Hainanese Brides, anyone???

halow...

Just back fm dentist...argh..the numbness is going off m i m experiencing the pain now..

Li Ann!!! Glad to see u ard! U are really a bz bride, gotta rush for so many things! Glad that all went well n u enjoyed urself! Oh yes, Kuang schedule really beri packed manz, my gf wanted him for her wed in Jan 08, his date was booked liao! He is really good ya!

Huiz- Cos due to the earthquake tt occurred in Taiwan, Internet access having some problem. Btw, wat's Magix PhotoStory CD Rom?

Oh Stacy, its this special CD that can help u put your photos into a slide show. the special thing about this is that u can burn the show into either a VCD or DVD. Though this programm doesnt make very fanciful slides, but I like it coz I had experienced with MS powerpoint that on one PC, the slides and sound seem to synchro, but when u bring it to another PC, it doesnt go in sync anymore. I like this Magix coz once it is burned into a VCD/DVD, can just play it anywhere without worries of audio and pics not in sync.

Pris - are u getting ur wedding bands at Bedok Poh Heng? My dad said muz go n look for this old man (he said seems like the boss), the old man gave him great discount that time while he was shopping for my bro's wedding gift.

Petrina - think if u've made a tentative booking 1st and someones comes with a deposit for the same date later, I feel that the hotel wld still call the 1st couple to check if they are still interested. But of cos' if the couple is not responding, then its right to give it to the couple who is ready with the deposit

ivied - have u seen the work of ur PG (ur ex colleague). If u are comfy with him, then I feel that its alright to stick with him
Cos' I also don't understand what ur gf mean by 'sharp'. Maybe she is into this industry, that's y she's more sensitive
Layman may not be able to tell the diff.

Hullo ah mais!

I am back from my trial make up session.... had so much fun!! I really like my MUA, very friendly and easy to talk to.

And there's something funny that happened too. Halfway through the makeup the MUA told me I look like Sharon Au with the make up. Then on our way back home, my bo lao told me the same thing (he did not hear the MUA make the same comment)!! But I really don't think so leh.. zuo kan you kan where got look the least bit like her?? heehee

Anyway, the gowns fit nicely now but the only prob is the bosom... haiii... need to go buy Nu bra liao... haha

Ok, I shall send u gals the link to my photos.

hi ah mais, i'm back from m'sia on x'mas day. the gathering sounds like great fun!
i only managed to login tdy coz my comp hdd crashed on e day i came home from my holidays! yucks... had a lot of data to salvage. lucky got partition my comp, now using standby partition. need to backup data asap and reformat/repartition everything. duh... just when it's gonna start work again this kinda thing gotta hppn. anyway good thing is i managed to save most of my data and especially photos! else i cry man...

ivied - there are no rules for good photographs, there are only good photographs based on viewers' judgment. when i teach photography, there are 3 main concerns:
(1) Are there objects distracting your eye away from the subject of the photo? ie. What's the main subject of the photo?
(2) How's the lighting of the photo? eg. Highlight of the photo is fine, but if too glaring/too dark and distracts than enhances than no good.
(3) How's the focus? ie. Is the photographer using soft focus or simply photo is fuzzy or unclear?

if ur sample photo is digital, blow it up to a 300 dpi resolution and see if u like e effects, then decide again if u prefer professional/ur fren's works. afterall, AD photos are only once in a lifetime, no re-takes possible. i'm not sure abt e mkt rates for the pros though. u may have to check it out.

hihi petrina, i see someone new here.

huiz - just last mth i got my nu bra from chinatown OG, ume brand $19.90 only. i found it durable during my taiwan PS. i used for whole day also no prob. cheap and good. hee. :P

sherrie & ivied - personally i think SLR cameras produce better quality photos leh. but of coz with technology, digital SLR also does a fantastic job nowadays. so really depends on individual's preference.

li ann - congrats!! glad that ur wedding went well.

btw can some kind soul post the updated table again? coz i lost some data after recent hdd crash. i had copied the table from this forum to an excel file, and now i can't salvage that file. dunno who's next in line.

Hi hi ah mais!

Thanks for all the info and guidelines. It has enlightened me a lot.
In my heart, I have made the decision to drop my ex-colleague but I just cant't broach the subject to him. He has offered an extremely low rate to me and somemore, he is getting his friend as well. That makes 2 AD PG for the price of one!

