Hainanese Brides, anyone???

petrina - juz saw ur pics.. i like the off-shoulder WG.. ur makeup looks good too.. dun worie, u are in safe hands of Lynn.. =)

nellie: pix seems nice but i can't go. still on probation man. hehe.

i attended two weddings lately. one at 4 seasons last sat and the other one was at r**dezvous hotel on monday nite. think the latter really sucked big time. 1) parking was a big problem. the hotel parking was full. tried parking at the adjacent building but the attendant told me that the car park closes at 10.30pm so i have to remove my car by then. tried parking at 3rd building but could only find lots on the 5th level. since it was a service apartment cum office building, the lift access was out of bounds to us. had to walk down entire flight of stairs in my heels. 2) super big pillar in the ballroom and the couple used rose ball for the VIP tables which meant that we couldnt see the couple clearly 3) food was lousy 4) service was average 5) wine also sucked 6) projector was at the back of the room so each time they projected something, we had to turn our heads around 7) groom's dad, groom's dad's friends, emcee and bride's friends sang..think they must have sang more than 15 songs...haha

1st time going for dinner and the guests were talking about supper before the dinner even ended

Oh my goodness, Sherrie, the dinner was indeed really awful. Didn't expect Rend to be so bad! And the dinner sounded more like a karaoke session.

Wah Nellie really mood liao... i also wanna go holidays!

sherrie: how did you find 4 seasons? i going to visit it later. Need to know some feedback abt it.

Huiz: So, good makeup suppose to look natural?

Btw, have any ah mai attended wedding dinner at Raffles Hotel? I heard the service is not very good. My FW and I are going to finalize our decision for hotels this weekend. We need advice please... lots of advice.

my gf chose crescent ballroom. the decor and set up on stage was very nice, especially coupled with the high ceiling. she only invited 12 or 13 tables at max. i dunno about the room's capacity cos the other room was partitioned and used by another couple. food was quite nice except for the duck which was v tough (u can change it to something else). even the most "civilized" of the lot had to use his fingers to eat it. the wasabi prawns were especially refreshing and nice. i think per table is easily more than 1k +++ for four seasons so u should perhaps zoom down your choices and see what you want to have for a certain pricing?

never been to raffles hotel for wedding dinner before.

Thanks sherrie, points noted. Actually i am looking at packages that cost 1k before +++.

Actually i am quite fond of Orchard Hotel if not for the risk of APs getting stolen.
We need to choose somewhere more private. Haiz.

Nellie, you like beaches a lot? I see all the places you choose all beaches. Heh heh.

I cant go too, still on probation as well.

Petrina, offsetting the price of the fabric, her workmanship costs around $280 to $400, depending on the complexity of the design. Mine costs $460 (inclusive of lining and inner satin) coz its heavily beaded so requires lots of hard work to sew.
I shall go home to see your pretty gowns. Now still at work

Lance, Orchard Hotel is not a bad choice. I do not really see much of a prob of people stealing the ang bao box. Just ensure that u have people standing guard at the receptionist table. For me, I have assigned one JM specifically to take care of ang bao box only. Then 3 bodyguards to protect her when she is carrying the box to the bridal room.
Looking at your budget, it is not too difficult to decide a banquet venue. But have you consider the wine/liquor/beer charges together with the per table cost? I like the atmosphere at Four Seasons too. Oriental is good too. Are u referring to Raffles Hotel (being bought over now) or the Swisotel or Raffles the Plaza? I tried Raffles the Plaza 2 years back, not too good though.

Ooh, so many messages!!!

Firstly and most importantly, CONGRATS CSI!!! You must be very happy...was it planned??? Must take good care of your body & take more tonics. So happy for you!

Nellie: I have not been to Malacca for many many years. Perhaps i should go someday.

Both our families met to discuss the GDL stuff over the weekend. My mom asked for 8 tables & my in-laws obliged. My mom don't want cakes, she wants the traditional Hainanese kueh/Xi Bing to give our relatives. My MIL asked for a potty, a basin & a peculiarly-shaped flask. Must ask her to show me a pic else i also don't know where to buy! Everything went smoothly...*phew*

Will be collecting my invites soon. Must start to work out my guest list already!

Wow Pris, your MIL is still so traditional to ask for these things. What is the flask meant to represent?

Lance, I think the angpow being stolen incident was more like a one time freak incident? I am sure this does not happen during every wedding? I agree with Ivied. The responsibility is on us ourselves to take very good care of the AP box.

On the topic of make up, I think to me, good make up is not only natural, but need to match the skin colour thus giving it a nice glow? It is certainly not something that is too wayang lor

Hey Pris, is your mum talking abt Yi Buah? I ordered from a lady in AMK b4, lemme know if u need the contacts. Looking at your GDL list, though traditional, it is not too much to ask for. So happy for u.

Yeap, natural make up will give a everlasting look too. I find that the 'nice glow' actually comes from within. No matter how good the MUA is, if you do not sleep well, is tensed up and under nourished, he/she is not able to do any magic for you as well. So just relax b4 the BIG day!

loinky, the next gathering is on 25 May, Fri.

petrina, good choice on that red EG.

