Hainanese Brides, anyone???

My hainanese also not too good lah. I always mix other 'languages' in when I'm stucked with the words. Think only my grandparents and parents can understand only. Ha Ha Ha... cos I speak very fast.

Hopefully the swallows will bring luck in the lottery. Badly need the winnings to subsidize my reno and wedding.

My wedding is at The Arts House (the ex-Parliament House), not ACM. Wanted to have it at ACM too but the terms and conditions are too strict. No traditional sit-down dinner. Everything must end before 6pm.

My dear sick ah mais, please take good care of yourselves.

CSI and all ah mais - did your hubbies tailor-made any shirts for the PS and AD? I need to tailor-made a tuxedo shirt for FH.

Ivied - No problem, it's my pleasure. I had watched 'Samsoon' already when it was telecast on SCV. Very funny.

Janf - judging from your hair length, you might need 7 hours for the rebonding process. I did mine for abt 5 hours. My bum hurts after sitting down there for so long.

Ok ah mais, me scuttling home liao. Hubby will pass me the keys at the hospital. Heng he didn't chide me. Haha, mebbe see me so poor thing liao

I'll try to sneak into his lappie and come online later

Oh ya, and I'll go buy the 4D at the NTUC later. Don't u think that the 8096 and 3088 are beautiful numbers? Nellie and all, let's keep our hopes high for a sure strike Wed!

Ciao for now!

tink all of us need the windfall.. grr..

oh nellie, its at Arts House ah! yes yes, now i recalled tat ur ILs were against the place coz its ministers fighting place, no good for harmony or somethg lidat.. haha.

my hub cant fit into tuxedo so save $ lah.. haha. he juz bot those shirts off the rank. not too sure if Taka sells those tuxedo shirts, u can chk it out ya..

i dun intend to rebond at this length if not can die!! the longest duration i did was 5hrs.. i get very figitive wheneva rebond.. the tot of cant move ard and stuck in the stoopid chair for hrs really can make me koonz.. somemore everytime i rebond got to take 1/2day leave.. bleh.

ivied - i oso watch JinSanShun on scv liao.. very farnie show! cfm u will get addicted..

HUrrrhhh.. thanks Janf for correcting me!! heng ah... if not sekali all of u strike then I wonder why I don't.... keekekee.... well, it's the cough again!

phew..was so bz just now...came in for a breather..later going Parkway parade for lunch...aiayh..how i missed my Char kuay teow!

Janf - maybe Huiz will go for i-bet..so either no comes out..she'll strike a windfall.

Ivied - my email addy at [email protected]. Send me the pics ya...mine, he've taken the pic of us sooo small, can't see clearly. Should ve adjusted the setting for him..sigh! I'm watching Samsoon, Goong and princess lulu now...smuggle those DVDs bk when I was in Penang earlier this mth :P

Nellie - My pkg also comes with MTM jacket n pants for ah lau. Need to fork out extra $ for his shirt also.

wah ah mais, our thread quite power leh! Soooo many posts...hahaha

missed so many in 1 morning.

To all the not-feeling-so-well ah mais, take care leh...it rained again this morning...drinks lots of water and rest.

hi Nellie,
erm, we'll be going Shanghai on Thursday (me there for work, so I redeemed my Krisflyer points for FH to go along), so we're thinking of making his AD shirt there. For PS, I bot his a cufflink shirt while in KL...heehee...but it wasn't a very good fit lah (I feel so bad, but he insisted on not making a shirt in the first place!)

I've checked a few tailors at Peninsula Shopping Centre (right next to Excelsior - not the one opposite), the price is from $90 (depending on fabric and cut - pleats or none etc...) for a wing-tipped shirt (the one mostly used for Tux).

Wow! Janf, you got good memory leh!

My BS charges abt $80 for a tailor-made tuxedo shirt. Friend said it's considered cheap cos outside charge abt $100 plus. FH tried some suits last Sat, I think a tuxedo shirt is a must. He really looks completely different on some suits.

Stacy - Aiyo!!! Char Kuay Teow??!!! Makes my mouth waters...

