Hainanese Brides, anyone???

CSI, how much are the cakes at Pine Gardens? Do you have the address?

Nellie, your systems are suffering from Mon blues... hee.. But what a way to start the day....

BTW, what's the timing for the gathering? So we have Nellie, Stacy, Huiz, janf, sherrie and me. Anyone else? Pris, Mosburger, DoryMiki.....

Stacy, its funny ah. It has never occur to us that we have to observe what others are doing for their wedding. But we start to keep a lookout and take notes when we are preparing for our own.

Here's the webby for Pine
http://www.pgcake.com/

My good friend just gave birth to a bb gal. Think the full mth maybe on 23 or 24 Dec. If it falls on 23...chiam for me liao.

Ivied, ya..my guy attending his colleague wed dinner this Sun. I told him to observe the groom leh..so he knows what to do on the AD. Hahaa..last time i attend dinner, boh chap ones..only see the pics at the reception, see the brides WG n continue with my food..only observe the food last time.

Stacy, I am currently at Choa Chu Kang. Boss say will put me at Hougang after one month and I really hope so man. And yes, I agree with your mum on the cream cake thingy. Can get very messy.

Hi ivied, any reason why a GDL not planned for initially?

Ya, Pris, u can ask your dad to make the cupcakes and that would be something really meaningful and unique

yeah Stacy, me too. Perhaps the past weddings were normal, so I did not really take note or have any deep impressions. I could not even really remember much of my best friend's wedding. She did not get me involved in her wedding prep, just helping her out on the AD. She was not bothered with her wedding at all so we friends also just leave it as it is.

I'm working on a different concept. My JMs are happy for me but they are those who do not think much about wedding banquets. I try to involve them whenever I have any doubts or I will share if I have any pictures. In this way, they are somehow participating in my wedding preps and will get a feel on how the wedding will be.

I have learnt that 'people' plays an important role on how smoothly the wedding will flow and how it will turn out to be. So I'm working on this line and hope it will turn out well too.

And Stacy, thanks for the link.

Huiz, my mama and I have agreed that there's no point in having GDL as we are just exchanging the li pin. We do not wish to add on the burdens of both parents so decided to forgo it.

Nelllie, 130pm is fine with me.

huiz - wow, if Hougang, then really good for u! But i guess ur branch is the furthest fm home..so anyway where is nearer for you..hehe. So no need to work under ur boss for few mths during the reno?..hehee

Ivied - ya.i agree. Its gd to get ur JMs & XDs involved in the wed preps.

Oh, I've checked with my mama. She said I'm not going to have the GDL. Everything do on AD.. meaning bo lao got to bring so many things on AD n my relatives got to bring the cakes back after the tea ceremony?

Nellie - 1.30pm is fine with me for time being. I've just smsed my gf..ask her when is her bb's full mth party. Good friend mah..so die die muz attend tt one lah...if she is having it on 23rd, then I prob need to juggle my time ya! Prob can drop by her place earlier n go ur place later..

Yah man, Stacy, I have been working at the furthest clinic for 2 years now so any place is near for me. haha. My boss will be at another place, so I better enjoy my 'bor cheng hu" time while it lasts.

I hope I can chow early from work on Sat to join u gals. PILs coming from Malacca then, so I would have to join them for dinner after that.

sorry where is the place we are going to? nellie's house..a bit distracted today cos of the tension in the office today.

Wow...no goverment for Huiz..so happi for you. I'm waiting for Dec 18, when my cheng hu goes for 2wks leave to Sri Lanka...hope she get me some good xmas gifts there...hahaa.

Sherrie - yup yup...we having a potluck party at Nellie's hse on 23rd Dec, tentatively set at 1:30pm. Do join the gals if u can make it..wanna see u in person

yeah i will defintely try my best to make it. want to see everyone in person so next time i have a face to associate with the name. gotta clear all my work. usually companies like us will "force" us to clear all the cars for registration by end dec. they want to register as many cars as possible to make it look good.

haha.. Dec is always "no boss month". I'm also waiting for my boss to go on leave then I can relax a bit.

nellie, my email addy is [email protected]. I can't cook leh, can I buy? I think I shall bring sushi from Sake Sushi.

