Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Oh icic. It could be a good idea to choose a florist that suits our individual taste better rather than use what the BS provides

Blueberi - Yup..the wed dinner I took at CC 2mths ago got yam paste..dunno if the couple got top up additional $$...cos' the wed I attended is my colleague's son's wed..n my colleague also didn't ask, cos she did not pay for it.

Wat bed did u get? I also got my simmons bed for $3.5K...I just feel tat its impt to get a gd rest, esp how many hrs we spent sleeping..so I bot a mattress to my liking. MIL n mum didn't bother me..as long as they don't need to pay, they wouldn't ask me for the price.

Ivied - great that u've found your florist..can strike off one more item from your to-do list..hehee

Hi Huiz,
Well, I source for all that is required for a wedding in a BS package.

Here's the list:
1) Source for bridal car
2) Source for florist
3) Source for tea dress
4) Source for groom's 2nd suit/shirts
5) Source for MUA
6) Source for photographer
7) Source for parents/in-laws suits/gowns
8) Source for flower girl/page boy dress/suit

U may wonder why I do not take a BS package. Well, I do have expensive taste (my ah lao always remind me) So the total cost will be much higher should I take from a BS. Hence I decided to spend time to source around. In this way, I can decide and save costs at the same time.

Hi Stacy,
ya, now I have one less thing to be bothered with.
I can see my to-do list getting lesser. hee...

I'm still trying to convince my ah lao to buy that Sealy bed. It is not going to be easy.....

heehee...the Sealy bed. FH always say..."it sounds like 'Silly'. Do I want to buy a 'silly' bed?" hahaha....
But then, he saw the Tempur mattress (costs S$5k), and he wants that...now, who's the 'silly' one? hahaha...Anyway, in the end, we bot a King Koil Mattress. Till our pockets recover a bit first lah. heehee...

finally finis reading almost 1 week's thread. so many topics from march-in song to florist to CS to reno to skin care.... woah!

then realise this thread got guys... at 1st thot all brides only. hee ;p

anyway, paisey, me dunno the dialect except for simple terms like 'jia pui', 'xiang yat'... so may need ppl to explain some terms k... hee. ;p

me mother cantonese, and father working overseas since i was young, so i understand cantonese better than hainanese. *embarrassed*

Hi Mosburger,

We are a really yak-kety bunch here ;-P There's so much to talk about on wedding preps and it's really great to meet people of the same cultural background to share what we know

And thanks for joining! We have one more ah mai to the growing list liao.... heehee

ha ha.. CSI, Tempur mattress is tempting ah...
Actually as long as both of u feel good about the mattress after testing on it, it should work fine on you.

hi hi mosburger,
me also.
In fact, I too know more about cantonese than hainanese coz my mum always watch those hong kong serials that I pick it up faster than my own dialect. hee...
Great to have you in your gathering. Anymore?

hi ah mais, mi juz woke up fm my evening nap... nw gonna burn the midnite oil n do my project liao... yawnz.

Stacy, my bed is from serta... the one with the counting sheeps advertisement. yes, the bed is an investment, so no point buying a cheaper one n end up juz changing it in a few yrs time. but maybe mil dun understand tis point ba... her tinking is "as long can sleep, can already"

Hi bluberi,

Ya I guess that's the mentality of many old folks.... can use can already and as long as wouldn't crumble after one use, why spend so much? That's why I never reveal the prices of the things we buy to all the old folks. Either that or I discount them before declaring.... heehee... notti me ;-P

Wa, your project so jialat ah. Take good care and don't over work yourself okie?

I off to Batam for the weekend with my colleagues in later in the morning today and will return on Sun. No high expectations of muchh good fun and shopping there, but still hope it'll meet up to my not so high expectations.... haha ;-P

Enjoy your weekend ah mais!

hello everybody,

I'm back in action!!! Wasn't feeling well last week. Got to catch up with this thread.

My bed...
Mattress : Simmons (King)
Bed Frame : DNE Furnishing
Cost : think it's abt 2.6k altogether

Was very tempted by Tempur, but faint at the price.

My reno is starting today. YEAH!!!

Will be on course for 2 days. Take care!!!

morning all.. me on leave today..

bo-lao bringing me out to eat merchant court buffet later.. ehh, my bday today lah.. keke. *shy shy*

Hi ah mais and ah kors,

I am back... at work... sian...

My trip was great. Went with 6 other colleagues and we really enjoyed ourselves. For S$200, I did so many things and still had some $$ left to lend people. Haha.... it's just so shiok.

Happy Birthday to u too janf! Enjoy your day!

Nellie, great to hear that u are feeling better. House renov is exciting, but also make sure need to jaga the workers in case they skivve.... heehee

Happy birthday to you, janf!

Mosburger, no I didn't join.

Huiz, so shiok! Wish I could go shopping too. What to buy in Batam?

