Hilton Hotel

alamak..i didnt realise i double posting. yaya, baby, i spoke to JUne this afternoon and she block the date for me...so nice of her.i quite kia su le.because i worry i cant get the hotel i want for my date. my 1st choice hotel was already taken up and Hilton now is my 2nd choice
... been bothering about hotels and restaurants for our AD..sigh....anyway, i have made appointment with Rachel yesterdae and hope we will be please with their wedding preparation as they are having a wedding banquet this coming sun...
by the way, are their food nice? some forumers said not nice, some said nice..i am blur blur liao.

Thank you blue~!! i find your wedding set up simple yet elegant

Hi yaya, when is your AD date? I have the same problem as you too .. just decided to get married this year.. therefore it's difficult to look for my ideal venue already..

Yes, anyone can comment on their food and service?

Hi yaya,

My wedding is just over last yr end dec.
Food tasted during food-tasting was very good. But on the actual day, so-so. Some doesn't taste good. Did feedback to Hilton the next day.
However, many guests does comment that there are some dishes that is unique and taste not bad. The food portion is big as compared to some hotels. Enuff for a table of 12 adults.

Hi icejelly,

I just took less than 6-mths to plan my wedding.
Wedding end dec. And I only start sourcing for hotels and bridal shop around end of June.

Service was good esp. from the banquet manager, Leslie.

icejelly, my AD will be on 30th March 08.

Baby, u are lucky actually! food tasting is good? actual day so so? i think its because of 'mass-production' ba? i wonder what perks can i bargain for?i only need 30 tables to meet their min requirement for the grand ballroom. wheres ur actually? also grand ballroom? got pics to see?

whats the good and bad comments about hilton other than limited carpark? can anyone share share?

i wonder can bargain for the following or not:
a) 30 litres of beer complimentary.
b) waiver of corkage charge for wine as well
c) free 1 bottle of wine for every table?
d) 30% of complimentary carpark passes?
e) 2 VIP parking slot
f) food tasting for 10 pax ( i think they put there pre-wedding in -laws get-together for 6 pax is the food tasting right?)
g) projectors must pay???

am i asking too much????

Hi yaya,

The food during food tasting tasted really good lor. They will give you a comment sheet to fill in for all dishes.
All we graded "Good", "Thumb-up", ...

Actual day food standard really drops lor. Most likely due to instead of cooking for 10, you are cooking for over 200 people.

In fact I prefer their Panarama Room on the 24th Flr rather than Grand Ballroom. Very exclusive and just fully renovated. Poolside cocktail reception. I had my wedding there.

So far I only find the carpark a big big problem lor. Gave out less than 10 complimentary carpark passes coz Hilton carpark full. Then behind URA carpark also full. So most of them parked @ Far East or Forum. Mine is a weekday, weekend will be worst lor.

You can request June for these perks.
Might Hilton quite "strict" lor. Seldom give unless you have many many tables lor.
Projectors is not FOC. Must pay for it.

hi YAYA,

Whatever that you stating are abit too much. Did u get the ideas from other ex-brides?
ha ha but no harm trying.

good news is point D and F is workable. Just have to ask them for it.

hi blue, i ask too much? i raise the amount up so that we can negotiate mah.

by the way, they cannot waive off corkage for wine????
and whats the deposit require for it??anyone can tell me????
mine is 30 tables on weekend

Hi yaya,

I think the S$4K deposit is standard and is non-refundable.

You only need to settle the outstanding balance at the end of AD.
But if you are making the outstanding balance via cheque, payment need to be made 7-days prior to AD.

baby, thanks! i let my SO know about it. at least, we know what to expect later on. most likely will be confirming Hilton but then i am still sourcing for some more places and then 'report' to my SO le ... i find that sourcing for banquets are more stress than working now....

Hi yaya,

Don't stress.
Just make an appointment with June and a few other hotels and compare.
See which hotel gives you the best deal + food + within your budget.

Hi baby jo,

No worries. Pls email me when they are ready.

Are you able to provide me banquet quotation & perks Hilton gave you. I just made an appt with Rachel and see whether I can neg for more perks

i am quite stress actually. i even throught of choosing any date then get married even through i have already went to calculate the dates already...which step shall i take.....aiyo....really jialat...
the dates i got from geomacy shi fu are not ideal lor..

