Hainanese Brides, anyone???

gosh... so many postings...but i still managed to glance thru all

been so so so so so busy at work...my company is undergoing alot of restructuring...all the tension at work *shudders* huiz...maybe i will join you soon as housewife too.

Supposed to do work but feeling so sian half way and decided to take a peep in here...it's been so long since i have time to do so.

Hope my well wishes are not too late, CSI, CONGRATS!!

Pris and all ah mais..take care. That May Leong gal...well, was a good friend of my close fren. She is pretty affected by her death. The mum is very pitiful. sigh. not worth to die like that.

outing still on 25 May hor? Have we decided on a venue huh? Scare i glance too fast and missed the posting.

btw, i sent in two applications...one got rejected already. no news from the other one. Will try again this weekend.

sigh. going back to work *reluctantly* liao..

Nite, ah mais.

hehe...still haven't gone back to work...decided to see the pics that you gals have sent but i've not had time to view...

pris... i like the pics in velvet and the one you and hubby in white. Golden couple leh

petrina... you have two wedding gowns? Thought i saw two different ones. Both looks good on you and exudes different "feel" .. if really have to choose it is the first one, brings out the elegance in you. I LOVE the red gown. PRETTY!

hehe...this time for real must go back to my work le..

huiz!!! your pics make me feel like dropping all work and just go on a hol to australia! SQ got promo, SGD60 to perth...mm...maybe i should persuade my hubby to go during the next long weekend. Nice pics, very vibrant colors. So pretty. You must be esctatic in spotlight.

Hi Li Ann,

Hey, don't work till so late yourself...12+ am, and you still have work to attend to. Take care too...

Haha, Li Ann, u bet man. I was so reluctant to come home when the 2 weeks of hols ran out. It's always a novelty to be in a new place and I am really curious to experience their lifestyle. Yah, I heard about the SQ promo. Wa, 1st time they so "magnanimous" ah. Hope u can get a tic really fast and quick!

Haha, I couldn't give Spotlight a miss. Think I went to the one at Adelaide 2x and another similar establishment, Lincraft in both Sydney and Adelaide 3x.... hehe...

Btw, I also realise that the companies are really slow in replying to applications or they are simply looking for the type of people who are certainly not me. No news from them for a lonnng time! My goodness. I just hope that they are simply slow in working :S

huiz and li ann: i think the 60 promotional tix are all sold out. i tried them yesterday. left with penang and its selected flight only. u gotta fly out by 24th may. it doesn't coincide with the long weekend.

nellie...not able to log in to ebuddy. slow...
anyways...half a day gone le. Shouldnt be too difficult to wait for 530pm to come.

My colly super on. She talked about cooking sweet soups in the office and we thought she was joking. Really go and buy a slow cooker and ingredients! Now the white fungus and red date soup is slowly brewing next to me! Smell damn good, makes me hungry already. Skin can get mei mei le

ah mais...

need your advice.

seems like all of you are on this multiply thing. hehe... i'd like to create one for my hubby as a birthday surprise for him. It is to put down all events that have happened since we met till what's happening in our daily lives in pictires.

Do you think this is a great idea? Lance, from a guy's point of view, would you like it?

Maybe the guys will not think it is a great deal, but it is a GREAT deal for me, considering how dumb i can get when it comes to IT or anything with technology.

Am also thinking of making a scrapbook instead since cutting and pasting should be easier. But more costly :P

What do you all think?

Li ann - that's so sweet of you to do this for your hubby. you can also create a hardcopy 'cover page ' (like a poster) of the multiply website. On the poster, display the website address and tell him to login.

my hubby sent me an email weeks ago telling me what he want for his birthday. I haven't even told him mine yet. (mine is b4 him). He wants to me to bake a cake for me. OMG!!!

Li Ann, Multiply is a very very user friendly website, so I reckon it'll be a very very good start for u. Scrapbooking is costly and time consuming, from my point of view. I had been wanting to start one for my HM, but hadnt start yet. Haha.

Hey Nellie, do u mean your hubby asked u to bake a cake for him for his bday? ;-P

wow Nellie! That is such a good idea!
okie... think i need to put on my thinking cap and get creative!

I have a recipe for making cheesecakes without baking. VERY easy!

