Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Good day all!

Yes...9 Dec was a hot date for wed. I went for a wed dinner that day too.

Li Ann - halow...congrats on your big day!! Gong xi xi...

Nellie - the next important event coming is our gathering on 23rd loh..hehee.

Ah mais, I wanna check hor. For the wedding day, do we need the red / pink colour bedsheets or normal colour will do har?

morning all.. damn kayu!, my ofc door this morning spoilt.. we supposed to tap and get into the door. scurry the system haywired and the door cannot read it.. ended up we go eat bfast, 9+ then stroll in aft it was retified..

yup, whos going for the gathering on 23rd? me, huiz, stacy, ivied only??

stacy - my bedsheets are the red red kind.. if u not particular, pink will do too.

i think as long as it's new sheets, it will suffice. i bought red sheets from aussino during birthday month though. 50% off! my mum bgt one set of pink sheets and one set of yellow sheets for my "jia zhuang"..

hi ah mais!
yup Huiz and Stacy, 9 Dec is a real hot date. We wanted to have dinner at Tung Lok but all Tung Lok restaurants are booked for wedding dinner!

Pris, that's a nice pair of shoes! But it looks a bit loose at your ankle.

Mos, enjoy your Taiwan trip! Show us pic when you are back.
I shall try the fading in/out again. Not quite successful the last time.

Yeah Nellie, as Stacy mentioned, our upcoming gathering is the next important event.
janf, I think there's sherrie and CSI too. Not sure about Li Ann, think she's going for HM...

Stacy, I had red bedsheets too. Normally its the elders who wanted to have red ones, auspicious colour mah. But it all depends on you lor. My other set is beige and white.

Li Ann, Congrats! Its your big day tomorrow. Must sleep early and rest well tonight.

BTW Stacy, my FSIL had light brown and cream coloured bedsheets. She insisted on NO RED. My FMIL just leave it to her.

gals, tks for the replies.

I've bot a silver colour bedsheet. When i asked mum abt the bedsheet..she said shld be ok bah..she nvr insist on red or pink (thou she insisted red for my bro the other time). Anyway, she said will check with my auntie.

btw ah mais, I had some reviews about the wine consumption at wedding banquets. So far the trend is moving towards red wine and its approx 2 bottles per table. Not many people are asking for hard liquor nowadays.

I may have to add the number of bottles for my banquet now. If your guests are those who drink, you may have to add more. These are what I have found out.

ivied - i tink prob u can hv some white wine as well coz some guests mite request for it and when dun hv, abit paiseh.. yup, approx is 2bots/tbl if ur frens are hardcore drinkers.. my bunch of frens are a gang of notorious ones.. i totally shocked at the number of wines they consumed at my wedding! but they had great fun and tats wats most impt.. keke.

for my case, 60bots of wines were consumed for 34tbls! its considered alot liao.. i had 12bots of white wine and 10bots were consumed..

janf, I'm planning to order 6 crates (72 bottles) of red wine for my guests of 33 tables. My friends told me that their one barrel of beer was not fully consumed. Hard liquor was not ordered frequently too.

Terrible leh, it used to be 1.5 bottle per table, now 2. We almost faint when we calculated the total amount for red wine and hard liquor. Looking at my guest list, they are not the hard core drinkers, so FH and I shall just order red wine.

ivied - u shd still hv leftovers frm the 72bots aft ur AD leh.. i tot 5crates mite be more than enuff for u.. but more is better than less lah, in case guests ask for more and no hv then abit paiseh..

Li Ann - Don't know whether you'll log in today but all the best for tomorrow! Rest well today and be a ravishing bride tomorrow!

Ivy: Not loose around my ankle just that i wasn't standing up so it appears loose. In fact, i asked the assistant to "punch" one more hole for me before i paid.

Oh dear, i must also start looking into getting red wine for my banquet. I don't want to serve my guests cheapo red wine but it'll cost a bomb if i serve superb wine too. My hotel is having free-flow beer...can i request to substitute with XX litres of beer & some bottles of red wine?

yeap janf, 5 crates is more than enough. But my FH is not ordering any hard liquor so we have to keep more red wines as spares. Like what u said, it will be pai seh if we have none left.

A colleague had ordered 5 crates for 40 tables and by the 4th dish, there were no more red wine left. Any colleague had zero red wine by 2nd dish. I was still happily thinking of 1.5 bottles per table then. hee...

ivied - was thinking prob should ask them to serve the red wine only when the food is serve. Wah..ur colleague finish her wine during 2nd dish...all her guest really drinkers le

ya lor Stacy, this colleague had underestimate the 'drinking power' of her guests.
I do not feel that it is appropriate to serve red wine only when the food is served. They are after all, your guests.

