Grand Hyatt Singapore

Hi Mio,

What is the min table for hibisbus room? And how many table do you hv right now?? YOu can request first if just one or 2 tables different as I heard from their co-ordinator that they will not charge if the different is very small....

Wedding fair? Will it be too late? Think lotz of ppl want GH ler. Just ask them to block it for you first laaa... in case you can't get the room you like maa....

Have you sign the package with GH?? Remember to state down everything b4 you sign, is case unhappy things happen. Remember to bargain freebies. Coz they expect you to do so that's why they list down this and that need to charge but actually can be waived...

hi mio, vin,

it may be quite difficult to bargain at the fair, since there r lots of pple n v. few coordinators.

Hi vin...

I have 23 tables right now..however to take away 10% to accomodate for absentees...I will only have 21 tables...that's what I'm worrying about..when u plan ur guests list..did u mutiply the number by 90% cos u know...not everyone will be coming...

Actually if I couldn't get Hibiscus..I dun mind taking Sir Stamford...My FH likes Sir Stamford as it is easily accessible...only an escalator up...Hibiscus is a bit hidden inside...quite diff to find too...

Hi och,

I've heard from another bride that if we sign up during the fair..we are able to get more perks...according to a guy called andy from GH...

hi mio,

u will definitely get more perks at the fair, but u may not get enuf "airtime" to negotiate all the perks u want, for e.g. lowering the min tables requirements. so be mentally prepared lor.

when i planned, i planned for 100%, but that's cos my guest list wasn't confirmed then, n i was pretty sure there were some pple i've forgotten to invite. currently, i'm looking at 10% more guests than what i estimated n confirmed.

Hi och,

Oh...like that ah..I think I gotta talk to my FH..since he will be the better person in bargaining..hee hee

As for the attendance, I'd rather be conservative...all my relatives are in hong kong..and I can't be sure if they are coming...

Has anyone of u ever thought of using long table instead of the round one? Actually long tables are more convenient for me as most of my guests are either a group of 8 or 9..sure cannot fill up a table of 10...it wil be very "lu gee" if I use round table, rite??? But for long table..I dun know how will the arrangement be like...e.g the marching in..toasting etc etc

Hi Och,

agreed that is difficult to bargain at the wedding fair.

Hi Mio,

Sir Stamford room is easy to eccess. I attne my bf's cousin wedding early of this yr at Sir Stamford room, is not bad as well laa... then got a baby grand piano outside the room, can arrange someone to play d4 the dinner start..

Hi Och and Mio,

Think that can lower down the min requirement but not on weekend, coz for GH, is always demand more than supply on weekend...
Heard this when I went to discuss with Pan Pacific. But for GH, a few tables shouldn't be a problem, this was what the co-ordinator said. Still b4 sign up, must request to state everything in black and white.

I haven't got my banquet yet...

Hi Mio,

Mine is exactly 1 week before yours!
We booked the grand ballroom, though i like hibiscus too, we thought our guest list will prob outgrow hibiscus' max capacity, after all, there's still more than a year to go....

Vin,
So u're considering panpac as well? Their grand ballroom & ocean ballroom are quite pretty too.. i like the cute teddy bears which are one of the options for wedding favours!

But then i prefer the chandeliers at GH, like many other GH brides and brides-to-be!

Dun fret overly though, this is just one of the first steps to married life... Good luck gals!

greetings everyone

I'm new to this thread. I've actually posted a topic in the forum ("2003 weekday banquet, budget: $650, Tables: 45min"), and received a recommendation to hold my banquet at GH.

I am interested to contact Anthony by email. Would you be able to furnish me with his email? Thanks in advance.

Hi Nat,

Hope, we consider Sheraton aft we look at the menu. My bf and I will go over to discuss with them again on Monday b4 he leave Singapore for business for 3 weeks. We don't know our wedding yet, initially is in June 2003 but his dad want it to be early, so, the person still check for us..