I tried making the blueberry cheesecake (first time) and it really taste good. You can vary the taste by using lemon or peanut butter or nutella instead. And as for the base, can use oreo cookies instead of digestive biscuits.

I also have the recipe for baking cheesecake if you prefer. But more work cos got to add egg.

For cheesecake recipe without baking, see:

http://www.rthk.org.hk/elearning/dessert/cake_bbcheesecake.htm

For cheesecake recipe with baking, see below:

Material
9†empty baking tray round type

Cake
3 eggs (small)
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
2 cake philidephia cream cheese (approx $4.20 per cake)
¾ cup sugar (rice cup)

Base
Cookies (3/4 big cup), 1/3 cake butter (A*A brand)

Process

Base
Pound cookies
Melt butter but cannot chao tar
Cookie mixed into butter
Lay on base of tray
Chilled in fridge

Content
Use blender
Cream cheese must soften in room temp for 30 mins (but not melted)
Blend all eggs + essence + cheese until liquid
Pour into tray
Preheat oven to 190 degrees (allow 5 mins)
Bake in oven 190 degree for 29 mins
At 28 mins must check to see burnt. If burnt sign must off oven and leave door open
Cool to room temp
Put in fridge for at least 2 hours

Best Served with coffee with milk and without sugar

Yum yum I love cheesecakes!! Oh ya, I suggest baking the cheescake over a water bath to prevent the top from cracking up like an earthquake shaken ground ;-P

No prob, Nellie

What my friend recommend was tat you keep checking the cake to see if got signs of cake getting chao da, if yes, then quickly switch off and open up oven door.

If the top part is really not nice, she usually spread blueberry jam or Hersheys chocolate or nutella on top of the cake to hide the ugly part. hee. that should do the trick.

I'm experimenting with tiramisu next.

Lance, I tried MM 2 years back, but it was at the bigger ballroom. Food was not bad. Seems like this Wendy is able to accomodate to your needs. This is good. BTW, what is your new date now?

Pris, my mum only asked for 18 boxes of cakes as GDL. But if you wish to buy those traditional GDL stuff, try the temp market opp SGH or Beauty World. Both offer great varieties and prices are reasonable.

Li Ann, that's very sweet of u! Multiply is user-friendly, u do not require any IT skills to get things moving. Just sign on as a member and u can start your uploading right away. Don't forget to include us as your contacts orr.. :p
No worry abt the job applications. The market is picking up. Keep trying!

Wow, so many posts!

Li Ann: If I was your hubby, I would love the multiply thingy. I wish my FW do one for me too, but she is not IT savvy, so I did one for us instead. Ours is still quite bare, as I haven't looked through on how to use it yet.
And thanks for the recipe! I love cheesecakes. I will ask my FW to do one for me to try. Ha ha!
Tiramisu sounds good too! Share the recipe ya?

iViED: My date is 13 Sept 2008. Chinese month is 8th month. I am discussing the stuff with my parents and we hope to conclude everything by this week. I having a headache liao.

If all ah mais got recipe to share, please post and share because i like cooking too. Here is a recipe for making the pizza dough i would like to share. Very nice.

1 ¾ teaspoon dried yeast
1 ¼ teaspoon of salt
a pinch of sugar
335ml warm water
125ml olive oil
500gm bread flour

Method

1. dissolve yeast with warm water
2. add salt and sugar (stir it thoroughly)
3. sieve flour into a bowl, add olive oil – knead into dough
4. foil the dough for 1hr for it to rise
5. make into mould and then add topping
6. temp set to ? for 20 mins.

The temperature i forgot already, but normally i set to somewhere in the middle. Enjoy baking!

I am on exam leave next week. Hooray!

Lance...your recipe comes timely cos we are cooking pasta and pizza for our mothers (my mum and hubby's mum and auntie) on this coming Sunday.
One stone kills three birds.

Was toying with the idea of getting those ready to bake pizza base from cold storage :p

oh btw, ah mais and ah gor, don't know whether you got watch this variety program about where to source for budget finds, hosted by Quan Yi Feng and this other young chap. There is this place that sells wholesale seafood at wholesale price. It's called: Fassler. Located at 46 Woodlands Terrace (of Woodlands Avenue 9). Smoked salmon and scallops at very cheap prices. And to top off the good deal further, fresh salmon and tuna fish heads are free for you t hand carry home as long as you purchase something from them. The fish heads are the leftovers from the processing.