Nellie - can I bring a fruit cake or sth...wanna some christmas feel..hehee

If not, then i get ice-cream fm the malls near ur place

hey ivied,
your FSIL's wedding sounds like lots of fun manz!
Well said, do not compare. We can take notes, but most impt is to have it our own style..reflecting who we really are...

Pine Gardens cakes...depends on which type u want. They have the whole round cake, the individual rectangle/triangle cakes (like those olden days type), and the modern 1-inch round individual cakes (I took those). Prices range from $6 (if I remember correctly) to $8.50 per box. Delivery is $10 per address.

Yes 23rd Dec!! It's coming up...

Hello Ah Mais, I need your help.

Going to be jie mei for my friend on 15th Dec. Need to plan for 'Gate-crashing'. I've been brain-dead on these stuff. My 'computer' (head) only stores the project data now, unable to retrieve 'gate-crashing data'. ha ha ha

Can you all give me ideas how we should 'play' the groom and brothers?

how's ur friend and her FH like? I mean, the "garang" type or the "cannot play too boisterious/siong games" type? My hubby is the latter, so we had intellectual games for them...

So I can only tell u abt "intellectual" games...hahaha. They prepared (i) Soduku for the guys. From Easy to Difficult level. If they get it wrong, do some forfeit. (ii) They had the Guess the Logo game. Dunno where they go and find all the various logos and the guys had to guess them. Get x% correct and you'll go through. (iii) Hide the door key in somebody's shoe (sure got lots of shoes at the front door for them to search one...unless it's a house, not Flat/apartment).

So my jie meis placed a few bamboo poles outside, just to scare the guys...maybe they might think we want them to do pole dancing! When actually we dun even intend to use the poles...in the end, the guys seriously thot we wanted them to do pole dancing! hahaha...and they volunteered to do Limbo instead (ok lorh, since they want to do, let them do it...)

That's just some ideas lah.

Hey, my fren (groom) also getting married on 15 Dec. heehee...wonder how many pple getting married that day...

Hi CSI,

The groom is quite sporty but not his xiong dis. The bride has told us cannot let the groom sweat.

Intellectual games is definitely out for them cos they're not those type.

The best part is : they had a geomancer calculated the auspicious time to pick the bride, what time to leave the bride's house and what time to reach the groom's house and etc...

The groom must enter the bride's house at 9.15am. If he comes on the dot.... that's IT for us.

What can we do???? We have come up with the usual games like 'Guess which lips belong to the bride', 'Passing of a cherry tomato thru mouth'...

hi Nellie,

wah...that's it manz...if they "decide" to wake up late that day, then cham...cannot really play.
I guess the usual games are ok lorh. If he really comes on time. He enters the bride's house at 9:15am. Do you think they are ok to continue the games outside her room? I mean, he has entered the house already...heehee...(just trying to get round the time bit). If can continue outside her room, then he can sing a song too...or do something that is memorable to the both of them...eg. read a poem he composed for her?

Sherrie & Huiz: My dad owns the bakery but he can't bake! Haha...don't think his staff can do cupcakes like those we see from The Patissier or Carnival & Co. Hmm...nevermind i can still consider. Sherrie, my dad's bakery is at Bedok.

Gals, my sec sch friend is having her wedding on 23rd Dec and i need to be around. Somemore during the day, my FMIL planning to ask the FS master to come to the flat to look at the master bedroom. Sigh...looks like i'll have to miss out on this gathering. So sad...

Nellie, one of my colleague told me her friend's hubby actually turned "black face" during the gatecrashing cos he felt like he was being humiliated! Since cannot let the groom sweat, maybe you can try quizzes? E.g. "Where is the 1st date?" or "What is her favourite food?" If wrong, must do forfeit!

