Grand Plaza ParkRoyal Hotel

klybtb

hi sze wai,

tks for ur info. e setup looks nice! im seriously considering this hotel, dnt mind if u can forward me ur pics when is ready?
glad to know ur guests love the food & the place cos i think this is very important & it's also a good memory for u!

jodareth

Taken during my wedding banquet recently..
GPPR Pillarless Ballroom & VIP table setup..No fixed theme.. You can check out with ur coordinator..

442703.jpg
442704.jpg

jodareth

Sze Wai,

Ya lor... 32 tables too crampy liao... got difficulties when comes to photo taking... Sigh.. But overall, Everytink went smoothly too..

Ok, when your photo ready, upload multiply k..
My honeymoon postphone till mid of this year..
Where you going??

lavis

Hi, gals & boys
I'm still can't really decide which hotel to choose from. right now comparing Novotel Clarke Quay, Holiday Inn ParkView and GPPR... Any one got any comments about these 3 hotels? Care to share? Thanks a million!!! ^_^

berszewai

hi klybtb,

no worries. will upload to my multiply site when done.

hi tattyhug,

that's good at least everything went smoothly. We going New Zealand in Feb. from 13 days change to 10 days due to not enough pax to depart. Where u going?

jodareth

yoz Sze Wai,

Wah.. NZ, nice place.. But expen$?But is it winter?
Actuali, aft our wedg we went short trip BKK..
So June, Might want to go Maldives..

klybtb

hi sze wai, waiting to see ur pics but i dnt have multiply le...oops, how huh?

hi tattyhug, i also heard they dnt go for fixed theme so u can actually mix n match ur flowers n decor right? is ur vip tablecloth red & pink but hw cm can choose 2 colours? is there any pics on the backdrop. sorry ask so many questions, really excited about it!

jodareth

Sze wai,

Ya lor.. Me & HB more to beach person..
consider to go maldives in June is lesser expen$$..

Ya, nowsaday.. PG/VG more busy as gott lotsa wedg ongg..
I still haben get my AD video yet..
VG say ready end Jan.. *Sob sob*
kao_frustrated.gif

Yoz klybtb,
u can choose ur flowers, eg yam rose, cymbidium orchid(expen$ flowers) et.. tablecoth, they will give u selection of material,color to choose from..
My VIP tablecloth more to maroon red, back sash instead of red, we choose champagne gold..
Eh.. don't have backdrop to show.. Backdrop usually will be your fresh flower deco u choose..

klybtb

hi sze wai, i will add you when i sign up multiply soon.

hi tattyhug, ok so colours can mix & match also based on their avail colours.. so quite flexible right!

tks both!

lavis

Hi, Ryoko,
there is only 1 ballroom in GPPH (Grand Plaza Park Hotel: new name wef this Jan), capacity should be 22 - 35 (wkday), 25-35(wkend).

berszewai

Hi tattyhug,

beach persons good... healthy.

yah. VG need around 2-3months to edit. Somemore plus the peak season now.

Hi klybtb

no worries. will see u in multiply

hdbanger

hi guys,

just signed up the depo with michele this evenin.

will be gettin hitched in early jul. mid-wk. so no clashes.

both my wife-to-be and i like the decor. size is just nice for our crowd.

just crossin our fingers that the food will be ok. that's a bit more on worry side for us.

lavis

Hi, HdBanger(any meaning for ur nick name?)^_^
Congrats. One thing off ur mind now.
Guess the food should be ok, a lot of plp here actually complimented the food & services. I'll be choosing GPPR also, waiting to sign the contract, We like the deco, the ballroom size, the ambience & the location.

hdbanger

lavis:

thanks. u're with michele too?

hdbanger => headbanger. a metal fan durin my younger days. in my mid-30s now. 8P

i'm not sure if the food for weekend and weekdays are very different. but the names for mine (weekday) seem to suggest simple dishes. that's why my girl is a little concerned.

i did highlight to michele. so we may have better idea at foodtasting if any changes are needed.

standard wise, we're pleased. we had a meal at the in-house chinese restaurant (sichuan douhua) to verify when we first check out the ballroom.

klybtb

hdbanger, congrats....
i know their standard on food & service is always good. there's why it makes GPPR so popular & believe they will live up to their reputation. don't worry!

