Hainanese Brides, anyone???

oh my goodness, Li Ann.. you just read my mind!! I was going to post on the topic of wedding cakes... cos I'm pulling my hair out on this. Before I go on and on about my cake dilemma, let me share the significance of wedding cake with my lovely ah mais:

'Cutting the cake and sharing the first bite symbolises the first meal of the married couple and the beginning of their first life together. It is also a symbol of fertility. The distribution of the cake is symbolic of the sharing of happiness :D'

Hi hi...

Misty, I know I've been missing. Was busy with work. I'm fine now.

I drove for the 1st time last fri using my friend's after my accident. Felt really weird. Think I still have a phobia.

The insurance company still hasn't settled my case yet. They took so long to so do. When they want payment from you, they want it promptly. When it's the time for them to pay, they take ages to do so. Bcos of this, my FH's car is still in the workshop. Repair works can't start.

Hey Nellie, nice to hear from you

I know, insurance co are sooo annoying. You take care, ya.

Nellie...take care too... my friend also have unhappy experience with her insurance co... she paid more than everyone else but end up getting less...

Misty...hehe...FH just redo the budget...he wants to get both Kuang and Moomedia... tsk tsk...and who says its always the bride who ask for the best?? but having said that...he reminded me that we have to sacrifice those "not so important" details like wedding cake and floral arrangement... mm...think i need to let him know the significance of the cake... i may just opt out for the wedding cake and has a cup cake wedding cake instead... i knew of this contact...he makes cup cakes and apparently yummy cheesecakes... but he doesnt decorate them... need to find out if my florist can help me to decorate it into a 3-tier cup cake arrangement...his cupcakes cost about $40 for 30pc...three flavors - nutella (yummy), limone and volcano...i figured if i buy 90 of them, it will cost me only $120 and perhaps i can have a 6-tier wedding cup cake keke...
www.obolo.com.sg
Another contact for cupcakes...Nani cupcakes...
check out her pictures...lovely yummy cupcakes..
http://www.flickr.com/photos/minicupcakes/sets/72057594054275509/

What do you think?

I'm also learning how to make my own ring pillow , ang bao box and wedding guest book to save some money... and most importantly...serves as a memento for the wedding prep...and best, the ang bao box can double up as storage for our wedding stuff next time...keke.... my only problem is since we are not doing any studio/outdoor shoot....it will be tough to make a personalised wedding guest book... *putting on my thinking cap* got to think and scout around for ideas...

keke...i am getting all excited just by thinking of all these..can't get down to work! :p

oh...does any one know where we can rent suits for our parents? Or even tailor-made the suits? The price i got from my BS is $380 for a suit...is that ex?

Wow wow... you lucky gal!!! Your FH deserves big HUGS & KISSES!!!

The cupcakes sounds cute!! and can double up as favors as well. Hv you seen those picts where the top tier is a small round 'usual' kind of cake.. and cupcakes are placed on the lower tiers.... so you can still cut the cake

for the guest book... how bout using picts of you guys with your families and photos you've taken together?

Thanks, Ah mais. The only good thing about this insurance co is that they would not allow other parties to claim from their customer easily.

Li Ann - you mean suits for the fathers? for my case, I didn't rent any suits except for my father. my BS will lend him a jacket for free. He'll be wearing his own pants. My father-in -law has his own suit.

381685.jpg

381686.jpg

li ann - i can offer to lend u my AP box and ring pillow if u wan hor.. dun need waste $. haha. but if u wana source ard for these items for keepsake then gotta start sourcing now ya.. takes time..

i din hv a real wedding cake tho.. mine was the fake one provided by hotel.. think a real cake cost hundreds.. but i bet its delicious! *slurp*

doesnt ur BS loan fathers and fathers-in-law suits FOC?? my BS did..

janf, ur ang bao box is so cute!!

i think i might hv a ring 'box' rather than pillow... cos the ring bearer is very small... dont think he can cope with the pillow....

Li Ann, the $380 quoted is it for rental or MTM? The cost for MTM is very dependent on material... but if your father doesnt wear suit very often and isnt fussed over the material, then i think $380 is pretty decent price

Hi Li Ann,
Wow! Your FH is so sweet...but he's right. If you want something, gotta sacrifice the other stuff...My FH will always say to me, you want this and that...can, but bear in mind that means either working doubly hard to earn more $$ or sacrificing other things such as smaller home or less holidays. Coz we wouldn't want the kids to "suffer" coz of our heavy spending now. Must decide what is impt....

