Grand Shanghai Restaurant

Hi! I'm a GH BTB.

Although I'm also toying with the idea of changing to Plaza Parkroyal Hotel...hmmm..

What do you people think?

I understand that GS dun hav projector and screen there.But has any brides manage to do their video montage at GS before?

hi lizzy,

will feedback after i have my photoshoot on 22nd this month... : )

think u can place a laptop there for pple to view, though it won't be as nice...

I am interested to hold my wedding dinner at GS too but lack information about the place i.e package pricing, place ambience, look of the place etc. Would appreciate if someone can mail me the packages of GS with some photos of the place for reference.
Thank you!!!

My email is [email protected].

Anyway for the band in GS, can we request them to play jazz? :p

hi velisa, wat i know they only play their 'own style' of music le. ie) those shanghainese tunes

hi lizzy, i engaged someone to put up the projector & screen for me ..my guests r able to view. i had only one screen cos i m cutting cost but it will do just fine. wat my videographer did was to provide his laptop & the projector guys provide the necc wiring.

hi lizzy unfortunately it's not. i managed to get a reasonable rate $160 . i've done some research..n restn ppl told me normally one will cost abt min $200 so i gather $160 is reasonable la.

hi lizzy,

almost forgotten that i was supposed to update u guys...

well my PS went on well except that i reached GS really late, about 4.45pm... which was like 15 mins before the time we are supposed to stop..

and they had an event on, and was already arranging cutlery n stuff... but managed to stay on till 5.15 or 5.30... we shifted some of the cutlery away and my hb said that the waiteress a bit not happy, but they din do anything lah..
and i din notice too... so i guess overall still okay...

so my advice to all, is to go as early as poss...
cuz they might have an evening event going on...
pics will be ready for viewing 2 weeks later... hope that it

hi stephanie,

i saw other's table arrangement at GS last sun. they didn't use those side rect tables; they use standard round tables. also, those tables with cushion seats are meant for 5~6pax only.

Hi Diana
It depends on your seating capacity. If you go for the max of 280, then would have to use the side table swith cushion seats to seat your guests. If not, I understand from them that they will use the main round tables and block off the side tables.

hi bliz,

what type of cocktail will be provided for you? is it for pre-dinner or during dinner? i did request for some cocktails to be served for pre-dinner but was not offered.

hi GALS,
Anybody had any idea how's GS food like, cos I 've got a friend that told me the food there sucks, It really worries me cos I've booked the venue for my wedding .

hi lizzy, dun worry abt the food. It's good enuff. U can't pls everybody really when it come to food. I've done my little survey abt GS after my wedding. Only ONE out of 200+ guests say its NOT nice :P but at least got something she like on the menu :P

Who is ur coordinator? i hv a little advise for all brides here though..make sure u communicate carefully with them when it comes to food serving. If possible ask them to DISPLAY YOUR FOOD ON THE TABLE dun do INDIVIDUAL SERVING cos u wont know for sure how they are goin to portion the food.

Hi lizzy,
Sushi is right...it's really subjective.But it's funny to hear someone commenting that the food is lousy cause so far for me, when friends hear i am going to have my dinner at GS,everybody commented favourably on the food there. Why not try it out for yourself before your wedding so that you can be assured and can change some dishes on the menu if you don't like it..

Hi Diana, my PS is together with my bridal pckg with Golden horse. As for AD PG and VG, i have booked Shiku Pictures.

Hi sushi,
My coordinator is Sally.I've spoken to her regarding the matter on individual serving which I dun really like . And she agreed to my request to display the food first before separating to portions. But I 'm not sure whether can ask them divide those food into portions in front of the guests or not. It seems she told me they will bring it into the kitchen the other time.

hi lizzy, my coordinator is shirley..& she was outstation during my AD..so sally took over. My guests commented that there are no 'balance' food after they portion it, it left me wondering where has the remainder gone to. My guest claim that some tables dun hv enuff food! In fact i went back after my wedding to give my feedback. Sally handled my feedback professionally, & we do agree there is some communication prob. She couldnt explain why there are no balance after the food is portioned out. In the end she agreed to give us another table to 'compensate'.
My impression of individual serving is to SHOW MY GUESTS THE FOOD & portion the food in front of them or at the side station. Most of my guests prefer to 'fight' for their food. Apparently when food is served, its oredi portion out from the kitchen. It's not nice when my guests commented that food portion is small, its quite embarrassing to us. So my advise is to tell sally wat u both want clearly. U & ur hubby will be too busy to monitor them, if u are still not convinced, get a family member or close friend to see to this on the actual day. Hope this helps.

