Grand Shanghai Restaurant

i'm considering GS as my venue in june 06 next year... been to the place, must say that it's quite unique...

those who have held their dinner there, got any feedback fm their guests??? do ur guests find it unique or too chinnna for their taste????

Hi Cheryl,

I had my wedding dinner there. Everyone loved it, the ambience is so so unique and the food is also good. Service was so good we gave them a big ang pow after dinner

hi blurblobs...

thank u for ur reply!
did u march-in with the live music? play video montage since there's no screen?
and may i ask u a question: was ur ang pow's average on par with hotel rates or more to a restaurant rate? i'm worried that my guests will think that it's a cheap restarant.. (although it's definitely not.. : ))

will u have any photos to share with me? if possible, can send me at [email protected]
thank u thank u!

I have also booked my wedding at GS restaurant for next year. Simply love the ambience there so have chosen it w/o even looking much at other venues.
Blurblobs, glad to hear that you had a good experience. Which menu did you take?Were they flexible to allow switching around of dishes from the other menu or ala-carte? Also, if you have photos of the set-up on your wedding, could you pls share with me at [email protected]. thanks.

hi princess wong,

saw ur photo shoot in GS n showed it to my colleagues.. they all loved ur pics (v stylo milo) and esp ur cheongsam. may i know who's ur BS? : )

hi princess wong,
How many hours were you at GS for your PS?I am also thinking of choosing one of my outdoor shoots there but must plan my PS schedule cause' one of my colleague just did her photoshoot and her photographer didn't go to places of her choice coz' of time constraint

Hi Princess Wong,

Is your AD coming soon? I had signed up with GS, wanted to check a few things with you

1) The invite cards that GS provide, do we still need to send for printing?
2) Wat songs did u select for march in?
3) How many tables did you have?

hope to hear from you soon.. Thanks

Hi Fruitiesnuts,
Just wanted to share with you on your queries...
GS only provide cards w/o printing..you have to get your cards printed. As for the songs for the march-in,my coordinator, Sally told me that it would be songs by the live band.I am still thinking whether I should bring my own music for the march-in. Don't know whether it would be weird to march in with the live band...
When is your AD?

hi fruitiesnuts,

To carry on from wat bliz said, GS do recommend a printer , for my case its T-dragon (excelsior shpg ctr)

Hi Bliz,
Is there another coord other than SHIRLEY? i hvnt met a sally yet..a friend was also sugg for us to march in to the live band..hee same sentiments as u..could be WIERD? or too CHEENA? hmmmm...

Hi belle,
Nice to know another GS bride...
Do you have the printing rates for T-dragon?What's the printer's address?Yes,there's two coord at GS. Shirley is the Mgr and Sally the Asst Mgr. so far I am very happy with Sally.Nice lady. When is you AD? Have you gone for your food tasting yet?

Hi Belle & Bliz,

My AD is 21 Oct 2006. I think march in with live band is something knew. But I wonder can the band play english songs or latest mandarin pop songs...

hi bliz & frutienuts,

bliz: i only have the rates quoted to me ie) i only have 150 cards so based on normal print & hotstamping its $100 & $140 respectively.
i chose the normal one to save cost

if u wanna add those cute icons (girl & boy) think u add $10..if i dun recall wrongly. then u need to buy those gold strings if u are planning to do inserts. its abt $5 per roll. me & hubby oredi went there , we goin to do inserts ourselves cos if u get them to tie for u its abt $25+ extra. Hvnt cfm our printing yet cos got some changes to be made lor..
Didint sally give u t-dragon's namecard? here it is:

excelsior shpg ctr #03-13
tel: 6292 8338

The lady who served us everytime is CONNIE.
my AD is March 12..wat abt u? think maybe abt dec or early jan will go for food tasting.

fruitienuts i also wonder how the songs will sound like hee. will become rojak if they use chinese instruments n play ang mo songs . i m imagining if eg they use er hu normally will sound SAD one..will the song turn out funny? haha. was told this can be DISCUSSED lah..so we hvnt gond down yet

oh bliz forgot to warn u, if u guys go down to t-dragon dun go to the wrong shop hor..cos me & hubby did & heard alot of couples also walk wrong way.

the old bldg abit adjoining another bldg with the hotel i think we went to the hotel bldg #03-12 or sthing at first thought we had the wrong address so u better ask ard (if u cant find) or walk into the correct building hor.

