Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Then isn't it the same as what we MXOs are getting? I think we really are being shortchanged by this one off thingy, but like u said its better than nothing. Ha ha.

management executive officers

Lance: Like what mos has posted, the so-called increment is factored into the performance bonus. So technically, we ARE getting a pay raise with regards to our ANNUAL salary, not monthly salary.

Mos: I agree with you. They really know how to phrase the words & make it seem AS IF we're getting a lot more money. Somehow, MOE only seems interested in attracting new teachers but not retaining the current ones in service. Sian.

seems like that's the case for most organizations.

My company also...I've been with them for 3 yrs. Newbies today get same as what I'm getting now...like, hello?? What about us "loyal" staff? haiz....

ivy and sherrie...all the best in your new job! Wa.. you gals have the courage to take the first step hor? I've been procrastinating and procrastinating about moving on to a new job in same industry or move to another industry. Esp now that i just commit to a long term loan on my house, i cannot anyhow quit or switch industries (cos got paycut). Feeling kinda depressed. I've also given up a damn good opportunity to switch industry (luxurous brand marketing) dunno what was wrong with me. Then recently got another job posting (same industry but paying 1.5k more than my present job) and i am still hesitating... gosh... think i should apply for it?

Sigh... sigh... sigh...

After getting a house, i start to realise how easy money just go like that. Effortlessly. We have to budget and plan and save for the house reno. Heng my EC TOP only next year, that gives us some time to save up...else don't know how to manage.

But got to agree that shopping for furnitures and ID can be really fun! Everything also want but cannot afford. Ha!

Feeling disappointed...remember the AP project that i've been slogging over?? It's awarded to another company le... so sad... we spent so much effort on it... sigh...

Pris: Ha ha. Actually they quite clever to give it this way also. I went to see HIPV yesterday with my FW. The crystal ballroom is quite nice, especially the chandeliers. I think most probably we are going to choose that, because I told my FW I am tired of browsing through all the packages already . If she is happy with it, then we are set to go. But then, I heard some horror stories about the food. Btw, which theme did you choose Pris?

Mos, Pris: They want to attract new teachers because there is the bond? That means once attracted you are tied to MOE for 3 years. Ha ha. I agree they don't care about loyal employees anymore.

Nowadays here so quiet, everybody out on HM or holidays. But TGIF, we can all look forward to the weekend.

hihi!!! I finally got my pc at work!
Thanks for all your advices. It was indeed quite a culture shock for me especially when I attended those dreadful meetings. It was like watching a battle war between the Allies and the Axis. But then, this is what this industry is about, so I have to bear with it. :p

Li Ann, it takes a huge courage to move on, especially being stranded in your own enclosed area for a couple of years. But it is not necessary that there will be a pay cut should you switch industries, what matters is whether are u willing to take that step forward to say: I can!
If I were you, I will go ahead with the lucrative pay. Imagine 1.5k more than present leh, thats more than 40% pay increment?! But then, it boils down to whether you wish to stay put in this field or trying on another opportunity (like that brand marketing job)
All the best!

sherrie, you are brave leh! BTW, did your colleagues comment something like: "just get married and resign liao?" or "is it our ang bao not enough" or "is it we did not attend your wedding so u angry" blah blah blah...
I have heard many of such when I tendered. Especially I did it right after I came back from HM. haha.. But hor, they do make one point to me: I'm comfortably in the job liao, know the ins and outs of it, just married and baby is next in my agenda, so it may not be an appropriate time to move on. Morever, new job brings new stress and it is not good for pregnancy. hmm... But I just go ahead.

Pris, I guess everywhere is the same, irregardless private or public sector. Organizations operate differently but the payment scheme and 'publicity strategy' is similar somehow or rather. We just have to live with it. *shrugs*

okie, gotta work. Today is another OT day. *haiz*

ivied... i hear the same comments man. One side is the single friends who strongly encourage me to move on and "see the world" and the other side are friends who are like me, married, even have kids, comfortable in their jobs, no longer as career minded or ambitious (not that i am to begin with), just want a job to nuah and knock off on time. Why rock the boat?

Funny how i just dropped everything and went to Shanghai 5 years ago. Guess the age and status matters alot. Plus too much time to ponder and think and consider and think and ask around and think and then never do anything. :p

To do myself a favor, think i will give it a shot and just send my resume. Scarly also never get a chance for interview...think too much for what?!?! keke...

way to go Li Ann!
Yup, you will not know if you don't even give yourself a chance to try. That's what prompted me to just leave without weighing anymore pros and cons.

