Grand Park City Hall

feliciatan

Dear aLL,
Jus did my wedding lunch last Sunday..

Disappointed is the only word which could describe my current feeling.

Would like to check with those who have had your wedding done in GPCH, do u all hav to provide the coordinator with the floorplan or they are the one who provide?

And does your banquet table number comes with 4,14,24?

Will provide more details on the disappointment after making clear on some points.. Thanks ya

weixiang_06

Felicia, yes it comes with 4, 14, 24... In fact most wedding dinners i have attended in other hotels also have these numbers...

floorplan is provided by the coordinator, everything was done swee swee.. unless there is something wrong with ur coordinator

feliciatan

Hi Weixiang,

Nice to see you around again..

What happened to my wedding is that, during the actual day, the banquet operation staff(I think is manager) told one of my friend(jus nice she is at the reception table) that the table planning does not comes with 4, 14, & 24 hence we need to change the table which has been indicated with these numbers. And he also mentioned that this request is made by me. My reception called me while I am doing my makeup in the hotel room..

Can you imagine what would happened when the Guest plan I arranged comes with 4,14 & 24 and on the actual day, there is no such number.

I called the banquet manager, he told me that he would get back to me, and awhile later he called me back to tell me that this is the normal procedure that there is no 4,14 & 24 as to some they are unlucky number. And he told me that the operation side have settled this issue with my friends coordinator.

As the timing is real rush, I did not call back to ask my friend since my hubby have already went down.

I thought everything will went well, but after the first march-in, when i'm on stage, I saw that my relative was sitting with my friends and alot of friends and relatives seatings has been shuffled(diff from what i have planned.) At that moment, I was like, WTF have happened? Y no one inform me abt anything.. hubby told me onli after the wedding cos he scared I will flare out(I am sure I will!!!)

Was lectured by some of my relative, they think that i am somehow disrespectful... imagine yourself being lectured during your wedding day? My bad here cos I did not include my relatives and family name on the guest list as I told them b4 hand what is their table number. And my mum was blur too cos the table number i told her was taken up by friend due to last min changes.

This has caused me to have an additional table of 4 friends. and lots of unhappiness. This is a so called 5 stars hotel and they are giving me this type of service.

During the first dish, the operation manager told my coordinator that there is an additional of 1 vegeterian and they have served the guest with the food. Didnt knew who is the person until today. Originally, I have informed the hotel that for this particular table, there is 2 vegeterian, and they actually serve 3 portion for this 2 guest. (WTH is going on??)

anyway we called the hotel banquet manager for an explanation, the below is the reply he told me:
1) He said that I need to provide him with the banquet floorplan else he would pressume to use the one without "4". He did not asked me to provide him floorplan and who the hell am i to provide a hotel with a floorplan?
2)Due to my last min confirmation during friday(16 sep),I confirmed with him 26 plus 2 reserved tables with 5 vegeterians. and also have confirmed with him which floorplan should i use for planning. he told me to use the one he provided(the one with 4,14 & 24).
3) he said that he dun wan to argue, and he said that b4 the banquet start, he is sure that his operation side have already done a briefing with my side(i have 2 friends coordinators). told him that this changes is only made known to them when the operation staff told my friend who is jus nice to be at around the counter.
4)I have confirmed with all my helpers and coordinator that the hotel side did not inform until then. but the banquet manager told me, the operation staff who is handling my wedding have always have an excellent feedback and he say he dun understand why there is so much hiccups for my wedding. If he don't know, how am I to know?
he said that to change back the number is such a simple thing and the staff could easily do it, and my question to him is, why didnt they do it?
5)the utensils at one of my VIP tables was real dirty, and when i told the banquet manager i am not happy abt this, he told me, "so did the staff change it immediately?" where is their hygiene? Y wasnt the utensils clean? So what if they change it immediately? there is a few of them dirty and not one of them.

some of us stayed at the ballroom till quite late, abt 5pm we are still outside the ballroom, and we saw that the table number for the evening wedding does not comes with 4,14 & 24. this makes us feels that they have made a mistake. No apology was made by the hotel.

I passed the phone to my hubby as I dun think I could stand talking to the banquet manager as he is obviously pushing the blames to us and our helpers.
There is still alot more communication, did get back some compensation, but to me, it is the day which is important, not the compensation which is important.