Something to share...i met my gown designer today and have settled on the designs of my WG & EG!!! So excited and happy. Will be going for my 1st fitting next month. My coordinator told me to start looking for shoes to match. If i buy now, is it too kiasu?

morning all.. im back in ofc..

talking abt games to play for gatecrash?! yday my fren's wedding, we did SuanTianKuLa and made the gang do a card for the bride.. my fren's ma still can ask "huh? why muz eat bittergourd? wedding shd be sweet mah?" we JMs were like 'err.. aunty, u dun interfer in wat we gals do lah.. as long we dun go overboard can liao..' keke.

for my case, my bor-lao really game.. he kena the SuanTianKuLa, Guess the Lips (whicheva lips he guess sure wrong obviously!), blow balloons etc..

i tink the gang muz be spontaneous then its fun.. and video can capture the moments.. i hv seen weddings where the parents say cannot play too much lah, wat timing impt lah.. this type sianz liao.. but of coz agaration will do..

mayb i bring my AD dvd to nellie's hse and show u all the tekan session..?! huiz seen b4 liao..

Gd morning all

Janf, how was your trip? Hope u had enjoyed yourself

Pris, your BS really works fast! 1st fitting next month! So what kind of design did u choose? Something u saw from the wedding sites? I think its ok to buy shoes now. Just make sure it is well kept. Haha, we should have gone beyond the growing stage now, so we can sure fit into the shoes anytime ;-P

Oh yes janf, good idea to share your dvd to everyone. I think your bo lao really onz at the gate man... hehe

Good morning.

Abt gatecrashing, got to be careful when playing the SuanTianKuLa. Ever happened to my gf when the groom got stomach upset in the end (think he cannot take liang teh in the morning).

Ya man..if the groom comes late..reach the brides place at 9.15am..then no gatecrash liao..sian..ya lor..maybe as what CSI suggested..let him enter 1st n doorcrash outside the bride's room...hahaa

hi ah mais, so on our list is now
Nellie, janf, Huiz, Stacy, CSI, sherrie and me. Pris, its a pity that you can't join us. Nevermind, we shall keep u updated with the pic.

For gatecrashing, I have seen the brothers wearing underwear and the groom has to go round each of them dancing; also there is the groom to kiss the cat that the bride has reared; to shout "I love you" or to use a chalk to write it in chinese at the carpark so that the bride can see; to hide the key to the bride's room; sing a song/fold hearts for the bride; write poem or their 5 year plan; etc

janf, hope you are feeling better today. can see that your bo lao is the spontaneous type. Your JMs must be enjoying throughout the gatecrashing.

I told my JMs no food for the groom, can't imagine how he can tahan when he has a weak stomach. But he is also not spontaneous, so my JMs are going to use the 'soft' approach. haha..

ya Pris, what design have you chosen? Yours is MTM? Yup, I also think that you can get your shoes now. It is not easy to find one that you like and it must be comfortable. Its Christmas shopping now, can have fun sourcing around.

i went to pine gardens yesterday. have placed orders for the GDL cakes already.

my friend was a brother for his friend's wedding. he jumped into the swimming pool at their condo. the jie meis requested someone take the plunge! kua zhang...

btw, li ann got pop into forum past days?? coz she sms-ed me on sat midnite asking abt some GDL last min stuffs while i was in kl.. can sensed her kancheong-ness so replied her.. very fast, her AD in 1wk time..

Huiz & Ivy: Both my gowns are MTM. My WG is off-shoulder princess cut with organza back. My EG has a high oriental collar (but not closed like cheongsam) and the back is low but covered with organza. The EG's focus is on the sunray(?) pleats at the back...when i walk, it'll show. Not sure how to explain! EG is salmon pink in colour.

