man.... 10K to 20K is so scary..... HELP HELP!!!

Hmm well i intend to do hmmm just purely normal stuff i hope...

Firstly i will need to settle my kitchen and 2 bath room floor and wall tiles (which i would hope i can do a re - glaze.... Which is to change the color... Cos previous owner is hmmm malay they got some printing on the tiles which dun fit to my kitchen design i have in mind.
Den new bathroom sink and toilet bowl plus one bath tub in the master bedroom toilet...

Hmmm i would wan to have a solid top kitchen cabinet... which i think will cost another 3K.... N i intend to paint the whole house... den the air con wise hor hmm i actually hmmm cost its as seperate cost eh... But i saw some advertisment hmmm got free air con eh i oso not sure but i think i only have 12K plus the air con... i hope its enough... haiz...

Wah Chercher and littlewoman.. Thank you so much for your kindness.... Hmmm i appreciate it a lot.... As for the banquet i hope i wont lose too much money bah haha....cos hmmm i oso dunno my reno will cost me how much...

bubblesss> mine still long. haha..

Aiai> think pricing is out liao. u can check with june. Reno wise hor, think flooring is the bulk of the cost. To cut cost, u can go look for trustworthy contractor directly rather than go thru ID.

bubblesss> we alrdy got back everything from our BS WhiteLink, including the layouts ...

sneaks are up at my multiply webbie

very well done

this coming sunday collecting everything from the BS, final fitting and father jacket selection. Hope that i dun grow too fat

reno wise...our minor reno only 10K excl appliances... our flat condition is good (although is 5 yrs) as the ex owner often travel and seldom stay at home (no kids at all)

saggiegirl>> so good.... hmmm i actually hmmm dunno eh,... but i intend to call the contractors down for hmmmm quote.

But i understand many contractors they provide free ID service right?

n so confuse.. oso i think i allocate too many budget for my wedding day.. so need to cut down so that i can put the money to hmmm other places like renov...

Hmm Virtual, pricing out le? Cool eh haha... I need to hmm fixed a date to go down n see see think most likely is next yr bah.. cos my hb hmmm studying... n working at the same time...

I think for reno wise.. the price seems to be hmm every ppl quite different eh... i not sure y is itlik tt... Hmmm but i guess i will ask some of the btbs there for their quote n see see first...

Anyway appreciate everyone's help haha everyone is so helpful...

Aiai: I am from BDC.. I suppose you are too right? Haha.. If that's the case, probably you are in my FB le..

bubblesss: I am going for my AV testing on Sunday.. one day after urs?

aiai> cuz reno varied from house to hosue.
the type of house and the kind of reno affects.

Costing wise is very different.

Too much variables liao

Aiai> dunnoe about free ID service, coz we just engage a contractor to do repainting, install lights (of coz lights we bought it from balestier lar)... then re install new doors, new door grille...
plus i do a new display cabinet for hubby's collection... :p

Saggiegirl> Did you arrange PG and VG for your big day? I already got PG and recently my hubby said it's good to hv VG too. So I just went to see a few VG and find them quite ex and some good one with reasonable price are booked cos Dec 26 is a hot pick too. Is $2000 for Videography, express highlight and photo montage considered reasonable? As for the bs, u said u r going to collect everything from them this week? u mean gown or album? My album ready in another 2wks time. Gowns and suits are ready 3 days b4 wedding - 23rd Dec.

missyee> it always like tat one. I intend to do a minor touch up. cos my resale flat condition seemed to be okay to me except the toilet and kitchen top. so it's always good to add 50% buffer for reno. I can never imagine a small toilet can cost me 3-4k. The labour cost is high though most of them r not local.

Aiai > I spent abt 20k for my reno. I bought EA so areas r big and the flat is abt 15 years. Need a bit of touch up esp toilets, repaint the whole place, rewire (just to play safe since it's 15 yrs) and built in wardrobe, sliding door etc. I hv a fren who do a total revamp using same contractor and she spent abt 25k. But hers is 3 rm flat. It depends on area and material that u use too. Dun over spend on reno, just priortise things tat u need to do. the rest u can always redo it when u hv more budget. I intend to redo the kitchen cabinet after wedding, if cant break even, losses too high then got to postpone the plan.

joyjoy1> yes we did

ur budget sounds reasonable... ours is $1988 for AD PG, VG, express highlights. Montage we alrdy finished
just burnt into the DVD last nite at home

ya... collect all albums, portrait, table top, TQ cards
of coz gown collection is ard 3-4 Dec

saggiegirl> My PG not included. I am asking a fren of mine to help out. He is quite pro, used to be a freelance wedding PG. so I will give him ang pow of $388. (cos it split into two days so since i trouble him 2 days cant be too stingy) VG for 10hrs, express highlights, photo montage & split 2 days surcharge is $2100. Total damage for PG + VG is $2488. If i engage the PG fr outside, i m sure i got to pay min 3-4k. I saw one with a bundled package PG + VG at 2.6k and their portfolio is good, too bad they r fully booked on 26th Dec. They can only take my dinner video=( tat's why i m still sourcing... i guess eventually will book the 2.1k VG cos no other better choice.