Hi Belle,

I think they better just play the piano to make it sound nice... hehe...
BTW, how much do you think on average pple will give for AP when they attend dinner at GS?

hi fruitienuts,

i dunno le...hope i can just cover lah..dun expect to make haha.
some of my friends dun even know where is GS ley
then i m also afraid if they know its restn. will give restn rate but our GS is actually hotel rate hor? frankly dun worry abt friends..more worried the older relatives :P

I have equal mix of both sides..so i guess ok lor..only beer sure not enuff cos only given 20l free .

hi GS brides who've had their wedding oredi, can i check WHERE inside the restn is the cocktail held? is the cocktail 'standing' or do the guests sit down at their table? Tks!

Sorry for the late reply as I have been so tied up with work. Ok, my guests had cocktails outside where the riverside is. I also held my solemnisation there.

For cocktails, they had to stand. For the 1st march-in we played music from my disc and for the 2nd march-in they played live music. Everyone loved the place, my mom's friends even say better than hotels as in classier

hihi blurblobs,

Tks for replying even though u are so tied up with ur work appreciate that!

i also doing my solemnisation on the same day. Is the timing very tight? i intend to do mine at 630 then by 7pm can start cocktail oredi..any advise?

How abt the sound system when they play ur own disc is it clear? i ever heard its muffled or sthing..hope its not true. Glad that your family n friends enjoyed ur wedding at GS! hee something different hor

dear ladies...

me also signed up with GS.. will be on 11 jun 06..

blurblobs, how was the march-in with live music? was thinking to go live music cuz that's the unique point of GS? got pics to share share? : )

Hi belle,
Thanks for the contacts for the printing...
You can actually go and take a look at the actual set-up including cocktail set-up when they have a wedding.Can ask your coord. for the dates but of course must make prior arrangements to view the set-up. I heard that there are many weddings in these few months.

Agree with blurblobs that the place is even classier than some hotels. But I think the point is how do we let our guests know beforehand that GS is not a 'cheapo' restaurant? I was actually thinking of includin a picture of the restaurant in the wedding invites..what do you all think?

Blubblobs,
Is it possible to share some wedding photos of your banquet at GS? You can email me at [email protected]. Thanks.

Btw, I think my AD is the furthest away on 9 Dec 2006. Will be busy preparing for my new home first..Just got a flat at Punggol through the WIS.

Hi Blurblors,

What music did you play for your 1st March in? And what did you get them to play for your 2nd march in? How long was the march in?

Btw, can you also share your banquet photos with me?

Thank you in advance

blurblobs can i also view ur banquet pics? tks!!
my email: [email protected]

bliz: u r welcome. wow congrats on ur getting ur love nest! i hvnt got mine yet
will be temp staying with my dad then after AD will search for my dream home cos i was 2x unsuccessful on my balloting. Would like a new flat but all so far, we dun drive..so quite sian

Re: the set up, i did actually walk past before signing up for the venue, dats why before they change their table setting..then after they change to the red table cloth setting we also saw before..just didnt see the cocktail set up yet

blurblobs, share share ur pic? my email [email protected] thanks in advance...

Shirley actually told me that there was no need to do cocktail outside at all, said all the guests would sit down and listen to the live music already... but if we wan, we can still hv that area for cocktail...

check out latest issue of HerWorld Brides. One of their photoshoot feature was at Grand Shanghai...

Hi GS btbs to be,

I am back. Just had a wonderful AD dinner at GS. My guest give gd compliments to GS staffs, their services not forgetting the place itself.

Fabulous time there. Two thumbs up..

Hi Princess Wong,
Welcome back!Thanks for sharing that you had a good experience at GS.Would you mind sharing some photos of the place on your AD? You can email me at [email protected]. Interested to see the set-up...did they provide you with sufficient flower stands and were there fresh flowers on every table? Also did you guest comment on the any partcular dish which they like? Sorry for all the questions....

Hey Btbs,

I just came back from my AD,might need a while to get myself settle of course loading process is gonna be lengthy. My photographer took almost 1000 AD pics. We are very happy with the result. (*Clap)

For Lizzy, pls do not wait for my AD pics b4 selectin the venue, ur FH & u should chop the place while iz available.I might need a while before exposing my Pics to all my dear GS Brides.Trust me, u are gog like it. One of a unique dinner serving exquisite Shanghai dishes. My guest love the place n gave compliment to their services. Best of all, our parents are being like a peacock when our relative starts to gave the best compliments.
Iz oso kinda fun to get friends or even ur own bosses to dress with the theme.

hey Princess Wong,

you're back! looking forward to seeing ur pics! did u use the live music to march-in?

and can i ask u a sensitive qn? - about ang paos? manage to breakeven? no need to ans if too sensitive.. : )

Hey ah Yeow,

FYI, 1st March in I use my own CD. 2nd March in I use the Live music.