Overall, the foods on that day is not as fantastic, the service not as good.. but of cos, it didnt ruin our wedding as we have a brunch of real good friends who hav handled the situation well. ^^

If I could choose again, I am sure that GPCH would not be in my list @ all.

luvyvel

Felicia> My coordinator provide me the floor plan when I told her my no. of guests. I plan the seating arrangement according to it, dere isn't table 4 14 24.

feliciatan

Hi Luvyvel,

Thanks for replying.
My Coordinator provided me with a floorplan with 4,14 & 24.
Then during actual day, the table does not comes with 4, 14 & 24. When i complained, the coordinator said that i should provide him with a floorplan. Y should I when he already provided me with one and I have already confirmed with him that will be using his floorplan days b4 the wedding? blur blur

jgenesis

Hi Felicia,

I changed my coordinator and I can understand how you feel. I won't elaborate here what happened, but I'm glad that the new one has been very helpful and prompt in her reply.

nah

Hi, i am about to sign up with grand park and will be holding mine end of this year.... Am taking Coleman Room, the venue is pretty cosy good for 8 tables. anyone held wedding there before?

weixiang_06

Felicia: in fact i was the one in close liaising with the banquet sales manager.. the one who took over from william.. in fact, i would say there were a number of requests from me, but he handled them well... For one, i am not that easy as a customer to handle but i give due credits where jobs are well done.

for example, i wanted to have a trial run of the PA system to make sure my montage, acoustic were working properly. I went down on a weekday afternoon, and tested out the mics as i had the original intention to sing.. The requests were taken in. I literally had the ballroom with my wife where we had a great time singing and testing out... but in the end, i decided against singing on AD due to personal reasons.

prior to the big day, there were numerous exchanges and confirmations of seating plan with my coordinator... where i reverted to him exactly the sitting arrangement and vegetarian.. Perhaps, i too kiasu liaoz... For mine, i checked through the table numbers and confirmed with him.

Imho, the manager who took over from william is accommodating. Won't rate him as fantastic lah, give and take.. But requests were taken in and executed. I won't blame him coz he was assigned to take over my case from william who left earlier.

On the actual wedding banquet, i receive calls from the Operations Manager, where we double check on the timings and etc... The whole process was quite smooth.

I had my wedding in Jan this year.

The only thing i can say is I am sorry to hear about your negative experiences..

feliciatan

Ojh: Good for you. I think the main part is the operation side which mess up the whole thing. Jus tt not happie with them pushing the blame all to us.

bbtea: Hi, yea nothing much we can do. But Praise God that overall the wedding went on smoothly after the table mess^^..

Weixiang: I can say the manager is not bad. We oso made some arrangement to try out our montage and the sound systems there. I agree that he is very accommodating.

Not happy bcos when I call him after the incident happened, he was trying to push the blame to me b4 he check with his operations side. Not sure whether that guy is a manager or not. I know there is another more experience operation manager-Anthony, but too bad he is not handling our wedding. And he keep saying that it is impossible that the operation guy didnt brief us abt the table arrangement. and say that this guy got excellent feedback on his service. zzz Why cant they accept that they hab made a mistake and say sorry to us? But in the end gotta some compensation. Overall, I think the main fault lies with the operation guy.

Dear aLL, I mentioned b4 that the food was not as fantastic. I think only the VIP table food cannot make it, the cha xiu and duck is veri hard. But feedback from friends that their food is not bad. So overall is is a Happie ending. And now we are veri happie.

Wedding is a one day matter, Marriage is a life-time.. So be happie!!!

lowpyng

Just had my wedding dinner on 22nd October at Grand Park City Hall. Everything went very smoothly. Me and my husband enjoyed the wedding banquet very much! Loved the Hotel and we would like to give the credits to Chris and the operations crew, Raj and Anthony

Chris has been very diligent in reminding us to provide the information that is lacking and has been very accomodating when we are arranging the times to meet up. We wanted chocolates as our wedding favours and it is not available in the standard wedding favours menu. Chris went the extra mile to help us source for it and in the end, we gave two pieces of Chocolate Praline as our wedding favours.

Due to some problems of the montages, we went to test out the montages twice. Anthony was very helpful and accomodating to our requirements during the testing. He even suggested some of the possible sources of problems which causes the montage not to work correctly. We listened to them and it solved our problems.

On the actual day, Raj was very experienced and thorough. He gave us and all our helpers a briefing at 5 plus which includes final confirmation of table arrangements, the songs choices for march in/first dish, the final programme for the dinner. And during the event itself, he will come to our VIP table to inform us of the next sequence of events.