$380 for a suit, depends on what material. Otherwise, I think it is pretty reasonable. Not bad.
My BS quotes $600, but material is appaarently imported from Europe.

I love your cupcake idea! I haven't seen cupcakes used at weddings before...does anyone have any pics to show? How to display and serve to guests?

I'm making my own ring pillow (although my BS is making one for me too - so I'll just use this one as a display at the reception lah), AP box and guest book too. It's quite fun sourcing ard for ideas and materials. Ring pillow is abt 75% complete...hehs...AP box and guest book - will start making when nearer the date. Now looking ard for ideas.

Li Ann, you can start taking pictures of yourselves or use your holiday shots. Or put in messages (printed on say, translucent paper) in between the pages of your guest book. Otherwise, you can get polaroid cameras and snap pics of guests, stick onto the book and they can sign around their pic. Just some thoughts...As long as it's your own effort and handiwork, it'll be personalised.

Bendi, thanks for the tip on GDL stuff!
Wah, you prepare really early manz!.....my AD is 4 mths down the road, and I haven't done that bit lorh...

nellie/misty/csifan/janf
Yeps...my FH is really sweet... *blush* actually thru the wedding prep...we found out that we have rather similar *read: expensive* taste on lots of stuff...which is really really good cos that means less conflicts

Thanks for the advice on the man's suits...totally overlooked this point when signing up for the bridal package...
guess i'll just have to tailor make the suit for my dad.

Janf
I thought i saw the AP box at some other threads!
thanks...but my darling already bought me a wedding accessories book since i blew my trumpet on making them myselves :p so i guess i need to DIY as promised....already saw one ringpillow using cross stich....can stich our names on the pillows...thought it is more meaningful than just a normal ring pillow.

I also sourced around for wedding cakes...oh my...aren't they expensive?? A 3-tier wedding cake sets you back at least S$500... i read from other threads that guests actually does finish up the cake as they are so yummy...but hotels will charge plating fee for real wedding cake.

Misty/csifan...i also like the cupcake ideas especially obolo told me that they can customize the cupcakes and put our initials on it. thanks for the cake with cupcake idea...was just wondering how to cut a cupcake...keke...kept having this image in my head that the cupcake lost its balance and dropped from the top tier...keke...

And oh ya....on serving the guests...some brides pay more (plating fee) to cut the cakes and serve each and indiv guest while some place them tog with the buffet spread as one of the dishes...some only have enough to serve 30 or 50 pax...so only vip tables are served and the rest the couple da bao back for supper and breakfast... think i will either order more....obolo/nani cupcake has the mini bite size cupcakes i think and serve every one...i dun have many guests to begin with...

Actually i've only dated my FH for *gasp* 5 months and thus we dun have many pics together...plus he is camera shy....so we dun have much resources to begin with...

*headache*

keke...think i will just get him to take those instant passport pics to take some candid, cheeky and fun pictures...that so speaks of us... and prolly in between the pages... some sort of a story to mark special occasion like GDL, proposal, gown trial session, etc...can serve as a wedding scrap book too...hee....

oops....i think i am getting too ambitious...if only i can make what i dream come true...

Cakes are too expensive and I am going to bake one for my wedding.
Conflict with hubby about the GDL thingy and he got so fed up with me saying this word. Damn, it was because his mum doesn't know it and I really have no idea what is happening behind me that makes him so angry with this GDL thingy! can you believe this, his mum doesn't even have this GDL thingy, what did she say that make him so angry with me, he said I am the one that want GDL. F*! this GDL is something very very meaningful for our future and I am doing all sakes to make our wedding preparation more meaningful and fun by learning more things, i agree is bit hectic to prepare but what the S* when all these things prepared by me!

so now I am going to throw all my GDL items aways!

Sorry for venting here but I am really very upset. Half way dinner he threw temper on me, in front of my parents. Can any ah mais here tell me if you didn't GDL, meaning no PINJIN, he said his mum doesn't have all these, bullshit! We didn't see each other for 3 days as he was with his parents, why is this always happened after he meet up with his parents!

Hmm... Calm down~ Calm down~

I guess... ur hubby (and his parents) doesn't see the need in following these traditions? Why don't you wait for both of you to calm down, and then have a talk with him about it?

Just to share...

