Hainanese Brides, anyone???

yah yah...I got Ivied's contact number. heehee....

Hmm, I also address my SIL by her name, even though she's like 5 yrs older than me...hehs.

oh janf, so this is done by Stella. I have this misunderstanding that you went to KL to attend a wedding. hee.. so u are one satisfied customer.

oh, the sis-in-law that I'm talking about is my FH's younger sis. When I introduce her to others, should I say "sister" or "sis-in-law"? I have this perception that when u are married, your hubby's siblings are your siblings and hence should address the same way as your hubby. Hence I should address her as my sister. Is this correct? erm.. do u get what I'm trying to ask?

CSI, enjoy your HM! Perhaps u should get another ah mai's number as well, in case im not reachable. hee...

koxxic ah kor and li ann ah mai are quite quiet lately. Their weddings are coming up next... must be busy with the last min stuff.

yesh yesh ivied/stacy, the hairdo+makeup was done by stella.. me satisfied customer lah.. keke. i send u all my silly face wif makeup on wan? if not paiseh to post my face here, wait whole world see me..

ivied - its ok to intro to others as 'SIL'. my SIL oso intro me as her SIL to others!

janf - oh..so this is the one u wore the JM dress that u recommend us...yeah..show us the pic leh..via email la..hehee

thanks ah mais..so-the-hiding-inside-room-thing-when-bride-enters ain't something new la..cos when my mum told my hubby about it, my hubby was v surprised.

i have engaged stella for my mum and sister for AD. i have also recommended stella for my gf's rom next monday even though i haven't used her before. trust janf's recommendation. hehe

so stressed juggling work and wedding preparations man...

wah sherrie!, u so trust me even u hvnt seen stella's works ah?! haha.

btw, if need to add false eyelashes is $15 or if ur ma's hair is straight kind and need to set, she charges extra $15. my fren's ma paid extra $15 coz her hair is the short straight kind and need to 'curl'.. whereas for my ma, her hair is oredi permed so stella juz blowed it nicely (wif style) and din charge extra..

stella asked me to curl my hair (need to charge) and i din wan so i told her to plait it.. then bor-lao was saying "i tot plait is more KangHu than curl?!" haha. wateva lah.. as long dun charge me can liao.. me not the main star.. juz the 'KaLaFei' beside the bride..

Hey ah mais,

I am back from sleeping nearly the whole afternoon away. Later wanna go tailor and get shoes from Pedro for bo lao.

Janf, I really love your braids. I had loved braids for a long time, but I cant seem to do them for myself, not even a simple pig tail!

Nellie, where did u see the lamps u like? Mine costs RM30+

Ivied, I think if u are introducing your SIL to others in Mandarin, then it could be easier to tell others she is your "xiao gu". But to introduce in English, I think its ok to say "she is my SIL"? Think its also up to the individual lor

CSI, enjoy your trip! So nice to have something to look forward to

Sherrie, take one step at a time. Do what we can and I am sure things will fall nicely into place ultimately

Huiz - I received an email from Wedding DIY. Think they found me through Singapore brides. it's something like yours but yours are nicers.

Ivy, i think it's alright if you intro her as your SIL...my mom introduces my auntie like this too.

Janf: Your hairdo is very nice! I like your plaits too and Huiz, i also cannot tie plaits at all. Doesn't help that my hair is very thick and my pigtails wind up look clumsy & fat!

CSI: Have a good trip! The weather there should be fantastic now...hopefully will snow!

oic. Then I shall just call her SIL. You know, I was corrected of my mistake by some ladies when I was shopping around for clothes to wear to my FSIL's wedding. It got me puzzled all over...

err janf, I agree with your bo lao. Doesn't plaiting takes more effort than curling? Anyway, its their way of interpreting, as long as it turns out nice can already.

I saw your pic. nice nice. You look different from your usual self.

so Huiz, your bo lao has settled his suit? What about your dad?

I dunno why, just feel sianz as the AD is drawing near. Maybe feel tired after all that planning. But my FH is getting nervous leh. He is on the move now to ask friends for mailing addresses. I just sit there and watch. hee...

ah-mais - i will bring some AP pkts for those who are getting married.. its the norm banks ones, not the Xi word kind.. coz wedding need to wrap many many APs and it will come in handy ya..

thks ivied.. keke. if i look the same aft MU, then the MUA din do a good job wif my sickening face liao.. haha.