I thought now good time to buy shoes cos Xmas season and many stores selling diamante & sparkly shoes. Saw a pair at Taka yesterday that i like...this brand Lucieno. Quite comfy & it's a muted champagne gold, T-strap with diamantes.

Janf: You feeling better now? Seems like you had a lot of fun! I told my JMs cannot make my FH play anything to do with food during gatecrashing. Cos he has a very weak stomach and even taking normal chilli can give him diarrhea!

sherrie: What kind of cakes did you order in the end from Pine?

they have 3 choices:
1) sliced cakes 10 in a box with cream: but not so good if we put inside the car
2) round cakes like walnut kind: easy to handle and need not put inside the frige for the 1st day
3) i ordered assortment of their tarts. its mixture of apple crumble, tiramisu, cheese cake etc. think 8 pieces in a box. but disadvantage is they need to be stored in the fridge. pro: looks sooooh nice.

but we may change later at a later date.

its not exp. the round cake is $6.50. the one i chose is $8.80 per box. the sliced cakes cost $9. $10 for delivery. sigh. may change later cos my mum may not find our choice acceptable. in terms of presentation, it's definiltey the best in my opinion.

anyway, i also bought one slice of their signature black forest cake and one slice of their lychee martini cake. finished the former at the kopitiam next to the shop with tek tarik. i finished the latter at home last night before i went to bed. not bad, really!

Huiz: Sunray pleats are like that...but mine will be made of thicker fabric at attached to the back of my gown (somewhere around my butt area). It will be "hidden" beneath 2 panels of cloth at the back and when i walk, the pleats will show.

Didn't take toga top (though she let me try on a few) cos the oriental collar looked much better on me.

Have a good day gals...i'm off shopping!

Hi Ah Mais, I just reached office after my medical checkup. REally headache on the gatecrashing.... Must have backup plans...

1. If the groom arrives early, proceed normal gatecrashing
2. If arrive on the dot, as what CSI had suggested, outside the room door where the bride is

The bride's family are quite conservative. Wanted to ask the groom to select which is the bride's bras also cannot, let alone asking them to wear briefs and dance.

The bride wanted us to run the whole show including the dinner (usually it's the xiong dis' job). She said the groom's xiong dis cannot be relied on. OMG!!!

Janf - yes, bring your dvd!!!

Pris - congrats to you on your gown selection. 1 load off your mind.

Sherrie - my mouth is watering now!!!

anyone heard of this? someone has mentioned that my brother's younger brother and sister (who are both married) aren't supposed to be in the house when we go over to my in-laws' place in the morning? *odd*

I've only heard that those people who's zodiac or Ba Zi clash with the newly wedded couple cannot be around.

For me, i've got a cousin who cannot be around when my FH comes to fetch the bride (me!) in the morning. When we come back for tea ceremony, she is allowed to be around. My FS master calculated and said it's not good if she is around.

Hi Sherrie,

I have heard that its best to keep the path of the couple clear when they come into the house (the groom's house).

I have both my wedding lamps too
Decided to get those run by electricity. Saw the pair that my cousin in Malacca used for his wedding and fell in love with it. Got him to get one for me and bo lao brought it back to Sg when he went home to Malacca last week....

433795.jpg

Simply love it so much.... heehee

hey sherrie,
that's the same GDL cakes that I ordered for my GDL...heehee...yah, they look soooo nice manz. And it tastes just as yummy. Hopefully your family is ok to your selection.

Aiyah, I was MIA yesterday coz was on MC after attending a fren's wedding on Monday. Probably not enough rest. And next Tuesday I'll be going for HM, so I thought that I shd just rest at home (although I was feeling ok...just a bit of cough). Ended up doing housework. sianz...hahaha.

Haaii, now its my turn to take MC. Everyone who saw me at work this morning say I look really pale and lousy. Have a really heavy head and uncomfy throat. Gonna see if I can get 2 days MC... heehee. Gotta get well before I set off for my Cameron trip this Sat!

everyone MC ah.. me oso aching all over and so sleepy.. cant wait for the day to end.. mayb go off earlier today then..

is csi coming for the xmas gathering on 23rd or extending HM?

