Hainanese Brides, anyone???

Good morning Ah Mais!

CSI - Just take what your FMIL gives, don't think too much. I believe that most brides will not wear te SDJ after their wedding anyway. Will just keep them safely.

BenDi - you look perfectly alright in your blog. Don't bother with how others look at you. The most important thing is that you must feel good and comfortable in all your gowns. With confidence, everything is perfect.

BenDi...beauty radiates from within...fill your heart with happiness and love on your AD and you will naturally glow and shine!

ah mais...haiz...our toto dream is dashed *again*
The winning numbers for Mon draw is 4 9 12 13 17 27 Additional no. 30
This time round we are better...two of our nos matched - 12 and 17...
:D
Back to reality...zor gang zor gang...

eh, look at it this way manz...
1st round, 1 number match...2nd round, 2 numbers match!! hahahaha....wah, like that gotta buy how many rounds ah? hahaha....

Nellie, yah lorh. Shdn't think too much lah, horh...hehs...

Saw my cousin yesterday. He's wearing a thick gold chain on his neck. Guess what! It's actually his wife's SDJ. Ha Ha Ha... He's the one wearing it in the end!

ah mais ah mais,
we finally decide our banquet venue - Oriental Hotel - Garden Suite!

The place is sooooooo lovely, eventhough each table is $1026.60 Hubby said is worth the money, nice ambience and really romantic. *dreaming*

Letting go Grand Hyatt package, at $868/table for min of 15, it is about the same when we have 13 tables at Oriental and the garden suite is soooo exclusive. Okay now, going to start cracking head for my gown design.

Things that are confirmed:
Our Big Day - 26th May 2007
Bridal Boutique - Dang Bridal
Banquet Venue - Oriental Singapore
Overseas PS - Gordon Jovic Photography, Sydney

Things to be confirmed:
Local AD PS - JonKeng Photography
Shoes -
Gifts for parents -
Mcee -
Bedframe + Mattress -
Bedsheets - Aussino Karenina
Cakes - Bake them myself?

my lovely ah mais!! Sorry i havent popped in lately... been busy packing and getting ready to move.

Li Ann, aiyo.. shame bout the toto.. hehehe... maybe we shld hv bet on WC instead :P. But dunno if that one will lose more or not hahahaha

Bendi, congrats!! finally can 'an xin' le... enjoy designing your wedding gown!!

Cystalz, would love to see your photos... i'll email you when i settle back in sg next week

Nellie, CSI, Janf, violetcrystal *waves*

Wow now than really got this hainanese thread. Me too hainanese, crystalz sis... Maryy last dec 2004. Nice meeting u all.

Welcome to our thread Bao Bao!!!

I want to see your pics too, Crystalz...

Misty is coming back to SIN this week!!!

Bendi - Ask your coordinator for permission to take pics at the garden outside Garden Suite. It's nice!!!

CSI - I have the same surname as you.

I'm going to HDB later for my 1st appt. YEAH!!!

<font color="0077aa">Hi Gals - m Hainanese Bride here too...though not pure...now busy preppin with all e weddin stuff....stressed...real stressed..... hope u gals r doin well?

HARLOW LADIES!!! I'm back in SIN KA PO le....yipeee!!! Just arrived this morning... a bit tired now but feel like i've got so much to do... this is my last trip back to Sg before the wedding so a bit gan cheong le. Going for my fitting tmr.. then will hv to meet the florist, hotel coordinator, band, print cards, then travel to m'sia to sort out the dinner there *STRESSED!!!*

Welcome Bao bao and LambZzz... so glad to see more and more ladies joining us

Crystalz, i wanna see your picts!!! Can you email to [email protected] THanks!

welcome lambzzz to this thread! so which part of u not pure?! err, i mean mum or dad hainanese?! keke. whens ur AD? mayb u wana leave ur details so tat CSI can update into the chart?

AD:
Solemnisation:
Banquet venue:
BS:
PG:
VG:

harlow misty!!, so u will be back till ur AD over? tats another 1/2yr ya..

Janf, no leh... i'm only back for 3 weeks... that's why very stressed... need to settle everything that cannot be done long-distance. Thank goodness for emails - makes life much more convenient... but sometimes i feel that it's still impt to meet the vendors face to face to communicate properly what you want....