Huiz, your idea is good leh, like the 1st one too. But I need to practice in order to produce a convincing act. I'm just afraid that I can't do it and may ended up using him.

Stacy/mos, I have seen some of his earlier pictures. Stacy, you are right. As a layman, I would not be able to distinguish the effect that my best friend was telling me about. But she commented that not only the images are not sharp enough, the colours are not consistent; some are more red while some are more yellow. She also mentioned that his style is quite 80s, those 'sarong' style of pictures. She had difficulty doing up the photo montage for me. mos, I do not know how to blow it up to 300 dpi resolution. What I did was to enlarge to 400% zoom and the image was not as clear anymore.

This PG is using Canon Digital SLR. My other colleague said that he is quite good at capturing angles, since I have doubts, must let him know. Li Ann, Kwang's work is good! But hor, now u mentioned, arty farty PG is not my cup of tea.

Sorry ah mais, been talking too much about my stuff. I just can't get this thing off my head.

Huiz, I want to see you pictures!

Pris, can sense your nervousness here.
Glad that you have settled the ROM. About your AD, since your ILs is agreeable to have a higher priced hotel to suit the new selected date, why not just go for it.

Its Sherrie's wedding tomorrow. Congrats! Rest early tonight and be a mei mei bride.

Good morning ah mais,

Just had one of the worst wait at the hospital pharmacy. Thought that it can be fast in the morning, but I coukd see that the staff were all taking their own sweet time!

Ivied, honestly speaking I also can't tell that your pics are not sharp. As for the colour part, I also can't really tell that some are yellowish etc... but I do feel that some of his angles and image capturing could be better e.g. some of the shots the body poses could be better... just my 2 cents worth of un-professional views ;-P

Haiii... I think the servers are still not fixed after the quake. I still can't access many of the sites too. Still can't login to MSN!! So Petrina, I think that is also one of reasons why u cant go to my site. Till now, I have yet to see Li Ann's pic too

Oh ya ah mais, I have sent u the links to my photos taken last night....

oh no, this Taiwan earthquake had damaged several undersea data cables and thus the data traffic to most of the overseas websites are affected.

But I lagi happy. I can declared holidays! haha.. I can't work on much today, can't even correspond with my overseas counterparts. Most of the time is spent on accessing SB forum.

BTW, the trend about brides being lucky when their wedding is near seems to be true. I won a 20" LCD TV on my company D&D! My other colleague, who just got married, won a holiday trip. hee.. Now I have to buy a console to house the TV.

mos...nu bra works on you? i guess you must be well endowed in order to "hold" them. Mine slided off halfway thru my "mee suah" (early in the morning i had it before my mum combs my hair for me on my wedding day)...and while my PG is taking my pic!!! i was totally stunned and panicked like anything! I had to discreetly removed them and tucked it under my pants and ran into my room!

Huiz...suggest you buy the push-up bra padding and get Jit to sew onto your WG or EG. The effects are actually very good...keke...even my hubby also surprised... better than nu bra. I think more so for me cos i perspire easily.

Sherrie...congrats to you and your hubby! Show us your pic ya??

Hmm, Li Ann, I will try the Nu bra for my PS next week first... if it doesnt work then I will go for the push up padding.... kekeke... so pathetic.

Hey Mos, thanks for letting me know the brand of the Nu bra. I am going to the Chinatown OG today to get it today. Just wanna get it done before I set of to Malacca/KL tomorrow. Perhaps I will go KL to source for the push up padding too... just in case... hahaha

Yah man, the affected cables are causing so much inconvenience
But what to do, we just have to wait for them to be ok. Li Ann, is it ok that u email me the pic on your PG's blog?

wahhh, Ivied, u are a really lucky BTB!! Can put the new TV in your new room liao

petrina... hi hi *waves*

You try removing one "z" from the "huizz" and you'll be able to see our pretty Sharon-Au look alike.

Huiz, your 60 deg angle side profile does look like Sharon wor.

I like your CS look...got the very Sian2 Hui4 look.
Pretty!

For those who are Mango and Zara lovers... Mango further reduction at 70% and Zara sale starts today!

Ivy..ya..true...true...i won $110 over game of mj on Xmas eve! hee hee....

harrrr.. really ah... oops i soo blur ah.. i can't even remember my own Shutterfly URL... paiseh!!

