Grand Hyatt Singapore

Had anybody had a wedding at the Garden? or anybody knows somebody that had done it before? like the price and so on. thanx

Dragie

hi dragie,

i dun know anyone who had a wedding at the garden, but i've enquired b4. was told then that the wedding will be a buffet dinner, n we need to pay
$3k to reserve another room in case it rains. max of 30 tables.

Hi Delannie,

She didn't charge me for that....

Just a note. Saw on Business Times today that Hyatt are refurbishing their grand wing wef August.

Was a bit worried so gave Geogette a call. According to her, only the rooms will be affected but not the ballroom. Most work will be done during the day time.

There might be a bit of work done in the bridal suite so it might look different.

Still feeling uncomfortable as I will be going out from the hotel itself so I'm afraid it might get very noisy during the day time.

Any updates, pls let me know.

Hi Julia,

Thks for your info!

If there is a renovation is going on, won't it be very messy & unpleasant then.... do you know when they target to complete the renovation?

Hi delannie

The process will take approx 1 year. Need to know more from u gals...didn't really feel very comfortable especially when I need to be there the whole day from morning event till my dinner.

Hope u gals can give a call to your co-ord. Wonder how will we be compensated if something happened!!

so so sorry to be missing for quite some time.

was busy with world cup :P

hmmm.. my ROM was not really fantastic. alot of things went wrong on that day
first the makeup done by my friend's friend (supposed to be a professional) was horrible

then the photos taken by my friend (also a freelance) got exposed as he dropped the camera. lucky i had a spare camera (normal one)

but then again, since my makeup was so awful, i didn't really mind losing the pictures :P

anyway, i'm glad it's all over now, looking forward to my wedding next may at GH

how's all your preparations?

Hi hi!

Mine will be in dec03, still a long long way off, in the grand ballroom. So when is sam's wedding bells ringing?

Just to share, we chose hyatt over conrad, at first FH thinks i'm nuts, 'cos conrad is higher class, single ballroom, large foyer, long spiral staircase, etc... but later he agree with me that hyatt is still the prettiest, heehee! And my sis-in-law also commented that hyatt is such a old hotel, how come we still choose it? But well well, she doesn't know yet why hyatt captured our hearts, i felt as if i've found a hidden treasure when i first saw the ballroom... And now it's mine for keeps!

Pardon me if i sound too excited, am trying to contain it best as i could...

we are planning to have ours in Sept 03. Was recommended GH by a friend as there have been good comments on the service and the hibiscus room.

Hi Sam,

Hibiscus room is very romantic indeed, too bad it can only accomodate at very most 28 tables, but if your guest list doesn't go beyond 28 tables (to be exact it shdn't go beyond 24/25, taking into a/c 1 or 2 VIP tables, plus 2 reserve tables)

Go view the ballrooms, check out other hotels for comparison, better work fast, september is a very very hot mth! Happy racky-ing!

I am havin mine Mar03 still a long way still thou.. Have alias with my coordinator. I am getting the Magnoli/Vanda room cos I have about 35 tables so cannot get Grand Ballroom or the Hibiscus room. Initally, I dont really like the room cos it has 2 pillars but after I have seen the full setup on the actual day, its quite beautiful.

Has anyone contacted their coordinators about the renovations yet? Am rather worried too, even if it is only supposed to take place in the daytime. In any case, if the bridal suites are being renovated, then where do people go in the mean time?

Hi cotton,

U can ask to transfer to grand ballroom if it's not being used that day! Maybe abt half yr before your wedding, check if the ballroom is available, if it is still available, chances are they're unlikely to be taken... so u can ask for transfer then! If they refused, thinking there's a chance they can still sell it, how abt offer to top up menu or per table price or something like that? Hope this is helpful! Or maybe u prefer vanda/magnolia now?

hi natalie,

i feel exactly the same as u!
when i started, i was looking at abt 28 tables, n pple were shocked i din choose other newer n classier names, but
, i just thot the ballrms were v. pretty.

Hi cotton,
Finally there is someone sharing the same ballroom as me. Yes, initially I didn't like the room too. However, with the full setup, I think it is nice enough

Hi everybody,
How's life? This thread seems to be very quite for a while

heard the reno plans got pushed back. supposed to start in august, end before CNY next year. pushing back by a month or 2, so should end by march.

but only rooms are affected, and not all at the same time. so don't think we will be affected in anyway.

I jus called hyatt yesterday and got them to email me their wedding packages. Find the packages quite reasonable...but does anyone know the reason why there is a increase of $60 for yr 2003 Sats? That's $60 for each table and works out to be $1500 is I want 25 tables! Wow!

Also, I realised that they lacked a few of the usuals which other hotels are giving, such as food tasting and at least 1 free barrel of beer...were these factors a concern to you gals when you decided to book?