Just wondering hor... do you ladies know if allure charix have nice cheongsum? Cos i'm very 'gian' having a CS but dont really think I want to spend too much $$ and effort into having one MTM.

<font color="119911">hi Janf - my dad is hainanese...my mama is khek....unfortunately i know nuts abt e language....oops....my oni acheivement is to count from 1 to 4 and to tell pple tt i cant speak hainanese (in hainanese)..i find dis is essential to communicate to elderly who start speakin hainanese to me...so ya....n alritey...here are my details:</font>

<font color="ff0000">AD: 23 Dec 06</font>
<font color="ff0000">Solemnisation: 23 Dec 06 @ Grand Hyatt</font>
<font color="ff0000">Banquet venue: Grand Hyatt</font>
<font color="ff0000">BS: Tan Yoong + Divine Couture</font>
<font color="ff0000">PG: Not confirmed yet</font>
<font color="ff0000">VG: Not confirmed yet</font>

<font color="0077aa">hi Misty - i m wearing a CS so did some homework recently...i find allure's CS v luxurious - with a lot of detailings in beads/crystals and laces....not sure if this is wat u deemed as nice?</font>

Thanks LambZzz, I actually went to allure last night and you're right.. their CS are v luxurious. The ones that they have as EGs are maybe a bit too glam for tea ceremony. The range of CS for tea ceremony is a bit limited but one did catch my eye. Still pondering if I want to get it...
Do you know anywhere else I can get it OTR? I noticed from the Divine thread that you've having yours done there, rite? How lovely! I'm going to Divine this pm for my 2nd fitting... v nervous!

Crystalz, thanks for your lovely photos... i enjoyed looking thru them
You had it taken by JB Venus, rite? One of my cousins had hers done there as well... and I recognised the purple background :D

<font color="ff6000">heh misty - so u r DC bride! oh goodie...din notice u at e thread tho....paiseh.....yup...precisely...my CS is oso for e tea ceremony so i find allure too luxurious....OTR CS is tough....for me at least....cos i m short....cant get OTR anywhere man...tts y ended up w Divine....e OTR i saw r for mainly for lengthy pple....there's 1 at ngee ann city (Shanghai Tang - 4th level i tink)..another one is at Esplanade (Amor Meus - opposite Hagen Daz)....n wow....2nd fittin already....will u b taking any pix later dis afternoon?</font>

LambZzz.. yeah, i'm a DC bride!
... I've been to kaypoh ard the thread but never posted
. I agree OTR CS might be difficult.... I'm really short as well, so I always run into this problem. Problem is I've sort of just decided I want one...so I'm not sure if there's enough time to MTM one. What's yours like? Have you had your fittings yet? Your wedding is actually around 1 week before mine... but my fittings are done really early to suit the times when i'm back in Sg. Not sure if I hv a camera to take photos later leh... I think i need to dig around the house to see who has a camera i can steal

Hello Ah Mais!

Crystalz - nice pics! Thanks!
Hopefully I'll look as pretty as you during my PS.

Welcome Lambzzz and Stepford!

Sorry to ask... some of you said you're 'short' and had problems finding OTR. You sure??? I thought it's usually the tall ones have more problem?

Hi Bendi, I saw the items you bought. How much did you spend in all? And may I know where exactly did you go to buy them?

Hi Nellie, I think it deps on the bridal shop. Some have more gowns for petite brides and some cater for the taller ones.

<font color="119911">heh janf - am not rich man....its a matter o priority here....my bf recognises that a gown is v impt n significant to a gal n so he gave me Tan Yoong gown....ya...i love TY gown all along so he realises my dream...v v happy! Divine is a last minute decision....my mom wishes to c me in a CS...n she was v v v disappointed when i told TY i dun wan CS for evening gown...i wan e usual ang mo style s my EG...months after she's still upset....so i decided to get a CS for e tea ceremony so she can b happy! n sure enuf she was beamin when i took her to Divine to hv a look at how i look in CS....</font>

<font color="119911">no PS yet man....scheduled for early Oct....i dying for my fittin n PS....</font>

<font color="ff6000">heh misty -- my CS is e full-length type...with some detailin in laces....no fittin yet...1st fittin in early sep oni....still got a long way to go boy....when's ur weddin? Divine still can rush my CS out in abt 2.5mths...so i took Divine... u try to take some pix? it will be v memorable...</font>

Nellie, i think both tall gals and shorties hv problems lor... cos for me, all skirts and trousers will hv to be shortened. And cant buy skirts and dresses with pretty embroidery and details at the hem, cos then cant be shortened.

