Hainanese Brides, anyone???

wah, sherrie, you have to come all the way to raffles place to buy calculator...what brand are you getting? hope to see you later. I've cut my hair, so it's short....not long during Nellie's wedding. hehs. Hope you gals can still recognise me later.

Nellie, Huiz, I might be a bit late...coz I have a meeting at 11am. dun think it will stretch beyond 1 hour, but just in case lah...

Haha, I have also cut my hair short. Kinda messy now coz I don't think this style suits me and neither had the hairdresser done a good job :-S

thks huiz for ur concern.. it seems that many ppl is falling sick..
Janf: i can understand how u feel.. i also felt terrible having 39.8deg fever... i thought my head is spliting frm the top like a volcano... i agree wif nellie, get a jab..

for me, though i got a jab, the effect lasted only abt 6hrs.. then my fever came back... so my doc ordered 4 panadols at a time... 3times a day..
hope u feel well soon...

Huiz, Nellie, CSI: so nice, u all can meet for lunch.. i stuck at home for 3 days already...

Marina square has changed quite a bit...not too sure what's there. hehs.

Any restaurant is fine by me (as long as no sushi/raw food)...heehee...or, I should say, as long as there's cooked food for me to eat. hahaha...

Petrina, Janf, drink lots of water...eat porridge and more bland foods for now...while u recover. take more fruits with Vit C...

How about a place that can accomdate more people? Cartel or Bombers? Cartel is rather popular (haha I like the free bread) so perhaps we have to book first if we are going there?

Janf & Petrina: Both of you have high fevers!!! Drink more water & try to sweat it out. Your fever will "break" if you can perspire...drink lotsa water.

Btw...anyone has contacts for wine supplier??

Hmm..Marina Square is it? I dun mind Cartel... or Swensens perhaps?

MS have lots of places to eat woah... i've been eating plain kway teow soup for 2 days already...

*slurpp* talking abt food make me hungry... there's a nice jap restaurant beside billy bombers.. good food but long queue.. cartel also good & cheap *keke*

Pris: i did, my FH force me to drink 500ml every 2hrs.. *puke* perspire till my clothes all wet but fever nv subside.. haizz
Luckily this afternoon finally the fever subsided... *phew*

Wine cellers - i have one to recommend at the tudor court... cheap n good, can do consignment wif *min xx bottles taken*

hey petrina,

I keep forgetting...I'm supposed to give you the weblink for the Papal Audience in Rome. You still going Italy for your HM?

Anyway, the website to register for tickets to the Papal Audience is http://www.santasusanna.org/popeVatican/tickets.html

Wah, so much water ah...eh, must flush it out of your system also leh...too much water also not good. Well, too much of anything is not good. But good to hear that your fever has subsided.

haha, CSI of course i go toilet bery often also... no choice cause i take too many tablets, he say bad for my liver if i dun flush them all out...
thks for the link.. yupp, i'm still gg italy. but maybe not immed after wedding.
cause he cannot afford time off... so we gg aust for a week then yr end go europe for 2wks..

juz went to the doc to get a jab on bum and gave me 2days MC.. 39.5 gona chao-da oredi.. tom i got lunch wif our CEO, now duno how.. if dun go, boss sure tink i Geng MC.. haiz.. mayb juz go for lunch then go home aft tat..

Hi ah mais, so many posts in a day! MS is a good place to eat. You all plan liao let me know ah.

janf, petrina: Drink more water and eat more fruits. Try taking 'ling yang', it seems that it always helps subside my fevers. And petrina, you kena force to drink water, thats actually a good thing. Like in army we water parade last time (we drink 1L).

My trip to Hilton was quite good today. But when my FW and i arrived there, the carpark was SUPER full. I had to choose valet parking or park elsewhere. Luckily, when i was about to turn out of the carpark to valet park, there was lot (thank god!). I really agree with sherrie and CSI that there is very little lots. I understood from the coordinator later that there was a lunch event where all the foreign ambassadors were attending. That explains the crowded carpark. Yup Pris, its quite far from MRT, almost as far as Orchard Hotel already.

My FW and I viewed the Vista and Panorama rooms. Both rooms were longish but pillarless. The Panorama room is a bit smaller, but as it is situated on the 24th floor beside the swimming pool (private area), we liked it better than the Vista room.