Aiyo really got the Sharon Au look ah? Err, I thought my face shape is a bit too square liao... kekeke...

Ya, I love my CS too. Jit said another gal at the BS trying out her dress also likes it
But my hair were quite half done n messy in the pics la. Coz the MUA Ivy only did an "agak agak" style for me then. She didnt want to use any spray and I too did not want her to coz I didnt want to go home in a too elaborate hairstyle. Anyway, I have opted for a retro bun in the morning to go well with the CS. The retro bun will still go with the WG, but I will add some fresh flowers to it. The flowers will go when I change into the CS.

Nellie, your work is greatly affected by the quake?

But dunno why, I still can't access any foreign sites from my office! Arrrghh...

hi ah mais...

I've sent you some pics taken at my Hen's nite, ROM and Cocktail...not alot...cos i'm still figuring out how to post them on the website!

am quite an idiot when it comes to all these ;p

Hey Li Ann,

U know something, u and my cousin, the Love 972 DJ Violet look so much alike, esp when u r in your WG! Really leh, the face shape and the smile looks so similar... hehe

It's only the Bloomberg that's affecting the dealers. They cannot work without it. Tried all ways and means to bypass also cannot. Damned firewall is at Stockholm. Cannot do anything to the proxy. My external network is Singtel line also can't work. Sigh...

Then the dealers' customers call up that they can't access our bank's applications but can access other banks'. Want to tell them why cannot, they also don't understand... so pissed off.

Oh ya Li Ann, did u mingle with your guests before the dinner in your WG? I am thinking of doing so too, but in my CS...

Huiz, I can't access my emails so I can't see your pic.
Guess have to wait for a while before I can view it.
ya Huiz, very lucky. I was the last to be called on stage for the top 10 prizes. Initially I was thinking that no chance already, then they announced my name! I was so shocked that all I can do is to open my big mouth and WOW! haha...

oh no Li Ann, then u must be in a flustered during the day. But u are quite calm and poised, at least u are able to conceal your nervousness.

Huiz, Li Ann is right. Have the padded bra sewed onto the gown will be better. It takes quite a bit of practice to get the effect with the nu bra. (I'm still trying....)

aiyo Li Ann, you make me so itchy now. But I can't buy anything now, need extra cash for the AD.

haha Nellie, this is the busiest period for all IT personnels. My ISS guys are all in a mad rush since yesterday while the rest of us are waiting for the servers to be up and ready.

huiz...sent the link to your email le

my company email not affected leh...so work as usual for me...but everyone is in a holiday mood so not really working 100% ;p

wow...retro bun....is it the wavy fringe type? Like those very chic shanghainese look?

huiz - i tink tat sherrie looks like Violet FenYing instead! i kept telling TH tat sherrie looks like FenYing aft our gathering and he went "who??" huff!

so stoopid.. regardless of one 'z' or two 'zz', i still cant see huiz pics.. go home then can see coz banned..

i cant access bloomberg too.. effectively not doing work whole day.. nothgs working..

The only sites I can access from the office now is this forum and my Starhub online email. The rest all can't!! But when I was at home last night, everything could be accessed through Starhub. Grrr, I am so bored now man... heh heh

Hmm, janf, I think Sherrie is more petite and face sharper so heh, I dun think she looks like Violet. But then again, mebbe all have the hainam mai look ;-P

My bun will be the kind that is a bit puffed up at the top kind. but the fringe is just normal lor... I think the effect looks quite nice with the CS. But with the WG I hope the fresh flowers (I think Jit will give me freesia) will make the effect more subtle.

Janf - are you a Bloomberg Anywhere user too? if yes, maybe you can try logging in thru this but your company firewall must allow certain proxies for it to work. Mine can't

Wahhh, thanks Nellie! U have brightened up my boring day with the colourful flowers

Now I am beginning to worry for my PS. It's next Thurs and I hope the rain would stop and the sun would come out in full force by then. Stacy, how about u? Wonder if u are worried too

nellie - only my fx trader has BB Anywhere access. the rest of us are individual access so cant log into the terminals.. bleh.. really ZorBoh whole day and i juz came back frm lunch at raff place wif such a downpour.. simply bochap!, no govt.. haha.

huiz - FenYing is ur cousin?? i know shes hainanese coz my ma said b4..

btw, the project superstar judge, Li FeiHui oso a hainanese! i knew this long ago but he really farnie.. at the recording i went on tue, the judges need to test the microfone and Li FeiHui went "Jiak No Da Di! (1,2,3,4)" and me and TH juz went hahahah!

