Hilton Hotel

sphire80

I'm keen in holding my wedding banquet in Hilton ballroom. Cld I knw more abt the room? High celling? pillarless? spacious? is it easy to neg perks?

aiyoyo

hi jenny,
I'm not sure. She was not able to show me any artist impression of how the ballroom would look like. She just mentioned that the GM is overseeing this reno personally.

chick77

All,

Anyone has Jaclyn as your co-ordinator? Is she REALLY inflexible with perks or have i just rubber her the wrong way?

micoud

sorry to interrupt. Anybody interested in Hilton Vista room...no pillar....can hold between 20 to 25 tables. Weekend package for 2007 on sale. Thanks.

chick77

Hi Blue,

Very stingy with perks. Everything i've asked for is a flat NO. Am just wondering if this is standard Hilton practice. E.g No Corkage waiver, no additional barrel and she's being difficult about the tentative booking i've placed, telling me its only valid for 1 week,etc. Is she your co-ordinator as well? Am just wondering if June is better...

Hi The Guy, can you email me package details, dates, selling price etc to [email protected]?

barbapapa

Hi Chick,

Just to let u know that the hiltons are reading this thread so as to "continually improve their services".

But apparently hilton packages can be a bit tight.....
Holding a date for 1 week is resonable...even shangrila rasa sentosa does that also....
i also dun have all the freebies...unless u booked their packages in their wedding show or something.....

apparently their hotel is pretty popular...

chick77

Hi blue, you've booked with them? When's your AD? OOps..maybe i've just 'blacklisted' myself..

i do think they're more stiff than other similar class hotels in the orchard area...but as u said they r rather popular..

Did we jus miss the hotel wedding show? any idea if there is an upcoming one?

shinem

*Please help!*

Any comments on vista room? i have read quite a few positive comments on vista room like its pillarless, couple can do a long march-in and vista room is nice.

But my concern is, is it too long and slim (narrow)? Will the tables be too cramp?

if i have around 22 tables, most likely i will haf 11 tables on each side ya. is the setting kinda weird?

Please advise as i m a little concern about the setting.

Thanx.

kurera

Shine...I am taking the vista room as well...some of the hilton brides find 22 tables not very tight.

But for me just to play safe lor...I won't want to increase my tables to more than 20 tables..and keep to 20 tables..dunwan my guests to feel too squeezy...comfy it's the best...

But if you boh bian have more guests than just put in 22 lor..cos most of them felt it was ok.

The stage can be on either sides lor but I do not think it's a long walk le...it's entry from either doors.....becos it's a rectangular shape..defintely it's narrow la...but you can ask them to space the tables nearer to the wall to create more walkway for you...they are the experts in banquet arrangement!

For me I lazy to walk a long way so my guests comfort it's most inportant..so me gonna have a short and narrow walk...it all depends on your arrnagement.

BTW, please check check the 3 themes hor...cos dun sign already than regret on the themes cos they not using their very first florist.

have you gone down to take a look anot? better check all these out.

I have yet to print my cards...now abit kan cheong leow!

tnselg

Hi Shine

Me too taking Vista Ballroom and planning 20 + 2 reserve tables... dun think the tables will b too cramp and not really narrow march in.. tat time when I visited the ballroom it looks okay...

Hi CAT

I oso haven printed my cards.. u taking Hilton printer right? I still haven source yet...

shinem

Hi CAT & Joanne,

I have signed up with Hilton a few months ago but when i went down to sign, there were functions gg on in vista room so i didn't get to see the real thing till lately. was just a little concern about the layout cos i hardly see such long and narrow room. so was rather worried tat the turnout of the setting will be weird.

i havent' really decided on the themes yet. heard they are gg to change florist ya. will wait till the new themes are out.

kurera

JOanne..No need source outside printers lah..the price differs only a few cents..besides..

should anything go wrong on the cards we can still go back to hilton...if you take outside printers..anything goes wrong...will they take the blame?

ummmm..think about that...

I will be taking printing from the card shop..

I went down to see the designs last month..will be heading again to confirm which one I want soon..

Shine, they "going to change" new florist again..correct..but than we won't be able to see any set up in time "TO choose" any of those for our themes..REASON..these few months 2 ghost month...If we taking new florist..we can only SEE from photos BUT not actual set up..

SO it all depends on WHEN is your AD.
For me and JOanne...think either to choose the current 3 new theme OR the new florist which we can view from pictures only.

