Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Violetcrystal, Misty has answered for me. (Thanks, Misty) Do remember - do your colour or highlight 1 week before PS or AD.

Misty - I'm waiting for my friend to reply me on the contacts. Hee Hee... she's in confinement now. Will let you know asap. Remember to prepare some pics of your wedding gown. Show them to the hairdresser.

orh... i see... thanks~

Yess Hairdressing
20, Malacca St
#01-00 Malacca Centre (next to Royal Brothers Building)

Phone No : 6532 3283

Make an appt with Willy

Nellie, thanks for your recommendation
. Hope you dont mind me checking with you - how are the charges like and will Willy be receptive to what I want (i.e. VERY subtle highlights)?

I haven't gone there yet. Heard from my friend that he's a really nice guy and open to all ideas. Don't worry, the prices are reasonable, especially in Raffles Place where the competition is really tough.

thanks Nellie.... if I get the chance, I'll go and let you know how I get on

I feel like a xi1 xue2 kui3... suck all the info but no contributions :P... lai leh... ask me something I know.... altho that's kinda limited lar...hahaha

hey nellie!, i rebonded my hair at YESS 2yrs ago too! the salon very spacious and svc quite good.. sometimes they do hv promotions..

Don't think this way. We're all sharing whatever info we have.

I've wallked past the salon many times. As what Janf has said, it's very spacious. I haven't got the chance to patronize it yet. They are opened on weekends.

Has anyone heard of this Hainanese tradition whereby paternal relatives of the same surname cannot get married within the same year? For example, daughter of Brother #1 and son of Brother #2 cannot get married within the same year? I'd appreciate your responses... thanks in advance!

oh ah mais...you gals are so sporting!

ok...so we have these nos for the time being...
1(misty)
17 (violetcrystal)
22 (nellie)
12 (Li Ann)
we need two more nos to roll....
Crystalz...bendi...how?

misty...where are you based at? Germany? Since i dun do sutdio/outdoor shoot i also not sure where are the good spots...what kind of scenary do you prefer? the nature, trees and greenery? or the beach and sea? or the architecture type?

nellie...eh...thanks for reminding us about the highlights...now that you mention...i need to think when should i get my hairre-permed again...i guess not too close to AD right? Scarly turned out bad then it'll be quite a mess...

cactus...never heard of this tradition wor...i've only heard of the one about not marrying someone of the same surname...

crystalz...also not sure on this tradition...how about consulting your cousins? or relatives?

cactus, my sister broke up with her bf about 4 years ago, one of the reason is that this guy's father doesn't want it and said it will only bring bad things to the family. this family from Sabah

Cactus_79 - not too sure abt this.

Crystlz - I remembered my mum told my younger bro to ask me for permission if he wants to get married b4 me. So I think it should be you who gives your elder bro the ang pao.

Li Ann - colour your hair 1 week b4 AD but if you're doing both perm and colour, then it'll be different.
Think it'll be 3 weeks b4 AD - Perm first, 1.5 to 2 weeks later then colour cos it's not advisable to do perm and colour at the same time. It'll damage your hair.
But if you're only doing perming, then 2 weeks b4 AD will be fine.

Today is TOTO draw!!! Good luck to all of us!

We need one more no wor...
1(misty)
8 (Bendi)
17 (violetcrystal)
22 (nellie)
12 (Li Ann)

how? anyone? if not, then the last no would be 5 cos only 5 of us want to pool for toto? keke...

*desperate*

Hi BenDi, thanks for the information. So it's not only siblings marry in the same year, but it's cousins (with the same surname) marry in the same year? And the family from Sabah is Hainanese?

hello ah mais *waves*

Li Ann, i'm in Boston at the mo, but coming to the end of my time here. After my trip to s'pore, i'll move back to uk (hv been there for past 10 yrs :P). For PS, i think i wld prefer interesting architecture or interiors. Will prob get some photos in raffles since we're having our dinner there, but other than that, really have no idea. I dont really like studio shoots (think the backdrop is just plain boring)

Hello cactus
Are you a hainanese bride-to-be too? Hmm.. i hv heard something like that before.. but dont think it's just specific to hainanese. It's something to do with the fact that 2 weddings (xi shi) within the same family will 'chong'... something like that.. but i'm not too sure. Ultimately, I think there're not hard and fast rule... it's up to your family

misty and ah mais *wave too*
:D
keke...i bought the toto le...
*pray to god*

misty...interesting architecture then surely must take with our "durian" - esplanade..keke...
one popular place is fullerton hotel...raffles hotel...there is increasingly private art galleries around Tanjong Pagar and Bugis area...those shophouses... they have interesting interior...and can try Asian Civilisation Museum, History Museum (newly open near Dhoby Ghaut), Singapore Art Museum, Chijmes, those pre-historian colonial houses turned resturant (Rochester Park, Dempsey Road), Scarlett Hotel, The Majesty Hotel, Indochine restaurant (esp the one at Clarke Quay), Siam Supper Club (along Mdh Sultan Road), restaurants along Club street (Scarlet Hotel is near there...very pretty boutique hotel), PS Cafe inside Dempsey Road, MOS (at clarke quay), Altivo (Mt Faber)...all these places quite nice... :D

Do you watch soccer?
I'm rooting for Argentina and England...