Good luck to all of us tonight!!! Top prize here we come!

Hi janf, Huiz, Nellie and Stacy,
the pic is sent.

Nellie, will u be holding the solemnization at The Chamber house? I like the feel of it but my FH strongly against it so we scrap the idea. So yours will be a standing buffet? Who is your caterer?

There are a few tailors available. Basically they do make tuxedo too. Here's some for your ref. Hope it is useful.

A) Higher Range (but good design and quality)
1. Raffles Tailor
http://www.rafflestailor.com.sg/
2. Kingsmen Tailor
Far East Plaza; #02-56/57/76/77

B) Mid range
1. Personality
Peninsular Shopping Centre; 3rd floor
2. Men's Tradition
Peninsular Shopping Centreat #03-272

C) Lower to Mid range
Dickson Tailor
Suntect City Basement (Opp Subway)

Stacy, we should have adjusted the zoom for him. The pic shows the surrounding bigger than us.
And Stacy, where is your workplace? U can go PP for lunch? so good. I'm tired of Bedok central.

I'm hooked on the samsoon show! janf, it really got me addicted. Now I'm going to borrow the disks from my FH's sis.

CSI - going Shanghai??? So good!!! you can have a cheong sam made there.

Thanks for the tailors info. Think I'll go back to my BS to make.

Ivied - yup yup, I'm holding my solemenization in the Chamber. Buffet will be both sitting and standing. Caterer is Lavish.

Thanks for the info!

hi nellie, no prob. Personally I kind of like Dickson Tailor. He works on his own and his charges are not ex.
I like the Chamber house. Show me the pic after your wedding ok. Is Lavish going to do up the deco at the Arts House too?

Do we have the same smile? hmm.. the hainan mai's smile. haha...

Hey all, me back! Sneaking in on ah lao's lappie now.... shhhh.... haha!

Eh Nellie, the 4D not tonight right? Today only Tues leh. The 4D is on Wed right?

Stacy, what's i-bet?? Me quite bong kang when it comes to buying 4D wan.... only know the simplest way of buying ;-P

I just went pass the NTUC just now. So sad they don't sell 4D here
nevermind, tomorrow then buy.... heehee

Hmm, think my ah lao wouldn't want to tailor make shirts too, unless I force him la (meaning he pays also). He did one suit at Peninsula Plz before. Can't remb e tailor's name, but it's quite ok la...

I've seen the pic too! Thanks Ivy for sending it over. I will email u gals my 'version' tonight.

Oh yah, Misty, u gimme your email addy? I'll send my excel file to u..... easier this way

Ok, me finished my lunch liao. Time to take the potent cought mixture and go be a zzzzz 'tee3 doo1" (dead pig) liao..... be back later! Meanwhile, enjoy your lunch too!

ha ha huiz, i-bet works out all the combinations based on the 4 numbers that u are buying. e.g. if u have 4 different numbers, there will be 24 different combinations. The cost is lower as compared to buying 24x or 12x.
I'm in the same boat except that I know of this 2 days before u.
and huiz, go rest well ok. sleep more and take your medicine orr..

Nellie, I'm also sourcing for florist. They are so ex! But mine is for my bouquet and car deco. I have a few in mind, what about u?

I have shortlisted:
1) redbox
http://www.red-box.com.sg/index.php
2) Woodsville Florist
http://www.woodsville-florist.com/fWeddings-Main.html
3) Floral Recipes
http://www.floralrecipes.com/weddings/
4) Green Point Flowers
http://www.greenpointflowers.com.sg/htm/aboutus.htm
5) Heavens Touch
http://www.heavenstouch.com.sg/index.asp

Oh ya hor... it's only Tue.. thought was Wed already... blur blur

I-bet is the same as system bet, also have 24 permutations depending on what nos you buy.

For example, if you buy 8960 at $1 BIG system bet:
- there are 24 permutations
- you pay $24
- if strike 1st prize, you'll get $2000

If it's $1 BIG i-bet,
- 24 permutations
- you pay $1
- if strike 1st prize, you'll only get $83

Ivied - FH liked one of the florist along Thomson Road (can't remember the name). Didn't ask about the price but they said can work according to our budget.