Lance - i really love beaches. maybe i like to 'nua'... that's why.

Pris - we can arrange a 2D1N trip to Malacca over the weekend one of these days. Stacy also had a contact on the Yi Buah, think it's located at Bedok. There's a shop in Chinatown selling wedding/GDL stuff. You may want to check it out. I bought a lot of wedding stuff there.

Good morning ah mais!

Wah, i went to four seasons yesterday and I was so impressed with the ballroom. My FW also say she see the ballroom she don't want any other places liao. But then the hotel is way off my dad's budget, as i calculated to be close to 1.1k (not including beverages) before GST on a weekend. Haiz.
Going to see Marina Mandarin later, hope its nice.

iViED, Huiz: I already told my two twin sisters they are in charge of the AP box. I think i need to find bodyguards for them now. Ha ha.
Yup, i am talking about the raffles hotel, not the plaza. The plaza i don't think we meet the min. table requirement.

Actually i like orchard hotel too. But my FW doesn't really like the idea of a wedding next door to ours. But we have limited choices in hotel selection as we have only a few tables. In addition, i think our date is quite hot because raffles hotel and waterfront already have people making tentative bookings on our date.

Hmmm... iViED, can enlighten me on what is Yi Buah and GDL?

Pris, feeling better liao? Did you go see the yearbook?

Ha ha Nellie, I also like to nua. Malacca trip sounds good. I can bring my FW.

Hi Lance,

Hope u can find the ideal place soon

And oh, yi bua is a traditional Hainanese kueh. It's has a white glutionous skin that wraps a brown sugar coconut filling. Tastes super delicious when eaten steaming hot.

GDL = Guo Da Li. It's this traditional pre wedding ceremony where the groom's family brings the wedding gifts and pin jin to the bride's family.

Phew, I just spent the whole morning mopping the whole house and scrubbing the 2 toilet floors. Feel so therapeutic to see everything clean ;-P

hi ah mais!

Wah, missed so many posts!

Thank you all for your well wishes!
Thank you, thank you...

Aiyah, my in-laws seem "ok" only leh. hehs. they already have 2 grandsons (1 is 1 yr old, the other is only 3 mths old) to play with. :p

Oh Nellie, so sorry. I only just saw your message. Pai seh....next Tuesday ok for you? Hopefully it doesn't rain like it is now...otherwise also dunno where to go to eat.

Hey Pris, it's good that your list is not that long.
So you dun have to stress too much over it. The potty etc, can get from Chinatown. My ma bought all that for me from there.

hmmm...was it planned? erm, yah, kind of. hehs. We planned not to prevent it (religion forbids that anyway), and just 顺其自然 (did I write it correctly? my cheena quite bad one).

Lance, i think 4 seasons is really nice...wanted to hold our wedding at 4 seasons too, but (a) ballroom was a bit too small (max is 32 tables) for the number of guests we had. (b) We were a bit put off by the way they charge item by item. Eg. seat covers is $2 per chair. Microphones also charged separately. yucks.

If you like purple, Marina Mandarin would be nice. It has purple carpets, brown back drop on the stage. And the waiters will dance for you when presenting the 1st dish (that is, if htey haven't changed that. Last wedding attended there was May 06). They also have a few ballrooms...

Huh CSI, Four Seasons charges for chair covers and mics?? One chair cover for $2 that means if we have 400 guests, $800 bucks will be blown on chair covers? That's enough to pay for one table. This really doesnt make sense :S

Huiz, having a clean place is always therapeutic. I just cleaned my room on Tuesday too. It felt really good seeing a clean room. But i ended up making the house quite wet. I don't think i have eaten the yi bua before... hmmm.. need to go back ask my father.

CSI, 4 seasons really a bit pricey due to the way they charge for items. They don't provide projectors and a lot of other stuff too. I heard quite a lot of good things on MM, its quite popular.

Lance, I think your dad should know about the yi bua. They are also rather common in the market now. But then again, those are the mass produced in factories kind so they are expectedly not as nice as the handmade ones. The other Hainanese "kueh" is this thing called "lup". It's something like the Malay ketupat, but the filling is made up of glutionous rice and a bit of meat (this is the kind that I tried in Hainan last time)

CSI - I'm ok next tue. What is your lunchtime? Olio Dome ok?

Huiz - you want to join us?

Anyone else?

'Lup' is also available in SIN. my mum ordered 'lup' thru my aunt for my housewarming.

you cannot cut the lup, must peel off the leaf one by one.

Nellie, u gals meeting for lunch next Tue? What time and where? Ya, I should be free to meet up then. Keep me updated okie?

i love to eat "lup" man. my grandma used to make them when she was younger. nellie: where can u buy them in sgp?

loinky: hope to see u then!

lance: can u bargain for them?

i "bargained" for 2 projectors for my guests. i requested for another wireless mic in addition to the mic from the podium cos my female mc's much shorter than the male mc.

sherrie: I not sure can bargain or not. But i think when i confirm when i want four seasons then i call them to bargain.