When i told my bf that my mom wanted a couple of the GDL things (not all, keeping it simple), he was a bit apprehensive about following this and that, because he commented that his family side doesn't bother or know about all these... But as my mom requested, for things like pin jin and si dian jin etc... he went back to ask his mom... and his mom agreed to giving us, since we want it.

however, besides the money for pin jin and si dian jin, the rest like the cakes for relatives etc we (bf and i) will buy ourselves.

So... i guess... maybe it's true that his mom doesn't have all these... because, apparently, my bf claims that his parents doesn't have such things too... (not sure if they did, not in position to ask)

I guess preparing for a marriage can get frustrating at times (happens to me too), especially when both parties doesn't see eye to eye about the need for certain things...

Communication is the key~ Try to have a nice talk... to see from each other's point of view...

Do cool down... and dun throw your GDL stuffs away...

oh dear....bendi...so sorry to hear that...

*hugz* cool down first...k?

mm....your hubby could be under pressure...standing in between you and his mum... and moments of frustrations got into him.

chose to talk to him in a neutral tone...explained to him the significance of the GDL....stating facts and not what you want. And then show him the list of items that are commonly asked for according to the indiv customs. Maybe you can tell your FH that some items are necessary and thus need to be bought, and then the rest can ignore.

i personally think pingjin is as important and necessaryt as the significance of the customary wedding is... and it should be a joyous occasion for both... bendi...try to sound out from hubby what makes them so angry about this GDL thingy k?

Just to share...i encountered almost similar situation few weeks back... when one of my aunties, during the Ti Qing Ri (ask for hand of marriage day) asked for one whole roasted pig for the ping jin...and my FH's mum kinda rejected on the spot stating that Hokkiens don't have this kind of custom/practice... that sort of made the whole mood turned quite awkward then...and thats where my elder aunt stepped in and said that the customs are just expressions of appreciation and there's no hard and fast rule in the pingjin.... the point is...most importantly everyone must be comfortable and feel happy about the whole thing...it cannot be compromised totally cos it carries meaning behind it...like female side will have to prepare "Jia Zhuang" to thank male side for taking care of daughter in future...and the male side will have to give the pingjin to thank the female side for bringing up the daughter and marrying into the family...and again...the money can be requested by female side or be given as what the male side deemed fit... alot of give and take from both sides...

it's frustrating...i know cos i've been thru the same thing over the roasted pig...well...we cleared the misunderstanding and compromised on it eventually..most importantly dun let all these start to cloud the happy fact that you two are getting married...thats the whole point of the wedding prep

look, i don't believe his mum doesn't know anything about this, even malay and indian has it. his mum didn't even mention anything about pinjin, scared use her money, didn't even know that we are actually preparing and my mum found out and told me she will return in 80% and angpow 20%. Where to find this type of mother? I myself feel bad for her.

my hubby sounded i very greedy and this is for our sake, i seriously feel bad and I don't think I wanna sleep in this bedroom with him.

I can tell all ah mai here his family side only need to act accordingly, WTF when all these prepare by only us, what give them right to say anything. My wedding already very super duper simple without fetch the bride, only jincha and banquet, now I only hope to have this GDL and anchuang with MY OWN HARD EARN MONEY. HE THINKS I AM GREEDY! My mum didn't ask for anything, not even tables or pinjin(i insisted on pinjin)his parents only know how to act blur! Hubby got one sister, I'll see what will happen when she got married.

i really see no point in preparing right now. like I am the only one getting married. i gave in so much and see now, asking little things got screw.

Hi Diana and Ben,

We are glad you found us!

Allow us to present our lovely cupcakes for your happy occasion.

Our 5 -tier tower will be able to accommodate about 60 cupcakes at one go and you can top up as the event progress. 150 cupcakes will start from $350.

Then and again, it will depends on the choice of flavour, frosting and size of cupcakes. Y ou can have a mixture of the big and petit cupcakes. That would make a lovely set up as well : )

We have an assortment of flavors: eg Bourbon Vanilla, Chirpy chocolate chips, sweet strawberry and frosting : Fluffy Icing, Smooth Butter Cream and Creamy Chocolate.

If you have a particular theme or color scheme to go with your wedding theme, we will be happy to do it for you. : )

Confirmation will have to be at least 3 weeks in advance. 50% Deposit will be paid upon confirmation. You can pay via cheque or bank transfer. $20 transportation cost will be waived if you could return us the stand to us within 3 days.