I had a very eventful day. Imagine today is my 5th day at work only and I had faced 4 meetings of screamings, shoutings, quarreling, banging of tables, fingers pointing. wah piang! *still recovering from the trauma*

hi ivied! welcome back to the thread.

lance, yup, thread was quiet with everyone going HM and so on... haa... u also thinking of taking up HIPV? i like their crystal theme too... but FH wan to see look more while our parents are still 'negotiating' on e actual date. gee, nv knew getting one date can be so 'mah fan'... so we can safely look at all the hotels w/o committing bah. anyway, we really dun have the date. heehee. =P

HIPV food okay lah... my sch had some staff function before at HIPV. okay leh.

sherrie and ivied - congratz on a new job! i guess moving on needs a lot of courage. but if u dun move on now, then when? i'm also thinking of moving on when my bond is up. i've very little idea what i can do with a pure physics BSc... Anyway, I'll see abt it then. Passion all drenched by the amt of miscellaneous stuff i'm doing. I feel like a super multi-tasking admin staff in my current position. but TGIF! yeay!

iViED: I am happy to see that you finally are able to log on the internet. Your 5th day at work and you are getting a trauma?
What happened? Is your boss mentally abusing you, if yes you need to fight back. Don't take it lying down. I believe there are human rights and office rights.

Let me share my experience with bad bosses (not my boss). When i joined my current ministry, i went for interviews with 3 other girls, and eventually we all got in. We became quite close, but sad
to say two of them who went to the same dept (diff from me) left or is leaving at the end of this month. Its due to a mentally abusive boss who constantly screams, shouts, pile them with work. I concluded the reason the boss treats them that way is because their boss is an indian lady who is old and single. Unmarried old ppl have a lot of frustrations and she is venting her frustrations on staff. Furthermore, their dept broke the record when another lady joined and tendered in a week. So sad. The turnover at my place is so high. Lucky i got a good boss.

Li Ann: Send in your resume and have faith in yourself. Its like buying toto, don't buy no chance to win. When you finally get the job, its like striking jackpot.

mos: Yup, we are considering HIPV. Actually wanted to go down today to confirm and pay deposit at wedding fair and get $1000 discount. But my FW said she wanted to see more ballrooms, as HIPV is only the 2nd one we saw. We are going to waterfront next week.

And guess what, my mum says she going to look for a new AD date for me. She said June 15 is not good because its the school holidays. A lot of families going overseas, so may not be able to attend. Haiz, i am so sian now.

Hi everyone...

see so many of u getting new jobs... i am so tempted to do so too... i have been in my current job for 7 years... starting my 8th year on the 2nd may... i got new boss n he is like forever finding fault with his staff... but i am just too lazy to move on... n too busy with wedding preparation n house reno...

anyway dun worry abt work...

we should just have a good weekend break...

Hey hey everyone, I am back too!! Finally home after 2 weeks. There's so many things going on here
Will read slowly and send u gals some pics when I am ready with them

Welcome back to Nellie and Huiz!!!! Can't wait to see your photos.

Btw, my mother and i just went to another fortune teller today at Marina Square. I maybe bringing forward my AD. Yeah!

Oh yes, when I was in Wollongong in Sydney, I spotted a few wedding couples taking pics along the beach. Really envious of them to have so many nice scenery to take pics. I tried to snap some pics, but only got the back view coz didnt dare to go right up... haha. I will post them here later la

welcome back huiz and nellie!

so envious...hehe...i came back from weekend getaway in malacca. had such nice chendol, chicken rice and nonya cuisine. we drove up to malacca in two cars on sat morn and came back late this afternoon. suddenly feel that my break in between jobs isn't long enough

lance: u must be one of the rare few males whom i know get so exicited about the wedding preparations. your wife is lucky!

ivied: wow must be a culture shock for you. my HR girl even called me last friday to remind me about the orientation program for tomorrow. such a nice welcome and great difference from my ex company which is v local in terms of operations. they didn't even have a HR dept. gotta go to bed now else i will be yawning away tomorrow.

shall catch up tomorrow evening. no access to lap top! have a good monday!

Sherrie, u have changed job? Where are u working now?

Stacy - Enjoy your trip!

I have loaded the pics from my Auckland trip in my Multiply. Can go and take a look when u are free. The pics from the Sydney and Adelaide leg will come later

Huiz: Nice photos! I stole your picture of the cute little lamb and set it as my laptop wallpaper. Hope you dun mind. Ha ha. Looking forward to more of your photos!

Stacy: Take care and enjoy!