For the package, i was asking if they could waive all corkage for the wine, as that was my main concern. Overall, i think the package is quite good if they could waive the corkages and rent us the projector for free.

I am going back to my studies now. Have a good evening everyone!

juz came back frm the doc AGAIN! - my eyes look like goldfish now!, swollen eyelids aft 1hr from the jab.. damn sway......... haiz..

now cfm cant go work tom wif such goldfish eyes.. doc said i muz be allergy to the jab.. nothg i can do now except wait for it to subside..

aiyo, so many of u are sick. ah mais, must take good care leh. Look forward to see u all on 25 May. Been terribly busy at work, can't catch up with the postings liao. Anything is fine with me. Since we may be staying for long at the restaurant, perhaps Secret Receipe or Imperial Treasure or Cartel?

Pris, your SDJ very pretty! BTW, my FIL said he got those Teochew biscuits from this shop in Geylang Lor 27. Think the name is "Thye Moh". It is along Sims Ave, near Eunos MRT.

Petrina, are u thinking of ordering from Wine Cellars? Not sure if this was the same one that I dealt with but I do not have good experience with them, so be careful. Lemme tell u my story.
My hubby had been liaising with this guy Alex. We had 2 cases on hand and wanted 5 extra cases. But he delivered only 2 cases! He had the cheek to say my hubby confirmed only 2 cases and for 25 tables, the total qty was more than enough. Lucky I was kept in the loop and stood by my hubby. I even rebutted that I had 34 tables and not 25. He was silent.
I propose u try De Wine at 50 Bukit Batok St 23 #06-29 Midview Building. Tel: 63167715. Carlton saved my day by calling them and they delivered on the spot. They do consignment basis too.

ivied, yaya, i initally tot of wine cellar.. ok, i'll try de wine instead...

janf, ur doc nv ask ur allergy? i also got jab, luckily no goldfish eye... :P

Lance, i can c where my FH got his craziness frm... SAF water parade... haha

Oh no janf, u must be going through a very rough time now. Make sure u remember the name of the jab coz u gotta avoid this medicine from now on.

ivied, really seldom see u here now. Hope u are settling well in your job

Pris, funny leh, both your parents and your future in laws are Hainanese, so why does your Mother want Teochew stuff?

I am having cramps now.... the usual monthly prob. Hubby gave me dunno what capsule and I just ate it la. Hopefully it can drive the pain away and give me a good sleep tonight :-S

Good morning....

Just got time to sit n finish reading the post.

CSI - that's a wonderful news! Congratulations..mon-to-be

Janf/ Huiz / Petrina / Nellie - hope u gers are getting better today. Rest well, so we'll have fun & laughters on 25th. Should be able to bring along my AD pics and share with u gers!

Petrina - if u need the guide book for Italy, I can lend u mine.

Pris - so sweet of ur ILs..SDZ leh! *envy*. BTW, gd choice, that's a very very nice set.

Ivied - your new work seems rather stress, do take care of yourself.

Lance - I attended a 2 wedding dinners and a D&D at Hilton before. Once at Panorama room, where my gf have her solemnization at the pool first before the wedding dinner (actually that's a gd idea!). The other 2 I attended was at level 4 ballroom. I would say that the food and service at Hilton was fine, except for the parking which wat Sherrie mentioned.

morning mais+boy..

actually i oso din know im allergy to the jab coz first time in my life took the fever jab.. i only allergy to a kind of antibiotic, so now got another one to add on to the list liao..

im supposed to hv lunch wif our big big boss today.. tink my own boss sure tink i Geng mc but i really din.. i even tot of going for the lunch today then go home aft tat but still goldfish, i tink big big boss see oso scared.. haiz in short juz damn sway.............

Stacy, Thank you! Yah, reminds me manz...I'll bring my album to show u gals too...since I didn't make it to the last big gathering...

janf, can't be helped lah. When you're well, dun make any mistakes in work or give ur boss any chance to say you lorh...I guess. I mean, your boss may remember this incident and think u geng MC. So next time, cannot give her/him the chance to think u slacking. Then, the "not-so-good" impression also wun stick to him/her so much...