Hihi mosburger,

Join hainam clan ah? I think it's really rare to find people from our age group there now ;-P

Me went Batam to for both spa and shopping... ok la, me didn't exactly do body spa but hair spa and facial. My colleague did full body spa, facial and had a haircut for only $34. Eventhough this isn't one of the high end shops, I think the staff were really sincere and concentrated on doing a good job.

Nellie ah, at first I thought Batam got nothing to shop but I was surprised. I bought 2 pants and a skirt from a sale, all G2000 kind of quality, cutting and design at only S$21! Got 2 pairs of shoes one for $10 and another for $17. My colleague saw the second pair selling at $59 when we alighted the ferry at Harbourfront! I also did facial, hair spa, ate and ate, bought gifts, went island tour, paid for transport blah blah blah all for not more than S$200. Heehee....

How's everything? Gathering is next Wed hor...ah mais, do join us if you've available n not replied

Janf - happy belated birthday...how's lunch at merchant court...long time nvr go there for makan liao..missed their food.

Nellie - wow, u really start reno immediately after 7th mth..what concept/theme did you plan? Muz pop by during reno period...in case the contractors mess up the things.

Huiz - wow, your trip really fulfilling..u did and buy so many things and spent <$200/-...really worth it!

Good morning ah mais,

Yah, me still day dreaming about my trip. Think will need sometime before the withdrawal symptoms die off. It's really an economical place to go for a short get away. If anyone is interested to go, I can provide the resort lobang and can show u some pics of the place to see if u like the environment or not

Oh yes, time flies man... we are meeting up again. And there'll be more of us this time too

Yah Nellie, do share with us some pics if possible okie ;-) Btw, did they tell u how long they need to get everything done?

good morning ah mais.

Me MIA for a couple of days and may be for the next coz project intermediate stage is starting and there are tons of testing to be done. hai...

janf, happy belated birthday! so how's the food at merchant court? I had a friend born in '76' sharing the same day as u.

mosburger, my cantonese also half past six. my mama said I better do not speak in HK else I will make myself malu. hee..
Me also do not join the hainan clan. I can't even speak more than 'jia bui'. hee...

Hey Huiz, sounds like a fulfilling trip to Batam. A good short getaway.

Stacy - thanks for reminding us.
Somehow I keep thinking its tomorrow. Guess I'm so excited about the next gathering. hee...

Nellie, do u require hacking of the house? Or is it purely re-furnishing?

hi ah mais, few days no com in here liao... too many happenings over the weekend... mil ask mi n hubby to get our own place n change her mind again. make mi so upset coz i had to terminate my cpf investment plans n lose my $1k++ profits, waste time looking at hdb websites for WIS for nothing... so angry until i didn't speak to hubby for one day.. i tink my hubby is 24 'xiao' son &amp; oni 12 'xiao' husband... sigh

hi ah-mais,

I haven't logged into the forum many days! Been very busy with work...although not moving/buying furniture yet, FH &amp; i have started looking for a good mattress. Luckily, both of us like VERY hard mattresses! Heh...was recommended 1 by Dunlopillo &amp; Sealy. Next year shall see how.

Anyway, i've confirmed my AD PG! Can someone pls update? He's Derrick Ong... me so happy!

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bohty</TD><TD>7-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>Crown Hotel</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Let There Be Light</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>39 East</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluberi</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD>ROM Office (Over)</TD><TD>Club Chinois</TD><TD>Bridal De Couture</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>update on Priscilla

Hi bluberi,

Don't worry la. I am sure everything will fall nicely into place

Hi Pris,

Congrats on getting the PG. That's surely one headache down

Heya dear ah mais... how's everybody been. I've hardly have anytime to come in here now

Janf, happy belated birthday :D

Oh CSI &amp; Nellie... still waiting for the photos of ur PS and fittings... dont forget ah.

Also, just like to share with everyone - my wedding website's gone live. Will email the link to everyone... I dont think i've everybody's email address tho... so if I missed anybody out, please remind me

morning ah-mais..

misty - i saw ur site! wah, so nice.. managed to view some of the 'menu' (now boss in frt of me cant view liao) and saw ur hub scared of sagara familia ah?! haha. i went spain for HM and its was a luvly country..

looks like bohty is next in line for his big day.. 1wk more to go..!

and not forgetting our steamyboaty date next wed ya.. =)

Hi Misty,

Can share with me your link please? Thanks!

My PS ah....I haven't selected pics yet. No time to go to PG place to select lah...so I've fixed my appointment for next Tuesday. And even then, I dun get back all my shots (coz we have no intention of upgrading our package - add $1.5k, just to take back all the photos). So like that ah, I also dunno how to share the pics leh...any idea, anyone?

Hello everybody,

I'm back at work!!!