Hi Yaya,

Poor gal... I can understand the stress that you are going through now... Cos I had the same feeling last nov/dec when I was sourcing for hotels to hold my wedding banquet in jan'08.

Hey! Your date is very nice... 30/03/08.. Why not ideal leh?

Frankly, Hilton is known not to be generous in terms of perks.. Their pricing is reasonable considering the fact that they are a 5 star hotel located in Orchard, with newly renovated ballrooms... Not forgetting that they also offer a wide range of wedding favors & wedding invitation cards.. =)

June is a very nice & experience lady.. You will be in safe hands... Tell her your concerns & requests... I believe she will try her best to accomodate them...

Oh! I'll be having my wedding in the grand ballroom.. I think I have some pictures of the ballroom... You wanna have a look?

By the way, which other hotels have you been to?

Hi papabe,

I think I did take some photos of Panarama Room durig viewing of location. Let me find.

I signed up with Hilton during special promotion.
Therefore, package is different from w/o promotion.
Anyway, Hilton is not so generous of giving away free perks. Of course you can still try to ask.

Hi Baby Jo

Thanks for posting the pic! Hilton is my 1st choice now and grand corpthorne 2nd..

What do you ladies think?

Hilton or Grand Corpthorne Waterfront? I will not be using the grand ballroom for both as I cnt meet min number of tables.

Hey yaya, my AD will most prob be in Mar 2008 as well. Have you booked an appt with Hilton to view the rooms and packages?

hi papabe, i went to manyt hotels yesterday...and hilton was my 1st stop actually..i more or less can be ensured that Hilton has a high standard of Customer service.....but v v limited carparks. *sianz*...i also went to Holiday Inn Atrium...quite like their lobby lor... when ur AD? mine is 30.03.08

HI alicia, i went to HIA, grand corpthorne waterfront , grand plaza park royal.i like grand corpthorne waterfront grand ballroom!!!!! SOOOOO nice....v grand.but their min table is 40 le.i cant meet it
..anyway, i will be going down to take a look at the other room..

grand plaza park royal is pillarless... not bad..but i find the march in is quite short.

HIA low ceiling, so make the ballroom look small and simple. plus thing is the toilet inside the ballroom la....lots of carparks and the personalised services they giving(we met the banquet captain by chance and he bried us around and had say all this)

Hi Yaya,

I will hv to agree with you 100% on Grand Corpthorne Waterfront. Their Grand Ballroom is indeed grand & beautiful.. but sad to say their packages are very expensive as its not nett.. & I heard quite a number of negative reviews on their services & food quality.. But then again, such things are rather subjective.. =)

HIA is great! Infact I think they offer the best deal in town!! I met up with the Director of Catering Sales previously... He come across to us as very sincere & is all the way out to accomodate any of our requests.. We did shortlist the hotel initially.. but I din quite like the ballroom.. looks a little old & the ceiling is rather low.. But hey! Its thumbs up for their service & food quality! Can consider loh!

Hi baby,

can share what kind of package you got during promotion.. will be confirming our booking tommorrow and tot of asking the best possible deals..

I'm also a Hilton Bride-to-be. Really happy to have found this thread as i'm planning my wedding from overseas...eveyone's inputs have been really helpful to me..tks

Hi Alicia,

Do you mind sharing with me the pics you have of the ballroom? I'm also taking the ballroom.. tks My email is [email protected]

alicia, i am now so torned between HIA and Hilton.if i not wrong, u were also too right? what make u decide for Hilton eventually????

Hi Yaya,

Indeed you are right... I was previously torned between Hilton, Regent & HIA.

The reason why I was thinking so much was because HIA was offering a deal that was hard to resist.. Ha!

As for Regent, my brother knew someone from there.. & we were also given a good deal.. But my fh din like the negative publicity on the hotel last yr.. & he din like the idea that the Grand Ballroom is on ground floor..

We finally chose Hilton because we felt that we would be in better hands since its a 5 star hotel. & I click super well with June.. Haha.. I think she cannot tahan me leh...

The following is just some of the other reasons why I chose Hilton;

1) The 'wow' feeling we get when we entered the hotel lobby. Very classy... Got standard!

2) Grand Ballroom celing high enough. Place is spacious for my guests to move around... Further more the ballroom is newly renovated. Carpets would be changed this year.. so almost everything would be new.

3) Fell in love with their wedding themes. Now just need to choose one that matches my wedding gown.. =)

4) The florist that they are working with is a reputable one. Seen him at work.. very detailed..

