Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Nope, me didn't and not thinking of. Haha, so we have to slowly get to adapt and learn about each other's idiosyncrasies and how to handle our problems (hopefully don't have la) slowly on our own

wow... $400 for a couple!
I think I will just ask my ah lao to go alone. I just had my medical checkup with my co's doc so I shall omit this time round.

huiz - me same tinking as u.. tat time oso din tot of attending MPC coz we will still fight aft marriage! so its matter of adapting to habits lah.. tat time i told hub tat it cost abt $200 to attend the course, his eyes bigbig tell me "u give me the $ i teach u how to be a good wifey!" haah.

Hey ivied and everyone, there's a 10% discount on all the packages till 31 Dec 06. So grab this opportunity. Do remember to call for an appointment first

MPC not cheap sia..government should make it a free but compulsory course for all who register to ROM hor? u all agree? hehe

by the way, have you gals and guys thought of where to honeymoon?

Huh koxxic, how come u got chance to meet janf's hubby? Janf, me agree with u too

Me will be spending 2 weeks in OZ and NZ. Going Adelaide first to attend my Masters graduation, then move on to Sydney and finally to NZ.

hmm.. I guess it all boils down to individual couple. The course does not tell you how to be a couple but more to expose u to the obstacles and roles and responsibilities that awaits u in future. There are pointers on managing finances and relationships with in-laws. And I think some offer personality tests so u can understand each other better. I find these useful so encouraged my ah lao to go along.

He was very resentful of such thing too. In fact he said the $ spent may not be helpful/useful. But dating and living together is never the same. Just to get prepared I guess.

koxxic - me went spain/portugal for HM in march.. luvly countries.. now i know my soccer teams betta.. real madrid, valencia, seville.. haha.

I agree with Ivied...tot some pointers are useful, esp finances...But then again, we might or might not go, cos my guy travels outstation frequently.

wah, pre-marital check up also not cheap leh...hmmm...but shd go lah. for health mah...

MPC - I went for the one by the church. It's open to non-catholics too...there were a few buddhists and free-thinkers attending too. If any of you are interested, it's at http://www.catholic.org.sg/web_links/MPC/

There's 2. 1 is a stay-in 1 weekend type (EE), the other is spread over 6 weekends (MPC). Essentially, both are similar.

Here's the one on EE (Engaged Encounter):-
http://www.veritas.org.sg/ceespore/

FH and I went for both...we KS...muahahahah.
No lah, we really enjoyed ourselves...

Huiz - i din meet janf hubby but rather i wanna meet him..his quote is good: "give the money, i teach you how to be a good wife" haha..
wow, ur graduation there? cool and congrats..

iViED - quite true..i believe the course will let couples be better prepared of the obstacles.

janf - spain & portugal? cool, totally awesome..it's one of my dream destination, if i have the $$$ sure will go..Real, Barce, Seville! haha, u're a soccer fan? more of EPL or Liga?

oops...forgot to add...
i actually planning to go Switzerland cum Italy tour for my honeymoon..anyone planning the same?

we have soooo many posts in 1 day...
I'd better put this up regularly...hahaha

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stepford</TD><TD>28-Oct-06</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Fort Canning, Gallery</TD><TD>Kai Bridal</TD><TD>Ron Lee</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koxxic</TD><TD>9-Dec-06</TD><TD>Crown Hotel (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>David Lim Lee</TD><TD>Anthony</TD><TD>Brother </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iViED</TD><TD>26-Jan-07</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>La Belle</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huiz</TD><TD>17-Mar-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>The Edge</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stacy</TD><TD>24-Mar-07</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>M Hotel</TD><TD>Flamingo</TD><TD>Yew Kwang</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng*</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>29-Jul-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diana</TD><TD>4-Oct-07</TD><TD>Merchant Court (Over)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Raymond D'Nuptials</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosburger</TD><TD>2008</TD><TD>ROM Office - 22 Nov 06</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Z Wedding</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Friend </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>last update on Koxxic

See la see la, I my blains are not working well today... now I get what u mean koxxic, u said u must meet janf's hubby and not that u have met him before... bleeehhh

Yup, I am taking a Masters course from Flinders Uni in Adelaide. The graduation is in mid Apr, which is just the right timing. My second dinner in Malacca is on 24 Mar, so take a 2 weeks rest after all the hulla baloo and off we go for our HM

koxxic - tat time when we went to the travel fair, we were so adamant on going swiss/italy but duno why, sit down and talk to travel agent, our minds totally swayed to going spain eventually!! gosh.. but we no regrets aft coming back.. spendings in spain/portugal is much cheaper than in swiss too.. can u believe tat a bot of mineral water can cost u 2euros in swiss?! damn exp..

me got bet on EPL at times.. aft WC got withdrawal symptoms lah.. haha.

Huiz, just realised that your dinner in Malacca is on the same day as my Singapore wedding date

My HM venue not decided yet..

janf - funny..wat did the agent told u about spain that made u sway? i quite adamant on swiss/ italy now..just hope will have enough $$$ after AD..hehe..if everything goes well..will be flying there in march or april next year.
swiss still using francs right?

EPL - my fav Man Utd
Liga - my fav Barcelona
Serie A - my fav AC Milan

janf - i'm in telco field...i have access to net so easy to chat chat ma..as long as i get my work done, who can stop me? =) haha

Oh yeahh... and after grad and HM come back my boss said can jia1 xin1 eventhough the amount is rather peanuty. Shall fight for more.... haha

Ya, koxxic, is your job desk bound?