We like the decoration in PanPac, but the food in Sheraton is better. Well for the deco, we will discuss with Sheraton.

If my wedding is earlier than June, I will need to take my photoshoot early..
not yet prepared. So many things to do yet we finalised anything then bf still need to go overseas for so long..hai..

Hi Juzme,

you can call Anthony and ask him to e-mail you the wedding package. His number is 6416 7042

Happy sourcing for your wedding banquet.

Any comments on the food in Hyatt? That's quite a deciding factor, and I understand that they don't have an in-house restaurant...

Hey girls, I understand GH will have their wedding show on 20 Oct, I was so kan jiong, I called them to check personally. Anyway, details not confirmed, just keep a look out in Her World Brides yeah.

hi sam,

i thot the food at my food tasting was pretty good. the only dish i din really like was the sharks fins. but that's just food tasting lah.
my mother, who has tasted hyatt's food at weddings b4, said the food is quite gd n v. fresh, the portions r also big enuf.

Hi Sam,

Ya.. the GH food is quite good,

Normally food tasting food will be good. Coz the chef just cook for a few pppl.

We always worried that they will not up to their norm. standard as they need to cook more fore a few hundred ppl... No metter where we sign, we will worried abt this question. But overall, GH is not bad.

Hi Sam,

The food at GH used to be terrible, with lotsa bad comments.

But they have improved alot and have been earning praises from the public lately.

These days, when I tell people my dinner is at GH, their quite standard reply is 'wow, good food'

Tks all for responding to my qn. At least I don't have to rule GH out for bad food.

By the way Och, I will be sticking to Georgette for my coordinator. I have since contacted her again to view the hisbiscus room and discuss on a few details before my FH and I decide which hotel to take...cos' we talked about it and didn't want to risk "embarrassing" ourselves if we approach Anthony and subsequently bump into Georgette at GH. She is ok...but just no "chemistry"...hope will be better if we meet up with her for the second time...

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">Hi Och,</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">u must be really excited about yr coming wedding...... Time really flies.</FONT>

How's yr preparation?

<FONT COLOR="119911">Hi ALL,</FONT>
<FONT COLOR="0000ff">i'm also a Grand Hyatt Bride. Having my banquet in the Grand Ballroom in November.</FONT>

Hi mio

sorry, was busy. Yes, like what OCH said, mine is at Stamford. I don't really fancy hibiscus coz I am really not a "gold" person.

Looking forward to the dinner. A bit worried on the sitting arrangement for relatives. Apparently almost all couple encounter problem with relatives....now trying to list out the names of relative which is soo soo difficult. Most of them known to each other as their nick name.

could any brides who are taking the stamford room share the color theme and the deco that you have chosen. Currently in the mist of deciding. would really appreciate some advice.

As to the menu, any particular dish to exclude (taste horrid) / include (taste good)

thks.

hi sam, i'm sure georgette will be a gd coordinator, no worries.

hey bluechin, quite excited now that it's abt 3 wks to my wedding.

Hi Och and bluechin,

didn't know your wedding is so near already. Congrats and start counting down to the big day yeah! it's so exciting!

Och,
yah, time really flies and it's only 3 weeks to yr wedding.

u must have already given out yr invitation cards me only at the printing stage.

sam,
yah, can be quite excited about the coming wedding.....
How about ya? when's yr big day?

Hi all. Just wanna share my experience with GH. My wedding is in May 03. I currently have 22 confirmed tables and I'm sure you guys know that GH has a tiered pricing structure....My fiance and I enjoyed talking to the consultant very much, and we really wanted to hold our wedding at the GH. I personally love the Hisbiscus Room!

Anyway....we were discussing with the consultant about the price. I told him that by next year, I think I should be able to have 24 tables, but I can't really confirm that I will have 25...I asked if they can make an exception for me and close the deal at the price for 25 tables. They came back to me 1 day later and said no, they have to charge me at the price for 15 tables and above.

