Hilton Hotel

Thanks Saggiegirl!

Longan tea? Does it have to be specifically this kind of tea? I'm really lost when it comes to Chinese traditions, but thankfully my parents and his are ok about it. Just need the tea ceremony.

SS: that was my initial plan, having the tea ceremony for my in-laws' sides at the hotel (from 2PM to 3:30PM), but later my in-laws changed mind and decided to it early morning instead.

ss> the tea is longan & red date tea
there are actually pre-packed tea packets which u can buy from supermarkets
just add hot water, then u can pour into the tea pot

red date represent vitality in weddings, longan represent good fortune

Hihi i m back.. Wah this thread is moving so so so fast.... Hmm ok Ling>> My HB hmmm well last time from OCS den hmmm din sign on...
But the comm ball hmm i dunno maybe i too rough... i cant fit into such occasion very well...

Hmmm YES LOGAN TEA is the best.. haha cos my hmm grandma cook it every hmmm CNY so hmm i told her my wedding i would love to have her help me... Hmmm just hope she can live up till 90s or 100s as hmmm my grandpa din had a chance to wait for me.... hmmmm n guess what my ROM was lik a few months after my grandpa pass away...

Ok... too off track.. hmmm actually hor u all prefer to order catering for Actual Day or hmm home cooked food?

Cos my friend n relatives love my grandma n mom home cooked food.. so i got ask them wan to call caterer or to cook ourselves haha..

Hmmmmm Den hor hahaha let me poison my guest hahahahah... Lol....

Hmm well actually hor haha i oso not sure.. but definitely i m thinking of how to let ppl have my grandma's home made almond bean curd... haha...

Hmmm anyway hey u all got any ID contact to share with me? or Renovation Contractor? Basically i dun need ID i have some idea in my head.... Hmmm but hor i think still far dun need to think too mcuh right?

Hi gals, i just realised for Dec's BTB AD is almost one day after another one. Getting excited over it... few mths back, i still tot nothing much to prepare.... now every weekend seemed too short for me...
littlewoman: 5 Dec
saggiegirl: 6 Dec
Me: 27 Dec
Ling: 28 Dec

saggiegirl> did u source the info fr many frens? Or u were the coordinator for yr frens before? can consider to take wedding planner as sideline. I am serious abt it. Really well planned. Yr hubby is very fortunate to have u to plan things ahead.

Aiai> I will have buffet at home. Home cooked food could be good but it's a hassle. Initial plan is to get the uncle and auntie to attend the ceremony at one of the function room. But i realised it will be too troublesome for them to travel to Orchard then come to my place at Pasir Ris for buffet lunch.

aiai>> i agree wif littlewoman, ur mum, aunties all will wan to be pretty
heehee so i will have catering
juz sent today ...

yeah, agree saggie is gd
can b her sideline...

joyjoy>> i am quite near too.. mine 3rd

I second that; Saggiegirl: Can consider that... Wedding planner can be fun..
I am too having catering... leave it to my in-laws and mother to handle that...

chercher> LOL... where got... my bro and sis alrdy married with kids... and a lot of frens alrdy married liao lor... so there comes my "experience"??

joyjoy1> wahaha... u really can read my mind!... i plan to do wedding planner as a freelance basis perhaps a few yrs down the road ba
wait till i save enuff to open my own business :p

i used to be wedding emcee for my fren ...so i and another guy faced the crowd of 40 tables ....@__@... that was really stress...hahaa...

Wah... u are awesome...Host in front of ppl is a big no no to me haha... i think i will faint... hmmm anyway how far did u all start preparing.. initially i keep on hmm planning n ask for quote... but hor i think too far from my wedding n i now abit lazy le... so hmmm i oso dunno when to start.. haha..

Aiai> no lar..helping out a fren in need lor
and we get to eat food at the hotel... and also have experience abit lor...

we started planning way back in late 2007 once hubby proposed to me

aiai> i got contractor contact cos i renovated my flat recently too. u can email me at [email protected]. Think not allowed to post here.

Btw, think catering is better. Cos at least got food warmers. Food will be hot. Save ur mother the hassle of cleaning the kitchen also.

hello girls,

just like to check, for those who have already prepared 7788, the format for your montage is in wad format? .wmv or .mpg?? u save to DVD n pass it to the AV guys? or play it on ur own laptop? think i'll be makin 2 copies of it jus in case..

Also, for the march-in songs, i know we'll have to burn it into CD or DVD...? but for the entire night, if we choose to play our own songs, what format is ur songs in? not .mp3 right? but in 1 CD, only can have maybe maximum 20 songs, then you will have to prepare 5-6 CDs of songs for them to play continuously?

think i've asked rachel bef, but i forgot... now time to get serious and prep my stuffs after seeing all ur preps.. haha

morning all

AmrasEnelya>> the songs format cannot be mp3, only wma.. that time june told me pref those original cds
i aint sure abt the montage... maybe the rest can help?

littlewoman> ya lor... house, wedding etc... took us 2 full years

AmrasEnelya> my montage is JPG format burnt into DVD-R. Alrdy completed.... with multiple testing at home until my neighbour almost complain as we did testing at 11pm :P....