Our little cupcakes can also act as your ambassador of love in your wedding. Send them to your relatives together with your invitations. These will be packed in our pink striped gift boxes , at $10 per box (5 cakes in a box).

Or let each guest bring one home to share your happiness, our lovely cupcake in a cup, with customized labels at $2.80 each.

Pictures say a thousand words. Feast on it.

Once again, our team would be glad to be part of the happy occasion and do give us a tinkle at 6476 6833 if you need any clarification.

Cheerios,

Joyce See

Carnival & Co

Celebrate Life's Little Joys

if wanna see their cupcakes can email them. hope this will help if you need to buy.

*cooling down*

Hmm...
I remember when i first told my bf that my mom requested for the pin jin etc, he commented to me that their family dun practise this. My first reaction was like you, don't bullshit... it's standard...

But after some communication, we kind of worked it out and simplified the whole process...

My bf also had a sister, and his sister had ROM but not yet AD. she too, according to my bf, does/will not have whatever si dian jin, pin jin, whatever...

Slowly, i start to think... maybe it's all in his family... coz when we shared a contact with his sister on where to get the si dian zhuan cheaply... she counter-asked my bf, what's that? and said that oh, they are not gonna have those... and doesn't have any GDL stuffs etc...

Maybe his family just wanna have everything simple and basis, but after explaining to my bf the reason behind the various things/issues, he understood and was supportive.

Try to talk to your hubby in a cool manner, and explain to him the significance...

If you are paying for the stuffs and all his side needs to do is to follow accordingly, i think it shouldn't be anything hard...

Just let him know... all you want... is to make this wedding a pleasant and memorable one... and all these GDL stuffs... hold special meanings for the future... and that's why you wanna follow

violet, i told him already, explain the stuff i've bought in super nice way and i even say this is so old fashion but fun and very meaningful. just like angpow, simplified then don't take and give angpow. why his mum bother to buy red colour clothes during cny and only can wear red, not other colour, will go ask "god" for his future and what to do and what not to do,even traveling also must know if this period can go oversea or not, now cannot have joint account as it is not the right step, blah blah blah, even said I am not his soul mate early last year.maybe your case is diff from mine, his mum is super duper superstitious type of not simple woman. my husband said it loud and clear just now during dinner " NO FOR GDL"

Ah... your FMIL is the total opposite of mine. Yours is super duper superstitious type... mine is not superstitious... but traditional in thinking.

Hmm... just some personal thoughts... maybe his parents used the GDL issue to said something bad... and your hubby is upset that the whole GDL issue is making him torn between his parents and you... both sides with pple dear to him...

dun worry... maybe things will work out fine after a few days of cooling down?

Although i will not be doing much of the GDL etc to simplify the whole process, but i do believe that it should be fun~

Remember... marriage should be a process enjoyable... and it's all abt compromising. ^_^

Jia You~!

thanks violet, but I am not going to give in this time. I definately won't talk to him until he knows he has hurt me badly.

I will just put all these aside.

Go for it, if this is a part of your dream wedding.

Just give each other some time to think thru' it, cool down... and i believe... all will be fine.

Ya... put it aside, concentrate on some other areas first. chuan2 dao4 qiao2 tou2 zi4 ran2 zhi2 mah~!

hey dear ah mais.... wah u guys posted so many msgs when i sleeping...:P

dear Bendi, I know you feel terrible... just let it go for a few days and cool down
. This kind of things, even with best intentions, always seem ultra-sensitive. Hope you dont mind me giving my 2c worth here
My FH is very very protective of his parents and every time the topic of GDL, pin jin, roast pig etc even remotely comes up... he'll jump up and say 'let's keep it simple!'...as if i'm trying to ask for the moon *roll eyes*. At the end of the day...he knows that we're 'on the same side' so as to speak and I know that he doesnt mean bad. So.. still the same lao hua - communication is the key
Let it rest for a few days.... good luck!

Wah Misty, thanks for the picts! So pple usually leave this at the buffet area? If for dinner, they usually charge extra for serving...haiz...

Hey violetcrystal, you're here too! Saw you at the Amanda Lee thread!
Care to leave your details? We have a table of hainanese BTBs...

Hey Bendi, dun be upset. Sorry I can't offer much advice here, coz me and FH just had a big argument. He even said "I'm the bad guy here, I ruined your wedding. don't look me up. let's break it off". Hehs, so I guess I'm worse off here...

