Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Congratulations to Loinky!

Congrats to Loinky! btw, where did Loinky deliver?

My SIL gave birth to a healthy BB boy yesterday morning too. And I met a friend at the hospital, he had just become a father too. The best part is : his wife's ward is just beside my SIL's.

congrats loinky!!
luckily dun need to induce...

nellie, so gam! so u 1 time see 2 mummies... haha...

CSI: last nite my stomach so pain while playing MJ, had bad menses cramp. hb was telling bb, *dun try any funny stunts.. stay there n be obedient till mar*
so funny, then my cramp disappeared liao...
then hb 1 person won 3 player's $$... i also buay tahan... cause i also lost to him... i think my bb super scared of his daddy...

btw, i've very worried abt early popping... i have this strong gut feeling tat i may pop soon. everytime go toilet also worried got show... so i become like siao *lang*, everytime talk to my tummy, ask him stay till edd...

Hello everybody,

I'm at Changi Airport T1 now, waiting for my flight. Be back on SAt morning. Enjoy your CNY.

Hazuki - Relax! Don't be so gan chiong. I'm sure BB will be obedient.

haha, Petrina, better don't play too much MJ if not it may affect BB next time also wanna play. Read books and listen to music lor ;P

huiz: ya.. tats y hb was saying, b4 ryan noe how to write, he already can recognise all the MJ tiles liao...

i dunno y ppl crave food, i crave MJ... but on a hindsight, nxt time when bb is slping, i wun be scared that he is afraid of the noise...

wah Petrina,
better be careful leh...dun play too much till you stress or excited. heehee...but yah lorh. think your bb scared of his daddy. kekeke....

re noise, I always thot bb is ok with noisy places (you know lah, we hainanese talk very loudly one mah.) Everytime my relatives come my place to visit and see bb, she will be sleeping right through despite the noise. Then past few days of CNY, when carry her and there are pple talking around her, she will fuss and not sleep. but when bring her into a room, she will sleep. Maybe she wants to join in the party too. dunno lah. hehs.

huiz: ya, foresight... i play MJ until blur liao.. haha... yest also played.. so happy...

CSI: juz went for 34wk appt today.. gynae confirmed tat bb not engaged.. if nothing goes wrong, i'll carry full term.. yay!!
i also hope tat my boy will be like ur gal. immune to noise.. haha

btw, i had a fall yest after shower... funny thing, i fell in a weird position.. as if i noe how to break my fall, though it was very sudden. quite heng.. i only hurt my butt. i tot it was ok. then this morn realised tat both my butts hurt alot manz..
gynae say i prob hurt my nerve. but nothing happened to bb. he's still swimming happily in my tummy.. hehe
only i can feel pain bah.

huiz: i copy n paste my fall story here...

i fell because my MIL n BIL not considerate.. not my fault. after exiting shower rm, there's always a floor mat as my kitchen is abit slippery when wet. but tat day when i exited the shower, the
floor mat was very far away. they always have the tendency to drag the mat away, then i always have to put mat back in plc for my safety... so tat day no mat, i took a step outside n i slipped.
i've always been very careful, but they r not considerate. after i fell, hb scolded mil for not replacing mat. she juz tiam tiam go away after seeing i fell. so sickening.. say i careless.

machiam like my fault.. i already so careful lor.

last time while she is mopping kitchen, *she got habit for super wet mop type. thinking tat her kitchen tiles can absorb water, then flr will be cleaner*
happened b4 i was preg, b4 marriage...
i went to kitchen, taking a step at a time, wif my mug, trying to get hot water to make milo... then i also slipped. cause the flr was way too slippery.. then she also say i careless. luckily i haven't gotten to the flask yet. otherwise the hot water would have been on me...

hi all, long time no post liao..

congrats to Loinky!!

petrina - gotta take care ya esp at home.. tat time my ex-coll whos preg oso nearly fell in the ofc toilet but lucky she broke her own fall by using her left hand.. ended up her left hand one big bruise but she heaved a sigh of relief tat her bb was ok, she bruised nvm..

nellie shd be enjoying herself in BeiHaiDao now..

Petrina,
wah...just be super extra careful now. We can't control how considerate others can be (sometimes, person A may think that the actions is ok, but it's not ok to person B...kinda thing...), but we can control how careful we can be. So just be more vigilant now...
and stay cheerful!