I need stress again..I am not happy with the current 3 themes..so hopefully the turn out of the pictures for the new florist is good!!

tnselg

CAT, I had collected the cards liao le.. so no choice lah.. anyway mine only print inserts so dun think will damage any cards... urs is directly printed on the card itself ah?

By right, we hv to choose our theme by mid Jul right? R we still applicable to choose from the new themes... I oso dunno which current theme to choose.. sighzz... U arrange food tasting alrdy??

kurera

yah...i need to confirm everything theme etc by jul during the food tasting day..which is super stress..man

it's gonna be 1 day before I fly to HKG..heh heh

chick77

Hi Shine,

How about Panorama room (min 18-max 24)? Heard you can have your cocktail reception by the pool..U mite b able to change if its still available

timminbuzz

hi gals..

I had a friend who took the hotel's printer. There was a printing error on her cards. But she still had to pay half of the cost of printing new cards. It's really between the printer and couple...Hilton outsources it.

kurera

joANNE..I confirmed my cards!

Heh..me need inserts for wedding..so have got the simple batik one under their "new" cards..the one with the unique batik print...on the outside.

shinem

Hi Chick77, 2 other rooms are taken. well, mayb i m just being paranoid. hee! seems like not no one has any prob with tat room.

tnselg

CAT, ya u thought me u chose the batik cards liao.. so u oso need to print inserts only right? then shld nt hv any printing error lah.. dun worry...

kurera

Joanne ..inserts not printing with the card shop cos not everyone invited to me church lar..

maybe printing on my own..;p

barbapapa

Has everyone been given a confirmed date for food tasting?

Mine is still not confirmed yet. Dunno what's taken Hilton so long to arrange......

barbapapa

June promised to call back....up till now still havent call back....so long liao...

Anyway will call her if she does not get back to me by this weekend.

tnselg

Hi Blue.. Mine is confirmed on 4th Jul.. I received an email fr June and confirm with her the menu one.. but think she is on leave today cos got her out of office reply...

Hi CAT

Is ur choosing of the theme and wedding favors on the same day??

kurera

Joanne..yah man..super stress she said to confirm favours..theme on that day..which mean..die die must us current sucks theme or the new florist works..whereby I can see on pictures only!!!

How which theme u gers taking! me headache!
Any of you seen the new theme with the new florist?

tnselg

Yeap.. she oso told me tat but I intend to postpone it cos quite rush... aft work still got to fetch parents there...

I din c the new themes yet lei.. can we choose fr the new themes?? I oso headache which theme to take...

kurera

CAN U CAN CHOOSE THE NEW THEMES...if dun like the current ones done by cocoon..but you only get to see the pictures..not like the current one we had seen the actual set up.

I do not think I will force to take either one IF I not happy leh..afterall they should do their part to QC the florist..why wait until so many complains come in than change florist now?

ummmm...old florist old theme last year was great why change? haiz..

tnselg

Oh we can ah.. cos Hilton din mention anything abt the new themes.. so we got to ask??

I hv a fren who jus had her wedding in Hilton actually engage her own florist to do up the deco... sighzz... cannot choose fr either of the themes... very hard to make decisions lei...

kurera

yah..precisely that's why I am headache..and I defintely not gonna pay for extras on the florist lo..they can put less flowers but not those lousy themes la.....

Maybe they can consider our own requests with lesser flowers..they still earn what..no need top up?

ai yah..dunno lar..wedding coming but i not very happy leh..

tnselg

Ya i agree man.. actually I m okay with the seduction theme except for the stage backdrop and the three pots of flowers...

But u think blue EG can go with it??

I oso hope they can acommodate with our request without any top up...

kurera

seduction..let me recall....eh u on msn right? talk to me on that la!

we like INTRUDING our conversation with the rest!

What ur msn i add you.

Anyway to re-cap the background looks stupid with some balls right? than the pots looked cheapo with leaves hanging out right? ;p

twinstarz

hey ladies, anybody has pics of the grand ballroom? is it the one that's being renovated? btw, any idea if jaclyn is still at hilton? i emailed her but no response n no out of office reply as well...

lilic

hi ladies, pardon my trespassing.. as promised, i am here to give my feedback abt hilton banquet. i attended a fren's wedding in the vista room last evening.

Compliments
1. the staff gave prompt, good and professional service. e.g. they knew how to serve the wine in the correct way..
2. food was good.. served warm.. totally enjoyed all the 9 courses..

