Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Huiz - my sis loves baking cheesecakes...but after she bake..we will only take a small small piece...*sinful*

Janf - olive tree buffet...i missed tt! But been eating too much during the PH..got to control on my diet liao..hehee

Nellie - my colleague mentioned to me before his aunt's pineapple cheese tartsm also in Kuantan leh...could it be fm same receipe..hehee

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bohty</TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lydia</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Goodwood Park</TD><TD>Emanuel B</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>DoryMiki</TD><TD>13-Jul-07</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>Raffles The Plaza</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office (Over)</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>

nope CSI, I have this whole stack of 1-for-1 dinner vouchers for quite a few restuarnats from Oct's Women's Weekly mag. last day is 31 oct. I can post them to u if u wan

haha, stacy.. i will eat the whole cake!

here's a pic:

419055.jpg

well said, Janf...
After what you said, i think me getting myself a VG too...
Before this still toying with the idea whether to have one or not...

Ivied - I agree, usually first born takes after the dad... because i took after my dad and a few frens also like that =P

Huiz, do we have a chance to taste your cheesecake in our next gathering?

janf, I'm thinking along the same line too. But cost is the issue leh. Do u have lobangs of cheaper ones? Mine is super early one, both day and evening. Wonder if they will charge extra.

Hey, this Sat is Lydia and Stepford's BIG day. Congrats to the two ladies.

CSI, I noticed that with my girl friends too. In fact, most of my friends are first born and we all 'complain' that we take after our dads and not our pretty mamas. hee...

Hi all ah-mais...

I haven't logged in for so long but today i'm free at home!
Off in-lieu for Deepavali so it's a rare chance for me to be home. Will be going to the Gracious Living exhibition at Expo later -- can check out all the IDs there!

Janf: Are you much better already after your extraction?

Ivy: I wish i've taken after my dad...he's the handsome one with huge eyes! But i look like my mom! :p

Hey sure, it's my pleasure to share more cheesecake with everyone! So how? When will we be meeting up next? Then I can go prepare prepare. *keeps fingers crossed that they will turn out well*

Ivied, yah, I think PGs and VGs would charge more if need them to come early. Think this is how they make $ too?

Pris, envy u leh. Haha. So u need ID to do up the whole of your ILs' place?

Hi Pris,
Long time no see yah. Happy searching for a ID.
U sound disappointed to take after your mum's genes. hee...

Huiz, perhaps we meet up at year end? Can celebrate Christmas at the same time. hee.. When is CSI coming back from her honeymoon?

janf, I found one videographer by the name of Simon. His package is $700 for a full day session. Think this is the cheapest that I have heard of so far. I did not set aside budget for this coz thinking of asking friends to help. Then my bo lao sudd tell me yesterday that he does not wish to bother his friends, should let them enjoy the dinner since they are the guests. He does not see the need for videographer but I agree with you, they are live images that u can 're-visit' anytime u wish.

ivied - my VG can also quote this price, i believed.. got yr-end bonus anot?! i used my last yr bonus and gangan signed up the VG! haha. tats how broke we were then..

huiz - ur cheesecake looks gd..no crack at the top har..good!

Nellie - sure...we'll go 'warm' ur hse if u gonna invite us..hehee...tok abt tt...i also haven't invited guest to come n 'warm' my hse yet...too lazy to start clearing..hehee

Janf - yummy...i loved their prawn mee...esp with the pork ribs..but HB said its taste lousy..aiyah, he only fancy penang prawn mee..

stacy - i tink their standard dropped liao leh.. juz now i went, doesnt taste as good liao.. disappted.. whitley road prawn mee still better..

Got "trick" to bake it such that there is no cracks.... bake it over a water bath.

Wa janf.... u can go so far for lunch ah. So good!

janf - realli!! I've not been there for a while...std drop har...sometimes it depends on chef mood also..I wanna go try again one of these days... hmm...whitley road prawn mee..where is it near...novena?

Huiz - okie...muz tell sis the trick! Cos during sch days..they onli said if temp too hot...will crack..but I follow teacher's instuctions...still crack...hehee

stacy - whitley road one has a branch at zion road hawker ctr.. *slurp*

i got fetish for cheesecakes one leh!! its my fav cake besides blackforest.. wah, lidat huiz muz bake more more to bring to nellie's hse liao..!

Nope it has nothing to do with temp I feel. Just need to put the cake tin in a bigger tin and pour hot water around the empty space and push the whole thing into the oven. Quite a fool proof method I think

nellie - sure we can sit on the floor...but u muz wipe clean clean for us to sit..hahaa....m in for potluck...but nothing fancy tt i can prepare hor..hehe

janf - zion rod...near to my ex sch...huh..gonna try when i pop by GWC one day!

I have big craves for anything cheesy too! Whenever I go Pizzahut, I can really finish the whole bot of cheese powder. Every inch of the pizza and pasta have to be covered with that. haha!

Ok onz for potluck!

can also bake at my house.

my mum will be moving her baking stuff to my kitchen. Baking might be her part-time job when she retires and my kitchen will be her factory.

I even got my contractor to get me a portable marble top, specially for my mum to roll her dough.

oh u gals talking about pot luck.. can can. Me on! But I can't cook leh, I mean only I can eat my own food. ha ha ha... can I buy instead?
Nellie's house is good too. Near my place. hee..

Is the Geylang Lor 1 prawn noodles the one that the boss just passed away few months back?

Nellie, both our mums can come into partnership. Mine loves baking too and has sooo many baking barang barang that her old man says that that will be her only legacy after she dies.... haha.