5) Wide range of wedding invitation cards & wedding favors to choose from.

As for HIA, I was very troubled quite a number of things.. firstly I din like the look of the grand ballroom.. low ceiling... common wedding themes.. Malcolm said he will be doing something to change the 'look'.. but I wasn't sure if he could deliver by Jan'08. Also I din like the fact that the other ballroom is just across the walk way.. I can just imagine how confused & messy the whole thing would be if there happen to be another wedding going on..

I am shortlisting Hilton to be my wedding venue. Can anyone share their wedding package with me? and when are they having a wedding fair?

Saw the pic of Panorama room, may I know what's the march in style? L shape or long march in? Besides Panorama room, what other rooms are available for banquet. Sorry for so many questions. I would like to know more before going down to Hilton.

Hi OinkOink,

For Panorama Room, you can choose a long match-in (refer to pic above) or short match-in (match-in from the ctr of the room).

Beside Panorama Room, there are Grand Ballroom and Vista Room.

Hi Alicia, yeap. Rachel told me they are changing the carpet ,curtains etc...so will be expecting a new and 'modern' look. they also have live-telecast during the solmenisation ( i dunno how its works) and their wide choice of wedding cards and favour!!!....what i dun like about Hilton is their carparks and 3 big pillars.

i know with Hilton, i will be in safe hands actually.moreover, they deal with mostly businessman ... havent met June yet..only Rachel. but that time, she no time to bring us to see the bridal suite because she having a wedding banquet on that day...
and for the waive of corkage of wine, do u get to waive off for all? i quite disappoint with Hilton abt not able to negotiate here and there. what about carpark then? did u consider the difficulty in finding carpark for ur guest?

u are right, malcom also meet us yesterdae and the package is really hard hard to resist!!!! he did also said he trying to change here and there to the ballroom lor..but then, is like 'empty' promises.and he only show us 1 cards pattern only and no wedding favours. cannot see the bridal suite also...only the package price and the perks are really hard to resist. if only their ceiling are a little bit taller.....
my SO are now v v v v v v stress on it. no doubt hilton is reputable .....HIA is like giving value for $$$$. i told my SO that he cant cater for all the guests need one ..if he wants MRT and big Carpark, must go find hotels in Marina sq area.that should be able to satisfy the majority .but the price of the table is really out of our budget lor....

Oink Oink, Hilton dun hold wedding show.u can call rachel or June for the email.they are quite efficient in replying

Hi Alicia, I met up with June yesterday and she said I reminded her of you..haha she meant it in a good way

Hi June, now you know my forum nick ;P

Hi Yaya, my AD on 08 March 2008. I also went to the bridal show in HIA but I din like the rooms (they looked really old). The food was ok though considering the price.

Hi yaya,

Thanks... but looks like Hilton offers great service but there's still something else to worry about. I think having sufficient car park lots is impt. After all, most guests will drive.

I do agree that HIA is really offering a better and attractive wedding package and they are also more focus on customer service. I had nv been a wedding dinner at HIA, but had attended their wedding fair and think it's excellent except for the location. Good luck to your planning ladies. Cheerios.

THe paronama room is indeed clean and new from the picture above. i had not view the paronama room but it look pretty classy for me. Vista room look old. the deco are more on english oriental style. let me go find the picture out for vista room.

ahhh..baby, u make me feel like really taking HIlton!!!!! by the way, what about muslim and vegetarian friends? how Hilton charge to us? anyone know????
i see their muslim and vegetarian food are relaly V limited.

Here are some of the pictures for vista room 2 and 3. personally i don't like the carpet. vista 2 & 3 had a connecting fake walls and can be open up and enlarge the area. can see from the 2nd picture. the walls are very well hidden into the walls so no worries for that.

outside vista room 2, reception area
449139.jpg

Vista room 2
449140.jpg

Vista room 3
449141.jpg

Anyone kind enough to share with me more pictures/angles at the panorama room?? i didn't went and see. wasted my trip...sigh.. [email protected]. Thanks in advance!

Hey Papabe,

Did June really say that? Haha... I think she cannot tahan me leh.. Cos I keep pestering her for things.. Hope you are not doing the same to her.. Haha..

Wa, your wedding date very nice leh.. You confirmed with Hilton already?

Btw, chosen your BS?