Err janf, Violet is not exactly cousin in the Chinese way of explaning la... but u know la, in the ang mo terms, relatives are usually either uncles, aunts, cousins, nieces or nephews... haha.

To put it simply, her paternal granny and my paternal grand father are elder sis and younger bro. So that makes her dad and my dad biao xiong di. We still do keep in touch all the time

Haha, ya, Li2 (Loy) is a very Hainanese surname. When I read about the Jiak No Da Di thing that he said I also burst out laughing! Heng no one is around me... hahaha

i look like Fen Ying?? hehe...ming xing lian!

My friends commented that i looked like Kym Ng in my ROM dress and straight hair... if you catch the Star Award...her hairstyle is also straight. haha... i think i look funny cos i seldom put on heavy makeup... thought i looked like a panda eye the whole day with the smoky eyes...

I did mingle with my friends during cocktail time. one hour from 7-8pm but it felt so short cos there are so many friends and relatives to meet and say hi...i'm glad i did it cos i din have enough time to mingle at all during the dinner.

i also had freesia for my hair. My florist gave me some berries to add some color to it.

Ah mais...if you are still looking for a VG at a value for money package, you can PM or email me at [email protected]
I received lots of compliments for the express highlights that he did for us despite the tight schedule. And he was with us from 6am right till 12am at no extra charge (some got surcharge) and is totally friendly and funny to work with.

oh...ivy...to make you itch somemore... my friends told me that there are still quite a bit to buy from Mango, looks like this time round, not many people have gone for the sale, and she bought those work jacket for $30 only. Really good bargain...

Haha Li Ann, I still think u look more like Fen Ying. Can see your makeup for the night (the one with u in the WG) is rather thick. The smoky eyes effect is more obvious. Is your MUA Ivy or Jerlyn? Btw, u mean the berries were from the florist who did your hall deco? U still got Jit to get u the basic hand bouquet etc did u?

I think I also want to mingle with the guests. I dont want to sit and wait for nothing upstairs and waste the time leh. haha, then can also have more time to walk around in my CS.. if not wasted ;-P

huiz...true true... CS so pretty so must walk around more. Wun regret de cos it's more fun to hug your friends and take pics with them.

Yeps...i had three different makeup. Purple and pastel in the morning, brown and natural for rom in the afternoon and grey and smoky for the night. My hairdo is different for each segment too. Jerlyn is my MUA and she is really good. Manage to make my eyes look brighter and less puffy. The berries are complimentary from my florist whom i separately engaged. She made the ROM hall and banquet room very pretty! She even decorated the stage with sash and crystals. And i top up for the guest centerpiece, opting for the three candles with ivy leaves. The effect turned out wonderful! Very dreamy, romantic and esp when lights off while watching the express highlights. The banquet room is really small and cosy so the candle effect is great!

I am still very excited and high when i think back to the night...but too bad, everything happen so quickly and i simply have no time to savour it that time. All i remember is my march in is very dreamy...too bad the aisle is short. Would have been better if it is longer.

keke...i'm feeling very happy and excited for all you brides-to-be.

Oh Ya, Li Ann, did u use PPR's Stamford room? How was their "performance" that night?

I went for food tasting last Fri evening and my folks were pleased that most of their dishes are very unique. they said its really something different from what they have usually tried.

janf...end up i did not use Stella cos she lost her phone and my sms, thus she made other appt le. End up i use Marilyn, MUA recommended by Ivy. End up my mum is the star of the night...walking around looking like some hot stars from the 50s. Even my PG cannot resist taking some of her pics. keke...

huiz...oh ya, the food! Also received lots of compliments on the food. The green sharkfin, surprisingly turned out to be well-received and another fav dish is the green curry prawn and the yam dessert.
My mouth was watering

Oh yes, I simply love the prawns too. It's really really unique. Another of my fave dish is the fried udon. My mum says its the first time she sees this at wedding dinner. They were also quite put off by the green sharks fin, so I had to tell Shalica to inform the chef to really cut down on that. Make it a pale green will do.

Oh ya, so what songs did u choose for the march ins?

mm...funny...how come my posting is chopped off?