Hi Sushi,
That's wat I wanted for my AD as well. I do not wan the guests to make the same complain also. So I 'm gonna communicate to Sally wat we actually wanted.BTW,did you hav the live band there for your wedding that time?Do you think it's a little bit noisy?I'm just worried that it might sounds like a seven mth kind of "ge tai".hee..hee..
Anyway thanks so much for your advise.

hi lizzy, initially i was pretty afraid the songs are quite CHEENA..but not to worry i think they are fine, most guests commented they love the ambience. its one of a kind
in fact though i m bz entertaining ard..i think i saw the singer PR with my guests
one of the singers even came to congratulate us personally when she left after her shift .

Hi Sushi,
So did you wear a cheongsam for as one of your outfit in GS on your AD?I've MTM a champage gold cheongsam . I just hope that the singer not wearing the same colour that day.hee..hee

hi gals.. wow it seem like GS is great huh.. m looking for AD venue.. my frd did suggest me GS but it seem CHEENA to me leh .. haha.. but after reading the above mgs.. i find it good.. but dun know if they still got it in NOV.. wish me good luck.. anyone can share the pic taken there? pls send it to [email protected]... cheer

hi lizzy i didnt wear a CS..initially wanted to but didnt cos my BS provided a nice tea dress. Wore my day gown, EG then my tea dress for sending off

Urmm..did sally tell u the colour of the VIP table cloth? think its gold le..dun mind me reminding u cos it might blend with ur gold CS? the rest of the tables are cfm red table cloth.

i hav called them but the date i wanted was taken.. but they are available for LUNCH.. LUNCH ?? How is it ?? anyone had wedding lunch or went to any wedding lunch ? is it the same as dinner? then wat to do after lunch .. still so early.. mine is on sunday.. ppl got to wake up early to attend my wedding lunch .. any suggestion ? HELP!!! now most of the ballroom are booked... any good hotel to advise? many THANKSssssss..

Hi sushi,

Understand that you have photo montage. So u place the screen on the right side (meaning at near the entrance or near the kitchen?)

Another question, hehe.. maybe abit silly. How does the music in the photo montage comes out from GS's speaker? I am not AV techincal, so abit curious, I was wondering if i need a separate CD for the background music..

Btw, can they play music in MP3 format?

Hi Sharon,
Initially, I wanted a wedding lunch. But found out that the ambience in the day n night was totally different. I prefer the night more than the day so I change my whole wedding plan for GS. Maybe u can try to find time n go down n take a look at the ambience during the day. Some more during lunch there is no live band performing so u still gotta pay few hundreds bucks if u want the performance.

lunch is quite normal nowadays. For wedding couple it will not be so tiring n guests can go shopping or coffee after that.. as for tea ceremony, u can have it after the lunch.

hi ingsq, thanks for ur advice.. but ithink lunch will be quite boring..cos it like the whole ceremory end so fast... hee hee any i m now checking the ballroom in RAFFLES MARINA.. anyone out there got any feedbacks...

hi fruitnuts i place screen at the 'bottom' part near the stairs same level as the VIP TABLE..yes at the right side. the sound is OK le..just leave that to ur VG i think he should worry that for u :P i didnt hv a separate CD ..

yes i played my march in with the cd i burn..its mp3.

Hi Sushi,

Thanks for that.

Just like to know if you can give me the contact of your projector rental. $160 is quite reasonable and I am rather interested.

Hi sushi,

i am still thinking whether to put up a video/ photo montage for my guests. but can i have the contact of your projector rental as well. thanks

i'm also interested to know more about GS packages. Can anyone gimme their contact? Do they have any email that i can send to? Cos i'm not always in s'pore so it's easier to contact thru email. If you do have, please drop me a mail.. [email protected] Thanks!