CSI... sorry to hear bout the argument *HUGZ*.. but aiya.. i bet after a while he'll coming running back... kekekeke

In my little brain, I imagine the cupcakes are for cosier affairs... and guest can just help themselves to it. I'm not sure if the hotel will charge for serving cupcakes... most of the time, they might ask for 'plating-fee' i.e. cut and serve those usual cake... but since cupcakes dont need to be cut, prolly dont need. In fact, I hv heard many hotels will waive the plating fee but ask you to sign indemnity form (just in case anyone got ill, then not their business).. i know that's the case for raffles

I think i prefer these miniature cakes to cupcakes... just cos they're prettier. But guess the labour that goes into making them will make the cost heftier too!

381909.jpg
381910.jpg
381911.jpg

CSI_Fan,
Hee... yah... i only read this thread... never post here before except just now... =P

I'm a hainanese, but not pure de. Mom is hokkien. and since my dad doesn't know how to speak hainanese... i don't too. kekeke...

Anyway.. here's my details...
CSI, thanks! Here're my details

AD: 07-July-07
Solemnisation: ROM Office
Banquet venue: Sheraton Towers
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings
PG: Sam Wong (Free-Lance)
VG: Kevin Yap (Free-Lance)

violetcrystal...hi *wave hands* i'm also not pure...mum's hokkien too...and family doesnt speak hainanese too...but i somehow can half-understand half-guess hainanese...

misty...the cakes are lovely...*drools* my hotel Plaza parkroyal still charges $60 for plating...their reason... though no need to cut cupcakes...hotel still need to provide additional plates for serving the cupcakes...mm...

ah mais... wedding prep is a long journey full of discoveries... of yourself as well as your hubby & his family...of pleasant and not-so-pleasant ones...when the going gets tough...and you start to question...remember the reason why we all gathered in this forum...

Just to share some lovely quotes...

~~The real act of marriage takes place in the heart, not in the ballroom or church or synagogue. It's a choice you make / not just on your wedding day, but over and over again / and that choice is reflected in the way you treat your husband or wife.

~~To keep the fire burning brightly there's one easy rule: Keep the two logs together, near enough to keep each other warm and far enough apart-about a finger's breadth-for breathing room. Good fire, good marriage, same rule.

~~I dreamed of a wedding of elaborate elegance, a church filled with family and friends. I asked him what kind of a wedding he wished for, he said one that would make me his wife.

~~What counts in making a happy marriage is not so much how compatible you are, but how you deal with incompatibility.

~~A woman marries a man expecting he will change, but he doesn't. A man marries a woman expecting that she won't change, and she does.

RISE & SHINE!!! :D

Thanks for the quotes, Li Ann, they are lovely

violetcrystal...opps...I realised I've not officially greeted you *so rude of me*. Welcome to the hainam thread!! I think I got you mixed up with Crystalz :P Never mind about not knowing hainanese... come here and we can teach you our half past 6 version

Crystalz.. what's the occasion for the gift to your elder brother?

bendi, no angry ya.. old-bird janf can tell u theres bound to be arguements during negotiation stage.. juz to share my experience..

1st - roast pig is a MUST for cantonese brides. my pama insisted on having this (the rest of items if they dun wana give nvm). for GDL, my ILs were very nice to ask us wat we wan and list it down so tat my ILs can go buy the nec. thgs like oranges, red dates, LianZi, longans etc and certain items which we use APs as representatives.. all these items are not exp ya. and my ma nvr even open mouth to request for # of tbls; it was my MIL who ownself said she will give gal's side # of tbls..

let ur ILs know tat GDL, pinjin etc are juz processes to make the married life betta.. its a belief. and since not gona use a single cent of hers, why she bother?! (sorie, janf dun mean to be rude here)