Setbacks
1. the vista room and the grand ballroom shared the same reception area. while there are signages to direct the guests, having the guests crowded around the reception area doesnt help.. i gotta "squeeze" my way through to reach the reception at vista room.. maybe you guys can ask the hotel staff to help direct the guests and allow room for movement.. =)
2. given the arrangement of the vista room, the aisle is too long.. i was seated at the back (i.e. entrance for the couple).. my table along with some others lost interest clapping when the couple are only half way down the aisle as we cannot see whats happening. perhaps, you may want the guests to be seated during the walk-in instead.. =)

barbapapa

actually cat, Joanne,

You all are not intruding on the conversation. I personally have not seen the theme but i think the decoration will be nowhere as good as the previous...who wants to go to a hotel where all issues can't be compromise and negotitiate?

shinem

Hi pandalic,

Thanx for ur feedback. Just a few qns to ask u regarding the vista room.

1) the room, being long and slim, does it look weird?
2) Does the stage looks small and unpresentable cos the room is too long?

shinem

Hi cat & joanne,

if i m not wrong, i tink hilton will be using back the previous florist. there seems to be rather good comments about the previous one compared to the current one.

kurera

Yup...it's if it's the previous florist..THAN i WILL BE VERY HAPPY!!!!!

IT'S STEFFI'S IF IT'S THE PREVIOUS FLORIST, BUT I DOUBT..cos i spoke to june she never mentioned taking back steffi.

Pandalic, I guess each individual person has different expectation la...I also attended Hilton banquet quite a few times..

1. Service good
2. Romantic ldim ights which is why I chose hilton
3. Food good except their DUCK DISH
4. There are 2 entry to the Vista room OR grand ball room. Your can take the lift up or the escalator. They do not share the same reception area. Vista room and Ball room each has a reception table each, it's just that they are on the same level which may be abit confusin. Vista room has a big sofa set in front of their area.

Perhaps what u suggested is a good idea, to have Signages which is clear to indicate the couple's banquet venue.There also the plasma screen should have the couple's pictures flashing, I think that should help very much, unless the guests comes late or rushed and just bump himself/herself to any of the venue...if not one should not miss the reception area.

A very good point is to ask the F & B to help direct for those "blur" guests.

5. Lastly, the guests if were the couple's good friend/relatives, they would not mind where they are seated cos they were the specially invited guests of the couple. The thoughts of the couple getting hitch on this very day is memorable and special.

We cannot pleased all guests..some may complain on food some may complain on lightings..some may complained the shape of the room etc etc

Guests should not think that there are buying the tickets for the best seats..

No offence but it's really very subjective lor.

CAT

lilic

cat, no offence taken, dun worry..

in any case, i was only reflecting the situation as i have encountered.. cant helped it when you have too many pple hanging outside the ballrooms... so there isnt clear definition of who's who.. the plasma screen outside vista room is too low.. so easily blocked by the guests

as for the seating issue.. i am not complaining where i was seated.. in fact i am sitting with frens who are the bridal helpers at the back.. the point is that we dunno wats going on in the front.. esp during the march-in coz we are blocked by pple the guests at the front.. so i suggested to have the guests seated down during the march in so that everyone can see clearly and participated in the program.. its not abt who is getting the best seat.. =)

kurera

Ok got it..pandalic! *hugs* no offence too!

Thanks for the comments cos we can highlight to the banquet manager that day..

Anyway at least 3 of us here are rather upset and worried MORE on the themes..rather than those you mentioned..

Umm..I am just praying they getting steffi back!

omnpmh

just had my wedding there, really had to comment the Hilton theme....jaclyn did a very great job and the banquet manager Derrick is simply professional and render marvellous help during the event. everything went very smoothly!! so for those who choose Hilton....really GO FOR IT!! for those still considering, don;t hesitate!!

omnpmh

ya..shine and joanne, dun worry, me also have 20 table...very cosy and not packed at all, the long march is just nice and that time we are worry those tables behind will be too far out.. but in the end it is really very ok and cosy...
btw the PASSION theme we choose really look much much nicer on actual day than the time when we are being showed.

lastminqueen

Chick77 and Blue -I had the same experience. They seem to be a little sticky when it comes to compromising and negotiation. We also got a bit frustrated. In the end, had to be v thick-skin and keep pushing. They are not as forthcoming as the other hotels, 5 star or less, we visited.

For those concerned abt the hotel's printers - we printed with them our card inserts. Everything went well and we got them within 2 wks.

omnpmh

hey joanne and shine, sent mail. hee...afraid not too clear under the flashing of the camera... forgotten to take just the ballroom only. :p lighting is v v important really.