Grand Park City Hall

vilopup

w3n: I think for the chairs is the size a bit different, the new chairs fit the chair covers nicely but not the old one.

drizzles94: Mine is 10 July. 12 days time! My food tasting about a month before and i did the changes before the taste session itself.

w3ngal

thanks Jas for the update! Can set my mind at ease too hee.

ermmmm oic okie thanks Blur btb...hope u r well prepared for your big day!

did u all see the ang bao boxes that grand park can rent us? how does it looks like?

prissie_tan

Sorry for the confusion!
Was gan keong and forgot to put dwn her name.
my coorinator was Vera.Now bit worried.seems no1 here was under her?

ooh, was also wondering if ang pow boxes provided was nice or it's better to diy ourselves.

jaslynhy

i thnk they will allocate another coordinator for u all not to worry. Janice/Christopher all v experienced and good.

w3ngal

Ya no need money de tat ang bao box but is not given to us to take home I meant...need to return them the box...hee was thinking if I shd do myself kk..

jgenesis

yup, the ang bao boxes (2 max)can be rented =)

Jas: I looked at the layout of the ballroom after reno..is there a door in the middle of the room? Cos it seems like there is a straight march-in (with the dotted lines drawn)

If yes, maybe can have more varieties for the march-in now..

jaslynhy

haha..i asked that question too and the answer is still march in fron the side.
hahaa

last time i heard some said is that if u have like 26 tables den u can march in from centre.

drizzles54

Hi Blur_btb

ic... tks for the info. So the seating can have 11 chairs for some tables is cfm rite? In that case I have to clarify with Chris already. Cos' I have some 11 guests per table, difficult to break them up. Hmmm.

Oooo yr big day is really near! Hope by now everything is done on yr side. Gd luck n all the best!

w3ngal

i also heard can march in centre or something like that previously but i checked with the cordinator, seems like is all from the side only.

u all got any ideas what songs to use for march in since is so short?

weixiang_06

Leticia, great to know that you are with Branden from Envisagephotography.

If ur wedding is after Jan 10, then Branden would have then worked with idoproduction... They are both my AD PG & VG.... In fact, a couple of my friends are also considering them too...

Jas: its comforting to know that..

blur btb: congrats and all the best for your final fews day to your AD! :D heehee...

btw, i would like to apologise to all BTBs/GTBs that at times i tend to be over zealous... there was an incident which i could have helped my friend by strongly voicing out my opinions which i did not.. in the end, she had to pay a big price... anyway, its the past.

enjoy the wedding preparation process :D

weixiang_06

and one more thing, i seriously do not understand why Singapore Brides practice double standards...

when genuine customers give their feedback and comments to certain threads, they will regard it as advertisement and simply delete the threads away without substantial reasons... where as in other threads, its alright.. is it because other threads are "sponsors" of singapore brides?

if the moderator would like to check, i am an active GTB from Grand Park City Hall who has engaged the following

Branden from Envisage Photography as my AD PG
http://www.envisagephotography.com.sg/

Han from Idoprooduction as my AD VG
http://idoproduction.wordpress.com/

Christopher Lee from GPCH for my AD Dinner

hope SG Brides can take pride in letting the forum be a good platform where BTBs & GTBs can share their experiences and learn from one another.. dun just delete delete delete...

** replicated from my other thread, posting in GPCH where it is venue for my AD wedding banquet **

weixiang> ya totally agree, my account was deleted too. I email them for an explaination n nothing came back. I was with i-wedding bridal n that thread kept being deleted. Very irritating.

weixiang_06

MemorableChocolate: i emailed to them before.. they came back with some flimsy explanation that it was like doing self advertisement for my company...

hello, i am a genuine GTB... what do self advertisement for my company? when i looked at some threads warranted for deletion as those threads were not sponsors of SG Bride, they just kept mum...

w3ngal

i also engaged envisage photography for my AD. He did highlighted not to use those multiply lightings in Grand Park which may result in not so good photos, u all may want to take note on this too =) I think is best to choose only one color for the lighting or white/ orange color.

just for anyone whom is keen, i enquired and realised that the AP box that we can rent....actually changes the design often =)

weixiang_06

w3n: thanks, i will most likely use white/orange colour lighting.. never like multiple colours >.<

anyway the threads for envisage photography are gone again... really yuckz for SG Brides.

memorable chocolate: i believe your i-wedding thread will be deleted again....

heehee, so many brides here actually got Branden for their AD PG =P

w3ngal

The lighting is not fix de mah I think is more like a projector is it ...don't wan to use then dun on or something like tat, my guess hee...

jgenesis

gotta ask christopher, cos i know they do switch it on before the banquet and during e first dish which i think is ok. For march-in, saw some pics frm other couples where the lighting of the room is orangey, but there will be coloured lights on the wall at the back that change.