My colleague also gave me a contact. It's the same as one of yours - Woodsville. This florist decorated the ballroom for her friend's wedding recently. I've seen the photos. NICE!

nellie - mind i ask why u din consider holding it at hotel ballroom where everythg will be BaoGaLiao by hotel?

my gfren holding her wedding in ACM.. she stressed now.. start hunting for stuffs..

hi ah mais!
Nice gathering last night and really happy to meet all of you finally...
Already looking forward to the second gathering le

Thanks ah mais for your well wishes...

huiz...guess you should be home resting le...take care...we shouldn't have eaten the chicken...this morning i greedy took a bite on the mooncake and now kok kok kok nonstop.

nellie...your swallow incident makes me remember my chicken escapade too...scary!
For florist, you can try secret garden www.secretgarden.com.sg or poppyflora studio www.poppy.com.sg

ivied...thanks for the tailor contacts. Very useful...my BS tailor shirt for $120 at least...very ex...
btw, can send the pic to [email protected]

stacy...My pic also turned out small...haha...so many of us took photo but they are all the same size

janf...luckily you reminded again...for some reason 8096 stuck in my mind le...must write down the numbers to go buy 4D.

lunch time over! back to work....

ivied - Thanks for pic! Received it! Abt tailor, i tot of visiting Dickson tailor..got recommendation by forumers here...seems quite good for the price we r paying. Ur hb gonna make his suit there?

I worked quite near your place also...in Simei. From work place to PP onli 10mins drive..drive along ECP. Hmmm...maybe we can meet one day for lunch at bedok
Else, u can go further up..near TJ, can have the hillstreet char kuay teow?

Huiz - take your medication n rest well...drink more to recover earlier

Li Ann - erm, maybe the uncle didn't know how to play with the zoom function, thou I've briefed him :P

Janf - I did look at hotels initially b4 looking at Arts House, Arts Museum & ACM. Like Oriental Hotel but it's ex! The ceiling of the ballroom for 15 tables is so low. Hee Hee.. I like high ceilings. Can hold everything at poolside but mine is a afternoon event - so hot. And there's a rental of $1500 plus for the poolside.
After seeing Oriental, other hotels seem not able to make it leh. So settle for Arts House lor. The hunting for stuff is definitely stressful but so far not that bad yet. Cos I quite kia su. whatever, I can book first, I do.

Oh btw, we forgot to talk about our JMs' dresses. Anyone of you contacted the 'tailor'?

keke nellie, me was oso like u then.. kiasu.. everythg way way b4 AD oredi booked.. i even had my PS 5mths b4 AD! juz wana get over and done wif lah..

yup, so gals wana go see the kelvin?? but tat industrial pl is super ulu, no car cannot kind..

Janf - wat size did u take for your dress? Cos' my JM rather big size, so might not be able to fit in big size? Also, one of my JM her air ticket expires in Feb 07, so she might not be able to help me out during my wed..hence, might need to look for another MC..sigh!

Janf - great minds think alike

Stacy - my Jie Meis too, all different sizes and 2 of them might not be able to fit into the normal L size. Just changed one of my Jie Meis. Initial this 'sacred role' was given to my tallest cousin, wow piang! sms her never bother to reply so I ask her 2nd bro. Her bro also gave me negative remarks on her being super nuah. Ask me to help them scold her. Aiyo! Being kiasu and kiasee, I dropped her name, got one of my sec sch friends to replace her.

aiyoh chiam ah, stacy.. ur JM is foreigner? gotta quick look for JM ya coz not too nice to give ppl last min notice.. wait ppl tink shes back-up..

i took size S..

hi ah mais,
Pic is delivered.
To ensure that we have a nice view of everyone, next time we shall adjust the zooming size prior to selecting the photographer. hee...