My bridal shop quite slow in their layout and album. I got to push them so hard then can view the layout last Sunday though my photos are confirmed on 1st Aug but I waited 3 mths also not a single call from them to view layout. Hence, my hubby said dun call them just go straight to the shop and it works. Guess what the excuse my photo coordinator used is bcos my wedding date is end Dec so no need to be so kan cheong 1.

The only good experience that i have for my wedding is the hotel coordinator. So far Rachel has never failed to notify me and reply my email. Less than 2 mths to go.... I m just hoping everything goes smoothly.... wedding breakeven, then i can proceed with my honeymoon plan.

Yup i guess the prices really varies a lot, anyway will try to cut down on otherplaces. Actually we already forsee a loss in our banquet, but its ok since we think its once in a lifetime. Is only we don't want to end up in taking loans and in debts just to have a wedding and reno. So we are quite careful in everything, actually all in all for everything our budget will be 45K roughly... Not sure this is hmm realistic or not. And we din count in the hmmm ang bao from relative.....

joyjoy1> haha
ya lor...for us we book very early like last yr Aug...as our date also hot...

for us is our bridal is very responsive... call us / sms us for our apptments

Aiai> ya ... we also budget for everything including our love nest, bridal, banquet, honeymoon
our honeymoon is not to Europe but is to Korea (Seoul, ski resorts, Jeju)...a romantic place also...

Can't help much as my HB is the one who handles the financial issues.. For my case, my HB and I have 2 separate accounts for the house reno and my wedding. Probably not that stress for me, as I am holding my AD this yr, and my house will be coming in like 2011. If I am not wrong, my HB seems to reserve S$30K for house reno and S$30K for the wedding..

Gals, for BDC brides; I have checked with BDC about the couple, my coordinator told me that they wun be using the suits and they had pass on the suit to the family members. Hence, no worries ya.

Aiai> Tks. That is also one of d fully booked VG. I got to admit tat partially it's my fault tat never really discuss with hubby. U know man is very slow so I tot he only want PG. Who knows he also want the VG n only tell me last wk. I think he want to show to our grandson when we r old. Hehehe.... 45k shld be sufficient, if u take 10k for reno, 10k for furniture, 5k for bridal, 5k for emergency, 15k for the wedding dinner (u dun hv to reserve full cost for wedding, since u will get the ang pow). 15K is just in case the shortfall of ang pow then u need to top up.

Saggiegirl> Yes, Jeju is very romantic place. U will sure go to the Winter Sonata skiing resort right?

littlewoman> u r very fortunate to have HB manage the financial issues for u... my hubby very bad at financial planning so i got to take the lead.

haha.. I am the opp from you joyjoy1.. I am bad with financial issues.. I can't handle it.. wun keep track etc.. my HB is much more meticious than me.. keke

joyjoy1> hee hee we are gg to Phoenix Park & Mount Seorak
my BS ppl who just came back from Korea PS said that the mountains are alrdy snowing

I think if i m the one handling the $$ haha most prob i will spend every single cent on it... Hmm well that's a very conservative plan... cos we still have hmmm other areas on the hmm money coming in but we try not to allocate the hmm money to hmmm all to wedding n new home...

I oso not sure how much is the budget is my hb take care one i just spend wisely can le...

Hmmmmm littlewoman, u know that she's from BDC le ar? I thot nobody know...

actually joyjoy1 u should be glad ur hb hor got hmmm propose to take VG eh cos hor i think willbe quite memorable hahahaha....

hi ling , it all depend on the outcome, if it is smooth sailing then my sisters will take care while my HB brothers will handle the PR issues

hey saggie, i posted some photos in my web , these are some of the photos to be shown on next sunday. wow, the date is coming nearer, stress level = moderate

saggiegirl> Im looking forward to see yr honeymoon photo at Mt Seorak.... when r u going for honeymoon? This month?

Aiai> i regreted for not taking video of my solemnisation.... i dunno why i never think of it... i guess it must be my former job caused me overworked so i cant think much when i planned for ROM. That's why my hubby said spend more $ also have to take video esp our booking is so last min.

bubblesss > where did u post yr photos? can i view your photo montage?

joyjoy1> we will be leaving for Korea on 8 Dec...2 days after our wedding
night flight via Korean Air...

for us our ROM also no video
just photos...

bubblesss> actually seoul is quite OK... now drawing up shopping list for my students (i have 2 classes of 25 kids to take care of)...and our xmas gifts
and plus small trinklets for our colleagues

Haha its ok i guess.. Hmmm my ROM hor even worst... Its so rush... n we cant booked any venue within 1 month cos we hmmm got our flat very fast.. n hor we hit the Lunar 7th month.. so only left with one month to hmm ROM from our appointment on getting the keys lo... Den i ROM in my aunt's house n the food was by my family, and hor the deco my HB do up one... So hmm hahaha its ok one la...