The waitress that served the VIP table kindly helped us to kept a portion of the food which we did not eat, and it was actually still hot when we ate it at 1am!!

Its a pity that we are too busy on that evening to really enjoy the event but our guest feedback on the food is good and they enjoyed the banquet.

weixiang_06

good to hear that lowpyng, i had similar experiences when i held my banquet there in jan this year..

the crew were the same, chris, Raj and Anthony..

princessie

wow. lots of reviews on this hotel's banquet! im actually considering them as one of my banquet venue. any things to look out for when negotiating the package with them? im gg to visit the site next week!

feliciatan

Hi lowpyng,

Great to hear of your good experience.

Yea I heard that Raj and Anthony is good. Jus too bad that they are not the crew during my wedding.

jessicsuan

Just had my wedding on 13/11/11. On my AD I request to hold my tea caremory on a small room and my sales coordinator also agree and arrange to me but I feel so angry that on my AD I can't get him and my tea caremory room end up we do at Ballroom.

After tea caremory and start my lunch on 1pm and they serve a food like want us faster finish and can let them prepare a coming dinner . We start at 1pm and end at 3pm. Did you attend a lunch for 2hours ? On my lunch got a waitress broke all the plate she collect and make my guest and parents feel this was a unluck . Other than that I reveived a feedback from my guest said that the food so nice but the services so bad coz they hire alot of student and the student waiters shown them a back face when my guest haven finish the dishes b4 serve a next dishes and never help them arrange the left dishes to a small plate . I think Grand park is a 4star hotel and they must give us a 4star services standard but I no think so.

I also feel so dissapionted to my coordinator , after my wedding I wish to make a complaint but waiting for 3days never received his call and I email to him then he just reply my call said that the hotel practice will call the customer 1 week after their wedding , did you think you still remember after a week go ? I wait for 1 week never received any explain from him after I make my complaint.

I can said pls put Grand Park as your last choice if not you will regret to hold your weeding at there .

xue1717

Recently,I just had my wedding banquet at Grand Park city hall. I must really compliment and thank the guys there to make my wedding banquet a success.

Ballroom: Lots of compliments from friends and even my friend will recommend the place to his friends.

Food: I spoken to my dad and mum and jie meiz and bros...so far the food comments are quite positive and its still warm when served. At night, i tried the Yam paste and i like very much la!

Service: VIP table was great! Warm water with straw was already prepared for me on the table and when i march to the stage there (the lady who served me at VIP table) was helping me with my gown so that i wont trip and fell while walking up the stage… they are very attentive.

Banquet Mgr: Han Cheng..very professional in helping my hubby and myself... he asked me not to worry too much and ask us to rest assure that everything will be well taken care by him.he also teach me how to walk in slowly so that i wont trip .. Han Cheng is very accommodative and tell us the unopen table, we can pack up the food for family. Throughout the whole wedding banquet, He is reachable...so no worries about anything.

Coordinator: Chris, helpful,friendly and very accommodative. Despite a lot of last min changes on table number and arrangement that we give it to him =)

So overall, GREAT CHOICE for the hotel.

jgenesis

I just had my wedding banquet at Grand Park on 27 Nov. It was a memorable night, thanks to Raj, Anthony and our coordinator Janice. She was very proactive and prompt in explaining every detail clearly.

I started my cocktail at 6.30pm, and dinner started at 7.30pm as we wanted our dinner to end earlier cos it was a Sunday. Everything ended at about 10pm, and we were very satisfied that there were no delays.

Food was served at our suite, warm. It was a great feeling that we were given such great attention.

I think Grand Park has one of the best services as compared to some other hotels that I've been to and the food is definitely a thumbs-up! (PS: It's actually better than the food-tasting session!)

jgenesis

Jessie: Hmm..I managed to get the small function room next to the Ballroom for tea ceremony. It was a pleasant experience as I could actually rest there first (with close doors), and take some pics with some of my relatives, even before proceeding out to the cocktail area.

pinklala

I am thinking to hold lunch banquet at Grand Park City Hall, please share with me your banquet package and if there is anything i will need to request extra .. : )

I am shortlisting Grand Park City hall for my small wedding dinner (about 5-6 tables) with solemnisation. Anything i should look out for?