Yup ivied, my bo lao got his wing tipped shirt and shoes settled last night. The shirt was very reasonably priced at $85, much better than the $149 ones we saw in the shop. And haiii, men can be so troublesome when it comes to buying shoes as well. So ma fan man, shoe leather cannot be too shiny la (too shiny he said can see own face on the shoe...haha), cannot be too pointed la, and even the bottom of the shoe cannot be smooth and shiny i.e. cannot be like tap dancing shoes. Haiyooo.... but heng in the end managed to find something suitable from Hush Puppies @ Robinsons.

As for my dad, yes, have settled on renting the suit from the Balestier tailor.

Ya ivied, your big day is the first one coming after the Dec brides! I am sure u can relax now with most of your preps done

thanks janf.
My auntie has bought plenty of AB packets for us when she was in China. I think mine can be kept till CNY. haha..
ya, wedding has so much ABs to give, I have calculated mine to be approx $1.5k liao. *faint*

yes Huiz, man are equally fussy when it comes to their own shoes and clothing. They too have certain criteria and will pin point this and that. aiyo.. My FH is also a fan of Hush Puppies leh, he bought 2 pairs of shoes. (But that was after countless shopping trips)

yeah, 7 more weeks to go... Quite true, I'm pretty relax now. hee... I believe all ah mais who had done their preps early will feel the same as your day is drawing near.

This month we have koxxic, Li Ann, Lambzzz, sherrie and Misty. Wonder how is LambZzz, have not 'seen' her for quite some time.
koxxic ah kor, 2 more days....

Huiz, lucky your FH got his shoes!
My FH likes shoes from Pedro but next time i shall get him to check out Hush Puppies too.

Ivy, where did you get this pic? It's close to how the back of my EG but my pleats will start higher. Somewhere along my tailbone area & mine is gonna be A-line, not mermaid.

We went to Pedro too... but the niao gong don't like the shoes to be too pointy too. They don't suit him as well coz his feet are rather broad and the narrow part makes it too tight and uncomfy for him. But one thing is quite for sure.. HP shoes are more comfy

Pris, I found that pic at Tan Yoong's website. I was guessing that this looks like what you have described.

Huiz, my FH also complain about Pedro's shoes, saying they are either too pointy or the heels create those 'click clock' sound that he hates. 麻烦的男人 He has set his eyes on HP shoes only. Looks like we have 2 similar men here. hee..

wonder if mos is still in Spore. I just wish to thank her for guiding me on how to work on the audio editor. I did not really suceed but only manage to retain the part of the music that I wanted and remove the rest. hee...

Ya lo, my bo lao also hates those kind of shoes with smooth bottom coz he hates the sound it makes. He calls it the tap dancing shoes.... hahaha

I will be going to my ex colleague's wedding at Westin tomorrow night. Shall go collect some notes.

i just got back from shopping with my grandma at og albert. thanks to the salesgirl (who happens to be a hainanese), we bgt two sets of clothes for her. i was so thick-skinned. don have OG card. i approached a group of ladies and asked if they could lend it to me. turned out that they are hainanese too.

after we found the clothes, we were so happy that we went to purvis street for lunch at chin chin.

what a fruitful day!

heehe sherrie, this is really your day man! OG card can be really useful. So when they have promo, really need to kiasu kiasu go and make one man

sherrie - my ma got OG card too!

wah, so qiao within a day bump into so many hainam mais.. keke. u mean u and ur gran and the ladies go chin chin to eat or u and ur gran only?? i was at purvis st too having lunch juz now! but oppo the hock lam beef noodles..

yeah lor..but OG is so weird lor..only can apply for OG card during september and i heard one only needs to spend $70 or $90 to qualify??!! i bought so many things during oct, nov and this month but cannot get the card
so sad.

haha..janf: i parked my car outside hock lam beef noodles leh!! its next to the bridal shop...i was there at 2pm..u?? no la..my grandma and i went by ourselves.

i sort of approached the three "aunties" at OG la..pai say..

Ya, used to be need to spend $150 then can make the card. But during the Sept period only need to spend $75. But I am not sure if we can make the card during other periods (but spend $150) or not...

morning ah mais..how's everyone today? it's finally friday thought nothing to be excited about for me cos i gotta work fr 9 till 7pm tomorrow.

anyway, i just selected my EG last night. it's black lace with gold lining inside (wonder if some traditional relatives will flip or not). the back is gold pleats like the pix which ivied has posted. i made some last minute changes to my actual MTM EG so it will only be ready next week for the 1st fitting. gosh. imagine not able to view your gown till 2 weeks from the AD. BS guy told me i can select one OTR and use the MTM for sending-off-the-guests gown. now i will have two evening gown changes.

any recommendations for back scrub? must keep the shoulders and back in tip top condition now!

