Grand Hyatt Singapore

hi delannie, neko, bluechin,

i had a v. eventful meeting with hyatt yesterday. anthony is a v. nice guy n extremely helpful! we discussed the wedding setup, managed to confirm the colour scheme, flowers, n vip table setup. found out that hyatt has 7" tables, since we r hving only 1 vip table, we r most likely using the 7".

delannie, u r right, he has been with hyatt for only 2 yrs. all in all, he has abt 11 yrs of experience in various hotels' operations team (i.e. the pple actually running the show on our weddings). lots of useful advice, overall a pleasant experience meeting him.

btw, thot i should let u girls know.... when i went there yesterday, there were 2 blackouts! the first affected the entire hotel for abt an hour!!! only the elevators n reception was unaffected. the emergency lights went off after half an hour, so things were really pitch black.
anthony was so embarrassed he paid for our dinner in the pitch black cafe. i must say the waiters were v. professional. candles were brought out within minutes of the blackout n they continued serving the buffet.

the next blackout came barely 30 minutes after the first. it was of a much smaller scale, only the back offices were affected. we were almost done with our meeting by then, so we left hyatt. i asked their concierge abt this. apparently the last blackout was only a month ago!

another thing, related to our previous discussions on vegetarians etc. hyatt's tables r 6", they sit 11 comfortably, 12 pple max. anthony advised that if we hv muslim or vegetarian friends, plan to add them to a full table of 10, so that we dun lugi as much.

delannie, here r the details:
1) filming with broadcast quality 3ccd digital camera
2) original footage in choice of minidv, hi8 or vhs tapes
3) edited footage with effects, opening animations, 15 photos, songs
4) 30 pics montage
5) 5 min wedding highlights (express editing)
6) live broadcase during banquet, includes setup
7) 2 vcd n 1 dvd of edited footage.
8) rental n setup of project screen.

i'm thinking of swapping 6 for something else. but cannot think of what yet. maybe i will trade for dvds.

Hi Och,

U are so lucky to get a experience coordinator

The blackout sound quite scary lah...what happen if there is a wedding going on? Wah...that will scare our guests
I think they should do something abt it...this is going to reflect badly on GH.

Thks for your info on the videography. what is the diff for no 3 and 4? Both are still display of photos on screen right?

For pt 5: does it mean showing the actual day morning ceremony in 5 mins?

For 6. what is that?

Sorry ya..i ask alot hor
Just wanted to know more...u see

Have a nice weekend

Hi OCh,
BTW, when u say Anthony got 11 yrs of experience...sound like he quite old liao ... but when i saw him, he looks like in his late twenties leh...wah how he maintained har?? Heehee

hi delannie,

3 is the vcd u get after the wedding, which shows some wedding pics n video clips of actual day events. 3 is never shown during the banquet, it's meant for the couple to keep as memories. 4 is the montage that u normally see as a guest during banquets, where it's all pictures of the couple's baby-courtship-marriage days.

for 5, a 5 mins edited footage of the actual day's morning ceremony will be made. they need abt 3-5 hrs to make the 5 min clip.

6 is live broadcast, so whatever the videographer takes during dinner will be shown on the projector screen. u know, like national day parade?

btw, this videographer dun hv conditions on time, so it doesn't matter when u start n when u end.

anthony very young hor? i was quite surprised that he has been in the hoteling industry for so long.
i agree that a blackout will be most unpleasant during a dinner. there were no weddings yesterday nite, thankfully. but i hope hyatt resolves this problem soon. monthly blackouts for a hotel is no laughing matter.

Hi Och,

i felt the same way as you and Delannie....Hope there wouldn't be a blackout happening in the midst of our banquet when the wedding couple march in.....That will be so sad....

Hi Och,
I have never thought of having blackout at a wedding... Thanks for sharing with us your experience, at least I'm aware that such thing can happen. So did you can Anthony what they will do if such think happen in the wedding? Was the air-con still operating? If yes, then it is not too bad, at least it is not too stuffy. Maybe can suggested them to make is a candle light wedding when there is a blackout.

hi neko,

nope, nothing was working. only the emergency lights, lifts n reception lights were working, since those r hooked up to their backup generator. that said, it wasn't too stuffy, even after an hr, the air was still rather cool.

i din ask anthony what he will do. din think he will hv anything to add, except a motherhood "we will do our best...". afterall, he has no control over blackouts n he cannot get his bosses to commit to compensation for hypothetical scenarios.

but i think hyatt will offer some compensation. all their managers were out in full force to assure diners n guests that things were fine. they look sincerely apologetic, so i take it to mean they will compensate.