Gonna watch it at Robertson Walk tomorrow
(oh Misty...Robertson Walk area has quite nice designer condo or cluster houses)

oh...oh...can try visiting those dialects clans "huay guan" esp our hainanese one...that should be quite interesting...

i've seen someone done this series of pics before...dressed in cheongsam and in a old shop complete with ancient suan pan, typewriter...they look like the young boss and tai-tai....keke...quite nice...B/W and a bit faded...

Thanks Li Ann... so many choices!! Thank you thank you
kao_kiss.gif
. Yar hor.. the hainan huay guan building actually very big n grand... lotsa character!

You bought the TOTO liao ar?? okay i pray also *combine power*

I do watch soccer sometimes.. but it's damn difficult to follow in US... they only care bout baseball *URG*... dont even mention the world cup in the news
England vs Argentina rite? Gotta be a good match!

misty - wat time izit in US now? u dun need to zzz??

i got watch WC, li ann!! will be watching the germ-argie match at fullerton tom.. exciting..

yes janf, as you hv very observantly noticed... it is sleeping time here... but my sleeping hours are all screwed up from too many late nights recently :P

Think I'm going to ZZzzz now... early day tmr.. chat to u gals later!!

Hi Misty, I'm not a hainanese but FH is hainanese.I can understand if it is 2 weddings in the same family between siblings, but I'm confused if this applies to cousins bearing the same surname (paternal side)....

I have a few designs for cup cake in mind, but bake already who to eat ar? either cupcake for miniature cake, cup cake very easy to bake, not challenging. I was thinking of miniature cake, too bad no stand.

oh crystalz... the one number that came out right....

keke...the rest of the numbers all never strike leh... maybe you can give us some more numbers?? *sparkle in eyes*

ah mais...our first attempt at toto...sigh...not good leh....
the winning toto nos are: 7 15 20 26 30 36
but hope is not all lost...i bought the same set of nos for the next Monday draw too... ^_^
Let's keep praying ya?

Bendi you are so talented! The cake is very sweet and cute...am sure your friend will love the cake that you specially make for him.

You know how to make cup cakes?? Do you have the recipe??

The stand you can get the silver one from CK Tangs but will be expensive. Otherwise, try those shops that you buy your ingredients from?
Or try to borrow from your hotel?

Hey Li Ann.. those cupcakes are nice!! I think the flowers on the stand gives it that 'little extra touch'. If I'm not wrong, they are arranged by Hannah from Heaven's Gift (I think I read it from Kuang's blog previously.)

Aiyo.. our numbers no good ah... only Crystalz's came out. Ok.. i'll pray doubly hard... kekeke

Bendi, your cake looks really yummy!!! You're so good at it! Your guests will be so impressed! For cupcakes, you shld be able to get those stands from kitchen supplies stores i think. Maybe can check with your hotel... they might have it.

Your cake reminds me of the time in sec sch, sometimes when i bo liao will take out those sec 1/ sec 2 home econs text book and try out those baking recipes... kekeke... but nothing as impressive as yours lah... i usually just make those butter cookies :P

Hi ah mais,
sorry I've been MIA for a few days. Been very very busy at work..."drowning" liaoz. haiz...

Wah Bendi, your cake looks so nice! Yummy! I certainly wouldn't have been able to come up with anything close to it!

As for the cupcakes, I can only view them from home...haha. Office computer has some firewalls...

is very easy to bake a cake, simple receipe like butter cake - can use cup so it will becomes cupcake.

250g Butter
250g Sugar
250g Flour
200g Magerine - sorry forgot spelling, mind block
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla essence
Little salt

I got to know Hannah, Heaven's Gift while googling on the internet...loved the wedding ideas that she did for some couples...but too bad it is out of our budget le...cannot afford to get a wedding planner...hence i zi ji lai...

Bendi you really very talented...the last time i bake anything is during home econ...

Idea hor...butter cake put in cups become cupcake...keke...maybe can really do them myself... :D

gals, theres a review of different cupcakes sold in spore in today's LIFESTYLE section.. looking at the cupcakes make me slurp..

can't remember if this was posted before...but, does anyone knows if SDJ is part of our custom?

FMIL is asking me to go choose and see. But she mentioned that she gave only 2 items to her other DIL...so means I shd stick to 2 items too, right? But my cousins all had 4 items....so like a bit "short changed" like that...hehs...