<font face="Vrinda"><table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">Bride</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">AD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Solemnisation Venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Recep venue</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">BS</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">PG</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janf</TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Carlton</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>InJack Studio</TD><TD>InJack Studio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystalz</TD><TD>21-Oct-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>JB Venus</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>CSI_Fan</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>Church of St Teresa</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Lyrical Moments</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Ann</TD><TD>12-Dec-06</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Plaza Parkroyal</TD><TD>Silverlining</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misty</TD><TD>30-Dec-06</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Lawn</TD><TD>Raffles Hotel Ballroom</TD><TD>Divine</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nellie</TD><TD>28-Mar-07</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>The Arts House</TD><TD>J&amp;C Bridal</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>Mark Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bendi</TD><TD>26-May-07</TD><TD>Over</TD><TD>Grand Hyatt*</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Jon Keng*</TD><TD>Not getting </TD></TR><TR><TD>Violetcrystal</TD><TD>7-Jul-07</TD><TD>ROM Office</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>Amanda Lee</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Kevin Yap </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></font> *tentative
Latest update on violetcrystal

Morning ladies!
Nice quotes Li Ann...
Arh? just coz they need to use additional plates so they charge $60? But well, if you have 300 guests, I guess it's not that much per head afterall...

Guten Morgen, Ah Mais!

Welcome to this thread to all new ah mais!

The cupcakes are very very beautiful!!!

Bendi - Arguments are bound to have. As what the rest had said, it's really a communication problem. Always remember marriage is never a 2 persons affair. Anyway, my philosophy is if I'm the one paying, I have the say but will try to accommodate other requests if they are reasonable. (sorry -- I'm a bit 'big woman').

We have the simplest GDL among all other dialect groups. Furthermore, the guy side should always accommodate the female side. Hey, we are the one going to married into the other parties' families, not them.

My future mother-in-law mentioned to e and my parents how simple their daughter' wedding was but I reminded them that now it's his son, very different from marrying a daughter off. Their son-in-law, though an Indian-chinese, kept asking what they want for the wedding. See, it's really the guy side who needs to accommodate the girl side. (you know what I mean...)

It's fun and memorable thingy for all couples to go thru at least some traditional stuff (in some ways, it's to shut the relatives' mouths too). like your case, my FH has escaped my jie meis' torturing process. We'll go straight for my solemnization, tea ceremony and high tea. Banquet dinner is skipped. His parents later wanted banquet after we booked everything, my FH played the 'bad guy', he scolded his parents.

'si dian jin' is given to the bride from the in-laws. This is for them to show off to the relatives 'how well' they treat the daughter-in-law. However, we do not have this practice in hainanese tradition. my FH's dialect group is Xing Hua so if his parents want to give, I'll just take. In another words, if you are the hainanese guy marrying a hokkien girl, your parents have to give her 'si dian jin' out of respect to her dialect groups's tradition. (hope I'm not too nagging in my explanation).

Crystalz, I hear abt this : the younger sibling who gets married first before the elder sibling need to walk under the pants of the elder sibling (something like that...) But my FH didn't go thru this when his younger sis got married last year. She didn't even buy him a gift. It's really up to you.

Think I have been far too naggy, in my point of view, just do what you want and accommodate what you can. Voice out for those you can't. Remember, It's OUR big day and it's ONCE a lifetime. IT's definitely tiring during the preparation process. As what my married friends had said, enjoy it. It only happen once!

wah Nellie.... so long neber come here, then suddenly become sooo lor soh liao

*joking lah*.... we missed u in here!

To avoid being lor soh also... I summarise and agree with all above that Nellie has posted. I think ultimately it doesnt matter what you do not normally practise.... rather it is what you would do out of respect for the other party regardless of whether you believe in it or not. Just like a lot of mixed-race marriages... the non-chinese will often go through the tea ceremony etc.

Crystalz.... orr you mean you shld give something to ur elder bro for the wedding har? Sorry...I misunderstood... I'm not familiar with this

Hahaha... Nellie... 'nang2 lao4 lar2 jiu4 sam1 gong3 jio4 di4'...kekekeke... see if you can decipher that

ladies... i think i'm being sucked into this rat race of wedding materialism.. please help me get back into reality!!!

misty - "ppl old liao betta talk less.." correct?! haha.

i hvnt say hi to violetcrystal hor! *wave wave*

Ha Ha Ha...

me belong to the other old category. Kept quiet for too long liao must say out everything. Then after that, go back to the quiet mode.

Ha Ha Ha

Yes Yes... we need to come back to reality!

Okie, my updates!

Just received a traffice offence letter from TP, got fine $200 and 6 demerit points. Life is so unfair!!!

My wedding process : not much to do now. I've done whatever I can as early as possible already. So it's mainly see what do what.

New house : was in the process of looking for contractors but give up now. 1st appt is coming, will just see how it goes.