Hi Och,
As long as the air is still cooling, i think it is still acceptable. People tend to feel irritated when the air is stuffy.
How many people can be seated on a 7" table? What color scheme are you using?

Hihi..

Does anyone know if Hyatt is increasing their pkg prices due to the GST increase?

OCH: Your catering mgr is Anthony? I received my proposal from Lynn, anyone liased with her?

btw: how do you make the other smileys? hee hee

Och and Neko,
Hopefully during our weddding dinner, such a thing will not happen....

Hi Louie,
not too sure about any price increase. I dun know who is Lynn.
You can click the link " Emoticons" on the left side of the screen to take a look at the other smileys.

Hi Louie,

Yes, they will increase their price by 2% if your wedding is after 5% GST implementation. Though price is quoted as nett(current price) but on the contract or price list, it was stated clearly that nett price is inclusive of govt tax of 3% gst etc....

If you have signed your ctt as nett $648 on wkday banquet for instance but your wedding is next year ....so remember to add in $12(2% equivalent) per table....which will cost u $660nett per table.

Hi Bluechin & Neko, i just send you an email. I forgot that i can't make it nx Fri...maybe we will just go on Wed if Evon gets her co-ordinator ok?

HI Bluechin and Och,

I am interested on the actual day Videography pkg that play the morning ceremony during the banquet. Can I have a detail desciptions on the prices and the services they provide? Pls send me an email on the information? Thanks. By the way, I am also a GH Bride on March next year.

my email: [email protected]

Hi Louie,

finally got someone with the same co-ordinator as me. how do you find Lynn? did you manage to negotiate for anything from her? can share with me? when is your wedding? sorry so many questions. very excited to know that at least i share the same co-ordinator as someone else. mine is next year but very shocked to realise that the 5% will affect us. have checked with some friends and they mentioned that if it is already stated as nett in the contract, there should not be any changes. my wedding is on weekend so an extra 2% will mean alot more to me.

och, good to hear that you have a good co-ordinator. can share with me how many colour schemes, flowers and vip set up does GH has? Lyn didn't get to discuss any of these with me,all the time, she just mention that we will discuss such things only 3 months prior to the wedding. sigh, so i know nothing. sigh.

HI Miho, i did confirmed the increase of 2% per table with my GH co-ordinator as i also thot that when price stated as nett...it should not increase their price...however she told me that GST charges are not GH revenue...they r suppose to pay these taxes back to Govt...that y they also need to increase by that 2% equivalent

gd morning, a brand new week. i'm hving my final fitting this thursday, b4 my photoshoot next wk. cannot wait for thurs to come.

neko, yep, i agree. stuffiness will be the worst. my hubby was asking what will be my call in such cases. will i call off the wedding, or should we wait for lights to come back on. if we do the latter, it's a whole hour wait in the dark for guests. wonder what they will think.
the 7 ft table seats 14 max. i'm using gold n french vanilla colour scheme. just hope it doesn't turn out too yellow.

louie, sorry, never talked to lynn b4.

cotton, i gave the videography package b4. if u scroll up, think u can see my previous posting to delannie. sorry, cos the posting is quite long, din want to repeat it in such a short time.

hi miho,

hyatt has 2 pieces of table cloths: overlay n underlay. underlay is usually white i think. i remembered abt 9 different overlay colours: white, french vanilla (light creamy yellow), gold organza, silver organza, pink, red, teal (greenish), black. there may be more colours that i din pay attention to, with the blackout comming on right abt then. napkins come in more or less the same colours. seat covers r in white, but sashes r in gold, silver, black n white. we get to choose any colour combi for overlay, napkin, sashes.

hyatt offers roses as std. they hv 2 std flower setup,
1) stalks of roses in either gold or silver pot, tied with gold or silver ribbons,
2) cocktail arrangement. if u've seen weddings at four seasons, i thot the cocktail arrangement looks similar.
orchids can be used instead of roses. but lilies or tulips require topup, unless u make special requests for lilies n orchids combi, which was what another hyatt bride, julia andrew, did.