Frankly, I am very disappointed coz I really really like the GH. Although the difference in price is not very great, it matters to me coz my fiance is a HKer and we need to have another banquet in HK too. That means more costs... :-(
I don't understand why GH can't do this favour for me...

I am now sourcing for other hotels. I have 2 other choices but GH was first...

Hi Och and Bluechin,

my wedding's gonna be in sept next yr. I wish it comes fast! can't wait...but now haven't even settle on venue. I have zeroed in my choices to GH and Traders now.

Hi Sam, they agreed to give me hibiscus room, but I must pay the price for 15 tables and above, instead of the price for 25 tables (although I most prob will have 24 tables by then...). Each table costs $20 more...

Duchess1,
How about increasing yr table to 25 to get the 25 tables and above rate? meaning invite more guests?
will this be a better solution?

sam,
time will fly really fast and it will next year soon..... i remember i had my ROM in May last year and to think it's already over a year.

Have u visited Traders and GH?

Hi bluechin and cheval

Yes I visited GH, really love the Hibiscus Room! My colleague had his wedding at Traders too, but he said the food on the actual day was lousy compared to the food tasting...I think sometimes things like that just happen huh? Coz I heard that usually Trader's food is not bad.

Aiya, GH was not willing to negotiate on the price leh...my coordinator was Anthony Wee. He's really nice and friendly though, I guess the management holds the deciding power...

Hi Duchess1, ya the reason why I ended up with Traders and GH was becos's Traders was for food...GH was for ambience...like you, I love the hibiscus room...

Can I check when did your colleague had his wedding with Traders?

Actually GH's price is really high, and the menu is only so-so...did anyone had the fish changed from seabass to red garoupa? How much?

Ya Bluechin, last yr this time I was coordinating for my friend. To think she is getting married in Oct soon...and soon next yr will be my turn, time flies.

Hi Duchess1,
How about this, on the contract, you specify the guarantee number of tables is 20 and ask your coordinator to state an extra line saying that if you can expand to 25 tables, your rate will be revised to a cheaper rate ($20 less)? In this case, you need to work really hard to form 25 tables.

Hi everyone, thanks for the advice. Hey just curious, anyone attended weddings at GH before? I am wondering whether the food is ok or not...I know you guys have probably discussed this before but must read thru all the threads leh....lazy lah, hehe.

hi duchess,

i think neko's idea is a v. gd one. do consider it. my mum has attended weddings at hyatt b4, she said the food's pretty gd. she remembered the big portions, the tasty chicken n fresh seafood. but she did say the sharks fin wasn't gd. same comments during food tasting.

Hi Duchess1,

if i were you, I will take bluechin's idea and try to increase the tables to 25... just invite more colleagues and friends. how abt that?

if not, neko's idea is good as well.

let us know how it goes.

like what i said before, GH food used to be lousy but it's fantastic now
which is why you get different opinions when asked abt the quality of GH food

have a great week folks!

Hi! I will pop by here whenever I can, will let you guys know my decision then!

Anyone attended weddings at Mandarin Orchard (Belvedere Room) before? I am considering Mandarin but there's 4 pillars there...Mandarin is offering free flow of beer though, I thot this deal is quite good?! My dad's friends drink alot and I am worried that the beer consumption will be very high, esp since most hotels only give 30 litre free...

Duchess1,
Yah, do keep us informed of your decision.

sam,
so u will be your friend's jie mei this time rite.... thot of sabo for the groom yet?

Neko,
How r u? How was the bridal show on Saturday.... enjoyed yourself with Delannie?

SLK,
How r u?

Hi Duchess1,

I've attended Mandarin Orchard's wedding before, but that was 2 years back and I cannot recall the Room I went to. Anyway, my impression of the food is not bad

Hi Bluechin,

Thanks for asking. I am ok.... been pretty busy at work. Sorry haven't really chatted with you girls after my ROM.