Haven't been to the place yet but will check it out this Sat.

Check out this website for more info: http://fassler.info/

Lance, you can get the tiramisu recipe from this website:
http://www.rthk.org.hk/elearning/dessert/cake_bbcheesecake.htm

You can get recipes of cheesecake of different flavors from this website.

Enjoy baking!

lance - u are one rare guy who luvs cooking!

*cough cough* me having a bag throat today.. coughing like shitz.. haiz.. tink weather no good.. gona drink my liangteh now..

Lance: My school's annual teachers' day dinner was at MM last year and it was in the Vanda ballroom.
The coordinator/manager (Meng Wen) is my uni friend and perhaps you can look for her to negotiate for better deals. Say you were recommended by me. Haha... The food is not bad but i found the ceiling quite low. Also didn't like the paintings of birds on the walls. Even the VIP tables has plates with bird motifs on them! But the service is good...and the reception area is very private.

Ivy: I double checked with my mom today...she wants those traditional type of Teochew Xi Bing.

Li Ann: Thanks! My bor lao will steal the limelight from me on our AD...i always thought he's the better-looking one between the 2 of us. Haha. Your recipe sounds cool...will try it out during the school hols.

Stacy: Welcome back!!! Hope to see your Italy pics soon.

Btw, i just collected my invitation cards yesterday and no problems.
Very happy with them. Also went to check on the flat renovation yesterday...the ID said my in-laws & hb can move back this coming Saturday! I'm so excited...after my AD, will definitely hold a gathering/housewarming & invite everyone.

Oh...just to share a pic of my SDJ. The half-tennis diamond bracelet is not shown in this pic.

480583.jpg

My MIL bought this from Poh Heng & i picked out the items myself. Luckily she was fine with white gold and she was generous enough to buy me Si Dian Zuan.

I'm sick... diarrhoea and vomit... need painkillers to stop the pain else i can't make it to see the doctor. so unlucky...

Pris - you SDZ is very nice.

Lance - good luck to your exams.

Hey Lance, all the best in your exams...

Pris, not bad leh...Very nice. Actually, I find Poh Heng has some really nice designs.

Nellie, oh dear...hope you are feeling better already...

Hey Nellie, same here. I had diarrhoea yesterday too. Was so tired out that I went to sleep at 9. U take good care ok? Hope u can get well for us to meet up tomorrow

Hubby tried calling for a doctor to make house-call... can't find. Almost wanted to call for ambulance. Really bad pain till unable to leave the house. Luckily my pain killers from KKH works. managed to leave the house to see a GP.

No worries, I'll still be able to meet you gals for lunch tmr. see ya

morning all.. *cough cough*

im on mc today.. bad cough.. whole nite cant zzz until i had to sit up in bed coz breathe very xingku.. juz came back frm dr.. doubly sianz..

pris - ur jewel pcs nice.. rem muz wear on AD to show to relatives and folks ya..

nellie/huiz - take care too.. everyones falling sick.. my hub oso mc today, bad flu..

Hi Ah Mais who had gone for their ps, i will be going for mine pretty soon and will like to know any advice to take note or bring along? Greatly appreciate.

Nellie, janf, Huiz: Take care and have more rest! When you recover, can go and have a feast.

Huiz, CSI: I taking CIA, self study. Don't study will fail. I hope i can pass. Ha ha.

Li Ann: Have fun making the pizza dough. Nothing beats making it yourself (even if it doesnt taste exactly the same as pizza hut). After my exams i gonna try Tiramisu with my FW. I can't wait to eat. Yum yum.

Pris: 'Meng Wen'? Ok, I will go ask ask if i meet the lady next time. Maybe can get a better deal. Thanks! Your SDJ looks good? How much did they cost? Hmmm...I wonder if i need to get for my FW, because she not chinese.

Btw, how do you all find Hilton Hotel? One of my friends just mentioned that they are quite good. Its cheaper than MM.

I've never attended a wedding at Hilton, but my fren held his wedding at Hilton (I got to know this fren after he got married 2 yrs ago). He said it's not bad, quite nice. His only grouse is that the carpark is a little small. It's ok if you dun have much guests who drive, and there's a public carpark near by (just round the corner behind Far East - opposite Wheelock). But otherwise, I remember him saying that Hilton's not bad...