for vip table setup, i chose gold organza over white underlay. napkins in french vanilla, folded in a fan shape n tied with gold tassels. cream roses in their standard tall stand.

normal tables hv overlays in french vanilla n white underlays. napkins in french vanilla, rolled up like a scroll n tied with gold ribbon(normally these r folded n placed on the plate). stalks of cream roses tied with gold ribbon in a gold pot. all seats (vip n normal) hv gold sashes.

but i'm afraid the whole ballrm looks v. glaring, with all these gold n vanilla. am waiting for a chance to see a setup with all gold sashes b4 i change my mind. btw, anthony said the setups will only be confirmed a month b4 the wedding, so he will reserve what i want now, but i can still change my mind.

oh yes, i saw the potpurris. v. nice. hubby likes it, so we may be going with the potpurris.

och

when is your wedding? is the sales person that we meet up with for signing the hyatt contract, the same co-ordinator that you are talking abt? or will hyatt assign another co-ordinator prior 1 mth of your wedding?

hi jes,

my wedding is in sept this yr. the sale person is the coordinator. he/she will handle the coordination of the banquet, until the actual day when the control is handed over to the ops manager.

yeah, i'm surprised to see that the 2% increase will affect us. I was happily telling my FH dat luckily we hd already signed the contract for our bridal n banquet.

feel like asking "case" for the proper treatment since we hd actually signed up the "nett" price.

Hi Ram, for beer im not so sure. Im only sure about banquet price increase after 5% gst implementation. I personally think that if you were to bring this up to CASE, i believe that they can't do anything much b'cos contract has stated clearly that nett price inclusive of 3% GST..therefore they can actually increase the price since GST has increased.

Maybe you would like to call your co-ordinator up & discuss with him or her..asking them whether can GH absorb that 2% increment. Let us know if you are successful ok?

Bluechin, i can't wait to
Do you like my suggestion abt the rose

Hi Och,
Your description is really comprehensive. Are you taking any wedding theme? Seems like from the items that you have described, it is not the standard package (as the std package does not include saches and other decorative things...ribbon...) I think your deco will be very nice... Is it true that for std package, the table clothes will also consist of the underlay and overlay? I have visited one ballroom few weeks ago, there wasn't any overlay, just a normal white table cloth.. and the deco is not as grand as what you have described. Simply white seat cover (no saches) no golden ribbon.. quite empty, I don't know if the setup was complete since there wasn't any couple around...
Do you need to pay extra for the setup?

Hi Ram,
Actually I'm quite shocked to notice that the GST thing will affect us. I also thought that once I have signed up with the nett price, we are not affected.Sigh.. I also told my FH that we are not affected as we have signed early... so disappointed to tell him the actual fact.

Hi Delannie and bluechin..
I'm very excited too. Looking forward to our 'blind date' (as what bluechin said..)

Neko & Delannie,
So u gals r going to hold roses along for our blind date as wat Delannie suggested?

Delannie,
I just bought the Canon Powershot G2 for my hubby....our 1st year anniversay gift....u think it's a good gift?

Hi Bluechin, is that a digital camera? I'm not familar with camera but i know something for sure..... heehee...this camera is going to be useful on your wedding day

Hahaha...as for the roses, i havn't tell Neko yet! Hey Neko, i was telling Bluechin that each of us will tug a rose behind the ear for easy identification

BTW, i think what Och mentioned is the std setting(will have underlay & overlay) plus sashes on all seats. I tell you more when we meet this Wed

delainne, thinks for the update on the GST issue. About the 2% increase in GST. have looked through my contract. only states that the package is $X nett. There is no mention of any item such as GST inclusive etc so i thought we would not be affected. have kind of consulted a friend who is studying law that it should not affect us if this is so. however, also agree with delainne. the gst is not kept by GH so i don't think they have any choice.

Ram,do keep us inform if you are checking with GH on the matter. Meanwhile i will show my friend the contract and see what he says.sigh. looks like we have to save more. wondering if it works if we just pay in advance before 1st Jan 03? you guys think it is a good idea? trying to think of ways to cut cost lah, this new rule not helping at all. sigh. also, i think your calculation for beer is right.

och, thank you so much for the details on the colors, flowers etc. i now have a much better picture. agree with neko. think your decor sounds very nice too. can imagine it because i went to GH once to look see and saw this set up which is using the new york theme. very nice, autumn feeling with all the french vanilla and gold sash. but like what neko guess, yours must be a theme one? also, have a great time at your final fitting this thurs! keep us updated okie!