My previous owner left me a huge built in oven which I am very thankful for. Gotta clean it up den start using it full force

Wa seh, Nellie, your mum so on ah. Mine also went for classes, but just those simple kinds at the CC. I am just too lazy to go though. Anyhow pick up a recipe and bake. Then always worry whether it'll turn out well or not. Haha

nellie..so sweet of u...got a marble top for ur mum to roll the dough!

ivied..the prawn mee is opp kallang new blk...dunno abt the nws tt the owner just passed away.

old liao.. ivied - u staying in AMK now rite? ur ILs stay where?

i put up hand to go nellie's hse coz i can go my NiangJia 1st then go her hse.. keke.

wow Nellie/Huiz, both your mama so ON. mine also wishes to bake, even bought a baking oven and now this oven is a white elephant in the kitchen. hee..

Stacy, this prawn mee is along the road side is it? Its a shop on its own that sells prawn mee only, a corner shop?

janf, yup, I'm staying in AMK and my ILs are also in AMK.
Anyway if the tentative date is set at year end, I'm still a Miss so I'm still at my own house.

wah ivied, good hor.. ur NiangJia and ur ILs stay close to each other.. hv u tot of getting own nest?

the prawn mee shop is called JALAN SULTAN PRAWN MEE

oh yes, its the same prawn mee that I have been to too. The owner had passed away suddenly a few months back so now the family is handling the business. The soup is nice, especially with the pork ribs.

janf, the distance between my current place and my ILs is <10mins drive away. We could not find our desired flat so decided to move in with ILs first. My bo lao insisted on NEW flat so no choice lor, wait till the one opp Bishan park is up then we see if we can ballot for it. Its another en-bloc.

Huiz, I have a file similar to a wedding checklist. I shall send it to you via email. The file is too big, can't post it here. See if u can find anything that u have missed out. Note, this is a checklist meant for the UK/US BTBs, but the essential ones are there. Hope it helps.

U are welcome Huiz.
Let me know if u need anything else. My headache is semi-over already, so I'm quite relax now. hee...

ivied, i have looked through the 2 attachments and prefer the 2nd one... more applicable to our Asian context. And I am glad tt I have most things done

ivied - welcome back!

janf &amp; nellie - after wat u say abt VG, seems like it'll be nice to have some wedding shots of the wedding. i've not decided which fren to get to help me do e shooting. issue being that my frens are a helpful bunch, and i can do my own video editing. refuse to spend that money leh... like my own style very much. haa, buay-hiao-pai.

huiz - u know how to bake! i'm too lazy to cook.. ;p

nellie - nice of u to offer ur hse for yr-end. hee... steal some decor ideas from u when it's time for me to reno hse. still waiting for balloting results. such a long wait...

tdy very touched by a couple of colleagues. ever since my mc ended last week, my hand started swelling again becoz of marking &amp; typing. got ppl offer to mark my lot for coming exams. tdy kena 'sai' job then got a few voices complained 'her hand is not well' and defended me against boss push job to me. gee... nv b4 feel so loved in the workplace.

wah, I missed so many posts today. heehee...today quite busy...haiz.

Erm, Priscilla, same here...I wish I take after my dad (in terms of looks) more...coz he's the one with the very much better skin and features. heehee...when I was younger, pple say I look like my dad (yeah!!). But now, everybody says I look like my mum (faintz)!! hahahaha... :p

Oh...Christmas...sure! Hmmm...I shd be back by 22nd Dec, if we don't extend our stay. FH hasn't indicated if he wants to extend leh...

Ooh...I love cheese too! Whenever I eat pasta or pizza, you'll only see a mountain of cheese on my plate. Can't see the pasta or pizza.....(oh dear, and I'm going Italy for HM...sure put on loads of weight one....cham lah...hahaha)

I'm onz for Potluck...anyone's home is fine! Maybe this time we include our FH &amp; ah-laos?
Eh i can't cook too...so maybe i can bring dessert! I'll definitely be in SG this year end... FH says must save $$ so cannot go overseas.

I didn't go to Expo in the end today. Decided to go this Sunday. Went to Vivocity with FH! The mall really very huge &amp; the air con is like free...so cold!

CSI, my dad is the one with very strong features (big eyes!!!) but ok lah, look like my mom also not bad. She has smaller bone structure and doesn't gain weight easily. Hee...

Mosburger - it's really nice to review what had happened during the AD . Like my friend's, she had a real memorable one. all thanks to me! 'the joker'... faint... the VG edited this particular section and showed it to all the guests during the dinner. The whole hall laughed like mad. I was so embarrassed. And everyone knew who the girl was when I was called up on stage for the yum seng.

my house didn't have much decor cos me and FH are very lazy to do cleaning. so everything is very, very simple. just the basic reno only.

mosburger, u have a helpful bunch of friends. good good.
What about 'morning express highlights'? Do u wish to have that?
your colleagues are thoughtful. now u have seen another side of them.

I too have decided to source for VG. It does become an extra cost to the wedding budget, but I also agree with janf and Nellie, these are memories that can be viewed again and again. ok, that will be my next 'to-do item'.

wow, we have a next gathering already! Nellie, we are ok with basic reno, just ensure that there are sufficient water enough for us will do.

do we have a tentative date? What about Misty? Think she is only back from 25 Dec onwards till her AD only. I'm ok with the idea of including our bo lao, at least let him see why am I so excited about coming to this thread. ha ha ha..

Stacy, I shall send the files to you. Wait a while orr....