Huiz: Wah, sounds yummy. I super hungry now, even after lunch. I only ate fish bee hoon. Lup sounds like 'ba zhang', very filling.

Hmmm... where are most of you working at? So steady, can meet for lunch.

Both me and CSI are working in Raffles Place. Huiz, at the moment is a housewife.

Sherrie - which branch are you working at?

haha. i am not at RP else i would have initiated lunch with u gals already! i am at hdb hub. my office is there. i am not attached to any branch. it's 1 min train ride from my house. hehe. but currently i am at tampinese undergoing training.

hi Nellie,

eh, can refresh my memory...where's Olio Dome ah? hahaha. My lunch time is anytime between 12 to 2. Yah Huiz, join us leh...

Lance, MM is nice and has a good location. Walking distance from City Hall MRT also not very far and sheltered all the way. Hope you get your ideal location...

raining raining raining..

hi mais+boy.. yesh, lup is nice!

sherrie - WenJin said he saw u in RP last wk.. me, TH, wenjin and chris went to watch alan tam in concert over the wkend..

lance - i work in dohby ghaut area..

wonder when stacy's back..

stacy seems to have gone for a long time while we re still slogging away..hehe..training on the CRM system. so boring

janf: yeah saw him last mon when i went to RP for orientation. joked with him saying that each time i am in a different job, he seems to be in another one too. is he seeing anyone now?

lance: i had a piece of carrot cake from coffee beans for lunch only. starving now.

huiz: are u looking around for jobs or planning to be a homemaker for some time? i wish i can be a homemaker for a few months too..

Hoho, my new PC has arrived and I am glad I managed to wire it up myself. Using it now ;-P

Yes, Nellie and CSI, I will be there. 12pm at the Olio at RP UOB Plaza?

Sherrie, I think Stacy will be away for about 2 weeks too? I am actively looking for jobs ah. I am feeling rather wasted staying at home for too long. Still waiting for the potential bosses to call. So sian sitting around waiting. Can get really demoralising

oh yah! Olio Dome at UOB Plaza...I forgot it exists there. hahaha. OKie. 12 pm, can...

Huiz, u know UOB Plaza 1? There's a link from the RP MRT station. sheltered all the way. The UOB Bank is in UOB Plaza 2. Plaza 1 is the one on the other side, facing the bank. The one nearer the Boat Quay Mac's.

haha sherrie, he oso juz chg job ya.. now in CIMB.. not tat we know of.. but that bunch of guys really chiam!, all swinging bachelors and not in the least kancheong of finding a mate! HongChang, Chris, WenJin etc..

i dun mind being homemaker for few mths too but i tink can go kuku if stay too long at home.. somemore i cant cook, unlike huiz can whip up a decent meal.. if bor-lao depends on me to fill his tummy, tink he faintz liao.. hhaha!

Haha yes Nellie, I went back to read the previous messages and realised its at UOB. So I went back to edit my last post. I think I should be able to make my way there. UOB Plaza rather prominent. So ok la, I shall c u gals at Olio at 12 then

Yes Sherrie, I will still be going back to work in healthcare firstly because I am interested in this line and secondly, I have invested so much to study something pertaining to this industry that I need to make back the $$$ I have put in ;-P

Haiz, my building just kena fire drill. Waste 30mins of my time, when i have a report to finish.

Wah, you all at RP, i at Clarke Quay here. Its like so far away. RP have so many places to eat lunch, so good. I wish i still work somewhere near there.

Hey all...

Huiz: Ya, she asked for potty & basin but she said no need traditional metal design type. Haha.

Ivy: I don't know what is "yi buah"...do you have a pic? Can share your contact where you bought all the traditional GDL stuff?

Lance: I forgot to go check the yearbook! Haha, it's really such a coincidence that we are from the same batch in the same JC. Haha...we're the juniors of Stacy & Huiz!
Btw, Marina Mandarin ballroom is nice! Very grand & pillar-less.

Tdragons sent me a SMS today...my invites & inserts are ready for collection! Will be collecting them this Saturday. Then my ID said, all my lightings will be installed today. So i'll also be popping by the flat this weekend. Handover is next week!

I'm looking forward to our next gathering!

Hi ah mais, the trip to MM was well worth it. The lady who attended to me and my FW was called Wendy. She was nice and accomodating. The Vanda Ballroom (5th flr) is small but cozy. There were no chandeliers and high ceilings but it gave us a good vibe as it was a private area. There are 2 pillars in the ballroom, but they do not pose any blockages at all.

However, the food is not from the restaurant. But the lady did mention that the chef is a FT employee of the hotel and has 20 years of exp.

I reckon we are going to put MM as our 1st choice now because the lady gave us quite a good deal overall (everything included at a nett price).

I would like to confirm with MM asap too because there is already a tentative booking on my date.
But i couldn't decide without seeking all the ah mais advice first. Please advice me, is the food at MM ok? Does anybody have experience with the Vanda Ballroom?