Loinky,
enjoy your confinement period. Yah, it sounds crap (how to enjoy? super tiring manz!), but still...enjoy the whole process. Stay cheery. Keep your spirits up! Think positive thoughts and take things easy.
It's PERFECTLY OK not to be able to do certain things etc now. Just take things in your stride...

petrina: lucky you. must be careful hor. your MIL and BIL inconsiderate so you "zi ji" must be extra extra careful. i just visited my colleague who gave birth on the 3rd day of CNY yesterday. The baby super small and cute. Can't wait to see yours. Hehe.

Li Ann: How is your new job? A lot of those kind of "guys' right?

janf: Ya hor, nellie went Japan already. No wonder didn't see her online these few days. She must be enjoying herself.

loinky: i thought confinement can eat anything? So can be well nourished.

lance: confinement like prison lor... hehe
all food n drinks r scanned n controlled... sianz...

janf: ya. i also broke my fall using my left hand. natural instinct? b4 preg, i fell flat on my butt.. din bother to break fall. now it seems tat natural to protect bb first...

CSI: wah, u gloating liao... nxt is my turn.. i sure lots to complain de, during my confinement...
luckily i'll have many listening ears.. hehe
i kept thinking, confinement is done because of what arh? mummy's health? or pantang?

I think confinement is done for the mother's health, rather than pantang. Don't think there's anything to pantang about post child birth mah. And its exactly for the mother's health that those special foods will ginger, sesame oil, black vinegar etc come about. Need to replenish the qi or enery or whatever that is supposedly said to have been lost during the 9 months. My MIL also told me need to drive out the "wind" inside the body.

huiz: cause they say confinement is *dirty*.. so i was wondering is it post birth 1mth cannot c ppl etc.. like confinement cannot give APs etc..
my mom kept reminding me, even MIL doing confinement, muz give AP. n whoever comes also muz give.. for good luck... then i was like wah.. so many rules..

they said it's not advisable esp for guys to visit females during confinement...suay for them..

one of my male friend is v pantang one..he doesnt go to hospitals to visit friends/friends' wives who just gave birth...

petrina,
not gloating. Just reminding loinky to keep her spirits up. With the sudden change in our hormones (coz placenta is discharged, hormones levels change), it's very easy to slip into post-natal depression. Coupled with lack of sleep (newborns wake up everuy 2 hours or so for feeds), stress of handling newborn, pressure to BF or not to BF etc...the feeling can be very frustrating.

Agree with Huey...I dun think there's anything to pantang about. but to each his own lah
heehee...in fact, I noticed that the friends who visited me at home are all christian / catholic friends. They dun bother about the ang pow bit.

Confinement is really more for the mother's health. It's so tiring plus the whole body is feeling very different. Can't quite describe it lah. But you'll appreciate the rest time at home manz. Body really feels different after childbirth. Dun have visitors also good...coz need to rest mah. hehs...Oh, and body will have a lot of wind. A lot...

Lance, confinement time cannot anyhow eat. Can only eat lots of heaty stuff. Only heaty stuff will nourish the mother (but if father eats, will kena pimples, nose bleed, sore throat etc...hahaha...)

CSI: i joking wif u lah... cause ur *prison* time over liao mah... mine approaching soon...

i noe confinement is for mom's health.. but as u said lor, u only c catholic frens visiting u during confinement... somemore my MIL say muz close door. cannot let neighbour c me or bb.. siao...

i also scared post natal blues... i'm hoping i'll be like my mom.. very strong will power to do everything herself.
I already planned my confinement schedule... so all i wish for is mental strength...

wah petrina, you even planned your schedule liaoz. good good...very prepared leh. Think your mum's genes will be in you lah. Just dun give yourself too much stress. Take things easy.

i m still doin ok.. baby feeding on formula cos i fell sick when giving birth to her.. so not yet experience having to wake up every 2-3hrs for her feed..i only can't stand not bathing.. so sticky all over.. lucky i can take my bath later cos i will be visiting PD.. YAY!

csi/pertrina, how did u decide on baby's name?

