Hainanese Brides, anyone???

For my case, my guy one quite direct..only got 2 boys at home..so its eldest son..but for mine..I've got a elder bro, a younger sis..should I word it as eldest daughter?

Stacy, I sent in the invites for my Msia dinner last week liao. The gal emailed me the artwork to check now and I am having second thoughts on the wordings lor. Think later I call the gal to clarify again. They should know la I suppose.

Huiz- u are veri meticulous leh...i didn't realize it till u mention it..hehee.

æµ·å—æ¤°ä¸ç²¿/ Hainanese Coconut Cake aka Yu Bua?? yummy!

Janf - yup yup...the liang catering boss surname if Foo...i guess guess is hainanese also..hehee. The dishes quite cheap..think $1 for one dish..min 7 or 8 dishes for min 30 pax. But I find their food presentation not so pro..esp now they halal cert, they got malays to cook or sth..not so presentable le
*just my tots*

Hehe, I just happened to zoom in on that item cos I thought its really something special. Thanks for recommending this company Stacy. I had always wanted a really unique buffet and this I think is the right choice. Haha, how many people actually have rice balls, muttom soUp, yi bua, kah cek ar (the duck), kau sang jew hoo for buffet?

yesh yesh stacy, Liang is now halal certified.. their rendangs, curries etc all very nice, probably coz malays cook it bah..

to be on safe side, tink can zoom in either YLS or neogarden..

talking abt food and im hungry.. grrr......

huiz - wow, ur hainan really good leh...*pei fu*. Ya, I think I will get this for my pa's side, cos all hainanese, will appreciate the dishes. But now the prob is their min is 40pax, whereas i only got 30pax,I prob ask ma to call them n ask.

aiyo.. today so efficient ah.

Stacy, my FSIL recommended 'Elsie's kitchen'. I have not ordered mine yet, waiting for our family members to determine the head count.

Huiz, enjoy your food tasting.

The correct definition should be å¾ç”· (only son)for your case, but some people still prefer to name it as é•¿ç”· (eldest son). So its up to you.

Stacy, your case should be 长女 (eldest daughter) coz u have a younger sis at home.
Anyhow, the printing company should be able to advise u on it too.

Stacy, I think they will still take the business wan lor. Coz I think what they could do is jack up the cost per pax. And who knows they could be cooking the same amount as they would for 40 pax. So end up they win win...

Huiz - I'm using 'eldest son' and 'eldest daughter'. same here, 2 kids in the both families.

My company had engaged YLS before, the food is good.

I engaged Lavish for my wedding.

My company engaged Purple Sage for tmr's Xmas lunch. Will see if it's good.

ivied - thanks for your advise. Hahaa,I somehow or rather got this feeling 'eldest' very lao liao...haha!

Huiz- yes, agree with u. They still wanna biz

Janf - oh ya, the satay n mutton rendang from Liang Catering is nice leh! I also crave for foodie now, hahaa!

Nellie - tks..then i set for YLS hainan buffet liao. Will give my hainan folks a pleasant surprise. Sure the hainan elders will appreciate the hainan dishes...hehee

1hr more to lunchtime.. tot i cld wait till xmas then open up my coll's biscuits gift to me.. but hungry liao so eating now.. keke.

Yeah me thinks YLS will also give my folks a nice treat and surprise. Think me also very high chance to go to them

janf - dun think my hubby coming, cause too many hainan por gossiping... I scared he go crazy haha...
ur bor lao can speak hainanese? mine cannot... cause his dad pass away when he's 5, so nobody speak to him in hainanese le...

petrina, the mother is still around? Alternatively, you can just put as 'couple's invite', instead of 'parents' invite'.

yup petrina, my bor-lao can speak hainanese. my ILs speak at home too. i understand the language juz tat cant speak.. my mama from young scold me in hainanese so cfm understand.. haha.

oh... so janf, if ur bor lao coming then i can bring my bor lao also so that ur borlao can teach mine...

i scared on our ad when our relatives speak to us in hainanese he become sotong... haha

petrina - dun tink my bor-lao will come lah.. paiseh hes the only rose among the thorns.. haha.

is ur hub pure hainanese or half-half?

ah mais, I feel more at ease now. The cut and design of my EG is what I'm looking at.
But somehow I find that it does not look good in camera leh. What do you think?
439011.jpg

ivied - its looked alright to me
Wee...got hourglass figure le! Glad u can put ur mind @ east liao..I understood what ur seamstress said..really a lot on workmanship!

Oh pizza har...my guy was telling me they had pizza for gathering..buy one big one get one free n their chicken is so nice..Not from Pizza Hut, I need to get the contact fm him thou

ivied - the gown looks ok on u ah.. very nice.. so slim leh..

nellie - any food is fine.. whicheva is convenient for u ya..

Good morning ah mais! The sun is back again this morning.

huh nellie? I do not get your point now. The bottom half is set to make as mod mermaid cut and I wanted it to flare rather than stiff so the cloth has to cut along that path. I just find that the beadings does not bring out the effect that I was hoping to have, its either the lighting or the inner satin used. Can't distinguish.

Anyway, any food is fine with me too. I think the pizza that Stacy mentioned is called Canadian Pizza. They sell it as one-for-one.

ya lor Stacy, my seamstress kept stressing to me about the beadings and how they had to remove and then hand sewed it. I paid extra $100 for the workmanship.

thanks janf. But hor, was hoping that the beadings could bring out some shape to my 'flat front', in the end, I still have to add paddings. haiz...

Good morning ah mais,

Really no mood to work today. How I wish I can be at home sleeping away!

Ivied, wow, the sequins on your EG is so nicely done! The tailor must have put in lotsa efforts to do up the EG
and it also fits u very well. Your figure is well enhanced in the gown

ivied - it might be the effect of the digicam...not enough flash or sth. If taken by pro photographer with good camera, it will be different effect. Cos we are not pro, the angle we take also affect.

For mine, one pic, my guy took from the top, make me look like a dwarf. Also with flash n w/o flash makes the diff also, sometimes with flash (too bright), cannot see the details on the dress. Hope u understand what I trying to explain here

Yes Stacy, I agree with u. I had a pic taken from the front of me in my EG and it turned out with me looking sooo short. Something like long body and short legs.

So ivied, when the pro PG takes the pic, I sure it'll be fine

Ah mais - today is Dong Zhi (Winter Solstice Festival. Mum reminded me to be home early tonite for family reunion + tang yuan for desert.

haha talking about dong zhi... it's a coincidence that we had chosen glutinous rice balls in hot walnut puree for our food tasting tonight.. so everyone can haf a mini dong zhi celeb too

hee Huiz, my seamstress kept stressing to me "it is very difficult leh", "have to remove the beadings then sewed it back", "cut wrongly, the whole length of beadings will be gone" etc.
erm, my EG is mainly beadings and few strands of sequins only. Front back both beadings.

Stacy/Huiz, thanks. Maybe that's the reason. I find that it is alright yesterday and I like the cut too. But I have second thoughts after looking at the pictures. I hope my PG will be able to capture the right angle and lighting on my AD.

janf, nope. I made this EG from a local seamstress. The shop is called Fashion Clinique, located at Stamford Court. It is quite ex to MTM this gown from BS, the charges can go up to $2k. (somemore for rental only)

oh ya, today is Dong Zhi, almost forgot about it. My mum reminded me to call my dad to buy some tang yuan. She forgot about it herself too. hee...

Thank goodness everyone enjoyed all the dishes during the food tasting last night. The folks are very please that the dishes are unique and on the overall still taste good despite a few areas that need to be brushed up.... phew, another load off my mind.