Actually, would pple geng MC just to avoid lunch with big boss? I mean, the lunch's paid for, it's just 2 hrs kind...of course, it means 2 hrs of boring lunch lah...and u can't do ur own stuff. But can think of it as "it's just 2 hrs...free lunch..." and it will pass very quickly. I mean, if anything, I'd rather geng MC to avoid a horrible day's work (or a potentially horrible long meeting that day) then to avoid big big boss lunch....hehs...

morning mais and gor!

Wa, so many of you sick...i'm down too... worked till 3am on mon and while walking back to bedroom with eyes half closed...i walk right into the leg of the bedframe and knocked my last toe hard against it! *OUCH* And still die die wore my killer 3.5 inch heels the next day for an early meeting. Didn't feel the pain until i went home, took off my heels and had a shower. Never touch also got throbbing pain...

I'm feeling real relaxed now. Finally submitted the proposal yesterday and can finally finally start working on my website
AND, VERY IMPORTANTLY, i realise how how how how easy to upload my pics. Gosh...i thought it involves complicated process and have always avoided it and pushed it to my hubby, who has been busy traveling to do it.

Gals...hehe...watch out for my *very delayed* link to view my wedding pics

Oh ya, that reminds me to bring my AD album on 25th too. Oh yes, janf, this jab have to go on to your allery list. Cannot play play with it ah.

hee, Li Ann, Multiply is really very user friendly. Looking forward to seeing your pics soon

hi all, i juz got back frm the doc again... finished my antibotic but not recovered. so doc gave me another type - broad spectrum.. cost me a whopping $42 for juz 5tabs... Luckily he didnt charge me consultation fees... i almost faint.. Got another 2days MC. so friday then start wrk. but i think my boss also will think i geng mc... haiz, i think tmr gotta drop by to pass him the mc...

CSI: thks for the offer... i'd love to have the guide book... Btw, when r u due? B/G?? I love babies, but my FH say couplehood first... haizz

Li Ann: wats ur multipy link? i wanna c mei nu also.. keke

Janf: Your fever was really high!!! Has it subsided already? Remember to note down that drug name & let your hubby know too. In case of future emergencies (touchwood)!

Petrina: Are you better already? Drink more water & take good care of yourself.

Stacy: Thanks...my MIL let me choose the items myself. I didn't max out her budget ($8K) but picked these 4, total cost slightly over $6K.

Huiz: My mom just don't want normal cakes so she requested for Xi Bing instead. My ILs were fine with it.

Ivy: Thanks for the wine supplier recommendation. Initially, i have thought of contacting Wine Cellars too. Luckily you posted your feedback about them.

Lance: Seems like your comment about Hilton are quite favourable. Did you read the Hilton thread? I think you'll be able to find out more info & comments bout them there.

It's been more than 1.5 month since my PS but i have yet to view my layouts. I wait till my neck is very long liao!!!

Good morning everybody!

So tired and unwell again... I think this is the period which many ppl fell sick.

Was hanging around Marina Square last night(actually did mani too) while waiting for hubby to watch Phantom of the Opera. There were many restaurants for us to choose. Really spoilt for choices. My manicurist told me the jap rest next to Billy Bomber was not bad. They served different types of desserts. I saw the pics, looked very yummy. Maybe we can try that. Don't worry, CSI. They definitely have cooked food. Those restaurants at Centerstage looks cool too.

hey Petrina,

heehee...I think the offer of the guide book came from Stacy. ;P I didn't use any guide book while I was in Italy. Just based lots of it on research off websites, printed out road maps and subway maps (can get these from some hotels - just walk in and ask for the maps). But also, coz we have this fren (a nun who's based in Rome) telling us where to go lah. heehee...

If you can, I really think you should go Assisi. It's beautiful...and spiritual. Had a bit of an overdose of churches, but with Assisi, it felt very different. We went during Year end too. The good thing is, it's less crowded. So you get to try all the tourist attractions without having to queue much. heehee...

I'm due in Dec. Still early to tell if it's boy or gal. heehee...your FH say couplehood first? hehs...maybe he might change his mind...then again, it's NFP. heehee...

Good morning ah mais, hope everyone is feeling better today.

Li Ann: You work till 3am? Must take care of your health. Don't overwork.

Yup Pris, i read the thread. Seems that it is quite a good venue. We are torn between MM and Hilton now, and are contemplating ditching both for HIPV (due to the chandeliers).

Stacy: Wah, you also got good comments for Hilton.