Neko,Louie, how are things on your side?

Hi och

Your information about the GH setup was very interesting. I'm booked with them for my wedding in Nov 2002 on the white theme packages, but hadn't discussed the actual set up in huge detail with Cynthia (my coordinator) yet. Glad to hear there are so many options.

BTW do you happen to know what sort of orchids they use? I would like to use cymbindiums, but don't know how much top up I would have to pay. Did you manage to see any arrangements with the orchids involved?

hi neko, miho,

no, no, i'm not paying for a theme wedding.
the overlay n underlay r std items. the underlays extend to the floor to cover the table legs, while the overlays r the size of normal tablecloths. a lot of couples choose white overlay with white underlay, or french vanilla overlay with white underlay, thus the presence of the underlay is not v. obvious.

i exchanged my invitation cards for sashes on all chairs in my contract.

not all couples ask for ribbons to tie their napkins. but hyatt has definitely done them b4, since i got my "inspiration" from their photo albums.
when u meet up with ur coordinators, u can also request to see photos of past wedding setups. i hvn't received confirmation on the napkin tassles for vip tables. hyatt doesn't hv too many tassles. if i cannot get the tassles, i will hv to go with ribbons for all napkins.

hi coo, i've only seen setups with roses. u can ask ur coordinator to tell u the wedding dates of couples using orchids. coordinators r usually quite willing to do that.

Hi Miho & Ram,

The calculation of 5% GST should be eg
Banquet price: $648nett

After increasing to 5%:
{648/(100%+10%(svs charge)+1%(cess)+3%(gst) } x 1.16

Ram, your calculation has omitted the 10% svs charge and 1% cess.

Hi Miho, if yours didn't stated the 3% gst inclusive then maybe you still can "fight" to insist on paying on the nett amt as stated now. As for myself, it was stated clearly that gst inclusive is at 3% and they have made it clear that i would need to top up 2% more if gst ruling changed.

Hi Miho,

I think it is not advisable to pay inadvance if your wedding is after 2qtr of 2003.

The reason why i said so b'cos u might be taking a risk... incase that an unforeseen event happen that you might have to change venue or unable to hold your banquet then all your advances will be gone.

How much will u be saving actually by paying in advance? Maybe abt $14/table(base on $800nett per table) x 60 tables = $840 - personally think that it is not worth taking such a risk to save $840.

However if your wedding is like in Jan 03, then maybe u can consider paying in advance in Dec 02 ...as for such short time frame... the possiblilty of not holding a banquet in GH is really low....thus saving $840 is worth taking that risk.

hi delannie,

i think ram's calculation is correct.

since it is a $648 nett, we will not be charged for the service charge and cess.

Hi och

Thanks for the information! BTW, your combination sounds lovely. I picked GH mainly because of their gorgeous setups (unlike a lot of the other hotels). Am extra glad to hear that there are so many options for the actual setups.

Delannie,
Yes, that's a digital camera.... wanted to give him a surprise on thur but however he guess that i had already got a gift for him and in the end....he saw the gift. i even suggested that he could join us later then take a few shots of us and also some shots of my gowns to show to my in laws, parents and overseas relatives....
wat do u think? glad he loves the gift....

Did anyone of u actually call your co-ordinator up to check abt the gst 5%?
Can let us know if u did and what they said

Below is what i copy from GH price proposal:
"(Rates are inclusive of 10% service charge, 1% cess, and thereafter 3% Goods and Services Tax)"
It is stated right after the prices for wkday n wkend banquet list

As far as i know, per govt tax ruling, the following taxes is a must for any restuarants, hotel or entainment(unless they aborbs it)

1. Svs charge - 10%
2. Cess - 1%
3. Gst - 3%

So when GH qouted nett price, all the above taxes is already included.

Actually i hope that they dun increase too

Hi SLK, how r u? Been a while since u last leave a msg.

