Grand Park City Hall

Hi Cheekrene,
thats really romantic...my best friend wedding did something similar too. just to share, wat she did was they went to a studio to pre-record the whole song. On the AD, they play the video showing them in the recording studio..and midway to the video, they march in holding hands and sing together. Its really romantic..

sigh I am also thinking what should we do for our second march in ke ke ....but its a bit too early for me to worry ba...hee

hi dzxz,

that was romantic. i think it must be costly to pre-record the song in studio.

no worries. u can start to think about it. since u got a year to go, try to list out a few ideas.

hi ladies!

seems like its a big family here!

cheekrene: we also thought of singing and marching in separately. but well, we still have few months to think over some contingency plan, in case of sore throat.. haha..

wah...all of you very romantic hor..for me and my htb, i guess it will be quite the boring type..just march in, cut cake or pour champagne..that it i guess..

my fren's wife sang him a song on the stage and it touched him to tears! he gave his wife a loving hug after that and i felt that was soo romantic..heheh

hi stiobes,

dont think too much about contingency plan. be yourself, stay healthy and happy. everything will be fine. go ahead if both of you like to sing..

hi supergal,

do something to your march in to let everyone remember... i make my HTB to sing as he can sing very well so that everyone will have deep impression of us...

ya the march in is L shaped as the aisle is not directly at the ballroom door... that is the bad point of the rectangular ballroom..

i heard there is a new theme anyone seen it yet? hopefully is nicer then the present 2, o ya and yibin told mi there will be modification to the new ultra red model cake too

L shape... was told the march in will be a quite short one..hmm was thinking not want the stage to be at the center instead move it to one side ...somthing like that bridal show stage??

hmm new theme thats good..dont really like the theme I saw that day

i think can do something like bridal show stage.. must ask them as there are limit of tables to accommodate it.

i agreed that the theme was not nice on that day.

i like black theme but i dun like the table cloth with caligraphy.. looks like "shou yi"(aka clothes old ppl wear in coffin)

dzxz, then the march in will be super long leh... and the 2 screen will seem to be very out of place because it's now at each side of the present stage... i was told we will only walk pass 3 tables...

hmm ya that will be quite long...but walking pss 3 tables...abit too short?? hard to imagine lei...;(

i have friends who walk pass 3 tables.. they reach the stage themselves b4 the mist could reach... one way is to walk slower

Seemed like this hotel is quite good after all the review that I have heard so far

But did anyone tried to bargain for an extra night at the bridal suite or tried to extend one more nite at the bridal suite?

Will it be expensive?

hi omega..think no point bargaining for the extra night..cos 99% you won't be able to get it..at least for bookings from now onwards..perhaps in the past some brides used to get this privilege but don't think so for now..not so sure abt the cost for extending one more nite though..can check with the banquet sales pple

there are some pros and cons about this hotel..but i think the pros outweight the cons, which most of them to me, are quite minor (eg. short march-in aisle, limited parking lots)..

the extra night i got was last year's wedding show perk. In fact it's UOB's promotion. Supposed to be an anniversary night stay at the superior room. But we will use it as our 2nd night stay...just tat gotta move our stuff from one room to another room.

I tried to extend 1 more nite and was hoping to get some special rate for the room. But I was quoted the rate for their current promotion meaning $189++ without breakfast.

So was kind of upset that they are not able to give anything extra for couple that book the banquet with them.

Anyway, I heard you guys keep on mentioning that this hotel is very flexible. Flexible in what sense?? I dun seemed to be able to change anything or get anything extra from them.

what kind of extra things are you looking at? cos i must say gpph packages are already quite comprehensive le..so not too sure what are those extra stuff that you deemed are impt to you but can't get from the hotel..

hmmm...for me, i din try to ask for anything xtra...but just to change my helper's room stay to a anniversary stay for us! but they didn't approve it straight away cos quite hard for them to commit now..so they will only let me know when my date is nearer..

as for the xtra nite at a special rate, i guess it may also depend on whether if your AD falls on a weekday or weekend..seems like their rooms occupancy may be higher during weekdays..so if your AD is on a weekday, the extra nite may be quite unlikely, even if you are willing to top up..

anyway, do check with the hotel banquet staff again for confirmation..good luck :P

janice told me the suites are abv $800 if we wan extend, and most prob is very hard becuz there is wedding every wkend(unless the couple doesnt want a suite)... ya i do agree a way is to move to a smaller room.. i am intending to do so...

try to bargain for more carparks,more wines and a real cake maybe? they are really flexible compare to other hotels which wont agree to any bargains other then those stated in package...

so far they have the best menu i seen and most comprehensive package... seriously speaking if they are charging $1200/table i also will book with them because it's worth it...i dun need to worry abt the extra beer/wine cost etc...and the menu is really all good ingredient...

the only minus point is that it isnt a 5 star...

ya max is 32 but I think if we dont mind very cramp, guess the hotel have no issue to input 35 tables ba...