Anyway..will these multi coloured lightings stay after the reno?

bedazzle_me

I am considering GPCH for my AD venue. I have not seen the ballroom but heard that the corridor for the cocktail reception area is small/ narrow. Is it true? Any comments on it?

w3ngal

to me i think is nice and comfy for less than 30 tables. i like it cause is private, no other ballrooms there so the guests will not be confuse where to go...unlike my first choice of hotel which was orchard.

u can drop by to take a look. =)

bedazzle_me

Does the wedding coordinators have mock-up pictures of how the ballroom will be like after the renovations?

Are they able to tell us what is exactly going to be done?

Can someone share with me AD pictures? [email protected]

jgenesis

i've asked. So far, the mock-up pics are not available. Perhaps they will come in at a later date?

I went to the reception area and felt that it has a good size, not narrow cos we are only gg to have 25 tables. And it's exclusive. Most importantly, it will be good to go n take a lool again after e reno.

weixiang_06

bedazzle, the maximum capacity for GPCH is 30 tables...

for that size, the reception area is definitely not small.. if you had looked at Marina Mandrian, Vanda's ballroom "very open" reception area.. that would be small imho..

jgenesis

yes, vanda ballroom has a smaller reception area which was quite cramped when i went there for a friend's wedding 2 mths back.

There are some pics that can be found online. try typing in 'grand park city hall wedding' in google engines. One of them is from a 'Love passionately' blog that i came across. (not advertising the blog but it does have nice pics)The pics of the place are quite nice and very clear.

w3ngal

i hope the ballroom can look even more wow than current, i dont quite like the yellow backdrop on the stage. hopefully got more themes to choose next yr =)

jgenesis

right now, the ballroom is quite worn down w e old carpetting n the old lightin designs for now..but for it's size, i think it's design is decent, but wld prefer nicer lightings. Hopefully the new lightings n new carpets will bring in the 'wow' factor..i heard e backdrop is gg to change too but not sure what it will be changed to

bedazzle_me

I've checked out the ballroom. The reception area is relatively small imho, and may run the risk of crowding if the function room beside is being used for the night. But it is acceptable to me since I am only planning to host 25 tables.

I was told that the changes will be to the curtain, carpet, bar counter, chandeliar and paintings on the wall. But no hint on the colour scheme that they will be using. Hopefully, they can renovate it to be more classy.

Also, I was shown pictures of the Governor bridal suite and it looked really old from the pictures. Is the Oriental suite any better?

Given that the ballroom is going to be renovated and the current promotion now, I think GPCH is definitely worth shortlisting.

It is down to GPCH or Amara. Dilemma...

jgenesis

i think GPCH is quite cosy
once the chandliers r changed, the ambience may change quite alot cos lighting does have a great impact. Heard the carpets outside the lift area will be removed n replaced w marble.

the governor suite has a very colonial feel, n includes a jacuzzi though. As for the oriental suite, i'm not too sure abt e condition..but it's for 1 day only so we dont think it will be a huge factor in our decision..

weixiang_06

bedazzle_me: the function room next to the grand ballroom is usually used for ROM solemnisation..

however, put your worries aside.. the function room is so small, its left unused most of the time... you will have the whole reception area to yourself.

weixiang_06

bedazzle_me: the function room next to the grand ballroom is usually used for ROM solemnisation..

however, put your worries aside.. the function room is so small, its left unused most of the time... you will have the whole reception area to yourself.

Here is the layout for 30 + 2 reserved tables = 32 tables layout. I asked Mr Lee where to locate my wedding singers, he said put on the stage... i don't like the idea, cuz i need the stage for cake cutting n grand toasting. And the stage look rather small but he claim that this drawing is not drawn to scale. I was thinking to place the singers infront of Table 9 or Table 26. Don't know if its too tight. Will need to go down n see the setting up tml (there is a wedding tml) n collect wedding card too.
1467190.jpg

w3ngal

oh they accept 32 tables (including two r), cause contracted written 30 max (including two r) maybe that's for after their reno de ba.

it looks pretty cramped and i also dont like the idea of having the band on stage. later u need to yum sang etc then super cramp liao.

judging from the above setting, i think table 9 there looks better to place the band.

memorable chocolate, u engaged a little dream right? how many mths in advance did u pay your deposit? thanks!

chootobe

Hello, this is my 1st post. Am considering holding my AD at Grand Park City Hall. Notice that many are engaging live band (but this is not so common at other weddings elsewhere). Is there any special reason? e.g. the bands have an arrangement with GPCH at special prices?

chootobe

Is anyone's coordinator Yibin? I met up with him yesterday - seems like quite an honest and nice guy. However, he kept telling me that they cannot promise that I can get the Governor Suite due to limited number of suites they have at the hotel. Has anyone who have held their weddings at GPCH not gotten the governor suite before? Because he showed me the executive suite and it was not very nice....

lowpyng

Hmm.. i rmb seeing an earlier post by someone who gotten a governor suite
ya, its only if it is not occupied on that day..

