Grand Hyatt Singapore

Good morning

Bluechin, i be mailing you soon

Hi SLK,
Bridal Boutique and Coordinator in GH's a great idea.....Thanks!

So perhaps i just list down the complete list again.....it's Nickname, Actual Name, email addresses, Birthdate, Contact Nos, ROM date, Actual Wedding Day and name of Function Room @ Grand Hyatt, Bridal Boutique and Coordinator @GH.

Delannie,

haven't heard from ya....how yr bridal boutique shopping?

Hi Bluechin, i think i not doing my bridal shopping liao...except for Doreen Chee cheongsam
I just sent you an email

Hi Miho, happy to hear that your Fh visited you last wkend..that is so sweet of him
I agree with you, should shop shop more and compare the prices....there are more bridal show in Aug...maybe there might be some promotions ...u might be able to get a good package at an attractive price

Hi SLK...3 more days to go rite? Excited??? Cheers

Hi Neko, have you been doing bridal shopping?

Hi GH brides....

Sorry, long time no log on to this thread. Guess you gals bond very well... within few days the thread reaches the max no. of msgs & is archived
Very siao on!!!

oHH...I just went to GH yesterday, Lynn is my co-ord. Think only wkday is afforadable for me... weekend 2003 is too ex!

Miho: Your wedding is Apr 2003, same as mine!!! Did you book 5 Apr (sat) Hibiscus rm??? Heard fr Lynn that its taken... guessing if it was you

Delannie: Hows the cheongsam from Doreen Chee? Look for one is sg, but think it shd be quite ex. Me just came back from Bangkok with FH over Vesak day hols... not enuf time to shop!!! Make dresses (esp in Thai silk) wahhh... very cheap abt S$200 only! Never bring any designs, me so sad now

SLK: Your wedding is in 3 days!! So exiciting!! Congrats too

Bluechin: Your mailing list is good idea

But heard GH not very flex with freebies, is that true? I told Lynn that I went to Mandarin Sg, she says... a lot of horror stories, But I tot was ok since I went to the Her World Bridal fair? Any comments? Thanks

Hi SLK,

Tomolo's yr ROM.....Congratulations! u must be really excited.

Miho, SLK, Neko & Louie,

Could u send me a email to [email protected] with the following details if you r interested in the mailing list?

it's Nickname, Actual Name, email addresses, Birthdate, Contact Nos, ROM date, Actual Wedding Day and name of Function Room @ Grand Hyatt, Bridal Boutique and Coordinator @GH.

clinet,

I'm a Nov 2002 bride sorrie!

hi louie and bluechin,

yeah, tomorrow's my ROM... getting more excited as it gets closer :P

bluechin,

thought i sent u already? u didn't receive anything?

will do so when i get back to the office on wed k?

Hi SLK,
Congrat! I feel excited for you too

Bluechin,
I'll send it to you during this weekend.

Delannie,
I'm quite busy with my work now, that's why I have stopped shopping too. Maybe I shall wait for the bridal shows to see if I can get some promotion.

so far only Neko, SLK and Delannie got back to me regarding their particulars..... Hope the rest of you could also do so so i could compile it and mail them out to you.

Hi Bluechin,
I'm really tired nowadays as I am extremely busy with my work now, but can't help to read the thread from this forum. Just too lazy to type...
yawn.gif
Heard that there will be a few bridal shows in July, maybe I'll visit some of them.

So how are everyone?

Hi Bluechin,
I maybe attending the Graceful Image show on 14 July 2002. Too lazy to visit shop by shop, I think attending bridal fair is more 'comfortable' heehee

Neko,

I agree that visiting the show will make u more comfortable..... at least u dun have tonnes of sales staff promoting their products to u....

Have anyone attended dinner on weekday at GH? Im wondering whether will the serving be very fast & the waiters r rushing home early...that y they serve fast....anyone can tell me your experience?

my colleagues ask me to remind the banquet manager on the possiblity of the lack of staff, n the inconsistent quality n standard of the food. cos' one had attended wedding dinners at Hyatt n experienced different kind of services n food in few weeks' time.

hi delannie,

maybe u shld remind the banquet manager that u don't like the waiters to rush your guests during the dinner.