I was told I can contact Georgette for further assistance, has anyone had her as a co-ordinator, how's her service? Tks..and pardon all my endless questions..;Þ

HI Natalie,

Yap they will inform me 3 months before my wed if the Grand Ballroom is available. Hence I have already stated this initally so I hope no one take the grand ball. ;p Pray hard hard... heheh
Well I have also called up to check on the refurbishment progress, was assured that is not gonna affect on the ballrooms only the guest rooms including the bridal suite.

Hi Neko,

I have not seen the rest of the other room setup but I feel that is really amazing after the setup, it look different. So did you ask if we can request for the video since they will shoot the whole banquet event for the 2 TVs behind the pillars?

Neko,

Will u be joining me and Delannie this Sat?

Girls,

Does anyone know how many mths in advance should i contact my coordinator before my actual day?

Hi Sam

My Co-ord is Georgette. She is quite reasonable. 1 advise is to negotiate b4 you sign the docs. I've bargain & got for myself 1 free barrel of beer, 1 day room for my "jie mei", I've exchange my wedding favours for food tasting (I bought my own & save some money there).

I guess it depends on what you need & don't so u should talk to Georgette further.

HI Bluechin,

According to Cythnia, GH will usually call you 3 mths before your wedding. Maybe you can call them in case they forget..which i don't think so!

Thanks v much for the info SLK. Wld you know if the bridal suites are affected? Kind of worried cos my wedding is in Nov ths yr!

tks Julia Andrew, that's quite a reasonable bargain you've got. Basically those things mentioned are just what I thought we require...

will discuss with my FH on this and I think we will be giving Georgette a ring soon to go view the ballrooms.

hi bluechin,

3 months before if u need the wedding cards n 1 month before if to settle the decor n final decorations. if u need to arrange for food tasting, give them at least a week's notice.

hi sam,

good luck in ur bargaining. the hibiscus ballrm is very romantic looking, think u will like it.

Hi Och, we have same taste mah!

Cotton,
Frankly if i were u, i'll be more kiasu, i'll call them 6mths before, and make them commit the grand ballroom to me! I mean, few people book hotel ballrooms so late in advance, right? Or u can just offer to pay $20-30 more per table? Or upgrade the menu? Just a suggestion lah...

Sam,
yeah, they wouldn't give me beer til i swap the 2nd night stay... hee, u can pressure them by saying u're considering some classier hotel (eg. four seasons, regent, conrad...) so they know their ballroom is no fight, so have to accede to your requests! Give them a short time frame too, eg. say four seasons is rushing u for a decision in 3days, if u can't give me this-and-that, i no choice have to take four seasons lor... haha! Just another suggestion!

Hi Bluechin, Delannie, Neko and och,

Haven't 'spoken' to you girls for quite awhile. How have you been?

Hi Sam,

My coordinator is Georgette too. Very nice and friendly lady
Yup Julia Andrew is right, should bargain with her.

Hi Coo,

I am sure there will be at least one bridal suite available at any one time. Let me check this out for you

hi natalie

is your wedding on a weekday and how many tables do you have? u mean they allow u to upgrade to grand ballroom. my coordinator told me they can only change the ballroom only if the grand ballroom is not booked one week before...but by then the cards will be printed...

so very curious to know who is your coordinator as both my FH and myself like the grand ballroom but do not meet the min tables of 40.

hi coo, slk,

there r more than 1 bridal suite available. 1 or 2 every floor, starting fr 9th floor.

Hi tam,

Think abt it... don't say 1 week, even 3-6 mths before the date, there's very little chance they'll be able to sell the ballroom to other couples, (assuming it's not taken) and if u offer to pay a little bit more to move into the grand ballroom, i can't see why they dun allow?? They stand to gain wat? Tell u lah, they also dun want to lose your business, bargain hard (like my earlier posting to sam!)

Just make sure they amend your initial contract, better to be in black and white, in case they tell u ok, but later change their mind and take in another dinner/function with more tables than u.... u may like to negotiate with your coordinator via email, got writen proof this way!

Try lor!

tks tks for all your advice...very useful indeed! I think my FH and I need to brush up on our bargaining skills! Cos' I think we will fail terribly in that...we don't know how to push leh...if 1st attempt the other party says no, then we will clam up...;Þ

Natalie - the 4 seasons trick is a good one, since I am indeed ALSO considering 4 seasons...so maybe I can try my luck with at least 1 free barrel of beer...!

But will need the 2 nights' stay becos' we will be having our tea ceremony on a Sat, then banquet on a Sun. I intend to check in the hotel after the tea on Sat, then rest and retire in the hotel till the banquet the next day. Maybe got time can have a massage and spa 1st b4 dinner banquet...and be at my best! hehe

Wah... spa and massage, that's a good idea!

I'm having my wedding on just one day, i rather get everything done at once! hee!

So yours will be a sunday too? Mine's in dec03.

