Hainanese Brides, anyone???

i think the number of wishes they give to u is based on your total number of tables (cos they will tabulate their estimated revenue) and whether u are taking weekday or weekend package. have u signed on the dotted line already? if u have, i think its better not to compare

shalomzoe: i guess u can always try your luck. u might just get lucky! btw, i think food tasting is usually done abt 1 month to 1 month's plus before the actual day. food tasting day is from monday to thursday only (weekends are out). they will pass u a feedback form. they will prepare either menu A or menu B for your for food tasting. u certainly can't try both.

I am back, but not in Sg. Back in the Auckland airport setting off for Sydney now. Wa, so many posts during the past few days. Time is running out on my internet kiosk now. Will read when I get back. Have a great week ahead everyone. Byeee and I'll be back... haha

hi mais+gor!, im back!!

luvly jepun! saw sakura and managed to reach 5th station at mt fuji! it was soooo cold and snowed there..

pris - i din recd ur pics tho??

okie, me go bzy first.. later log on again..

janf: You saw snow! Must be very nice. Which city did you go?

shalomzoe, sherrie: May i ask what are wishes?

Have a good day everyone! Its Thursday, which means one more day to weekends!

Hey Li Ann, thanx for the notes. I actually copied and saved them in my pc for references. Very useful information.

Today is my last day at work. Kindof sad, but have to say good bye.

janf: So how was Japan? I miss the place SO much! The cherry blossoms were in full bloom last weekend. They are absolutely gorgeous!

LiAnn: Thanks for the informative read.

Janf: Glad you're back!!! Must share your pics ok?

Sherrie: Ya, sometimes i stand up suddenly will black out for a short while.

Yesterday i confirmed my num of tables with HIPV. Told my coordinator 31+2. Will be collecting my invitation cards this Saturday & will also print inserts. How is TDragons?

Sorry to those still waiting for my PS pics...mind sending an email to me so i know who exactly? ([email protected]) Thanks!

janf - wow, u really enjoyed urself. Share with us more when u log in again

nellie - going for ur HM soon ya! Next gathering we'll be able to exchange pics

Lydia - where have you been? MIA for quite a while. Oh, where r u now? Bk S'pore already?

Pris - A couple of us printed our inserts at Hi Tech (Blk 4010 Ang Mo Kio Ave 10 #03-01/02 Tech Place 1, Tel : 64589455). Cost for insert printing is $84(incl of GST) for 200pcs, if I've not remembered wrongly.

morning all.. TGIF! u know i really feel so sianz when i came to work yday.. heng this wk only work 2days if not can die..

lance - i went central jpn, covers osaka, kyoto, yokohama, nagoya, tokyo etc..

lydia - jpn nice but everythg is exp there.. juz a simple bowl of ramen oredi cost 600yen.. can see the std of living is really high.. but its a very clean country.. toilets clean streets clean..

yesh yesh!, will upload the fotos this wkend if got time.. yday i went to dev the fotos so can collect later and tonite i can happily slot into album liao.. =)

next wk is nellie's turn to got HM rite?

huiz muz be enjoying herself now.......

Wah janf, you went to so many places. Must be super fun.

We will be in for a treat at the gathering liao. So many ah mais got photos to share.

Stacy: My hotel's cards are with TDragons and so, my FH thought we'll just save the trouble & print our inserts with them. :p Their website quote is $100 for 200 pcs.

Janf, Sherrie, Lance & Li Ann: I have sent my photos to you. Pls check ok?

Nellie: Pls remember to bring sunblock to Krabi & if you can, a sun hat too!

Btw...check out my left hand. The ligaments in my thumb got injured but i didn't know how or when it happened. Went for tui na & the physician bandaged up my hand. Luckily can remove it tomorrow evening.
473422.jpg

Good morning everybody, it's finally my turn to go HM. Went shopping after manicure yesterday, I didn't manage to get my beachwear.
kao_cry.gif
Have to continue my search later.