Hi Ram,

Thks....ya i better do so. My friend has just attended one at Sheraton...shark fin not enough for all 12 guests plus dinner ends at 10pm for a wkday banquet....food served was really fast & all guests felt that they are being rush to finish the food! I m so scared that Gh will be the same.

Hi Ram,
Thanks for reminding us. I really have never thought of that at the moment! Hope that the waiters are well trained! (Seems like most of them are young people)
I have visited GH few weeks ago when the staff were preparing for the wedding. The lady who trained the waiters during the rehersal was very strict. I think that she is really good as she is very concern and serious about the event. She has warned the waiters not to mess up 'her event' that night. Sounds very strict, just hope that the waiters are listening!

I have used 'Neko125' as my username as someone has registered using 'Neko'

you r most welcome!

well, i surely hope that with everyone of us reminding the respective banquet mgr, we r also helping the hotel to consistently improve the quality n standards of the services provided. thus all of us shld hv a peace of mind when it comes to our turns!

hi gals!

nice chat, mind if i pop in?

my FH and i are trying to decide between hibiscus room and stamford room, wonder if anyone has any advices to share with us? I know Stamford is slightly larger at 30 tables max, but i like Hibiscus better yet i'm afraid 28 tables might not be enough.... may i ask which ballrooms have u gals chosen?

well the grand ballroom has got to be the best, but then 45 tables is too much for us lah... Still, can't help "drooling" whenever i see the DBS tv commercial....

i seldom watch TV ad- cos' i will switch to other channels when i see one. which ballroom is the DBS tv commercial showing?

mine is at stamford room. well i like dat cos' it is convenient to guests ( the first ballroom if u take the escalator), n it has a nice n cosy private reception area, with a grand piano as well. in addition, there's rooms opp the ballroom that can be opened as working/changing room.

however, just like to know the reason why u prefer hisbiscus room? i actually did not give much attention to hibiscus room - so maybe i hd missed out something..

Can the stamford room hold more than 30 tables? I thought the max is abotu 28-30?
I personally like hibiscus more

hi natalie,

when's ur wedding? i'm holding mine in the grand ballrm. of stamford n hibiscus, i also preferred hibiscus, liked the colour scheme n i thot the curtains made the rm quite romantic.
hibiscus also has lifts going directly to the hotel rms. but like ram said, bcos stamford is on a floor by itself, u will hv more privacy. hibiscus shares a floor with vanda/magnolia.

Didn't actually visit the rest of the rooms.... was only brought to the Grand Ballroom as i've quite a bit of guests.... and will use the grand Ballroom for my dinner.....

U girls r so detailed....

Regarding the contact list, some of you had not send me the list.....perhaps when u r free, juz send me a mail to [email protected]

Thanks and appreciate it!

Thanks for all the replies!

Yeah... i like the curtains in hibiscus too, thot gives a softer, more romantic feel, but problem is wat if more guests turned up than expected? Maybe i'm worrying over nothing.... it's just 2 tables diff after all.... But stamford is good-looking too, i feel it's brighter and more cheery! And we can use the rooms opposite stamford? That'll be nice... Actually, it's the chandeliers i'm attracted to, both hibiscus and stamford have them, nice good-old fashioned charm!

och and bluchin,
So u're taking grand ballroom! Ram, that's the one in the DBS commercial lor! Very nice... too bad i don't have enough tables...

My wedding will be in december 03, a bit kiasu lor?

Hi Natalie, have you book your banquet already? I think GH will have a bridal show this Oct, you might be able to get a good deal.

Hi Bluechin,Neko & Och...long time never "tok" liao.

Miho, how are you....long time never see your msg! R u still in KL?

Mrs SLK
, how is your ROM?

natalie,

It's not kiasu.... it's juz that u r excited and u wanna yr wedding to be a successful event that's why u r planning ahead.....

Delannie,

Tomolo i'll be going for my studio fitting.....