Hi Aiai> It's up to individual and hard to compare. More importantly is their quality works too. From what u mentioned, let me give u rough est for those in my case:

Kitchen wall tiles - $2,300 (small kitchen include hacking)
Kitchen table top - $800
Kitchen cabinets - $2,000
Painting - $1,300 (5 room size)
2 Basins - $240 + $200 labour
Aircon 3 units - $3,000 include installation

Not to forget your bathtub & toilet bowls which I kept the old ones. err.. there are quite a no. of unexpected expenses during the renov as we were first timers .. eg, re-wiring, additional sockets, change of ceiling lamps etc.

to save $, I did my own research and designing. So the contractors only gave me more practical advices like material quality. u can read more about renov at RenovTalk forum too
Take note for some so-called contractors that provide free ID, they transfer the costs in your per item basis. Eg for my fren, the ID (or contractor) charged them $100 for a lamp when the retail price is only $70 for walk-in customer. can imagine how much they earn if they purchase in bulk from supplier? But it's very convenient to have ID who did everything for u. I had bad headaches each time i go select lightings coz I had to look up in the ceiling... haaa..

haiz... now me going into the 2nd phase of renov for my bedroom liao. $$$$$ again..

missysee> ur reno quite extensive leh...
for us we keep everything lor... just repainting etc...bt in return, hubby paid $28K to the ex-owner...

lights u can go to balestier
my in laws bring me to the one at the entrance of balestier road... very nice ppl and willing to give discount

master bedroom, we just buy furniture and new curtains...we reuse back the curtain rack as it is in good condition from Japan...

Hmmmm thanks dear for all the help given hahaha... I hope hmmm i just need to do a re-glaze on the tiles... Den i can spend lesser haha.. But Missysee, thanks for your help.. give me a rough idea i got enough money to do more or less...

Aiai: Same here.. I cannot keep monies?

Think someone mentioned vidly over in the forum and I called BDC to check and confirm on it.

Minz> u can call up hilton & check with their friendly coordinators
June, rachel, Pansy

weekends $918 nett (Fridays, Sat, Sun, eve of PH, PH). Auspicious dates $1018 nett (regardless of whether weekend/weekday)... this is just based on my memory as we book our dinner 1.5 yrs ago and pricing may have changed

Haha ok ok.. cause i din wan to say it so thawt the BTBs wont be too panick.. hmm anyway hor hmmm the theme color can choose one right? Not only to their standard one right? I oso not i prefer orcahrd or hilton.. Cos i have seen orchard hotel one but i have not got a chance to see Hilton haha so i waiting for ur photos in DEC haha...

Littlewoman>> i think its normal for us... haha... to spend money.. Its woman's nature...

Hmmm Minz>> u think u wanna take a look at this?
http://www.singaporebrides.com/hotels/hilton/index.htm
On the contact.. haha...

SaggieGirl> huh.. like that consider extensive arh? This is the only house I found that requires the min renov. Maybe I'm too Im-Jim (particular) LOL~

Aiai> don't mention. Glad I have something to share here.
But I duno what is re-glaze leh. Oh ya.. just to add on, my PIL last min request us to have Feng Shui seen, so made even more changes like swtiching the stove and sink position. Sweat~

Missyee > i hv done basically the same as u. But I kept the kitchen cabinet and wall tiles as it's very ex to redo. So i kept it... The floor tiles still good so i also din do anything. u r right tat hacking is very ex. It cost me abt 1k. I redo two toilets, painting, iron gate, toilet window, window grill for master bed rooms, sliding door for study room, built in wardrobe, kitchen top, kitchen sink, rewiring, wall sockets etc. Those small little things cost 20k. It does not include my furniture, home appliances yet. That's why when my hubby's fren said reno used 100k (reno + furniture), i m not surprised. If u really want to hv all the best things, it could be a huge amt. I just stay within my budget. My ROM was in 2007 and got the house in same yr. If getting a hse and wedding within the same year, i guess i will be very busy and no $ for holiday. Alot of pple told me dun hv to worry abt d losses, they said invite more pple, angpow shld be able to cover 1. But i just want to play safe. Save up enough $ then plan for things tat i can afford.

hey saggie > actually when you are in jegu, u can buy those cuttlefish , choco, biscuits and seaweed. these are cheaper then in seoul. in seoul, u can buy clothing in the street opposite the tong da men, road side stalls are reasonable , do bargain. In mt seorak, u can catch the sun raise, it is very beautiful and the hotel has kitchen which u can cook something, we went there last december, and my hubby-to-be bought a snow crab and we cook it in the hotel, it is good. Actually my hubby love korea but to me, we have been there four times and it is too stale but it is very nice during winter.

hey saggie, remember to wear trekking shoes when u are in my soerak, do not wear sport shoes because it is slippery when you go up the snow covered stairs and if you can go to the top of the mt , u need trekking shoes.

bubblesss> Tks. U hv a very nice and detailed website.... The notes is so detailed reminds me of saggiegirl's checklist. i need to go back and scan my childhood photos... need to pass to my VG by this Sunday.

hi joyjoy1 > thx , i wanted to be as detail as possible until to the very small issues, then as time goes, we will look back and will know how many tiirng hours we spent .