Sherrie - that applies to my friend's coming wedding. The 'piece of paper' written by the geomancer had the names of the couple, time and the horoscopes to avoid at both bride and groom side.

Luckily the bride's side did not ban 'DRAGONS'in the house else she has to find somebody to replace me. However, the groom'side is banning DRAGONS. Anyway, I'm not the receiving party of the groom's side so it's ok.

I know that everybody in the groom's house either has to turn their backs or hide somewhere in the house to avoid seeing the bride entering the house.

Huiz - that's a pair of very nice lights. I saw the one pair I like too but EX!!! $20+ for a pair.

Janf - nice hairdo!!! did your MUA take a long time to do the plaits?

Got to take good care, ah mais. Drink lots of water and rest well.

yup, when the couple comes into the hse, all immediate relatives and pama cannot face the couple. juz geigei face anywhere except the couple can liao.

nellie - she took abt 15mins to plait coz she said i got too much hair! her hands very Suan from plaiting. haha. bride's ma's hair oso nicely done up and my fren's ma very satisfied.. for the price she charge, pretty good quality makeup+hairdo..

good morning ah mais.
yup sherrie, it is quite odd but this is what the older folks believe in so we younger generation have to follow. During my cousin's wedding, all of us have to turn our back when the bride is coming to the groom's house. We are only allow to face her after she has walked into the house.
Then on my FSIL's wedding, both me and hubby can't look at the bride when she's departing from the house or entering into the church. Something like will 'chong' with us. *shrug*

yeah janf, nice hairdo. So the MUA did the hair and makeup for all JMs?

aiyo ah mais, rem to rest and rest and rest. Drink liang tea as well.

ask u all, after my AD, should I call my husband's sister as "sister" or "sister-in-law"?

During my bro's wed...all of us were told to go hide in the rooms when the brides enter the hse. We've got to wait till the mei po said its ok to turn ard. I find it weird...is like "aren't we suppose to welcome..but y are we turning our face away..haha"?

Nice lights u've got, huiz! They are so pretty!

Janf - nice hairdo..this is the wed in attended in KL?

CSI - enjoy ur HM! Take plenty of rest so u can enjoy your holidays to the fullest!

Ivied - I called my SIL 'da sao'..think its up to individual bah..

oh..the HM extension ah...hehs. confusing manz. Yesterday, hubby went agency to check on the extension. They managed to get us extension, but 6 nights after tour ends (depart on 25th Dec). Ok lorh (I was thinking, aiyah, will miss the gathering again)...but also means spend more coz more accomodation, plus food, transport etc. Then this morning (after my post this morning), the agency called...and they managed to get us on the 22nd Dec flight back. Which is also ok with us. We want to extend, and at least, in this case, we dun have to spend so much more extra...so, ok lah. So, what time is our gathering on 23rd? Coz I'll reach SIN at 0645hrs...hehs.

ivied - the MUA only did for me and bride's ma coz she need minimum 2paxs to MU.

no lah stacy.. me went own leisure to kl from 1-3dec and 4dec was fren's wedding at hyatt.. till now i still feel the tireness in me.. can u believe tat i took 1/2hr to wash my hair when i went home in the nite?! the amt of hairspray used majiam like free one.. haha. reminds me of my AD.. keke.

i addressed my SIL by her name, Li Lin so i call her Lin lor..

csi - the gathering is at 130pm. if u not tired aft touch down can join us.. but i tink sure very shack.. tat time i came back from HM, totally haywired abt the timings here.. haha.

Janf - oh ya..u mentioned tt u engage Stella..so was for this wedding fxn har. Aiyoh..i can imagine the amt of hairspray they use, cos wanna fix everything in place.

CSI - remember to get our contact nos..hehee
. I agree with Janf..sure u will be shacked manz! Hope to catch up with u!