Your wedding in November ya? So how's your preparation? Need any help?
Please feel free to ask.

About 3 more months to go, you must be really excited now
Take care ya?

SLK,
must take care of yourself even though u r busie at work okay..... i also got really busie lately....perhaps becos wedding's approaching.....

Can be more excited but when i think of the guestlist and the other stuffs..... can get a headache. My guestlist is expanding.....

Have to go down to the printers once more to confirm the design and the contents of my invitation card.....Been there like thrice so far already....

Studio done.... albums will only be ready in October cos hubby told them to take their time.

Perhaps we should arrange to meet up with the Grand Hyatt Girls someday..... Och's also getting busie.... her wedding's in September.

How about you. Counting down?

Hi Bluechin,
THe show was not very impressive. It was a small scale bridal show... and the package is really expensive! I'm very busy currently, a lot of deadlines to meet...
Sometimes it is quite stressful.

Hi Duchess1,
Do keep us update! Hope you can find one that you like

Hi SLK,
Hey, how are you? How's your ROM? Was that fun?

Hi Och,
How's your preparation? Your wedding is very near right?

hi neko,

thanx for asking. wedding is abt 2.5 weeks away. things r more or less ok, we still need to meet the videographer n finalise our song list. then there's our new place
which looks like a rubbish dump now. oh yes, n our travel visa... that may turn out to be our biggest problem.

Hi Bluechin,

ya, I will be her jie mei...hehe, chief jie mei actually! so all those saboing and all that, I will be "organising" too!! hahaa..

anyway, was really fun coordinating for a wedding...but one impt thing to note is, never expect everything to go according to plan and be perfect on the actual day and night, only when u don't "expect" anything, then your disappointments will not be too high when something goes wrong...don't kow if you gals know what I'm blabbling about...

but just to quote examples, I had helped out in another gf's wedding and she was so looking forward to it, as a bride would be...and she had such high expectations that everything is just going to turn out fairy tale...but on the day, there were a few hiccups...actually those were rather minor hiccups...but becos' she had such high expectations of her wedding to be perfect, she couldn't accept and move on...and the actual day photo album, you can see her "unhappy" face throughout...that, itself, has spoilt the wedding, I feel...and not those minor hiccups...

hi bluechin,

thanks for your concern. yup, should arrange for a GH Gals gathering... quite curious how you girls look like
let's do it after och's wedding, she must be really busy now.

for me, still a long way compared to you girls. my wedding is in May 2003

hi och,

the BIG day is finally coming.... stay cool and let us know if you need any help ya?

hi neko,

ROM was only 2 months ago but it feels like a year ago! :P hmm... ok only.. will tell you girls more when we meet up next time

hi sam,

you are right. lower our expectations and we will be more contented with the outcome

Neko,
it's okay.... we will go for the October show together then see how it is.... hope it's better....

dun get yourself tire out ok!

Och,
where r u planning to go for your honeymoon?
do plan to start sleeping early from now on ok..... Need to be a really pretty bride.

Do let us know if you need help!

sam,
yah, coordinating can be really fun!

i also agree with you that sometimes we can't always have high expections, it may in turn get u disappointed.

SLK,
yah, time really flies..... in no time it's your turn in May next year....

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">We should really arrange an outing for GH Brides after Och's wedding? Wat do the rest think?</FONT>

sam, i agree with u absolutely.

slk, thanks for ur offer.

bluechin, i'm going to tunisia. there aren't any direct flights there so we r spending a few days in london as transit. i wish i can sleep early, but i hv to clear my work b4 going for honeymoon.

Just to let u gals know Hyatt don't allow confetti for guest but flower girl are ok. No for Rose petal as it will stain their carpet so gotta get those paper confetti.

julia andrew

huh? why no confetti for guest? paper confetti shld be fine right? any idea is dried rose pedals allowed?