Wah Stacy, still can't get the italian out of the mind? hahaha...Ciao...

Hi Shalomzoe, the most important thing to bring is Water. depending where your outdoor shoot will be, you might need insect repellent.

yes i am

in case your lunch is late during your PS. you might want to bring some biscuits or bread to munch in between.

Noted Nellie...anything else... ; ) Thinking of getting a battery operated fan...the weather is very warm these days...Kinda upset now...have 2 pimples on my face now...haiz

that's a good idea too.

oh dear, pimples! you must have enough rest and drink plenty of water. eat more fruits and veg. don't think too much. i'm sure your pimples will go off before your PS.

Shalomzoe, bring along a few straws too so that when u drink water, u will not affect the lipstick and the makeup

Nellie, Janf & Huiz: Get well soon! Drink more fluids & rest well...

Lance: I'm not too sure bout Hilton but if you have guests who are taking MRT, it's quite a long walk for them.
As for my SDJ, the total cost is slightly above $6K...it depends on whether your parents want to give your FW a set because my parents didn't request for it. My MIL insisted on giving me SDJ...she's very generous.

Shalomzoe: When is your PS? Where are you going for your outdoor shoot?
Bring tissue paper along to BLOT (don't wipe!) your perspiration away. Sleep well the night before & have loads of fun during your PS.

Dear Pris and the rest of Ah Mais, thanks for all your tips...it's very helpful. Prob be going to Sentosa. PS is this Wednesday...Hopefully the weather will be nice and cooling...heh

hi all ahmais... hehe seems that i only free to visit this webby once a week...

Lots going on here... juz to update.. i went for my PS last sat. did all the necessary preparations.. no pimples, put mask every other day, drank lots water (skipped water on friday frm 8pm on) didn't eat meat for a week..

i thought i was in tiptop condition... then, my FH decided to watch spiderman on friday nite (after my mani& pedi).. i thought it was fine as i'm well prepared. (btw, the show sucks) made me even madder...

I started sneezing during 2nd half of the show, i tot it was cold so i shrug it off.

Next morn, i was fine except for some small sniffles..

After 2nd change of clothes, i felt cold.. *very cold* neck n body became achy... *1st sign of fever*

haha - at last i had fever juz after my 2nd clothes change... haiz... how? gotta carryon.. my FH bought panadol flu for me, took 2, but useless..

Went to art museum & botanic gdns for my outdoor.. super tired n threw lots of tantrum due to my fever n discomfort.. but i managed to crack a smile for the camera.. *phew*

when i reached home, i took my temperature.. *gasp* 39.8 Deg cel...

woah, not bad, i lasted a day of photoshoot w/o fainting...
after, i went to c a doc n took a jab on my butt..

Till this moment, i'm still having fever though i down several tablets already...

moral: take care of appearance is impt. health is more impt... i didn't eat much 4 fear of gaining inches, though my face was radiant *thank god* inside me i felt like sh*t throughout the whole day..

Li Ann - thks for the compliment... the bustier gown is my actual day gown.. the spagetti gown is my outdoor PS gown.. red gown is my evening gown..

Nellie: u gals meeting for lunch on tue? have fun... C u all on 25th may..

Petrina, hope u are feeling much better now. Yah, need to eat no matter what. But thankfully everything went well for u
Have u fixed your AD? Heard from u the last time that it'll be in Sept? If so, then u must be taking your PS early

And yes, Nellie, CSI and I are meeting for lunch tomorrow

morning mais.. im still sick but crawled to work.. gona clear my work this am and go back later.. no voice now and running a high fever of 39 last nite.. brains nearly got cooked.. hub had to sponge me..

hello everyone..seems like so many of you are unwell or were unwell...do take good care...

nellie and gals: i will see if i can make it to raffles place to join you gals cos i need to buy a financial calculator from raffles place later. will give u gals u buzz if i can make it.

lance: hilton's ballroom has been renovated. it's not too bad. we celebrated my ex boss' birthday in march. the food is quite nice. but super limited parking and it's v challenging to park even when u secure a lot! i think they only have 60 lots at most???