Hi Sherrie,

I recommend using a loofah for the back scrub. To me, it beats any of those shower foam with scrubbing beads coz I think they are too mild. It can be rather painful when u first use the loofah, so go easy on your skin on the first time. The longer u use it, the softer, more comfy and more effective it will get

long time nv login. quite a lot of messages liaoz... need to catch up. :p

gee, was juggling with some video submission and preparation for photoshoot nxt week. finally found 2 nice shirts for my FH @ robinsons. went to tangs at 1st. but he super fussy abt e clothes. all guy's clothes look abt e same, then he wan smthg special and different from working clothes. tough leh. had a hard time looking. tangs also sell hollywood tape 19.90 and fabric nude bra 48.00 but in e end i buy @ robinsons 15.90 and 19.90. saved a bit.

later need to go change currency and buy one more colourful tie for e new shirts.

btw i can't join everyone @ 23dec gathering. sad... need to fit my dad's schedule nxt nxt week to go visit my granny in m'sia together. u all enjoy and post some photos k.

seems like ppl gets sick easily recently. ah mais, drink more water n take vitamins k.

ivied - didn't really guide u much. it's more of exploration of e program to get it right. so which program did u use? if u need some help, just let me know ok. u can actually do some fading in/out on e cut portion of e music so that the cut off part does not end abruptly.

sherrie, wow, your OTR EG sounds fabulous and very modern! How come you have 2 EG changes? Perhaps you may want to go for a spa session and get a body/back scrub done. I intend to go for spa session at least twice before my AD next year.

mosburger, both of us in the same boat...can't make it for the gathering. So sad.

janf - checked my mail just now and saw your JM dress. nice colour and nice cutting!

pris - yalor... *sigh*

sherrie - wow, they let u have 2 EGs? d'ya have teadress?

don have tea dress. i didnt ask for kua too.

i am going for massage and scrub now. package one. 68 dollars. one hour massage and 30 mins scrub. hehe. just across my work place. my appt is at 2.15pm

sherrie, I'm trying out this T3 scrub, its purple and white tube, can be found at Watson's and Guardian. Just started so not sure if it will be effective. Anyhow, I saw this in another thread, FYR.
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/1151/412226.html#POST2047250

The EG that you mentioned sounds elegant. Not to worry about the black lace, the gold lining create a two tone effect so it does not look totally black and I'm sure this will be acceptable by the elderly.

So what about your PS? You wore another EG? Perhaps u can change to your MTM EG when you are done with the table shots. So that will give you more time to flaunt that EG.

mos, not too bad, your hubby is concerned with how he will look. Mine keep telling me must get those shirts that he can wear to work in future. In the end, it is the (same old shirt). *faint*
But I secretly bought one bright coloured one for him. hee.. But he stressed to me that this will only be worn ONCE. haiz...

BTW, the Robinsons at Centrepoint has many nice ties, you can take a look.

And thanks for your help. I'm using the trial version of 'ulead'. I did not manage to edit the song, just cut and remove the parts that I do not want. hee.. I shall try on the fading in/out as u mentioned. It does end quite abruptly, but I'm thinking that the guests will not even get to that part as my hotel's aisle is rather short. The song will still be playing by the time I reached the stage. hee..

hey sherrie,
your EG sounds gorgeous! Quite "irritating"...having to wait and wait to view ur gown. heehee...but that's where the fun is.

i m back. i have this feeling of being deceived cos the body scrub and massage was only 1 hour in total. the girl was so weak. when i told her to increase her pressure, she exerted a little bit more pressure only. when the saleslady tried to push the "package" to me, i told her v flatly that i wasn' interested at all cos i didnt enjoy the massage at all. she went "but this masseur is the strongest here..." i litersally rolled my eyes...

waste of my money lor...

my bor lao bought his tie and cufflinks from robinsons raffles city. quite nice and they had a set. $80 for that set.

ivied..yes i wore 5 different outfits for my photoshoot. 1 white tulle dress, 1 beidge embroidered one, 1 pink dress and 1 white and lilac dress for indoors and a simple one for the outdoor shoot.

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bohty</TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lydia</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Goodwood Park</TD><TD>Emanuel B</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>Emeharkeh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>Damon </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherrie</TD><TD>29-Dec-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Hyatt</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Westerveld</TD><TD>7-Jan-07</TD><TD>3 yrs ago</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Forest Production </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>DoryMiki</TD><TD>13-Jul-07</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office (Over)</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>

Does this sound familiar?