Yes, we manage to breakeven thanks to all my good friends, colleagues n relatives.

No regrets. I really have a wonderful moment.

Hi princess Wong,
I haven't tried the food at GS before. so me and my FH are quite worried abt holding our banquet there.May I know how's the food on your AD?Did your guests give their compliments on that?

Apologise for late reply as no time to log in.... ok, my 1st march in song was 'At last' by Lou Rawles. The 2nd march in was 'shang hai tan' for a laugh

We had cocktails outside as I had my ROM outside, we had to decorate the gazebo outside and thanks to my friends and sister, it looks really great! Also I had a cake and Shirley and her crew did a great job serving all my guests. After the ROM, everyone had a brief break then proceeded to dinner
hope this helps!

hi brides who've had their wedding oredi..can we choose songs for the 1st dish? or GS has their standard song huh?

is the live band loud? i m afraid its so loud the guests cant really communicate comfortably..

so all stay at copthorne hotel for one nite? anyone managed to get 2 nites stay :P i feel 1 nite given is too short lor

Hi Belle,
You can choose your own songs for your march-in played by either the live band or bring your ownCD.

To me, the live band is not loud at all.. it's just right and nice for guests to enjoy and soak in the atmosphere. You should go there when their live band is on from Thur-Sun.

I had a one-night hotel stay which is the standard usually.. maybe can ask for special rates if you want to extend your stay.

Blurblobs,
The gazebo you are referring, is it the one facing the river? How come GS did not decorate for you?

Hello All,

What is the minimum no of table to hold a dinner at grand shanghai?
Do they have a room for bride?
I will be having my customery next yr end. Till now i have not book any as i have only 10 tables.
Thks

Hi All...

I'm planning to have dinner at Grand Shanghai too... very nice place and I heard from my bro's gf that their service quite good... how was the march in like? Care to share as I understand the bride and groom do not walk straight down to the stage but around the hall before reaching the stage. Also planning my solemnisation on the same day before the dinner. Haven't decided should it be indoors or outside... Mine still long way to go... Dec '06 but can start thinking about it liao...

Care to share pictures of your AD too?? [email protected]

Wishing all GD btb a Happy New year.
>>Lizzy, my guest gave two thumbs up for their services. FYI, Service & Food are subjected to individual. Some find the place is beautiful, nice n ambience is there, some dun like indiv serving.etc. Well, ultimatly depends on ur Fh & ur feel for the dinner.

It is a super memorable one for us. I hope u will faster find a nice wedding venue.

Hi Bubblesugar,

Thanks for ur comments. So have u found a photographer for yourself?

hi bliz, tks for your reply! I've actually stood outside for awhile on one sunday..found it abit loud, maybe its cos the place wasnt packed thats why...

hi anglea, think the min is 20 tables ley.. bridal suite will be at grand copthorne waterfront hotel.

hi bubblesugar, yep the march in is not the typical like usual hotel ballrooms..think u can go to GS n ask for their map then u can visualise better..its sthing like a U turn from the main door..hv to walk down a short stretch of slope if i m not wrong (though i hvnt had my AD yet)

Hi Princess,
Regarding individual serving,is it possible to negotiate with Sally ,or Shirley not to do that? Cos I think most of my guests will not like that.

hello belle,

thanks for the info.. sighz... i have only 10 tables... any recommendation ... ?
btw, where is grandshanghai located?
when is your AD? what does FH means? :P

hi anglea, u r most welcome. 10 tables abit hard ley..i m not too sure..hotel ballroom is out. maybe u can consider country club or some other chinese restn? i know a teochew restn at the top level of centrepoint. BTW if u dun mind ppl walking in n out of ur wedding...u can consider GS too. Meaning the restn will still serve walk in customers. The min 20 tables only ensure they close the rest just for u.

GS is located beside Grand Copthorne Waterfront hotel , beside ZOUK. The address is Havelock Rd.
Mine AD is in March 06. FH means Future Husband