Pris - my hubby also injured his left hand, ligament strained. your bandaged hand looks so serious... got to take care.

a lot of posts to catch up. just done with a hectic week. more hectic weeks upcoming with e kids' exams coming...

nellie, ur turn to go HM! have fun!

still see stacy's photos on the homepage. cool!

pris, take good care of your hand. my hand still recovering too. took off e splint not long ago. now wear wrist wrap when doing my marking. started physio @ SGH then discover hand not as strong as before. wrist also can't bend too much, else painful.

gosh pris.. ur bandage looks serious.. how cum ligament tear?? to do wif ur teaching in sch?

yup hv recd ur pics.. meimei leh.. awaiting the full set when u collect ur album!

hello all ah mais,

such a long time since i last dropped in tis thread. abit paiseh, i was kind of lazy to shuttle between two threads, always go to dec'07 brides thread.

now also busy with reno coz we bought an EA thru last Nov WIS. now our EA is into 2nd week of reno.

Nellie: Have fun at Krabi! Enjoy your HM!

Pris: Ligament strain must eat more meat and drink more milk, so will heal faster. Also use the 'green grass oil' aka 'qing cao you', and ask your FH to rub for you when bandages come off. Last time i play rugby always get ligament injury one. It normally takes about a month to fully recover after removing the bandages. Take care ok?

mosburger: You also got injury? Must take care ok?

So sad everyone got injuries. Haiz. Today one of my colleagues also fall sick. Office got nobody to talk to me. So sad.

hi ah mais!
I'm back....hehs.

Nellie, have fun on your HM!!

Pris, wah...your bandage looks serious manz. better take care and rest that hand more.

Mosburger, take care too...yah, usually it's the case. Once we sustain any injury, it's like, that part is not "original" liao. So it is weaker than before. Slowly...can strengthen it, but take care not to strain it again.

lance and CSI, thanks. i got injured in sept last year. haa... so can imagine how bad a muscle injury can get. in fact, for my case, i went to see chinese physician for acupunture, and i can't rub on it. it swells if i rub it, coz it's my writing hand and i mark continuously with it. e 'jin' already go haywire kind of. now it is taking very long to recover.

pris, i suggest check with physician can rub or not. not all injury can rub. i also rub on my own then it got worse.

lance, u actually played rugby? u must be from either ACJC or SAJC last time?

anyway, i'm on medical leave tdy. rushed two videos over two weekends... cannot take it liaoz... head was so heavy when i woke up early this morning... then found out my other colleague, e other i/c of video, also on MC tdy. haha, what does it say abt e kind of workload we are having? getting more and more tired... sleeping early is wishful thinking.

Hello everyone,

I'm now at the Budget Terminal. My flight will take off at 1335. Looking forward to my HM.

Will be back on 21st Apr.

Take Care!!!

mosburger: Ha ha, i not from ACJC nor SAJC. I was from TJC. Our rugby team very young, we got no experience, so everytime after a match my team sure got injuries (head kena step on, hand kena flatten).

Pris: Pai sei, I agree with mosburger, i think better don't rub first. I forgot i am a guy, so in my case i rub until swell also never mind. Ha ha. I think you just take more rest should be fine.

Li Ann's post is abit scary... seems like i gotta eat salad n drink plain water frm now on...

I finished my gown choosing... *finally**

juz came back frm the CEE weekend...
CSI: did u go for the CEE weekend or the MPC course?

terrible place but meaningful as everything was trashed out during the 3days...

Loinky & salomzoe: my cousin got married in 2004, took In Wedding... but they spent ard $10k there, after all top-ups etc...

They say the pics make them look like wax statues. personally seen the pics, alright only... gowns not partically nice or anything... i think abt 40 pages? magazine album type. i kinda forgot already... seen once only.

hi petrina!

How was it?
I went for both. hahahaha...we enjoyed EE more...We went for EE not coz we wanted to get married. To us, EE was more for "finding out more abt each other (yeah, after 6 years) and decide if we want to continue the r'ship". So after EE, we decided yah, we could be together and decided to get married. So that's when we decided to go for MPC. MPC was really more the "marriage preparation" for us. hehs...