Dear ah mais, i am so disappointed, my parents decided to postpone my AD to Sept 2008. The fortune teller gave us 3 dates (Feb,May,Sept 2008) as my parents wanted sat only. My parents said Feb is CNY and May is Qing Ming, so cannot have wedding dinner, thus only Sept 2008. The brighter side will be at least now i got more time to save and plan. Maybe, that will quell my disappointment by a bit.

Btw, are any ah mais going to watch A Midsummer Night's Dream at fort canning in May 19?

Hey Lance, no prob! Can take any pics
It's my pleasure to share
Yes, Lance, dun worry, take one step at a time and both of u can have more breathing space and are also less stressed up on building up the finances.

Oh yah, is the 29 May gathering still on?

Hi everybody,

didn't really enjoy my HM cos we're down with skin allergy on the 3rd day.
kao_cry.gif

So sickening!!! Saw a doc the moment we're back in SIN. I even got a jab cos mine is more serious than my hubby.

Huiz - our gathering is on 25th May.

Really have no idea. so we cancelled our 4 islands hopping trip on Fri to stay away from the sun and also refrained from all the yummy and cheap seafood.

Aiyoh, Nellie what happened? I guess it could be the sun and humidity. Try eating yogurt and drink yakult or green tea to detox the digestive system. What did the doc say? I hope there isn't any long term effects. Cheer up, you can always go for another HM.

Well, I got a jab. I'm fine now. Difficult to go for another HM. must wait till CNY liao. not easy for my hubby to get leave from his dad. This was a special case.

nellie, most impt is that both of u are fine. when there's a chance, even if it's just a short trip, make effort to plan a 2nd HM.

how abt getting ur hubby's dad to consider a 2nd special case for a 2nd HM?

lance, at least u have finalised ur date. my parents and FH's parents cannot agree on the date. haa... two of us know we have to start planning smthg, but no date really tough to begin with.

2 problems on my side. first, my mama and my papa cannot agree on the tables. my relatives from papa's side from penang and KL. my relatives from mama's side mostly from Muar (in Johor state), then my papa want them come to s'pore. we hold just 1 dinner. my mama wan 2 dinners, 1 in s'pore n 1 in m'sia to make it more convenient for relatives. second, my parents prefer 2008 Q1 or 2008 Q4. the date might even fall into 2009 Q1, still in 2008 lunar calendar. well, this is just my side of story.

on FH's side, his papa wan 2008 solar calendar june, dec. this does not tally with what my papa wan. coz my papa only wants 2008 lunar months - 1st month, 8th month, 10th month or 12th month. so hppn the dates dun tally. 2008 solar calendar dec is around lunar month 11th month. headache or not? hiya, long story hor. so now safer method is wait for papa count from 'wan nian li' with our eight characters, choose again with FH's papa. both sides parents no quarrel, but cannot agree lor.

Mos - we might be going Malacca this weekend for a short getaway to make up the loss.

Your AD date is really causing you a lot of problems. If worse come to worse, I think you and your FH have to play the baddie roles to each of your own family. Decide the date yourselves then tell your own parents, either take it or leave it.

Wah mos, your problem bigger than mine. But i think the old folks will work out something in the end. They wouldn't want to delay this type of thing for too long.

Ha ha, i agree with Nellie. Give them the take it or leave it thing. Actually i wanted to be baddie and choose the Feb date. But i considered that its my dad paying, so i bo bian must listen to him.

oh dear, nellie...it could be the sun or some dust in the air (maybe the air on the budget carrier or the seats that u 2 were seated on...).

Impt thing is that you are ok now and there's no long term effects.

My hubby also had skin allergy during our HM - due to dry weather. Never knew dry weather could trigger skin allergy reactions...

Mos, the reason I held another dinner in Malacca is also to give our relatives more convenience. My hubby also had 2 funny mozzie bite-like patches on his face yesterday. He also claims that weather changes can cause such probs.

Huiz: Your hubby also get those red patches? My colleague and I get those patches sometimes too when we are in the office. We concluded that the aircon not clean. Ha ha.

Hi hi!
I don't have much opportunity to log on lately as work is really killing me. yes sherrie, real culture shock for me, totally diff from what I have experienced in my 9 years of working life. 2nd week of work only and I have been working like mad. Imagine attending meeting at 7pm daily!!!
But I sure keep myself updated with all the latest gossips and chit chat.

aiyo Nellie, it spoils your holiday mood. But good that u are fine and now u can have a compensated one in Malacca.

mos/Lance, never knew date selection can be so difficult. I only have one date and it was agreed by all. Simple and easy. hee..

huiz, no chance to see your photos yet, so gian.... So u are sitting at home shaking legs now?? :p

Stacy, enjoy your HM!