My house - a lot of hackings... practically the whole house... changing all the tiles and etc. I feel so sorry to my neighbours. They have to bear with the noise at least for a week. No actual theme for my reno, just simple will do cos renovating an EM isn't cheap. I can file for bankruptcy soon!!!!
kao_cry.gif

I haven't got time to go and check out my reno yet. Will keep you posted when my photos are ready.

3rd fitting is this coming Sat. Sigh... need to lose some weight again before that. Backt to diet again....

Hi hi Misty!

Wah, your website is sososo cool!! *drool* Did u do it yourself? Can teach can teach? Heehee.... Both of us could be the 2 ah mais here marrying M'sian men. Mine is from Malacca and one of your "fellow colleagues" as well

Me still waiting for my 1st fitting leh... sian ah. Really no motivation to work now. Haha.

Huiz - ya lor... my BS gives me time to slim down... ha ha

i just upload my pre-reno photos onto Yahoo Photos. if you're interested, please let me know your email address. btw, I'm not a good photgrapher. please bear with it.

hi ah mais!!!

Came in here to take a breather...So sian with work...they never seem to go away...one task after another and everything also deadline yesterday...

coming in here to read the postings is somehow therapeutic for me..hehe...do you feel the same way?

Huiz...went Batam donkey years ago, wasn't impressed then...now it sounds like a good weekend getaway...we should move on from our dinner gatherings to the pampering sessions like do manicure or pedicure or spa or facial together..keke...

janf...if only saw your thread earlier...we already bought the raffles champagne truffle le..yummy yum

ivied...no leh...still havent confirmed florist... finally gave a call to my new hotel coordinator (heard from my hotel thread that she is quite "attitude" so was apprehensive about talking to her), end up she is friendly, informative, experienced and actually wanted to meet me to give me some advice on floral
so hoping that i can save some monies here...

i exceeded our budget for wedding bands...but i am happy all the same...
finally settled my wedding band (i custom-made at fairy's inc) and the design came from my hubby's moment of inspiration playing around with the different rings all spread in front of us

now the things to settle next:
secure a jp
confirm the hotel theme and settle florist
confirm the guest list *headache*
re-paint my room *headache headache*
re-paint my hubby room and buy new bed (i staying with in-laws too)

haiz...so much work and so much wedding preps to do... i have to remind my boss that my wedding is near...Dec so that she can stop taking on projects and passing them to me...

nellie...can email me too? i want to kay poh too... [email protected]

Blueberi, ivied...we can form a support group to lend the ear and shoulder when we get upset with our in laws keke...

okie gals...gonna go eat lunch and back to work le...

Me just back from meeting. So tired and hungry.... but yes, I agree with Li Ann that coming in here sure brings us smiles and forget those stressful work related stuff.

Actually Batam isn't too bad when it comes to shopping. A mega mall had just opened at Nagoya Hill and u can just spend your whole day there. Don't need to go anywhere else liao.... haha

Hey yes, we should move on to doing more things together. I kinda regret that I didn't get a proper foot scrub done in Batam due to time constrains. Anyone interested?

Ok, let me go find something to eat now

Hi bluberi,

Nope we did not take any loan for renov. Since my place was in a rather good condition, we did not spend much for the actual works, only $9K+. Lost count on furnishing, but I guess the we didn't spend much too.

Bluberi - nope...we did not take up reno loan..my reno abt $15k..we paid cash. As for furnitures, we got most of our furnitures from barang barang, opt to pay via installments. Only tv, fridge and washer..they are sponspored by my parents and grandma.

Huiz - actually, i also lost count on furnishing...esp does deco...see nice just buy..hehee

Hi Li Ann,

hey, remember to take a break every now and then...

If only I can remmind my BIG boss of my upcoming wedding manz. (I'm actually waiting eagerly to pass him the invite...hahaha). He knows of the wedding, but the work load continues to pile. haiz.

oh ah mais, I checked out Fairy's Inc...and they quoted me $500+ for a basic base ring. I'm just doing a little survey of opinions here, yah? If that's the case right, where's the attractiveness of getting rings done at Fairy's Inc? Other than the "it's customised" lah. hehs...I mean, the other usual shops also carry wedding bands ard that price right?

Cham lah...I'm still searching for my wedding bands....

Haha same here Stacy, me also see deco nice then buy lor. Have this mentality that, aiya, once in a while and its only this little $$, just buy lor. But I just fail to see the big accumulated amount ;-P

Hi CSI, the shops outside do have nice bands that are less than 500 too. Personally, I find Fairy Inc's rings a bit more like fashion accessories rather than serious wedding bands. Well, this is just my personal view though

nellie and misty - share share with me pls!

li ann - yah, me also feel therapeutic just reading the active posts here.

huiz - hee... most prob nobody will join clan at our age. just asking e question coz curious. haa... me sound so silly. lol...

Hey Nellie, me saw your EM pics. Sigh, I so "envious" of your rubbish chute.... it's in the house! One thing I really hate about my place now is that the chute is at the lift landing. Super mah fan man.