doraemon78

Congrats Hdbanger , i oso sign up for GPPR ...my AD will be 30th June my advise if u reali have cater alot of guest it will not suit u ... like me got to cut down so many frenzs hope some of them can't turn up and i will be able to slot my frenzs

hdbanger

klybtb:

well, i'd keep all you ladies' feedback in mind when i step in for foodtasting. 8)

jennifer:

mine's on 4th jul. so 5 days later. heh. actually my expected number of tables are about 32. so minus those who can't make it, should be around 30.

it's also why it made choosing other hotel ballrooms tougher. either the place too big, or too small.

even then, for GPPR, a bit cramp. will have to see how it goes as the months get closer.

doraemon78

Hdbanger i oso feel the same like u now wait til the day arrive then get worri but what i have impressed is the bridal suite , i find that u spent so much on the wedding dinner n yet u dun even have the chance to eat so u should find a better bridal suite for u to spend with u hubby or ur wife especially is ur big day

hdbanger

jennifer:

you got a chance to see the suite? geez. all the days i went down, can only see ballroom.

and you have a point there. but seriously, i wanna try and let my guests have a good time.

as for eatin, 2 rounds to catch them. you can have it durin foodtasting, or request to have the remainin food warmed up and sent up to the suite after the dinner (if got any energy and space left). can be arranged if i don't rem wrongly.

and as long as there's a suite available (jacuzzi or not), me and my bride are happy. she only needs the tub. i still can't fig how the outdoor jacuzzi will have any privacy. heh.

rodrigue

Hi, I'm interested in having my AD at Grand Park, but thought the ballroom setup is a bit plain. Can anyone share with me the ballroom setup and photos??

Any comments on the set up and theme?

Pls email: [email protected]

lavis

Hi, I'm also interested to know if anyone got a better idea to decor the ballroom... I may only be able to meet the min. table no., dun know it'll look empty or not...

bride2bee

Hi lavis,

Im having 23-25 tables only. I dont think its going to look empty. if you do not have many tables, you can spread out the tables and thus more walking space. to me, its better than being very cramp.

Im thinking of decorating the ballroom with balloons...do you think it will look very kiddish?? The deco supplied by the hotel is actually quite simple so it will be better if we can add some deco to it on our own. We can share our ideas here...

lavis

Finally, this thread is moving... ^_^
Hi, Wasabi, like ur ideas also... dun think it'll be kiddish.. company D&D also used a lot of balloons... it'll add in some party feel for the dinner.. why not?

ppbbxhz

The hotel website seems to be down, and cannot find their email address. Does anyone have their email? How many months in advance do we need to call them and arrange for food tasting and the collection of invitation cards?

lavis

Hi, guess the hotel's website is under construction due to the change of management (Acquired by Park Hotel Group). Well, maybe u can try to email one of their coordinators Veralyn, her email: [email protected]

BTW, food tasting can be arranged 1 or 2 month before AD, invitation card should be around 2 - 3 months in advanced. Personally think that it'll be good to allow ur guests more time to schedule for ur Wedding dinner... ^_^

berszewai

Hi wasabi,

like Lavis have mentioned, the hotel is now under the Park Hotel Group and no longer by the Parkroyal group, hence u could not find the hotel in the Parkroyal website. give it a few days for the new site to be up.

Hi Lavis,
Looks like Veralyn email has changed. Different from what I used to contact her last month.

Hi XHZ,

Do u have ur coordinator conatcts? Can call them direct. For collection of wedding cards and location maps, do it 3 months before the wedding then u need about 2 weeks to design and print the wedding inserts and another one week to tie the gold string and address the wedding cards and send them out one month before the wedding. Reconfirm the guests 2 weeks before the event. Food tasting can be done on the same day u collect the inviation cards, latest is one month before the wedding together wif ur finalization wif the coordinator.

ppbbxhz

Hi Bernard and Sze Wai,

i think my coordinator has left already. Now also dunno who to contact. Will call their main line and ask them again. Thanks for providing the info to me. ;)

pinkycat

hello ladies, it's been a long time that I din log in for quite some times liao...how's everyone doing?

To all BTBs, when are yr wedding? Mine was on 16 Sept 07