THE RULES
1. The Female always makes THE RULES.

2. THE RULES are subject to change without notice.

3. No Male can possible know all THE RULES.

4. If the Female suspects the Male knows all THE RULES, she must immediately change some of THE RULES.

5. The Female is never wrong.

6. If it appears the Female is wrong, it is because of a flagrant misunderstanding caused by something the Male did or said wrong.

7. If Rule #6 applies, the Male must apologize immediately for causing the misunderstanding.

8. The Female can change her mind at any time.

9. The Male must never change his mind without the express written consent of The Female.

10. The Female has every right to be angry or upset at any time.

11. The Male must remain calm at all times, unless the Female wants him to be angry or upset.

12. The Female must, under no circumstances, let the Male know whether she wants him to be angry or upset.

13. The Male is expected to read the mind of the Female at all times.

14. At all times, what is important is what the Female meant, not what she said.

15. If the Male doesn't abide by THE RULES, it is because he can't take the heat, lacks backbone, and is a wimp.

16. If the Female has PMS, all THE RULES are null and void and the Male must cater to her every whim.

17. Any attempt to document THE RULES could result in bodily harm.

18. If the Male, at any time, believes he is right, he must refer to Rule #5.

sherrie, hmm.. the money spent is not worth.. ques: You are not working today?

hey, that's quite a lot of outfit change! Any pic to share? :p

CSI, you are going for HM soon hor.. Enjoy yourself to the fullest! Planning for Project BB? Can have one make in xxx ... hee...

Wow, sherrie, Z weddings is so good. Allows so many gown changes
I was watching the re-run of the old Ch8 show, Xi Lin Men (the one about the fried fish shop) when I was at home on MC yesterday and saw them featuring the shop

Ah mais!!!!!

I'm ultra stressed out here!!!!
Gosh....guess what???
5 days...oops less than 5 days away and i am still in the office!!!
gosh!
i've been so busy these few days tying loose ends that i totally have no time to log in....
and janice is so right...i really am damn kan cheong man!
hog her even past midnite! ;p
thanks janice!!

ok...i've no time to go change into sexy wear for my henz party tonight...

my friend is here to pick me up le...seeya guys....if i have time to come in to chat somemore!

:D

oh btw, can anyone share with me if the money that the groom pays for the gate crashing in the morning is from his own pocket or we come out with the money together?

i'm torn between what the relatives and friends told me....

Hello Ah mais!!!

I need luck. Today is the day I'm rolling out the upgrade onto my production systems.
So stresses up now!!!

Li Ann - it's up to you. If your FH could afford the amount, let him do so. It shows that he's able to take care of your needs after marriage.

morning ah mais.. i juz came back from yishun.. went bank wif my pama for some banking trans.. and guess wat, juz 2hrs and i saw 6 wedding cars on the road liao!!! today really hot hotter hottest date in the yr! koxxic oso marrying today ya..

I was at Westin for a wedding last night and there were actually 5 (or was it 6??) weddings going on at the same time at Level 4! Waa the place was so crowded man. Can easily end up at the wrong wedding... haha

Think today must be quite a good date to get married too! Was woken up early this morning by this bridal car honking 18 times!!! @*$(% My mom told me to remind my FH not to be so noisy next year!

CSI: Thanks for updating the table...you missed my ROM venue -- Acte D'amour (Masonic Garden).

Gals, i bought my wedding shoes yesterday from Takashimaya! Was choosing between this and another pair from Lucieno but this URS one "won" in the end. It's champagne gold with some diamante crystals.

URL: http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v68/Prisseet/Things%20bought/?action=view&amp;current=weddingshoes.jpg

ivied - u can adjust e volume by clicking anywhere u want on e centre line on audio track by dragging it up or down. fading, just drag e last point to minimum ie. bottom

li ann - all e best to u! enjoy ur big day in advance!

pris - nice crystals there!
and nice pedicure too!

ah mais - i'm flying off to taiwan later. be back a week later! ciao!

Hi Ah Mais,

my project is finally finished. now i can concentrate on my house. moving in this coming Sat. Gosh!!! i realised I had so many stuff to pack... faint...

Mos - enjoy your taiwan trip!

Pris - Nice shoes!

Li Ann - Big day's tmr!!! Congrats!!! You'll be a beautiful bride. Enjoy!

CSI - Happy Honeymoon!!!

Did I miss out any other upcoming events??? I'm still blur. My 'computer' (brain) hasn't switched back to normal mode yet... hee hee...