Anyway...i was saying that my mouth was watering when the waitress walked past me with the prawns. :p

The hotel staff service is excellent! Very attentive and observant. No complaints from the guests so far. Shalica and banquet manager did a good job, and we are really very very pleased with PPR overall.

oh ya...the fried udon!
My colly attended another wedding dinner at PPR last night and is raving about the udon. Good choice!

The hotel did cut down on the "green" spinach for us...so the color is pale green. Just remember to remind your wedding coordinator. I gave mine a checklist as a reminder.

Wow...songs were a headache man...i lost sleep for the past few nites before my AD trying to sort out the songs...eventually settled on jazzy songs...except for the march ins.

ROM march in - L-O-V-E by Nat King Cole
First march in - I finally found someone
Second march in - Fallen by Lauren Wood

oh...remember to make duplicates for your CDs. Luckily i did for mine cos for some reason, some CDs cannot be played on the hotel sound system. we all had cold sweat cos of that... alternatively, you can try them first on the eve...i was supposed to do that but simply has no time to pop by the hotel. Thus took the risk to make copies instead. Also, PPR only plays audio format, they cannot play mp3 files.

nellie: i can understand how u feel @ work... cause my FH had his phone ringing all nite frm overseas counterparts complaining abt his company servers... blah blah

sigh ** end-users r all e same...

I am really glad to hear that, Li Ann. Now I really do feel more sure of my choice to go with PPR... haha. Just keep my fingers crossed that no freak incidents happen on my day... hahaha

Li Ann, thanks for highlighting the CD thing to me! But I thought once the songs are burned into a CD, i.e. make it something like the usual CDs we buy outside then any CD player would be able to play? Unless the songs are simply burned on the CD like how we would save our songs in a thumbdrive i.e. save them all as mp3s in a file then that is when some players cant play?

Sorry ah Li Ann, I think I have so many questions to ask u... haha

Were u using the Stamford room? For that room the march in aisle is quite short, so I am pretty sure that for whatever songs we choose, the length of the song would surely be longer than the time we need to walk down the whole aisle. So what did u do? Did u just let the music continue playing till it ended (just lower the volume when u have reached the end) or did u stop it altogether?

huiz...it's my pleasure to answer your questions...just hoping that we are not boring the other gals... :P

My friends copied all the songs i want in audio format (meaning in the original CD format, not mp3 format) in a CD. He made two copies. But one can play but one cannot. Nobody knows the reason why. But heng heng, i ask him to make two copies and he did.

As for timing your song with the march-in...ya...we did explore that one...for ROM song, cos the song came out right from the beginning when you play it, it is ok for us. My friend played the song first...so soon after the first phrase started "L is for the way you look...", we start to walk in...and they did lower the volume as the solemnization carries on and slowly fade off...

It is the same for the two march-ins. My friend played the song and let the lyrics came out a bit first before we march in and we intentionally walked slower and then up to the stage...and cos we had cake cutting ceremony and champagne pouring after that...the hotel lowered the volume. For the first segment, the hotel stopped playing the CD after my emcee announced that dinner commenced...and they play their own first dish song...which i suggest you change if you have your own preferred song. i find the music a bit funny... for the second segment, music also stopped after the emcee announced the yum seng for the couple.

aiyo.. Li Ann/Huiz, u made me so eager to go home to check my emails. I could not see a single picture here at all!

I have checked up a couple of PGs, looks like my date is still possible at this point in time. But the biggest headache is how to bring up this topic to my ex-colleague. I have to discuss with my FH again and see what is our final decision.

Li Ann, must beat your backside. *beat beat* aiyo, make me so itchy that I may want to go shopping tomorrow coz company is declaring early release! BTW, does your link have pictures of your mama? I also want to see!

I'm going off soon. Going to have my first fitting of my ROM dress. Have a nice evening ah mais!

keke...

no wor...the pics i sent dun have my mum. In fact, my friend only took pics of me and not my mum ;p

My PG is traveling in the states now..will only be back mid Jan so no pic. But my video will be ready in two weeks' time!

Did you check out Benny Ang? He is also good.

I'm finally going home to my mummy for her home cooked dinner! Miss it so much!
Will be able to download my honeymoon pic and i'll see if i can post them on the website.

Ivy and all other ah mais have a nice evening too!