Stacy, I'm thinking of getting Dickson Tailor too. He quoted me the suit and shirt of polyester material for about $350. I'm thinking of having a combination of wool, cotton and polyester coz polyester alone will not shape the suit well. Men's tradition cost about $400 for suit only of combined material.
hey, u worked near my office.
However, I'm located in the Chai Chee office as the main office does not have sufficient space for staging of all our equipments. We can have lunch sometime.

janf, I have not contacted the tailor. Just to ask, does he tailor tops only? I think my JM does not want to wear dresses so I thought of getting a top for them. Who else wants to go? We can go see see.

Nellie, florist is rather ex. I almost faint when I hear the prices. I have a concept for you, wonder if u are interested? http://www.mooink.com/whatwesell.htm

Ivied - this concept is nice but can't use cos one of the terms and condition is that there are must no lighting of fire in the Chamber. I can't even use popper too.

Janf - any idea what's Kelvin operating hours? I'm driving an off-peak car so... can go only during off-peak hours. Ah mais - we can all go together.

ivied - tink he does mostly ofc jacket suits/dresses and JM dresses.. duno if he does tops anot.. can go down take a look lor..

Janf - no lah, my JM is local...but taking her course overseas. But she finished course liao, looking for a job. That's y she's overseas now. She is trying to see if she can request for extention of air ticket date...still waiting for SIA reply. If not, my 2 other JM can cope, but maybe got to find one MC. Hmmm, since u take S size, prob they can take L size. I've yet visited Kelvin, cos ah lau not free on weekends to send me there

Ivied - Chai Chee then near my home...near industrial pk or near SATA side? I've yet visited Dickson Tailor..how long he needs to make a suit huh? Eg: leadtime?

Nellie - aiyoh, super nuah one better siam...wait take AB n never work..how can!!! Good you managed to get your sec friend to help out. My sec friend all married with kids liao...bz taking care of their bb :o

okie, kelvin replied liao..

mon-fri 9am-8pm, sat 9am-7pm. to arrange wif him b4 coming down in case he not ard..

ah mais - if u gals going down on sat, i can get my bor-lao to send me there. i juz appear for awhile show u gals which are the dresses and try my skill in bargaining coz at least i was his customer b4..

16 Sept huh? I got classes that afternoon..hopefully it will be cancel..so i can join.

janf - wow...so sweet of u...got to make ur way down to help us bargain...*kisses*

aiyah stacy, no prob to go down lah coz quite near my hse if bor-lao is driving me.. if he dun send me then i dun wana go liao.. keke.. *pull his ears*

btw, wat course u taking?

Hmmm... 15 Sept, fri also can but you girls will need to endure a bit as I'll be driving my FH's Kangoo. Can meet around 6.45pm at Aljunied mrt.

If it's 16th Sept(Sat), it'll be around 3.45pm at Aljunied mrt too.

nellie, no prob. Just a thought as I kind of like this idea. U have a high tea after the solemnization right? Lavish will do up the Blue Room? BTW, I was running thru the old threads in here and realised that u had the same birthdate as my friend. (same day, month and year)

janf, its so great of u. *muack*
I'm ok with both dates and timing.

Stacy, mine is at the industrial park area. The tailor at Dickson, Mr Wong told me lead time is approx 2 months. I advise u to call him for appointment first before going down. I saw he has a pile of clothes waiting for him. I have not booked him yet, depending on my ah lao. His number is 68369078.

wah ah mais, we have 60 posts in 1 day!!! hahaha...

We are good manz! hahaha...

Read that some of you gals are considering Red Box...well, I didn't have a happy experience with Red Box...but you gals shd go and chat with the lady there urself. Red Box was supposed to do my PS bouquet, but I felt that I couldn't work with her for my AD, so last min, I cancelled the bouquet.