To summarize, taking easy (force to..) cos I found I have lots of white hairs appearing.

misty...yeps. agree. must face back to reality. reality is we are not going to strike a million toto before our wedding and thus everything must keep~~it~~SIMPLE~~

To date...damage is almost 10k just on bridal package, AD PG &amp; AD VG.

Still got all the misc....wedding band, angbao monies for helpers, car rental (my vain FH wants to drive big big car), suit rental/tailor for parents (just realise that my bridal package does not include these...so sad...and to think i spent so much time looking and comparing packages only to leave these out...too concern with my own gown preference

maybe we should combine and buy toto....with our age? keke.... a bit "zou huo ru mo" le....

Aiyo Nellie... muz dye white hair liao...hahaha... okie, will stop teasing you liao lar

Li Ann, wanna buy toto... okie okie...
. I've never bought before leh... hv to show me how to...

My latest crazy idea: search for places to take PS. Saw some gorgeous photos taken at The China Club... lurrrve the decor, but it's members only. You guys have any idea where i can get similar kind of oriental interiors?

misty...keke...toto i also not expert...but i know in order to win the pool, we must get 7 out of 7 numbers correct. But you will get paid money once you get 4 nos correct...my mum ever receive $10 for getting 4 nos correct. The pool of money will be split among the winners. The toto numbers can either be generated by the system, the easiest is to buy "quick-pick" at $0.50 per bet. Or if you have 7 nos (choose from 1 - 45), you can buy a "system 7" at $3.50 per bet. The system 7 can also be generated by the computer. something like that la...i think... *raise eyebrow* keke...

So if we each give one number, think we have 7 nos.

You can try Chef Chan (near Bras Besar) or Grand Shanghai (Grand Copthorne), or even certain spots inside Oriental Hotel.

Try Rochester Park? Alot of lush and greenery...
http://www.one-north.com/pages/vistaXchange/vista_rochPark.asp

Try Villa Bali too....nice setting...
http://www.miw.com.sg/publish/sg/en/entertainment/dining/little_bali.html
been there once for drinks and really love the outdoor feel... very pretty at night.

Ayy Li Ann, we hv 8 ladies here leh... oh but old bird janf's wedding over liao... hahaha... so give us younger birds a chance...kekeke

okay my number contribution = 1

(maybe we might win something.. then at least can go out for a meal! hahaha)

Thanks for the suggestions, Li Ann. I will check them out. To be honest, I dont really know S'pore very well cos too long havent stayed there le.... so will try to look for some ideas, and also rely on the photographer to give suggestions. I heard both rochester park and villa bali charges couples for taking PS there.

Good morning ah mais!

Misty, Will be colouring my hair at the end of Sept b4 my PS. China Club is very nice! Been there for meals. The scenery is fantastic!

Li Ann - Count me in for the TOTO. my fav no is 22.

hey nellie, r u serious about coloring ur hair? where do u normally go? Any reco? I need to touch up my highlights... but the usual hairdresser i go is crap at highlights.. he made it so chunky i feel like a zebra
kao_angry.gif

Hi Misty, yes I am, colour and highlights. My friend recommends me one of the salons in Raffles Place (can't remember the salon name). She did hers there for her wedding, her sis too. Now practically, her family of girls all go there. She said that salon has wide choice of colors and the hairdresser is good.

Must make an appt and look for this particular haidresser. Must also bring pics of your wedding gown and whatever gowns you'll be wearing. This hairdresser will find the best colours to suit you and match the gowns.

When are you planning to do your highlights?

Li Ann,
hmm... to win the grand prize of the toto, i think match 6 out of the main 6 numbers correctly can le... coz the 50cents per bet de only generates 6 numbers mah... and min. must choose 6 numbers... system 7 just provides an additional number so increasing the chances.

Nellie,
Hmm... if we color/hairlight hair before PS... then before AD, must still go touchup the colors due to new-grown hair? just checking...

Hmm... my fav. number is 17.

Violetcrystal, depending on the time interval between PS and AD.. if it's long enough for the roots to show, then it would be better to touch up. (answer question for nellie :P)

Nellie, I think i'll be going the week after next. Arriving in s'pore on 10th.. so sometime that week. My PS is on 18th. Actually, I just re-did my highlights about 5-6 weeks ago... but I dont like the color at the top and the bottom is like zebra..... I go for very au naturale look... but dunno why the hairdressers never get what i mean