Wow time flies. It's 10th May today and we will be meeting up in another 2 weeks' time
Can't wait

Oh yes, Stacy, remember to share your HM pics with us yah?

Haii sian, time to go mop floor liao. Thursday's mopping day

Wah Huiz, you allocate time days for doing specific tasks. I am impressed you can keep to a schedule. If i draw up a cleaning roster, i will surely not follow it.

Nellie, must take care...go home and rest lah, if u need to...

hahaha...yah, Huiz, not bad leh. U actually keep to your schedule. I drew up a schedule before. 1st week, stuck to it like it's THE Way......after that....what schedule? Threw it out liao. hahaha. Now it's "hmmm...I think floor a bit dirty. Time to mop.". hahaha

Aiya Lance and CSI, I only have schedule for mopping and laundry. Mop on Thurs and do the latter on Mons and Fris. Haha, I know the laundry schedule is kinda weird. Too close together. Need to change to to something like 3 or 4 days apart?

Need some advice from those who use multiply...

Assuming that i only invite my hubby to view the website...can anyone else search and found my website? In other words, can i limit the website to private & exclusive viewing?

Made baby steps to my ambitious challenge... setting up of a multiply account. Felt so accomplished... keke

yes pertrina, its me who has the guide bk lah...*blurr*..hahaa

Huiz- yes, was downloading my HM pics, part by part. Got to label them properly. Will share when its ready!

Li Ann - for pictures, video, blog n music, there's a setting to can do for the access. U can set it to pte (for you to view onli) or for contacts (those pple u invited in your contact) or public (everyone happened to search n browse ur site). There is this text below "View this pg as another user", it will show u how someone who isn't signed into Multiply would see this page.

stacy..oh so you meant that while there are certain sections of the content that i can block access, in general, anyone can still search and browse my website but see limited content?

sorry for my stoopid question :p i really am hopeless when it comes to this kind of stuff.

oh btw...some thoughts...i've been to other threads... but still find our thread the friendliest and most welcoming

Really feel "at home" here. What a good thing to have you gals here *hugs*

yup yup...if u have set access to almost everything private, anyone that search n browse ur site may onli see your name..eg:Hamsterden's site..

ah mais

Received an email from a friend regarding a jap buffet at marina square.

Is it the one that Petrina and Nellie mentioned?

Jap buffet (over 100 items) at 23 nett from mon -thurs and 25 nett from fri-sun

I've the menu but pdf file too big, cannot re-size to post it here. Maybe i will email you gals.

Hihi everyone,

The prehistoric me finally got broadband and cable TV in my new house. Now hubby glued to his Canto show laughing like a goon in front of the TV now (he's back from work already. Short clinic session today)

Yes, Li Ann, u can select the level of exposure u want for the entries in your Multiply

Wow, Jap buffet! Yum yum!

I've found the name of the jap restaurant I'm talking abt - Azabusabo

Extract from the Marina Square website:

board-post.cgi

Think that every Japanese restaurant has sushi and sashimi on the menu? You’ll be pleasantly surprised at this intimate outfit that serves only superbly delicious cooked food and a spectacular array of traditional Japanese sweets and desserts. Satiate your appetite with a generous serving of their signature Cold Ramen Seafood that is piled with a sea of fresh prawns, big and juicy scallops, chunks of cuttlefish and topped off with a special dressing of mustard and mayonnaise. Save space for the Macha Zen – a delightful rhapsody of green tea ice cream accompanied with dumplings and covered with a blanket of red bean paste.
#02-170/171 Tel 6338-1244

board-post.cgi

Think that every Japanese restaurant has sushi and sashimi on the menu? You’ll be pleasantly surprised at this intimate outfit that serves only superbly delicious cooked food and a spectacular array of traditional Japanese sweets and desserts. Satiate your appetite with a generous serving of their signature Cold Ramen Seafood that is piled with a sea of fresh prawns, big and juicy scallops, chunks of cuttlefish and topped off with a special dressing of mustard and mayonnaise. Save space for the Macha Zen – a delightful rhapsody of green tea ice cream accompanied with dumplings and covered with a blanket of red bean paste.

482104.jpg

oh Nellie! i actually bought ice cream from this restaurant before. Very nice! Yum yum.

I'm so looking forward to the gathering already!