Me wanted to go Europe wan, but since got this grad than bo pian gotta change destination. But I very ba4 dao4, told my hubby that he owes me a Europe trip... haha!

huiz - so good..can jia xin! but better than nothing right? =)

ya, my is desk bound job

u gals - all so ba dao one..my FW also like that..hehe

I always tell my hubby don't think its so easy to have a wife to cook, wash and look after him okie (and pls dont compare me to a maid... haha). So of coz got price to pay wan ma... heh just joking larh

wat if your hubby is the one doing the cooking, the cleaning?

dunno if you all noticed, but hainan guys tends to look after home and dote on wife more..

my dad, uncles are all like that..once married, almost all household chores are done by them..hehe
and for me??? i'm already doing all this..=(

Hah, he does all that? can't imagine. I was complaining to the ah mais the last time on his power to mess things up.... haha!

Ya, what koxxic has said is quite true (though I can't vouch 100% for the doting wife part... hah). My dad is such a freak when it comes to housework. Everything need to do to his standard kind. He's even naggier than my mum when it comes to the kitchen affairs man!

Not all hainanese men are like that. One good example is the men in my family. Never help with housework. So pissed of with them sometimes!

I wanted to go HM in Switzerland too, my dream country. However, got to wait till $$$ rolls in so not planning to go anywhere after AD.

Have you ppl heard of Palau?

koxxic..not true worh...my dad n bro onli sits there n wait for meal to be served. But I agree that hainan guys dote on their wifey..cos dad will always go home on time, eat home cooked food and weekends will accompany my mum out

yup, my hub's a typical hainanese man.. he can whip up a decent meal whereby i know nuts abt cooking!! haha. theres a saying tat hainanese men dote on wifeys the most.. hmm.. im still waiting.. haha.

koxxic - wat made us chg our mind to go spain was coz swiss only see snow mountain and expenses very costly in italy.. nvm lah, next time got $ then go swiss/italy lor..

we went spain/portugal oredi spent $7k (pkg+expenses) liao.. if go swiss, standby 10k hor..

maybe diff family diff situation. my side, most of the men are doting husband, good houseman... =)

janf - $7k for package + expenses? That's cool. i must consider liao..

oh man, I missed out so much.
me, not going HM after AD too. My work will tied me up till March next year so shall see how by then. But like Huiz and Nellie, I long for Europe too. My desired places: Zurich, Paris, Munich and Rome. koxxic, woman are meant to be doted on.....

BTW, where is Palau?

oh Nellie, then u have to find a 2nd alternative venue. Do u have a backup venue?

btw, hainanese men do dotes on wives. My dad and brother is one great example. My dad even does all the washing, cooking and cleaning.
man, why did I find a Teochew one?????

Palau is in Micronesia, a very very beautiful place. Actually I prefer islands with beautiful beaches for HM or holidays. Europe can wait. My colleagues advise me to go HM in Nordic countries since I'm entitled to a free ticket to Sweden (but I have to report for work in Stockholm for 3 days to a week). Such a spoilsport!

Ivied - I have a few venues in mind but haven't really shortlisted them.

iViED - most gals want to feel doted by their husband..i also want my FW to dote me leh. =)

anyway, gals..just realised my office have this lady who got into extra marital affairs outside..
what is your take on such issue?

in the past, use to be men fooling ard, now women doing it more..

Yah, my dad also does quite a lot of housework eventhough he doesnt cook. As for doting on wives, well, being the old fasioned kind, he doesnt show his affection openly. But he does come home everyday for dinner and also show very much concern to my mum and us kiddos

Haha, ivied, and why did I find myself a Canto one??? I heard Canto MILs are a tough nut to crack and mine, well, I believe is a bit like tt ;-P

Huiz - i think most hainanese guys also like that leh. haha..my dad and all uncles also like that one. they never show their affection on the surface one..and it include me. hehe

Teochew ok ma..unless is those tough nut..
Canto - seen a few not bad one but also a few bad one..

if kena the LaoGuDong canton MILs then jialat liao.. those are slavedrivers who expect the daug-in-law to wait on the hub..

koxxic - regarding on marital affairs, I have no comments cos no idea what has gone wrong in their relationships. Don't really like to judge them.

The only thing I'm afraid is to COOK. My FMIL is a good cook and she has started to teach me how to cook their tradtional noodles. OMG!!! I have ZERO talent in cooking.

oh, i was reminded of my colleague who got married 2 yrs back..she was living with her MIL and for the 1st yr, things were peaceful but it's like both party bearing and enduring..
The MIL also expect my colleague to wait on hubby, come back must do house chores one..

then an unplanned pregnancy came along, had a scan found out is boy...things all changed..
overnight, MIL quickly tell son, let's go HDB, we transfer our flat name to yours..my colleague was told not to do house chores, cannot do anything at all..must rest only..

now given birth liao..and she live like a queen..haha

Yah, agree with Nellie that it is hard to judge from the surface.

Ya man, sometimes I see the old old HK movies I really get scared of the kinda MILs portrayed in the show man... can be very mean, manipulative and nasty wan ah. but then again, those are also drama mama a bit la

Wah...catch up, catch up....*pant*

hi Nellie, oh dear...nvm lorh. Then go for other venues for photoshoot. I wanted China Club or Grand Shanghai. Both dun allow. I think Grand Shanghai have to pay...but it's quite ouch also. There are many nice corners in Singapore, just whether we want or not (and whether it's been "over-photographed"...hahaha).

Regarding the hainam men, I think so leh...coz my dad and all my uncles are like that one. They do all the housework, marketing and they dote on wife one. But I see my brother...think he'll buck the trend. He just sits at home and waits to be served. hahaha...