It's a terrible place coz it's old...but being old, it has it's own character. ME House is already much better than it was 6 years ago...hahaha. I am involved in CHOICE, which used to hold their retreats at ME House last time...

G'day mates! I'm on to the last leg of my trip. Am at the Sydney domestic on my way to Adelaide now. How's everyone been? Hope everyone's been getting on fine. Nellie's off to Krabi I suppose and Janf's back? Hope Nellie's having a great time and Janf's had a very memorable trip too.

Free and easy is really great. Get to see the things that tour groups will not bring u to. Been on the trains and buses and had and a very good experience of their daily lives.

Ok, that's all for now. More when I am back. Take care!

Ooh, so many posts...
updates bout hand -- I injured it last week at work moving the heavy amplifiers & speakers. Didn't expect the trolley to be so heavy so when i lifted it, i must have strained my ligament.
Went to my GP yesterday & he said the joint is inflammed so my left hand in back in a bandage & this time, he added a splint to my thumb. Now typing very slowly... luckily it's my left hand. Doc gave me MC till Wed.

Huiz: When will you be back?? Can't wait to see your pics!

Nellie: Enjoy your HM in Krabi...have fun!

Anyway, i printed my inserts last Saturday & also went to check on my flat reno progress. The electrician was there so we fixed all the locations of sockets & switches. Can't believe these things can be so expensive!!!
Then went to Balestier area to buy lightings. Was so tired...

ah mais!!! Good day!

Pris - chinese sinseh dun give mc, hehe..so smart of u, go for a GP. Have a good rest during your break. Oh, lightings for the whole hse can cost quite a lot manz, I remebered myself bargaining so hard for discounts. Locations of sockets n switches also one big headache. We were like "where to put this? n that? Haha!

Nellie - enjoying urself under the hot sun!! Wohoo, I can't wait for mine. Will fly off by the time Huiz's back.

Huiz - so sweet of u! Still thinking abt us during your holidays! Catch up with u soon.

Petrina - Think ivied nw in a new job..maybe she needs time to settle down 1st before she can join our forces again!

Janf - my colleague got a took so many pics of the toilet bowls in Japan, as if she go Japan to do research on that..hahaa! She was singing praises abt toilets in Japan. Waiting for ur pixs ya!

oh...i remember buying lightings at Balestier...

the lights were on the ceiling...after a while, neck ache ah!! have to keep looking up towards the ceiling to see the lights...and despite feeling tired, still must bargin hard. hahaha...it was tring, but it was fun lah.

Stacy: Ya, FH & i almost quarrelled cos he wanted to put so many extra sockets everywhere!!! *faints* In the end, the electrician quoted us a DISCOUNTED price of $3540. Discounted somemore...

CSI: Ya, we bought all our lights from Chan Huat. Agree with you bout shopping for lights... at the end, my neck muscles were so tired. We paid a total of $988 for the lights.

All our $$$ is flying away...

its good to have more sockets points. I will come handy. Got my lights at jalan besar..those were the days, tiring but fun bargaining!

CSI: ya, most prob we gg both... heard tat the MPC is fun. not sure, most ppl enjoyed the CEE more i think.

ya stacy: the toilets in japan is lovely but small. heard frm my colleague that it's much much smaller than spore public toilets...

Pris: Aiyoh, how come the teacher must carry things one? Should ask the school helpers to help next time.

Wah, all of you are either going HM or renovating house. So fun and interesting. I also want, haiz but i must wait so long.

pris, sorry if this came a bit late.. while shopping for my lights recently, i realised different branches of chan huat quotes differnt prices! some branches quoted cheaper than others... and the funny thing is, they are all located along the same stretch of balestier road!

i think the big one nearer the end of tan tock seng is the cheapest (at least for that one item i was looking for).

not that i went to compare but i saw one spotlight in that branch during my first visit but didn't buy immediately. when i decided, i went to the one on the other end but the price was way higher. so in the end me and FH took a slow walk back to our first branch and made this shocking discovery!

to the rest of brides out there... just to share. :P

Lance: No choice...no one was around and school cleaners in our school are not expected to help carry things. Their job scope is to clean. Weird right?