Hmm... really, there's nothing else in the contract to exchange for barrel of beer if u need the 2nd night... or like julia, exchange away the wedding favours? At most try that four seasons trick lor! :pp A bit underhand, but then again, people do this all the time in the business world!

Do it thru email if u feel paiseh haggling face-to-face!

Delannie and Och,

Thanks for the info....

SLK,

I'm sorry that yr ROM didn't turn out so well.... But i believe yr actual wedding day will be much much better.

I'm fine except for some problems early last week which i shared with Delannie....Regarding my photo shooting day...But things have been solved between my boss and i.

Now, i'm just looking forward to the photoshooting on the 15th of July...this coming Monday....so excited....dunno wat to except and worry i'll not look nice or the pics will turn out to be horrible....

Another thing which i need to confess to some of ya who send me yr particulars is that my PC crashed someway the week before and i had reformatted my harddisk and lost all my info.... so i could send you the particular list of GH brides....so sorry!

hi sam,

i traded away invitation cards for food tasting. din ask for beer since i'm not serving any. if u want food tasting, u can trade away the cards too.

och,

u mean we could trade away cards for food tasting?

i'll not be using their cards as well....

Who's yr coordinator? so nice!

Hi och and bluechin!

Och, did you go into the effort of designing and printing your own cards?

Hi Nat, thinking of a Sun, but waiting for in laws to confirm on a date.

your_image.gif

Hi och and bluechin!

Och, did you go into the effort of designing and printing your own cards?

Hi Nat, thinking of a Sun, but waiting for in laws to confirm on a date.

6083.gif

sam bz taking down notes

hi too, bluechin!

Och,
That's a good deal... my food tasting is $380+++ for 10pax, but assuming $1 per invite card (not sure wat's the actual cost?), 65% of say 450 guests, would cost abt $292! hmm... maybe i shd exchange my invite cards too?

*ponder ponder*

Sam, hope your inlaws can decide quick... hee!

hi bluechin,

the coordinator that gave me the deal is eileen. she's left for further studies now.

hey sam,

i did, since i like making cards n i din really like hyatt's cards. all i did was to acquire the materials n tie ribbons. the printing is still done by professionals. for a wide selection of wedding cards n their prices, take a look there's the wedding gift shop in marina square. i've hving my printing done by them, n i thot some of their cards r really nice. every time i go there, i see them designing cards for hyatt couples.

btw, u can ask hyatt to make tentative bookings for a few dates first, while ur in laws decide.

hi natalie,

i spent $1.50 per card, including printing, scoring lines n envelopes. for me, it's worth it since i hv always intended to make my own cards.

Sam,

Yap, i'll be going to the printers to get my cards printed myself as i dun quite like GH's cards....and also prefer to choose the designs myself, everything to be customised to my likes as i can be quite fussy i think....hee!

natalie,

i too think it's a very good deal to have food tasting.

Och,

i also have eileen previously as my coordinator before she left for her studies.... she didn't give me this option....perhaps i didn't ask or i really dunno how to bargain....

I nearly work with wedding gift shop a couple of mths back..... wanted a really customise card and it's too costly....nearly $8 per card....and ihave more than 450 guest.... if it's 60% or so, it will still come up to a substantial sum which i'm afraid some may juz dump the cards later.

Hi bluechin, delannie, och, SLK, cotton, ram, natalie, Coo, julia, tam, (Wow a long list here),

I was just away for 12 hrs, and the thread grows so much!

I've just finished searching for my bridal shop. I've been busy visiting shops during this month. Very tired but fun!

Bluechin: Can I confirm with you on Thursday on whether I'll join you for your gown fitting session? I'll email you.

Sam: My co-ordinator is Cynthia, she is a very nice and patient lady too. If you need to talk to her, I can give you her contacts.

Cotton: I also hope that I can switch to Grand ballroom too. But I think it is not so possible for me as the date that I have picked is an hot date.

hi natalie/neko

how many tables r u having? mine about 25-30...not too sure is it too small scale for the grand ballroom? will the ballroom look empty?

btw when did you go for the card selection? is the selection real bad...me thinking of using hyatt's card so that i don't need to source around?

Hi Neko, Bluechin, Och, SLK....long time no "tok" liao

Mrs SLK
, my ROm didn't turn out too well too... fall so sick few day before ROM, tailored made a dress but it doesn't fit well, hand bouquet collected on that day was so big and leafy that i felt like im holding a pot of plant
, hubby got so nervous that when he was saying the vow..he sounds like scolding me
...he from military mah! I was quite upset too when so many things didn't turn out well as what i want...but after thinking about it...i tell myself thatwhat matters most is my hubby doting me & treating me well...all these are just little matters loh

Hi Tam, natalie, sam,coo, cotton, welcome to this GH thread. Im taking the grand ballroom too!

Sam, you can try calling Cythnia ...she is very nice & helpful! She quite soft spoken, so whenever i tok to her, i felt like i so rough

GH card is not nice but i heard that they maybe changing it end this year.