just to share, yesterday went to four season hotel for a wedding of about 32 tables..so conincident, the ball room size is about the same as GPPH and the march in is also passing by 3 tables... hee surprising it appears to be okie to me...so not so worry about the short march in now..ke ke

hi, thanks for all the feedback. yes i confirmed with Vera, e really Max is 33+2 = 35 which will be v cramped. they advised me prob 30+2 will be better ...

hmm didn't know four seasons had such a mid-sized ballroom also. dzxz, u're talking abt the usual L shape march-in right? (stage at where it is usually)

hmm I also not sure how many ballroom four season have and my impression should be very big and long march in but yesterday is 32 tables and fit just nice not that cramp lo...

is not really a L shape cos they have 2 doors. One door open up walk straigt towards the stage..the other door will be like slightly L shape..yesterday the couple 1st march in is each coming out from each door lo...sorry if I unable to describe properly.... but the stage is at the center..ke ke I counted confirm is pass by three tables no matter coming out from which door....

As for ours, hmm really got to wait for the "floorplan" to be given to us then we will have a better idea

junie, if GPPH is a 5 star hotel, we won't be paying like 900+ for a weekend menu liao! anyway, this isn't v impt ba..if you have v close frens and relatives, their ang paos won't be judged by the class of the hotel

yeah...I think GPPH is so far the best liao...at least the whole level belong to us only for that night and no need to combine with other couples which will be in a great mess...This is the reason why initially I choose GPPH over Orchard...moreover GPPH is really flexble..

Junie: ya quite a good idea too since we also have two doors..Four season the door is quite near to each other...as for ours is very far apart which will bring the effect better lei..ke ke that night after the second march in, the groom sing for the bride..hee hee so romantic

if it's a 5 star i dun mind paying 1 k + for each table... the menu is better then most 5 star hotel lor.. with alot of good ingredients.. hope the chef is good and dun waste the good stuffs!

the separate march in is good, however only those tables near to the doors will noe wad happen leh.. unless there is "live telecast" on the screens...

Hi Junie,

hmm I dont know so that only those tables near to the door will noe wat happen...cos our ballroom is like a long rectangle shape and is not that really big ball room with about only the most 32 tables...so I believe everyone will be able to see...moreover is no pillar ballroom wor

pls be reminded that during the march in everyone will stand up... so those tables at the sides away from the doors.. how can the guests see?

and i dont think GPPH provides live telecast on the screen... the screen is just for montage and express highlights...

not sure if you all get what i mean...

ps: my live telecast means they will film the march in close up and everything happening on stage close up and project onto the screen with no time lag...

unless i employ a videographer that does that.. then is different story

think my thinking and supergal thinking is that regardless the guest is sitting or standing during the march in, should be able to see as the stage is at the centre of the ball room..I am sure they will be able to see but maybe not as perfect view as those tables along the aisle...

Junie we are just trying to explain what we understand..its okie that u dont agree cos I see u are a bit angry.. (ke ke sorry if I am sensitive)...Maybe u wan to discuss with your coorindator on the march in..see anyway to further improve..

I am sure there are other couples who has the same thinking as u..and they might disucss with coordinator about their worry...

junie, if you're thinking that way, then i guess all hotels will have the same problem in your opinion.

there will bound to be pple sitting away from the march-in aisle, towards both horizontal ends of the ballroom and you can't expect them to see you marching in very clearly as well..this aspect will have to give and that ba..

one advise from my co-ordinator is that you may want to consider arranging your closer frens to sit along the march-in aisle...so that the clappings may tend to be louder..

ya i will put my frens along the aisle of cuz.... these are the VIP seats...

what i am meant is since the highlight of the day is the bride and groom march in from separate doors, but only those tables near the door can see it... then why do it? just enter from the same door will do...

however for me okie lor at least got a few tables saw it.. not bad liao...

anyway just to ask did anyone brought in a real wedding cake for cake cutting? do GPPH charge for cutting up the cake for the guests?

hi, i agree. a pillar-less ballroom is prob e best consideration that you can get, for (majority of) ur guests to see u during march-in and on e stage. eg. if you've a much bigger ballroom, ur guests will have more problems seeing u, so i think size of ard 30 tables is alright...

blureth, i can email you the package rates. can email me at [email protected] and i reply you with it.

really like the place but it's max of 32 tables (35 if really squeeze) so kinda top limit for me...the other problem is the date i want already taken! hahaha...

aroh> i had just send u an email on GPPH per table price as i love he ballroom... (: getting married on 2010... (:

Hope to hear from u soon oh~ (:

Hi I like GPPH but am wondering wat the perks are for the wedding show? I missed the wedding show because I was not in singapore. Thank you if any of you can share with me :P

the perks are different for every show, perhaps you should wait for their show next year.

for this year, if i remember correctly, includes:-
-5 trays canepes for reception
-1 mocktail per guest for reception
-additional 6 bottle hse wine
-some cash off depending on number of tables confirmed