Also, does anyone know if the SDJ bit shd be brought up when both sides parents meet to discuss pin jin etc or no need to be during then?

csi - dun tink SDJ is part of hainanese customs but my MIL (hainanese) did give me SDJ outta her own will coz she wans me to keep a set of gold and of coz looks betta in frt of relatives tat boy's side is generous..

it wasnt discussed during the meet-up but rather she told her son casually tat she wana give me a set nearer to the AD.. my ma said no need coz paiseh but my MIL insisted muz give so juz take lor..

there were 4 winners sharing the jackpot prize on thurs draw. so now the prize money is back to original - S$500,000. Wish all of us good luck!

CSI - As what Janf had said, SDJ is really not part of our hainanese custom. Is you FMIL hainanese? If not, it's so weird to give only 2 items cos it's usually 4. Since she already said she gave 2 items to her other DIL then you just take lor. This SDJ thing is for them to 'show off' to their relatives.

Hi Janf, Nellie,

thanks...

Nope, FMIL is Heng Hwa (but FFIL is Hokkien). Yah lorh, I found it weird too, coz my cousins all got 4 from their respective MILs. So, dunno how to broach the subject. Then when relatives see already, also not very nice...coz those relatives sure "talk" one...

Dunno why she gave the other DIL 2 items only...she can easily afford 4 leh.

csi - wat are the 2items tat ur FMIL gave to her DILs? necklace and braclet?

my MIL gave me a full set of SDJ (on GDL day) + a diamond braclet (tea ceremony)..

Apparently (I didn't go verify lah, but this is what FMIL told FH), the other DIL got a necklace and bracelet. Dunno when that was given also. Tea ceremony...I dun remember her receiving anything.

Hmmm....how to "ahem"...hint to FMIL...? heehee...If tea ceremony got additional jewellery, I'll be super happy manz...

tell u, got anythg juz take!! last time i oso paiseh paiseh, then my married gfrens all tell me no need paiseh, wat they give u juz take coz next time u wan oso dun hv!

come nearer ur AD, sound ur hub wat his ma intend to give u for tea ceremony lor.. its either cash or jewellery lah.. usually will give jewellery.. even my ma oso gave me a diamond set..

oh... i dun even know if my FMIL will give me SDJ... never hear her say leh...she only ask how many boxes of cake we want... ;p

my mum insisted of getting me a set of gold jewellery though... no platinum or white gold or silver...must be gold... keke...quite traditional..luckily gold is in and i've grown to like gold jewellery over the years

our mums wan us to keep gold coz it will appreciate in value in future, no doubt its not in fashion lah. my mum oways say come wartime, gold worth $$ ah! haha.

the SDJ tat my MIL gave was gold. my mum gave me a white gold diamond necklace+earrings for tea ceremony..

theres no hard and fast rule for SDJ to be gold so its up to u gals ya.. and of coz up to ur ILs/parents..

I am not feeling sad over this for sure, I can't join this SDJ talkie as I don't think my MIL will give me a thing, let alone "gold", never mention any gathering needed to discuss about our ceremony or maybe I can put it this way, they will be attending a wedding dinner of ours just like any of my guests, the different is that they will be at the VIP tables and tea ceremony. Oh yah, I still need to pay for her clothes for that night as well as make up and hairdo.

I did feel a little bit upset when I was trying one of the WG and there was another bride-to-be gave me the look that I am not suit to wear it, hubby saw her expression and make me feel so bad after that. she is tall and slim and I am fat and short.

Hey lovely ah mais, SDJ is traditionally a teochew tradition, rite? I'm not too sure lah, but now is all rojak.. kekeke... = just do what you deem fits and what everybody's happy with. Dont really think my FMIL is giving me SDJ also, never hear her mention anything. FH did mention once very casually that she's looking for bracelet/bangle type thing for me... hehehe.. dunno lar.. just take whatever comes my way :P... i dont wear jewellery often, so they're all going into the safe anyway. My mum brought me to her safe to show me her collection from her wedding and asked me to choose a few pieces.... alamak, all gold and in big obiang design... so i selected the finest, most simple gold bracelet, then kena scolded cos she said on the wedding day + few days after that, bride must wear gold gold and 'sufficient weight' one. *faint*

Bendi, DONCH be upset. The other bride might be tall and slim but that kind of attitude brought out the worst in her. Nobody in this world is perfect but inner beauty is the most charming. I've seen your photos on your blog.. don't think you're 'fat and short'... I seriously think you look really good the way you are

Aiyoh Misty, Li Ann...your ADs are 1 mth after mine...still got time for your FMIL to bring the SDJ bit up...so no worries lah. Mine is 4 more mths! That's why she brought up the topic lorh...
Well, for me, it's just that my cousins all got 1 full set...so it won't look good for my parents lorh...

Bendi, forget about what that other bride did lah. She probably liked the WG you were trying and was envious/jealous that you could wear it so well.
I'm sure Dang would design a WG for you that would really compliment you!