Petrina, I have no access to MSN and yahoo mail in office so just email me should you require anything. I shall check it when I'm back at home.

Lance, ya, my hubby got 2 of the patches. But he self medicated and took some pills that made them go away.

Ya ivied, I am spending my time at home now. Really get to understand that a housewife's work is not easy too! Now I have to wash 2 people's clothes but when I think of my mum doing so for 6 people, I really think my efforts are so minute compared to hers. The when meal time comes, need to crack head on what to cook and after that, need to wash and clean up blah blah blah... the list is never ending!!

I am now loading the first part of my Sydney pics. More on Sydney to come tonight when I go do at my Mum's place. Something wrong with my USB port here. Stay tuned!

Oh yes, Lance, are u on MSN too? Perhaps I can add u if u are there too?

Ivied, does the meeting at 7pm end very late? It must be really tiring. Hopefully things will get better soon
Looking forward to the gathering to catch up more with everyone too

Hey everyone,

I'm back from my Pre-Wedding HM!!! Went to Bintan with my hubby for 3 days. Shall share the photos with all of you via email. Really enjoyed ourselves as we could get away from the stress of renovation & wedding prep.

Mos: It really sounds like a headache. I hope both your families can come to a consensus soon.

Both our families are going to meet this Sunday... they're going to talk bout the tables. Eh, usually what is discussed during this meeting? Can anyone advise?

Pris, I think during this meet up the bride's side will let the groom's side know what they want for the wedding e.g. the number of tables, the gifts for the GDL like the number of boxes of cakes needed, the pin jin and anyother things like roast pig etc.

pris - mayb u sound ur pama out and u ask ur hub to sound his pama out b4 the meeting so at least both sides know of each other's expectation (tats wat me and borlao did then).. if not go to the meeting direct then start to hv shocking requests, it mite turn ugly..

I have already told my mom they're getting 8 tables. Have also told borlao to tell his parents to offer my side 8 tables. :p

But i don't know what else needs to be discussed...

pris - ask ur ma roughly how many boxes of cakes she needs (estimate will do) and where ur ma prefer the cakes to be from.. coz its for the guy's side to go order it.. and lets say ur ma needs 20boxes, ask ur borlao to order more coz when he bring over on GDL day, ur side will hv to return 2boxes to him..

other stuffs wld probably be PinJin if ur ma has a requested amt. for my case then, my ma got no request so it was up to my ILs to decide on the amt. and roasted pig, ask ur ma whether she wans anot.

i go see if i can find the list of my GDL items anot then send to u..

Janf: thanks so much... my ma is quite lost too cos i'm the 1st in our entire family to get married. :p But definitely they want the roast pig. Haha... and she will take only a bit of pin jin cos she's taking ang bao from banquet.

Pris, I saw the pictures. The durians are big. Do they have such big ones in bintan?

Yup Huiz, I use msn ([email protected]). Add me ok? All mais feel free to add me too. I am always online when i am in the office. Ha ha, sounds that I am loafing.

Wah iViED, 7pm meeting? I hate those, i hope they don't end too late for you.

hi all..my office desktop isn't up yet.yesterday was at HQ going thru orientation. feel so handicapped without access.

huiz: yes. i am now doing doing mortgage loans with uob bank. heeh next time u guys wanna take up loans/refinance your existing/new loan, do lemme know..no obligations

hey ivied: hope all's well for u. i haven't done office-based work for some time and i must say i am also trying to adapt. as a geminian, i pride as being v versatile. think you are also one, rite?

lance: have added u too..

pris: i tried viewing but there's a prompt for user id and i am not quite sure what it is. my mum asked for roasted pig, 5 tables (but she gave us back all the money she collected), 20 something boxes of cakes, oranges, 2 red packets for 2 grandmas...she left the pin jin to my hubby to decide. i think hainanese usually ask for v few items so it should be a breeze.

hi all, me dun have access on msn at work...

cannot view the multiply sites too... will take a look at all the pretty photo updates when i get home...

after hearing abt all e skin allergy probs, i rem my guy also had some peeling on his skin during our taiwan trip last yr.

as for AD, thanks for all e advice. we hope they can agree soon. we've been hinting and asking, and now, pestering them to come to an agreement soon. =P

meanwhile, i've been looking at hotels. the 2008 prices are mostly 800+++ for weekend. omg!