March In songs can be burnt into CD-R. No MP3, MP4 due to copyright issues (IPOS is v strict on that)
we r using Disney songs for our march ins... all burnt into CD-R alrdy

for the night, no playing of music as we want our guests to eat and enjoy

Rachel will send u the final confirmation say 3 weeks bef ur AD
dun worry

saggiegirl: I spent 1 yr to plan my wedding... have 1.5 yrs of break before the house reno...

AmrasEnelya: U can play the songs on either the hotel playback facility or our own laptop... The playback facility accepts DVD/VCD/MP3/MP4 formats.

littlewoman> i dunnoe abt the AV coordinator. Unless u bring ur own laptop ba
that 1 i also dunnoe...

for us we burn to DVD / CD to avoid any trouble. We will bring down our thumbdrive/portable HDD to test as well...
for testing, i will bring down my personal laptop as 3rd back up

saggiegirl: I had extract my preferred songs from original CDs into MP3 file format (small sizes) and stored in a separate CDs, wonder this might work. I will be bringing my laptop too.. Think I will further bring along my thumbdrive just in case as well.. Thanks.

thanks saggie, cher and littlewoman..

so u prepare about 5-6 audio CDs of music to play throughout the dinner (if u r intending to la?)

saggie,
for the montage, i dun think urs is in JPG format leh, cus JPG is picture format, not video format.. im doin our montage using photostory 3, think the only format allowed is .wmv...

littlewoman,
as far as i can remem, i think .mp3 format not allowed too leh..

freegoer,
i tot jpg is just image file? its not a video leh? or wad u mean is slide show of jpg image files?

if not, i mean the raw format of ur montage... is wmv, mpg, avi, rmv??

hee.. sorry, cus im almost 60% done alr, if wrong i can still change now..

AmrasEnelya> our slides are in JPG format created using GIMP
then we convert into DVD Slideshow and add in music (using our own PhotoStudio Expression software) to synchronize to the length

I think my cousin and friend did the montages using flash player... I am not too sure on the format though; not that impt for me as I am playing the montages using my laptop on that day.

Oh.. Hehe thanks freegoer n saggie, was confused there for abit.

littlewoman, ya I'm also intending to play the montage on my own laptop but thinking to burn a DVD just in case...

We can nv b too kiasu when it's so near the big day ma rite... Heheh

Yes AmrasEnelya... just browsed back my old emails that my IT friend sent way back.... on some precautions to take... He did mention to burn the montages on DVD too.
I am usually blur in this area...

Looks like the brides here are very hardworking to do the photo montage. I am very pai seh as I am going to get my VG to do for me though i did think of doing it myself. But after seeing their work, mine is just like Primary sch standard... so i better let the professional do the job. I do things that i can handle like writing cards and deco my cards...

Does anyone know the sequent to play the pre weddding photo, photo montage and express highlights? My plan is to play the pre wedding photo as slideshow... now think of adding music. Then first march in, we will play the photo montage with childhood photos, then follow by express highlight in the second march in. Some told me express highlight is to show before 2nd march in.... but another said it's to play after 2nd march in when we are seated then can join guest for their laughter.

hey joyjoy..

i think its really up to individual for the sequence.. theres no right or wrong..
as long as u like it!

ive seen sequences like
1) play childhood, together photos and pre wedding shots the entire night
2) pre-wedding shots bef dinner commences, childhood n together shots bef 1st march-in, express highlights bef 2nd march-in..
3) same as no. 2 but express highlights after 2nd march-in..

yes, i agree with u that if we can join the guests in to view the express highlights after the 2nd march in, it'd be very fun... and one of my friends' VG even captured their expressions when they were viewing the express highlights..

so its really up to u!

littlewoman> u r so lucky....

Amras Enelya> i guess i will choose no. 2 to have pre wedding shots bef dinner commences and play the childhood photos after 1st march in. then express highlights after 2nd march in. Im curious to see their expressions too....
when it's your AD? next mth too?

joyjoy,

my AD on 31st Jan.. after all of u girls!

but i'll be super busy with my house reno, cus only commencing next week, so the entire months of nov - jan will be jam packed with reno, work and wedding.. so must quickly finish up my montage....

i actually started the montage in March.. HAHAHAH very kiasu.. but i keep procrastinating... dats why not done yet.. lol!

joyjoy1: 2 of them were from digital media courses...
In a way... been rather stress with so much stuffs... headache in other areas..

No right/wrong in terms of sequence

for us is:

1. play album layout (20 slides) in the ballroom & outside the ballroom via the plasma tv...

2. bef 1st march in: play montage (25 slides) 3.42 minutes

followed by cake cutting, first dish etc... we will go up to change once we eat finish the 2nd dish as instructed by our emcee...

3. bef 2nd march in: play express highlights

after that is champagne, yam seng, table phototaking

we want to end our dinner on time...sui sui as our dinner is on Sunday

saggiegirl> I think outside the ballroom, the plasma tv cannot play so many slides... I remember Rachel said ask me to go look for 12pcs of photo in JPEG format... So i guess it's a separate disc from the ballroom. I also hope to end the dinner by 1045pm. My dinner is also on Sunday. Some co choose to shut down during the xmas period while many still got to work the next day....

AmrasEnelya> Reno can drive u crazy... i go thru mine in 2007.... so now i can relax a bit.... But as date draws nearer, i get worried not sure if i miss out anything. If I were to go thru everything, wedding and reno together, i'm sure i will be stressed up.

littlewoman> woman juggle many roles started before the marriage... tat's the proven example.... =)