SLK,

no msgs from ya.... i agree with Delannie...am excited about how's yr ROM....

Miho,

Have u found any suitable jobs lately?

natelie

i booked my banquet for Hibiscus room, fall in love with the chandeliers too...the curtains made the room feel Grand as compare to Stamford 9which has a green color theme?)

what abt vanda and monoglia room? i was not shown these two ballroom, isit similar to hibiscus?

Thanks Delannie for the bridal show info, will go check it out in oct then, if we can't make up our mind now....

jes, i thot stamford was beige?? Nevertheless, stamford is prob a better choice for me, safer to have 2 more tables for allowance, plus it's the only room on that level.... i didn't notice there was a grand piano though! But i agree hibiscus room looks really lovely!

Just for info, vanda/magnolia doesn't have chandeliers and there are pillars..... but one good point i can think of, is that it caters for those with tables exceeding max capacity for Stamford/Hibiscus, yet not enough for Grand Ballroom, i.e. between 30-45 tables.

Bluechin, thks for affirming i'm not too kiasu!

Have a nice weekend, gals!

Hi Bluechin,
Time really flies. The other time you were inviting us to join you for the studio fitting, and tomorrow is the day! Hope that you can find something you love! Do update us on your studio fitting

Hi Naturally,
My ballroom is the vanda/magnolia room. I have more than 30 tables but less than 40/45 tables, that's why I was assigned to this ballroom. Don't quite like that room initially as I think the rest of the rooms are nicer. After visiting the room for a few times, I'm sort of get myself prepared for that room. Anyway, it is not too bad afterall when it is fully set up

Hi Neko,
true, vanda/magnolia's quite alright lah!
Another good point, it's bigger and looks more spacious, and they'll put up tv screens behind the pillars too, right? Hmm... do u think they can tape the screenings and give it to u for keeps' sake?? heehee!

Ooops, i used the wrong nick in earlier posting... naturally is also natalie, thot i'll change to a more feminine name... sorry did i cause any confusion? heehee, slip of the finger!

Bluechin, have a great time at the studio!

Hi Bluechin,
Keep us updated on your fitting ok! Must choose the deluxe range hor...heehee...

Hi Neko,

There are quite a few bridal show coming up.... r u going?

Girls,

my fitting was not too bad....This time my gown's a little loose....good for me!

In fact they wanted to try gowns that r more sexy which i'm quite shy about.....i said i dun mind wearing them for the studio but not for the actual day.... i also got a extra actual evening gown this time.....

had the trial make up too! Thanks goodness i find it nice and natural cos i can get quite fussy with make up cos i dislike them.....

Will also be going down on my own (my hubby's has some function going on)next time, 2 days before my actual PS.....to try the gowns again.....

Hi Bluechin, u mean they gave u an extra EG? Is your makeup artiste Ann? IS she good? Im thinking of getting her too!

Did u try their deluxe range of EG? Any new stock arrived recently?

When is your PS? Heehee.....very excited rite?

Hi Delannie,
I'm only aware of the one on 14/07 by Graceful image. Are there any new ones coming up? I'm interested to attend if time permits.

Hi Bluechin,
Glad to hear that you like the makeup. I'm also quite particular on the makeup too. I don't wish to look totally different from myself.

Hi Natalie,
Yes, they'll provide me with the TV. I also think of asking them to allow me to record the event. I'll ask them when the time is nearer. heehee

Hi Neko,

These are the few bridal show:
19/7 - Allure Charix (Grand Corpthrone)
24/8 - Divine Couture (Mandarin Singapore)
25/8 - X-zen (Imperium)

I love Divine Couture gown
Very sexy!

Have u visited any bridal shop so far?

bluechin, glad to hear u had a gd fitting. can understand what u mean abt makeup. i seldom wear makeup, so i was v. insistent that the makeup should look natural. cannot imagine being unrecognisable to friends n relatives in pictures.

natalie, think hyatt can arrange for a piano in most receptions rms. i've seen the pianos in hibiscus, stamford n grand ballrms.