Pris, yeah, I do heard of people who did not drink the red wine coz the taste is horrible. I find that as long as the red wine is not too dry, has that grape taste is good enough. U can suggest that to your hotel, see if they are willing to accomodate. Then u will be ordering extra bottles of wine from them as well?

ivied - the couple of wed dinner, they only start serving red wine when food is served leh. Think its up to individual.

Hi Ah mais!

I'm still in office....going home liao.

Flying off in a few hours. Catch you all on 23rd Dec!!

Take care! (Sorry ah, no table updates till then...pai seh...)

Li Ann, Congrats on your big day! Take care and enjoy your big day!

Stacy, I had brown bedsheet and quilt cover. But my quilt cover has a bit of pink...

just attended my gf's post ROM dinner reception. she ordered 12 bottles of wine for 4 tables. the tables were inclusive of 2 tables of relatives. we consumed 12 bottles during the dinner. averages 3 bottles of red wine per table.

the relatives didnt really drink a lot so i figure my friends are pretty good drinkers.

wow sherrie, so u are one good drinker too?
So u have to cater more red wine for your AD?

oh Stacy, I was not aware of this. ya, its up to individual couple. We have a precedent (my FSIL) to follow so we have to serve the wine prior to 1st dish else will invite more gossips.

I'm quite happy today. Had food tasting last night and things were going on smoothly. There were no hiccups except comments on the food here and there. We even talked about the GDL. *phew* things were not as bad as I thought.

li ann juz sms-ed say her morning quite chaotic! haha. as in both sides duno wat to do blur blur.. i replied her dun bother liao coz half the day has passed, juz concentrate on the dinner tonite and it will be over.. muz enjoy the day..

eh. i am not a good drinker but a lot of my friends and ex colleagues are very good drinkers. i target 2 bottles per table plus 2 barrels of beer for my 38 tables.

my GDL is on thurs. how exciting! hehe...

janf: my gf used stella for her rom yesterday. she likes it! now this gf of mine who will be my jiemei for my AD will use stella, in addition to my mum and sister. thanks for the recommendation!

phew sherrie!, heng u made the rite choice coz i will be guilty if she did a lousy job and u din see her works b4 signing up.. keke.

but how is stella gona charge ur fren since stella charges $120 for 2pax rite? ur fren will be the 3rd pax..

btw, when ur fren's pics developed, can show me a few of her closed-up pics pls?! wana see her makeup+hairdo.. heehee.

nellie - me no hv ur # leh.. no worries, i can post here ya.. old lady here gotta rem to take down ur number next wk b4 gathering in case i cant find ur blk.. keke.

stella - 90062966. this fri ur fren's wedding?

janf: she will still charge $60 per pax. total till be $180 in total. my gf said she was vvvv quick! anyway that gf has v good complexion and short hair so it was quite easy.

her charges for rom and actual day are different though...

okie. will get from her the fotos. she is leaving for short trip today.

yup sherrie, she charges more for ROM and AD brides. for JMs/mums etc, its $120 for 2paxs. wat time u ask her to come on ur AD? coz she was slightly late on my fren's wedding but lucky her hands were fast in makeup+hairdo..

u got read my past postings on her extra charges?

Thanks, Janf.

Ya lor, Stella needs at least 2 pax. I'm still waiting for the other girls' replies to see if they need.

I'll PM you my no.

yup. she told me about "set hair", eyelash and ampule charges. my gf was supposed to go to her place for make up and hair do but cos her customer had some issues in the morning, her timing was delayed and stella went to her place instead. pasir ris is v far...

I'm excitied sitting at home and wondering how Li Ann's dinner is. Should be ending soon and saying bye to all her guests!

Seems like i better learn from the tips here and order at least 2 bottles per table. I think i'll start serving red wine only when all the dinner has officially started i.e. 1st march in.