After our pathetic attempt at toto, Li Ann went to zor gang zor gang until never come in to chat liao ah

Lambzzz, TY is really good and most brides would absolutely love having a gown from there! Did he charge you alot? He charged my gf a whopping 15K for all her gowns, a WG, EG and a CS.

But im old bird liao. U all still fresh new like my sis. Preparing for wedding. Mine marryin in 24 dec 2004, preggy in April and deliver my boy in december 2005. Time realli flies manz

<font face="vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng*</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD>LambZzz</TD><TD>23-Dec-06</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt</TD><TD>Tan Yoong &amp; Divine</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font>* tentative

Update on LambZzz and Bendi

Hi ah mais!!

How have you all been? Hi Misty! *waves*

Aiyoh, so busy manz..."boh ti kan" to come in here ah...

Ok, gotta go now. Did I miss out anyone on the table? sorry ah...but just leave your details and I'll "pick" it up.

hello ah mais!!
wow..so many new faces since i last loggin...
all newbies *waves*

I've been really busy the past week...meeting deadlines...and preparing for regional tender...
just popping in to kaypo and say hi...
will be back soon...
take care!

<font color="0077aa">hi stepford - yup yup i love his style alot n my boyfren loves e way i look in his gowns....my gowns didnt hit $15K man...cos i din get the CS from him....when's ur weddin? jus realised ur details r not posted in the table....</font>

welcome stacy to this thread! wana leave ur details for csi to 'pick' up when shes free?

AD:
Solemnisation:
Banquet venue:
BS:
PG:
VG:

saw crystalz's pics liao.. nice! i like the rocks+blue sky ones.. very natural and nice..

Good morning ah mais

Welcome stacey!!

Nellie, I went to Yess salon yesterday le... thumbs up! Thanks for the reco!
kao_kiss.gif
Think i'll go back for coloring before the wedding as well.

LambZzz, went back to Allure to get that CS le. Very simple piece with brocades... initially i wanted sexy CS with lace and low back.. but aiyah.. no $$ liao.. so decide to settle for that one. Annah will rush the alterations for me in time for PS next tues. When i was in Divine, i saw the full lace long CS with embroideries they used in their advert.. Kim told me it'll cost $3000!!! *faint*

Ladies, anyone intending to do up a photo-montage? I'm thinking of getting someone to do it incl scanning childhood photos. I rem some photo-developing shops that offer scanning services... but cant remember where I saw that... does anyone know?

Hi Janf n all,

Thanks for the warm welcome * wave*

My wed tentative on 24 Mar 07. Got to settle on venue within this 2 weeks, before I confirm on BS, APG, VG...

Stepford, BaoBao, Lambzzz, Stacy...welcome on baord!

Crystalz...can send me your pics? [email protected]
we share the same surname hor?

Misty...welcome back! *HUGZ*
keke...ya..zor gang till i giddy.. today boss MC so i eat snake a little.. ;p
For photo montage, you can try Wedding Paparazzi...they charge $280...so far amongst the VG i've met and seen...they offer the best ala carte price for photo montage.

Lambzzz...*envy* Tan Yoong gowns very pretty hor...i like his style too... very elegant

sure stacy!, once u cfm ur stuffs then juz post ur info here lor.. =)

misty - my AD PG did for me the foto montage tat time. i juz passed him my stack of fotos (young to old) then he selectively choose and scan and do into montage.. cost abt $100+ for 5-6mins lor. mayb u can ask ur AD PG whether he provides such a svc?

Li Ann &amp; janf, 'bo3 gai2 liat4'... will check them out

wah Li Ann, boss on MC must take full use of the opportunity to eat a bit more

I am a Hainanese BTB too. Thanks to Li Ann directing me here.

Looks like things are very lively here
Hope to join in the fun too.

Hello Huiz
kao_welcome2.gif
... come and join the fun.. the more the merrier!!

Li Ann, ur reco very good leh...thank you!! my action v fast, been to see wedding paparazzi last evening and cfm with them le

now lunch time, and it's raining, so I ta bao in to eat...so can come here for a while...

Wedding paparazzi ah...how's their package like? I'm still thinking of VG leh...