Jen: My ID brought us to the largest Chan Huat outlet. You're right, there're many outlets but MUST go to the largest one with 2 storeys. That's their main store & has the most designs.

Hi hi ah mais and ah gor. Me just started new job, new environment, had a total culture shock, now still thinking if I'm making the right move by switching industries. Currently no pc at work so can't log in during office hours. But I sure keep myself updated thru emails.

petrina, u looking for me? I have no access to MSN in office currently. Perhaps u can drop me an email and I shall reply you. U have my number too right?

okie, gotta get ready for work. Yes Stacy, me sure join back the force when I have settled down.
Now first week of work only have OT liao, aiyo....

mais - hv sent my jpn pics link to u all liao.. got a shot of an interesting toilet bowl.. the japs are really innovative and environmental saving..

Wah iViED, you wake up so early ah! First week of work i think should be like honeymoon (nothing to do), albeit the culture shock. Heh heh.

janf: I saw your pics, the scenery looks so nice. I like the Mickey Mouse bus. Look so futuristic, like rocket or something. The toilet bowl is so high tech also, got some handle bar with buttons on it. Did you try using all the knobs and buttons? I wonder what they are used for.

ivied: don't worry. we gotta move out of the comfort zone at times. i just tendered yesterday so yesterday was also my last day. i am starting my new job next monday. totally different industry too. hehe. i also dunno if i have MSN access at work from next week onwards. i am now checking mails from home. the feeling is so good. hehe...but OT for first week is super siong!

janf: the food all looks so good. how i wish i can go to japan soon.

wat sherrie?!, u no longer sell cars liao?! moving fwd sell wat?

their toilet bowls hi-tech leh.. i din try the diff buttons but bor-lao tried every single one at every hotels we stayed in! some are wash ur bums aft big biz.. some can warm the seat or duno wat lah!

i oso feel like going jpn again soon! haha.

yeah la. already sold three different brands of cars so far. will be doing home loans for bank soon. u will probably see me at showflats next time

hey ivied,
dun stress urself too much. it's just the beginning stage. when you get more used to the work, you'll feel better and maybe you dun have to do so much OT liao.

Wah sherrie, also moving. I just declined a new job offer. I must be mad. haiz. tell u all when we next meet lah...

So sherrie, u'll be working for a bank? hmmm...maybe next time when I need to refinance, can look for u. heehee...

Oops, missed out on iViED's last part. OT in first week is really too much. No HM period at all.

iViED: Don't stress, don't fret. Ask your hubby massage for you when u get home. I think when you settle down in your new workplace, life should be better. It can't possibly get worse. We must be positive.

sherrie: Next time i can look for you to take loan too!

Ivy: Don't get too stressed. A new work environment means having you adjust to the work culture, not to forget getting to know new people.

Sherrie: You also changed your job! Do let us know how things are after you start ok?? I'm also logging on at home, still on MC.

Lance, the so-called 'pay rise' is a one off thingy, somewhat like performance bonus. there's no monthly increment at all.

when i watch e news last night, i was amazed at how they phrase it, making everyone believe we are getting better pay. personally, i only think this is a prelude to more work with that one off dangling carrot.

I took this off channelnewsasia webby.

<font color="808080">"The GROW Package introduced last September represents the Ministry's commitment to ensure that teaching remains an attractive and satisfying career for our officers," said Mr Tharman. </font>

<font color="808080">"Adding the GROW Package measures to the recently announced performance-related payment from the Civil Service salary review, our Education Officers will receive a pay increase of between 5% and 8% in total (or 0.8 to 1.35 months of salary), without taking into account the increases due to promotion," he added.</font>

GROW package aims to ATTRACT trs. Note the word they use. last yr's GROW package they announce in news also affect NEW trs only. we're already in the system, so we dun get that either.