Hey all ah mais,

I am back from my Cameron trip. Wonderful place it is. But the holiday ended with a BIG adventure. We missed the coach coming back to Sg at the hotel yday morning (long story) and we made our own way from Cameron (Pahang) to Perak to KL and finally back to Sg by night train (with sleeping bunks). Worse still, stupid bo lao lost his wallet in the bus when we dropped off at KL and he had to run dunno how many streets to get it back.... phewww

The roses at Cameron are sooooo cheap, beautiful and fresh! How I wish I can cart them all back for my wedding

It's a pity I missed wishing Li Ann well on her AD. But I am sure things must have gone on well for her

Hi Huiz, welcome back.

wow, its quite an adventure for you. But bet this will be an interesting story to tell in future.

hmm.. Li Ann is now officially a Mrs.

hello ah mais

all busy at work today? no postings today!

today is my GDL but I am still at work. left everything to my hubby and parents. think they are still distributing cakes. hehe...

today raining.. i feel so sleepy now.. why im not at home zzz.. yawn..

wah sherrie, u steady leh! GDL and u not helping out! keke.

btw, u coming to the gathering on 23rd?

yes. i will join u gals on the 23rd cos i am working on 24th xmas eve till 7pm. i only took 2 days leave prior to the wedding. very cham hor?

no need to help out. my bo lao went with my folks. finished distributing all the cakes. only have a box of butter cake left for ourselves. eh. no leh. i drive another make, not hyundai

can't afford to change cars each time i change to another brand...

sherrie, glad your GDL went well! Btw, is it necessary for the BTB to be present during GDL?

I went to BC to pick my EG fabrics today! Also finalised the colour...it's going to be peachy-pink!

morning all! TGIF! me on 1/2day leave today.. supposedly hub on leave today but he got work to do so cant take leave.. and my leave oredi approved liao so i juz hv to wild my time away alone for the pm.. haiz..

today is my dept xmas lunch.. so its a engeng day today.. keke.

good morning!

Nellie - sorry, can't join u gals for the gathering. I've got to attend my gd friend bb gal 1st mth hi-tea party, then a wedding dinner that night. So gotta give urs a miss. Sincere apologies ya!

Janf - this season is really eating manz..I've got a division yr end lunch and a dinner hosted by CEO. Haiz..how to diet..hahaa

Sherrie - so ur GDL cakes changed to the butter cakes (round type) is it?

Huiz - the flowers are sooo beautiful up there! An your trip is sure a adventurous one

Yeah yeah..weekend is here, holiday is coming and more celebrations to come!

ah yo!!! can't stand this woman in my office! Someone left a Xmas present on her table without the name n she is making a big hoo-ha in the office. Went around asking pple around her cubicle if we saw anyone leaving things on her table, y pple give her present without names, blar blar blar. She came to my desk twice n ask me if I see anyone at her desk. I told her how can I see as my cubicle is blocked by the high partition. (we each have a cubicle with high partition)

Think she wanna 'hiao lian' till one of my colleague said "do you think you want to make a police report"! Then she immediately shut her mouth…whahaa!

stacy - is she a meinu or an aunty?! but come to tink of it, a dignified meinu wun be so SamPat go ard ask such qns.. haha!

she is a auntie liao..tt explains w so sampat..haha..

Okie..off i go for my division lunchie party. Sure she going to hiao liao there again!

maybe she went flowers to herself..u never know..

i have two types of GDL cakes..14 boxes are butter cakes and 14 boxes are assortment of tarts, cakes and tini pastries. very dainty-looking but i didnt get the chance to eat. my hubby ordered 2 extra boxes but he gave them to his two aunts- the mei pos...

gonna be my friend's emcee for his wedding tomorrow. hehe...

hi ah mais. We have a small headcount for this gathering leh, are we still proceeding with it? So far there is Huiz, Nellie, janf, sherrie and me only.

Stacy, your colleague is really sampat! I'm attending a wedding dinner on 23rd too. Hee, where is yours? Ska-li same couple!

sherrie, any pics of your dainty GDL boxes??

greetings to all! how's everyone?

i'm back!!! 1st 2 days in taiwan temperature still ok, like air-con like that. then day 3 start to rain all e way n drastic drop of temp to around 10 deg. now winter time super cold leh. haa, very adventurous n memorable photoshoot. dun think will ever experience sthg like that in sg. we take umbrella, throw away umbrella, pose, take photo, pose, take photo, pose some more, take photo, pick up umbrella, change venue and repeat actions under e cold wind n rain of taiwan winter. not forgetting wear jacket take off jacket too! lol... thank goodness e rain there not like s'pore with gigantic raindrops, but needle-like raindrops, so can't really tell from photo.

was pleasantly surprised n happy to pick an outdoor gown which i liked very much. may consider MTM sthg like that when actual wedding. hee~~

437787.jpg