Hilton Hotel

ajdory

Hi Blackhawkwife,

I can't remember if it's cos Vista room is slightly too small to accomodate my number of tables or is it cos it's taken.

I did not get to see Vista room that day. Inn of Happiness used to be a Chinese restaurant.. understand tt it will undergo reno soon but there's no floor plan or anything, so i am worried how it will eventuali look like. Wat if i don like the after-reno room? Do u think it will be safe to take it up?

As for the cocktail area, it is open air outside at the swimming pool area, I didn't see it set up for cocktail cos i went in the day...

rosewood

Hi Twinstars,

I was told to prepared 8(max)for the LCD display but i think you can do more than that. Check with June or Jac regarding that.I am sure they are the best people for advise... :p

rosewood

As for the red wine, they will probably serve 1/2 cup upon request. U can check it out for better details during your food tasting meal. If u start serving red wine during reception, there is a high possibility that u might run out of red wine during 1st few dishe(s). But it all depends on your guests.

juv

Hello @stley, think it doesn't matter lah the difference can't be too great

Since you have decided tell yourself that you are paying the difference for convenience so you will feel better.. this is what i tell myself whenever i find out that there are cheaper alternatives hee hee

juv

Hey @stley...forgot to add this to my previous post

for the red wine, like Maggini says serve only when dinner starts and to control consumption, tell waiters not to top up glass but to serve a new glass only then guests finish theirs

Thats what i'm planning to do

delightful

Hi @stley,

Yup mine oso 1 table free 1 bottle red wine... i dun think 22 bottles is enough leh... i start the wine, hard liquor and beer during the dinner, reception i only serve soft drinks and mixer... throughout the dinner i open 80 bottles of red wine (incl 40 bottles red wine given free by hilton) 4 bottles of hard liquor and 4 barrel of beer.... as for the florist, u dun have to prepare anything, she will show u some samples of the decoration and u jus choose from there...

Hi Juv,

Tat's wat my intention too but somehow the drinks go too fast... i think is hard to control the drinks and it doesn't look nice/gd if you keep letting your guest wait for it or making excuses to say that u run out of red wine,etc....

rosewood

Hey Delightful,

Did u bring ur own extra red wine or buy from hilton instead? We opened up 2 barrier of beer, 4 bottle of hard liqour and my guest consumed some 27 bottles of red wine ( we have 32 free red wine ) and it was a tuesday nite. We were prepared to get another 10 from hilton if required.

Another tactic to save ur red wine is to ask them to serve 1/4 of the cup instead of 1/2.Start serving only when dinner starts.

delightful

Maggini,

I got my wine fr hilton. when the co-ordinator first tell us how much my guest consume, the first thing came to my mind is our budget burst... but lucky when the bill touches my hand is still within it... hehehe jus curious did u breakeven for your banquet...????

miaka05

hi guys,

i'm considering hilton hotel to hold my wedding banquet for December 2006 or january 2007 but i can't seems to find the contact details of the co-ordinators on their website. can anyone let me noe the contact details of their co-ordinator for me to make inquires. thanks!!

bigbig

Hi there, you can try calling Hotel's reception???

I believe they would be able to put you through !!!

Hope this helps...

juv

Good to hear that Maggini

Delightful, thats alot of alcohol! How many tables do you have?

miaka, you may want to call Jaclyn @67303206, if she is not around, you can speak to June.

Ladies...one more thing, anyone managed to get 2 nites stay at the suite?

delightful

Juv,

Total I have 40 tables, yes i managed to get 2 nite stay at the suite. Wow the suite is fanastic how i wish i could stay down there agan...

squiddy

Hi Maggini and delightful

how did you all get the 2 nite stay? we asked and they say it really depends on their availability? Did you asked on that day itself or?......

twinstars

Hi Maggini, Juv & delightful,

Ok thanks! Will try to check the LCD thingy out soon...

As for the wine, we don't intend to serve before dinner starts too, but as per my dad, we only want to serve red wine and beer (no hard liquord), so we worried 22 bottles not enough...

WOW! delightful, you open over 80 bottles! So how much you paid per bottle after the free ones?

btw, tell 'all' the waiters? You mean to inform them one by one? *sorry! blur*
Do you think that it's abit hmmn... I mean only topup the glass when the guest request... I'm worried that the guest will complain about the service not gd...

Maggini, you're right, mayb 1/4 cup when dinner starts can slower down the consumption... you did that too?