Och,
Yeap, saw the pianos last weekend, u're right, there's one in most ballrooms...

There's something i wanna ask... just want to get u gals' opinions, if i were to do a booking with GH, committing 45 tables so as to have the grand ballroom, but just a mth before the wedding, i confirm only abt 38 or 40 tables, u think GH will still let me have the grand ballroom, or will they re-assign our venue to vanda/magnolia instead?? Would love to know if anybody knows of couples in such situations, and how GH dealt with it... reason i'm asking is that we really love grand ballroom, but we're afraid we can't make up the 45 tables, and so the mgr suggested we book first, and confirm the actual no. only a mth before our wedding date, and hopefully the other ballrooms will be already booked so they can't shift us elsewhere, even if we have less than 45!

But i'm worried that if we already committed 45tables in the contract, can GH still ask us to pay for 45tables when we have only 38-40 tables? It's kinda unfair for GH, right? We'll be cheating them into giving us the grand ballroom for less than the minimum of 45?? Really hope to hear your opinions.... thks!

hi natalie,

if u book with gh for 45 tables, u will hv to pay for 45 tables at least. thus if u can only get 38 tables of guests, u will still be paying for 45 tables.

i booked the grand ballrm for 42 tables. think u can negotiate with ur coordinator to reduce the minimum. if ur banquet is on a weekday, i think abt 38 tables is still fine. on sat, u will need to book abt 40-42 tables minimum.

hi natalie,

the number u book in the contract is the minimum number of tables u hv to pay for. so if u book 45, u will need to pay for 45 tables at least, even if only 38 tables r filled.

u can try negotiating for a lower minimum. if ur banquet is on a weekday, hyatt is more willing to lower the minimum tables to 38-40. i booked grand ballrm on a sat with 42 tables.

Hi och,

That's wat i thot! That the no. on the contract is the committed figure, so u can only add tables, but not decrease tables! I guess u're right, it's better to negotiate for a lower minimum, 'cos it's gonna appear in the contract... better dun play play when it's black and white!

Really appreciate your sharing, hmm.... mine shd be a sunday, maybe i can lower to 40? Will try my luck, thks a lot!

Hi Delannie,
Thanks for your info. I have not visited any bridal shop yet (except for Paris, which you and bluechin have bought me to). I planned to start seriously visiting the shops in Aug or Sep which is about 1 year from my wedding.

Hi Natalie,
I also believe that the number of tables that is stated in the contract is the one that you need to pay, on top of that they'll reserve 2 tables for you. E.g. if you confirm with 40 tables, you need to pay for 40 tables (a must). They'll arrange 2 reserves tables for you. You'll have 42 tables in total in your ballroom. However, if you do not use up that 2 reserves tables, they will noy charge you for that.
I guess it will be difficult to negotiate the min no. of tables to 40 for a weekend. I have asked my coordinator and she said that the min no of tables for a weekday is 40. She insisted that she can't reduce the number. She said that useless there is no one using that room on that day, you can request to shift to that room. I think you have to ask them about 3 months b4 your wedding to see if any one has booked the room that you want.

Neko and Och,
Thanks for confirming.... i really wonder why my coordinator told us we can go below the committed figure.... now i feel i can't trust her.... even though i like the grand ballroom very very much, it's such a headache trying to make up their minimum, maybe we'll take conrad instead, they have a lower minimum, and capacity can go to abt 400pax, so there's greater flexibility....

Sigh, no choice lor... but gals, u have been a most helpful bunch, hope we can chat again in other threads!

And oh yes, may all of u have a splendid GH wedding!

<FONT SIZE="+1"><FONT COLOR="0000ff">~life is beautiful........</FONT></FONT>

Girls,

Sorrie i was busie lately so didn't visit this thread.....

Just to let u know that i'm back....

Delannie,

Ann's pretty good i think but she talks a lot.....hee

She also plucked my eyebrows....i'm not used to it but all my colleagues think it's very nice....
slightly thinner than my usual but they think it's neaten up....

Neko and och,

yah, we got to still look like ourselves after all that make up....hee*