What happened? well, 1st of all, it appeared to me that they were not able to work with most flowers (except roses - everything was like...it's a challenge, working with this flower, that flower).
(2) Felt that her suggestions weren't really nice (perhaps it was the way she put across her ideas, and I missed her point or something),
(3) she had a bit of attitude (to me lah, but again, could be the way she says things and it's not my style lorh.) I just commented (make small talk) "Oh, so XYZ passed you my contact, that's how u contacted me...I thought I shd be calling you instead" <font color="0000ff">How would one normally react? although we know this is a "duh" statement, usually we just "play along".</font> But she had this scornful laugh and said "Ah then? I get from the sky ah?" Even my 15-yr old bro feels that that was uncalled for, esp for someone you are meeting for the very 1st time.
(4) Had to top up $$ for flowers - hand bouquet and AD corsages. What flowers? Small teeny orchids. I checked with the other florists, all no need to top up (for the same kind of flowers that they wanted to give me).
(5) I tried to sound out a bit more on AD flowers and what to expect. She asked me what colour is my car. I told her, metallic silver blue colour. Her reaction? "Oh, that is a very difficult colour to work with. Can you change your car colour?" Huh? If it's our car (for eg.) and it has meaning for us...how you expect us to change? Perhaps she meant it as a joke, but sorry lorh, it did not come out the right way to me....

So, ah mais, do chat with the various florists on your various needs - venue etc...before you confirm your florist, yah...

Hullo hullo the dead pig is resurrected! Ya CSI, we have so many posts in just one PM.... good good. This is the ah mai sisterhood at work

Talking about florist, me think I might need one to add on to what Plaza Park is doing up for me. Li Ann, their 'creations' quite pathetic hor. I have yet to email them for pics of their latest do-ups after the renov. Shall see how well they have improved or vice versa in their deco before I decide to get more help or not.

Btw, Li Ann, PPR is tied up with June florist am I right? Anyone heard any comments about them?

Hmm, JM dresses ah, I don't think I'll be making. Some of my JMs are not the very dressy (not say they don't wear dresses la, but they more simple kind) type, so I am afraid they might not like what I have in mind for them. I think not so nice to "force" my idea on them and they end up uncomfy lor. But I'll set a colour code though
So for the meeting with the tailor, I don't think I'll need it. But wishing u gals the best of luck that u can get a great bargain. So sweet of janf to go along too.... Janf, u are one great ah mai!

Hey CSI,

U have 15 y.o bro? Me bro also the same age as yours. He's 16. If u are also around the same age as me (born 79), that makes the age gap between our sibs quite large. People always comment on this till I also sian and my parents also couldn't be bothered too. Like most Hainanese folks whom I believe fancy boys more, they were also trying for a boy after having 2 gals, so ended up with a large age gap

CSI, is the lady Ching? I had a chat with her over the phone and find her to be alright. She even gave me suggestions. I'm meeting her this Sat, hopefully it will turn out fine. *cross my fingers*

Huiz, I'm also not making JM dresses. My JMs gave me a look "har" when I mentioned dresses. I was thinking of tops. I see how it goes.

We are quite chatty today.
the threads are moving very fast. hee..

wah Huiz...our situation similar leh...

my bro and me age gap bigger than urs ah...I'm a '78...and we also have 2 gals, then him, the only boy...

hey Ivied...

yah, that's her. I found her ok too over the phone. but when I spoke further, asked more questions, I felt that I can't work with her lorh...buay gam ah...hehs...

oh no. this does not sound good. anyway I shall go down to see and discuss further with her. I have also called Woodsville and Greenpoint. They too sound nice, yet to be seen.
I like Floral Recipes but they are quite pricy leh. *hai*

our threads really fast...i hope i can catch up...

nellie/janf...i can't make it for the visit nex fri or sat cos whole week on business trip. Let us know how the bargaining turn out ya? I'm looking at tailor for my mummy kind of age so maybe not suitable

CSIfan...i guess that is what you call the "click" factor...sometimes you met someone you cannot click so hard to force...the two you mentioned should also be highly recommended type. I've met up with Jane from Secret Gardens, she is not bad, friendly, experienced and creative. But they can be quite pricey.

huiz...i suggest don't put too much hope into the PPR decor...i've decided to get florist to top up. I've visited Poppy Flora and Secret Garden... Poppy Flora has quoted me 3k for the pavillion (for my rom) and ballroom. I havent followed up with Secret Garden. Intend to do it soon...