Juv, pepe, I've ever request for 2nights stay too, but June told me that's only for grand ballroom over 40tables then they will consider to give 2nights stay, mine is vista room, not eligible...

squiddy

June said if it is 40 tables then they give 2 nights?! I got 38 tables at the grandballroom and yet they told me subject to availability......oh man.....oh man.....
my friend got the vista room and she got 2 nites stay also....
seems like it really depends on who is giving the offer huh?

delightful

@stley,

Do u intend to buy the wine from outside or get from hilton??? if from hilton no worries loh think they have standby wan... hilton wine (housewine) is abt $25+++ and i think if you get wine from outside they charge u chorkage rite???

On the AD there will be a head waiter or assistant head waiter just purely serving the couple so whatever request u have can jus tell him and he will do the rest...

rosewood

Pepe,
Maybe they are stricter now, dare not give promises(for more night stay). We just had our wedding hence we got the deal long ago and was written on the contract.

Twinstars,

Yup this is wht i did. But i didnt notice if they top up for those red wine drinker automatically or not.

I loved Juv's suggestion : tell waiters not to top up glass but to serve a new glass only then guests finish theirs.

Maybe u can advise the waiter to serve only upon request, no automatic top up unless requested. Hope it helps.

rosewood

@stley,

U dun have tell individual waiter/waitress. Just let hilton know when the date is nearer. They will convey the message to the rest easily.

kalbarri

oh yah,, by the way during the wedding dinner, is it necc to give ang pog to each and every waiter/waitress??...wat is the norm rate ? tks...

kurera

@stley, same same..mine 1 night stay..just 1 night stay...so sad...

Yah..as for the wine..I decided to serve when banquet starts..

kalbarri...no need give the waiter/waitress.., appreciation can give to the banquet manager/coordinator or the captain lor..

juv

wah me must go try ask june the next time i see her...want to get the 2nd nite also

yah kalbarri, there is no need to give ang bao to every waiter/waitress

young_bride

I was a Hilton bride. My wedding was already over in May this year. Not sure if the package prices are still the same, but I managed to earn a few thousands on a sat night. I'm able to cover all my banquet expenses incl. wine & other misc.

RSVP is very very impt for a wedding to be successful & can determine if u cover or lose $$.

kurera

Juv...you go try...I also want...but have you signed the contract??? If signed, we can still get another night meh?

How Huh?

squiddy

i am going to try my luck and ask them for extra nite on that day or mayb one week before the actual day. die die must try ask for one extra nite!

If you all succeed in getting the extra nite even it is not written in the contract. let me know ya?

tnselg

My co-ordinator is June and she stated in my contract tat my 2nd nite stay in the suite is subject to availability...

krissie

For those who have already signed the contract with Hilton, anyone managed to get the food tasting on a weekend? Coz it states that the food tasting can only be done from Monday - Thursday.

kurera

Sorry..my AD still a long way...i can't rem what's in the contract think my fiance keeps it...

haiz..everything is in a mess..i should have negiotiated for a 2nd night man...(at least sub to availability)

tnselg

Hi Blackhawkwife

When is ur AD? Its okay cos we dunno wat to ask for since we r negotiating for the 1st time.. mayb u can try to ask June when ur AD is nearer and I m sure they will try to stay for a 2nd nite if the hotel is nt too packed...

juv

Hello blackhawkwife,

i signed my contract with jaclyn and she said 2nd nite subject to avaliability...now june is taking over so i will try to negotiate with her again...

lots of other hotels giving 2 nites loh...will keep u ladies updated if i manage it

kurera

Hi JOanne, my AD next oct which is a hot month, my contract states 1 night only you sure i can ask again when I see her..

I am keeping my fingers cross man...btw..any of you managed to get 2nd night let me know!

tnselg

Hi Blackhawkwife

OIC.. mine is in Sep 06.. initially wanted in Oct 06 but the date nt available liao... its no harm asking them if it is possible to extend one more night... can try...

squiddy

black hawkwife

My AD is also next year oct. mine also stated one night. But we will ask for another night bcos the guy told us the room will be subject to availability.

Never ask, never know....who knows? ha ha ha ha...

kurera

Joanne..i will try!!

ok..pepe yours which date in oct??...maybe we can tell june we both friends..and booked hilton..you think she can cham xiong give us additional night?

think we both can try...think she will rem me...cos she like the pair of ear rings I wore the last time...

few mths later i went back hilton for dinner..she still remembers me!!

um...shall we try when our AD approaching???

how? pm me your full name and contact..we can arrange to meet up with her?

squiddy

blackhawk,

my date is oct 28. think yours should be earlier than mine cos i got the last saturday in Oct!!. i liaise with McCoy when i was there. Eh u want to ask June together for additional nite ah? U sure??? mayb more numbers makes a difference. i PM u my number and contact. you give me yours too ya?

twinstars

Hi pepe,

According to what June told me when I requested for 2nights stay is - Those who have got 2nights stay are those who have got over 40tables at GBR. I can't remember if she did mention the word 'subject to availability'