Hi Bluechin, that sounds good. BUt i thot u r only giving the camera to him on Thur?

hi delannie,

i'm good, yourself?

been busy with my flat thingy. finally settled on monday. got a 5-room premium flat in bt panjang. any future neighbours??

and you are right abt the nett price. we dun have to pay anything extra. except for the extra 2% GST if they insist.

when i ask georgette (my coordinator) a few weeks back, she said she does not know yet cos they haven't received any instructions from the management.

i wonder is there any brides who is also having the banquet on 26/10/02 in Hyatt?

och

what is the normal way of putting the napkin? and is it included in the package if we request to tie the napkin with ribbons? what other choices do we hv?

i didn't take note of these why i signed with Hyatt though cos they always says we will meet up one mth before wedding to discuss.

Hi SLK, have u sourced for a gd contractor? Let me know if u find one ok...bcos my flat will be ready maybe early nx yr..so must quickly renovate so that it be in time for my wedding in Jun.

Did u confirm with Geogette recently abt the 2% gst that we need to pay?

Hi Jes,

I did chk with my co-ordinator that tying your napkin with a ribbon is upon your request and u can neg for it free.

Hi Delannie and bluechin,
I'm very excited now. Waiting to see you all tomorrow!

Hi Och,
That's great to hear that the setting that you have described is for std package. I think you are very smart, as I have never thought of asking for the special kind of deco (e.g. ribbon for the napkin) I think it will look nicer with the ribbon.Seems to be very interesting to discuss abt the setting. I can't help to think of my own setting too.. heehee day-dreaming now...

Hi SLK and Ram,
My contract also never mention about the "inclusive 3% GST" clause. I think once we ask for a revised contract (to change some items), they'll put in this line. Don't think that we can argue much too. Who will actually put up a case on the court to argue for the extra 2% GST that is not mentioned in the contract.I think we and GH also don't have a choice.

Hi gals, my ctt stated one item called "tax & services charges"...i think maybe b'cos most of u have signed up earlier even b4 govt proposed the change in GSt %...that y your ctt never state. Maybe in this case u can actually ask GH to aborb the 2%..can neg leh..since they never mention.... as for me confirm no grounds to neg liao

Miho, did u manage to discuss this with your friend that study law?

Hi NEko, i'm excited too.....heehee...u saw Bluechin attachment? I think we need to identify her & Evon while they two just stand there & wait...heeehhheeee..and that what Evon said

delainnie, yes, have asked. got case. if contract already stated nett and did not include to say inclusive of 3% GST, it means you only pay the nett price. same as when we go and eat buffet. if already stated nett. it means that all taxes in. let's see how management of GH says. i guess we just have to save up. have been pretty stress at work so didn't want to make myself even more upset with the possible increase in price. sigh.
guess you are right. silly to pay in advance lah. see how. my wedding in may 03, any advice? even if it's just $840 also alot of money. thanks for asking about the ribbon part. will take note since it can be negotiated for free and i am looking at standard decor so anything that can make it look more pretty at no cost will be good for my tight budget.

neko, how come you asking for revised contract? you have many things you want to change? if can negotiate then keep the current contract better?

hi coo, neko, thanks.

hi jes, the std way of placing napkins is to fold them neatly in a rectangle n placing them on the plate. u can choose to tie ribbons around the rectangle or roll it up to tie. u can request for the ribbons foc. if u can think of other ways of folding the napkins, can check with ur coordinator.

i juz checked my contract which stated nett, with no clause saying that it includes 3% GST. therefore, i believe i don't hv to pay for the increase.

i won't be calling GH then cos' i shall assume that we shall pay according to the contract signed. but i will check with IRAs(GST) for such.
will update u gals once i rec'd fm them.

HI SLK, do u have that GST clause like my ctt too? If i'm not wrong, u just signed too rite?

I think since they never mention the clause...then they shouldn't ask u to pay that extra 2%.....then u gals would have save abit liao on that 2%.....unlike me
Confirmed need to pay extra 2%

hi delannie,

nope, haven't started sourcing for contractors... but will keep you informed
my flat also ready early next year. and my wedding is may 29 2003.

i received the contract last week. haven't really checked it since it's with my FH. will do so soon and let you gals know.

btw gals,

just wondering.... kay poh a bit. what is your average age group here? mid 20s? late 20s? etc.

i was talking to someone in SB and realised she is quite young. she also told me that most gals in SB are younger than her... i am beginning to think i am quite old... hehehehe!