For those who had bad experience with them, how did you manage to get compensation after paying them the full amount after the wedding?

gonejx

Can someone email me the perks that we can ask from them.. My email is [email protected]

Also what are the things that i am suppose to look out for.. I amconsidering the hotel to host my banquet next yr

keli

Yibin is new, but he is good. Very friendly and responsible, able to response well on changes. During my wedding, he was there to coordinate as well.

winnie1987

hi girls!
I just got hitched at Grand Park last week! took me almost a week to recover. damn tired.
anyway, Grand Park’s team is AWESOME!
christina's my coordinator and Raj was my banquet supervisor. My husband and I only have great reviews for them. They went all the way out and we really felt very loved by them. Honestly by the time dinner started, I was extremely tired and they were there at every step, even after everything was done. Raj personally escorted my guests to the Bar for the afterparty! He didnt have to do that but he did. He even consolidated all the wine, favors EVERYTHING that we brought, laptop, CD etc and sent it up to our room after. Always a big smile.

Christina always had the time to entertain us, even when we requested and asked the darnest questions. She never made us feel stupid or if we're wasting her time. Kudos to her!
The food was great! Everyone complimented on the food except the Muslim food and they didnt really like that but everything else first class!

niu_niu

Thanks ladies! Yes, Christina is the one attending to me and I've arranged to meet her this week for the first meetup.

I love the ballroom, the recep, the food review I've seen but I find it rather cramped when I went over to view it last week when there were 29 tables. I'll be expecting around the same number of tables.

How do you ladies find it?

winnie1987

Yes it is abit cramp and i have about 30 tables but there is still some space for them to move around and no one comment about it so i find it still ok. =)

corliss_ning

I will be having my wedding lunch banquet at Grandpark this coming september 2012.

Have been in touch with my coordinator Yibin, my husband and I are very satisfied with the services rendered.
We were there on a friday evening to select the wedding favors and to confirm details for the actual day. Below are some compliments for him.

1) Prior to the meet-up (as i'm a little kiasu), i send him quite a few email to enquire on details such as wedding card printing and selection, Yibin replied to my email on a timely basis.
2) On the day for confirmation of wedding details, he carefully explained details for the wedding and allow us time to take notes of what we need to send to him before the actual day wedding. He even provides me with the table arrangement and amcee scripts.
3) The dummy cake for selection is in the ballroom (since there's a wedding ceremony that evening), Yibin ran up to the ballroom to take a picture of the wedding cake so that i could take a look at it. Thumbs up!

4) Throughout the entire session, as my husband and I was worried that we take up too much of his time, he keeps assuring us with a smile that we can take our time to select and carefully pick the wedding favors and color theme for the wedding.
5) Lastly, the day of my food-tasting happens to be my birthday and thus Yibin offered a complimentary birthday cake to celebrate my birthday.

I went for the food-tasting in June, and think that the food is acceptable. I'm comparing it with Tung Lok (Orchard Parade Hotel) because i attended a wedding there and was captivated by their food. Nevertheless, my parents and in-laws think that Granpark's food is acceptable too.

Looking forward to my wedding... ^^ Hope everything will turn out fine...

adelhm

Anyone can comment if the ballroom will be cramped if there's 25 tables? Understand that 25 tables is the min requirement for dinner. Have also read mixed reviews about the cramp-ness.
Therefore appreciate yr replies
I have visited the place with wedding setup but dint take note of the spaces between tables

adelhm

May I know those who held your weddings there, how long was your march in song?

Is the aisle really short
?

wedding_2014

I'm new here.. I'm also planning to choose grand park city hall... But my coordinator wasnt good.. My htb & i was asking for some perks or to neg on some of the things but she rejected us immediately..
Is any or your coordinator like that as well?

Kelvin8888

Hi, i've sign up with with GPCH as well.
my AD is 26th oct 2014
My coordinator is Lis .
if u all need more info can apps me at 92787900.
im glad to share my info with you.

cass_

Hi all, signed up with GPCH during BOWS 13. My coordi is Lis.

Emailed GPCH early this year to find out more about the rates and Christina was the one who replied my email. We didn't sign up back then as my bf and I were still at the very beginning of the planning phase so we just KIV-ed.

I decided to find out more and wanted to view the ballroom recently but sadly she has left GPCH mid this year. Lis followed up with me. She's quite a nice lady and very prompt with email replies; personally feel quite comfortable with her. :)