Nvr been to the executive suite, saw the oriental suite previously, thot it looks nice

w3ngal

All along find their suites soso only, saw novotel before n I think is much better...but is not very important factor for me since only one night.

Ermmm other hotels also got couples engaging band, quite common nowadays. During the previous fair, they had yours truly band tie up with the bridal fair.

Hi Chootobe> having a live band does make a different to a wedding, it totally feel different compare to just playing a background music. I didn’t attend the GPCH fair, so I just search for my own wedding band (Love Me Knot). Yes, the suit depend on if it is taken (by paying customer ofcause).

W3n> Hmm, I think infront of table 9 looks the most spaces from the layout, but it is not to scale. =|

Does anyone know if the reserved tables are not used, will they keep the tables away or just leave it there?

chootobe

Hi all, thanks for the replies.
Yup, my friend held his wedding at GPCH and got the governor suite as well. Was just wondering if they say they "cannot promise" just to be kiasu but in actual fact, most couples get the governer (or Oriental) suite because there's only 1 ballroom and there can only be 1 wedding dinner for that day!

The maxmium is only another lunch on the day and there will still be enough suites to go around.

Live bands are the "in" thing now I guess; would like to have one too if budget allows. Memorablechocolate, you are definitely right. Live and played music does make a difference. The only thing is the budget though.

BTBs who have engaged a live band, can share how much the cost is? I know there are different packages but just a rough indication so I can see if I have the budget. Also, which bands are good?! I see "A little dream", "Yours Truly" etc but don't know anymore..

vilopup

Just had my wedding at GPCH yest... Service is really good. All the staff fr the floor manager, porters, front desks are all so friendly lor...

While I was standing there waiting for march in, the girl opening the ballroom door was making small tok w me and opening the door a bit to let me see the express highlights.... Gave very good instructions as well.

The wedding went without any technical hiccups.... So its a great job to all the folks!

OOh, i din even koe which is the suite i was given. They assign, i take... cos as long as it is comfortable with all the necessities it is great already... The helpers' room just opposite bridal suite in a corner, alot of privacy as well.

All is great and the food is very high standard as well. OUr guests love the favors...

Chootobbe, did you go and visit GPCH today to get packages etc? I saw a couple at the front lobby looking at brochure.

It seems that GPCH is very popular.... everytime i go to pay, dicuss etc, there are weddings or ROMs going on. Today is sunday and there is a wedding dinner and solemnisation at the same time tonite!

BTBs, just enjoy yourself on the day.... or it might pass through with a flash...

I planned intensively before that and then managed to enjoy the day with catching up with friends and ex colleagues.... so quite happy!

vilopup

Ojh and Oct Baby, havent yet leh.... the PG need some time but i see if there are any taken by friends.... but overall, with confetti and the lightings, everything look v nice...

But i notice that somehow, the friends and relatives are more interested and happier to see the couple and the food rather than how gorgeous their surroundings are.

Got guests coming to tok about the food, performance, montage and express highlights but none tok about the ballroom part etc...

So food is impt! Comment during food tasting if anything not to liking

OCt Baby> My wedding also on beginning of Nov. Also getting nervious nowadays.

Blur_btb> Congrats, thats great to hear. Do keep us posted with photos. =)

chootobe> wedding live band range from $1k-$1.5k for a 3pcs band (2 singers+1 instrument) with 2x 45min singing. So far Love Me Knot is the cheapest amoung the others mentioned. Haha, Which was why i took them. But their vocal also not bad, can go their website/youtube/Facebook to check it out. Just email all your short listed band n ask for qoute, you will get a better idea. They have many packages, eg. 4 pcs band, full band, 1singer+1instrument etc etc. All different pricing. =)

Hi all, I've just consolidated all the photos I took on last Sat, went down to have a look. For those who wana take a look at the ballroom, please email me [email protected]

Here is a layout I have drawn out (ballroom with lift lobby and reception area).
1470887.jpg
1470888.jpg

NOT TO SCALE