Happy Valentine's Day!

loinky always spell my name wrongly... hehs...

btw, hb n i choose name based on first initial. if gal, is P. boy is R.
then we shortlist no. of syllabus we wan.. then meaning of shortlisted names... tats it.

loinky,
for me, both hb and my name start with 'L'. so we wanted to keep it as the 'L' family. hahaha. Then I just went internet to search for names starting with 'L'. Just go for a name that you like...

nellie: i missed u... haha... this CNY no MJ mah? i kenna withdrawal symptoms liao...
how's ur trip? many pics? enjoyed urself bah..

Hi everyone...Gong Xi Fa Cai! Today is Chu Shi Yi...i'm not too late in wishing everyone a happy CNY! I haven't logged in for a long time, been very busy with work in my new school.

Looking forward to the gathering!

Loinky: Congrats!

Petrina: How are you? You can see bb Ryan soon!

Thanx Pris!

Opps Petrina (correct? =p)
How abt chinese names?

I really cannot tahan not bathing.. going crazy.. so mil go out i go for quick shower.. hehe.. i know i'm not being kuai.. but also no use.. after bathing, perspire again..

CSI, did u do post natal massage? Any contacts?

loinky,
hahaha...yah lorh. after bathing, perspire again. What to do...

Yap, I did post natal massage. Erm, you have my HP number right? Can SMS me? Coz my other phone konked out liaoz. Just before CNY. So I got a new phone, but lost all the contacts in that old phone lorh...(contacts that was saved to phone memory lorh...) haiz. You sms me, then I can reply you with the massage lady's number...

loinky: hehe.. correct..
u din bathe arh? i dun think i can tahan leh... did u bath ur baby? or u let others bath?

cause now got this issue in my mind... if we can't touch water, how to bath our baby?

my bb's chinese name i went to fortune teller to calculate...

Haha...Petrina, when the older folks told me cannot touch water, I asked them...then I go toilet how? No need to wash hands ah? hahaha...I very naughty. kekeke...

Think small amounts of water can lah. Maybe you let someone else bathe baby first for the 1st 2 weeks then you take over? Or give sponge bath...

Oh ya ah mais...how to get to the No Signboard restaurant?? :p Nearest MRT or any bus?? Anyone going from the North side...can go together?

Hi mais, so who is going for dinner tonight? Hehe...

Oh btw, the date chosen for the fish spa/massage(feet only) is on 23rd Mar 08 (late morning). We can all go for lunch together after that.

Anyone interested?

hi nellie...

can i have the address of no signboard? i will be going from paya lebar. i have a meeting at paya lebar from 5pm to 7pm. maybe be slightly late.

lance: count wh and me in for the trip!

oh no!! I completely forgot! Today is the 19th!!

alamak! I just brought baby L for her jab today. Dunno how she will be later on leh. May be ok, no fussing etc...may end up irritable with a bit of fever. I really have no idea.

But I really really forgot that today is the dinner. Lost track of time and day. I only remember baby fair coming up in 3 weeks and I start work a few days before baby fair.

Aiyah....looks like I can't make it for the dinner liaoz. arrgghhh....

So sorry...

Hey ah mais...
I may not be able to make it tonight. Was informed at the last minute that i have to attend a music course till 6pm & i still have lots to mark.

I will try my best to make it...just in case i can't, sorry!

Oops Lance, sorry I can't make it for the fish trip thingy. Coz have arranged to go Pengerang for seafood with my friends that day.

Talking about Pengerang, I was mentioning to Nellie that we could make this another outing destination for us too, sometime in Apr/May perhaps. Go as a day trip... set off by bumboats in the morning, have a seafood lunch there and come back by early evening. How does this sound to all?

nellie: i noe.. so sad.. i can't go. i tot can gorge myself wif foods b4 delivery... haiz. been having cramps since morn.. talking to bb ask him stay n be guai...

CSI: did u bring louise to single jabs or u did the MMR? r u gonna do the *Pneumococcal jab*

Pengerang is in Msia. Somewhere near Desaru. We can go to the small town there to eat seafood and buy tao sar piah. Need to take bumboats from Changi Jetty to reach the Msian jetty on the other side and then take cabs to reach the place. All in all about 1.5hrs a trip. Though the bumboats are really old, noisy and not everyone's cuppa tea, its a good experience.